什么是健康饮食?如何根据科学来吃得健康

去年,您或您周遭的人很可能有节食过。统计数据显示,在过去12个月中,有49.3%的人们利用节食来减重。您一生当中可能至少节食五次(也许更多)。

这很合理。您生活在一个注重体重的文化中。而且您知道体重与健康关系密切,所以您会试着减重。同时您可能会很好奇地问:“什么是健康饮食?”

如果您想减重,您有很多选择,例如原始人饮食、生酮饮食、低脂饮食、低碳水饮食、素食、果食、30天全食、无小麦饮食、Jenny Craig饮食、Dukan纤食法、Dubrow饮食法、Fit for Life饮食、纯肉饮食、迈阿密饮食、无淀粉饮食等,每一种都有其优缺点。

有一个发人深省的统计数字:在使用流行减重饮食法的节食者之中,估计有95%的人会在一到五年内恢复体重。况且,看着这些令人眼花撩乱的建议,实在很难知道应该相信谁,或者您究竟应该食用什么。

即使限制性流行减重饮食法真的可帮助您在短时间内减重,但一直这样吃下去没有问题吗?让您的身体从此禁戒碳水化合物?还是停止吃水果?抑或只吃水果?如果来点奶油和培根会怎么样?

这真的令人伤透脑筋啊!而且,从统计数字来看,很难否认一个事实,就是这些流行减重饮食法根本没用。用90年代健身偶像Susan Powter的话来说,是该“停止再胡闹了”的时候了。

跟“流行减重饮食法”永远说再见

想想看:如果您的身体再也无法多减一磅,这就意味着您该放弃尝试吃健康的食物吗?当然不是。

采用这种短时间的流行减重饮食法几乎注定失败。答案在于:您必须在接下来的人生中将注意力转向为健康而吃,而非在短时间内拼命节食,只为达到一个理想的体重标准数。

健康有各种体型和尺寸。无论您的体重如何,您都应该每天感到处于最佳状态。请为您的身体提供科学证实为人体成长所需的营养,这会有很多好处。您会容光焕发,您的身体会感觉很好,您会有充沛的精力。并且,您在精神上和情绪上每天都能好整以暇,应对您的目标和挑战。

此外还有长远的好处。健康的饮食习惯与维持身体各部位的健康有关,包括您的心脏、大脑、骨骼和关节,以及代谢功能等,不胜枚举。

成功的关键是终生改变您的行为模式。找出一种顺其自然并且可以终生受用的吃法。与健康食品建立更积极的关系,将能帮助您长期过着健康的生活,并与您所爱的人一起享受您所喜欢的事物。

下面您会读到一个健康饮食概述,包括科学表明对健康最有益的饮食。您还将获得相关指导方针和目标,以帮助您努力地稳步达到永久改变您每天的饮食方式。

什么是健康饮食?

大多数人都弄错了。他们吃下的食物会减轻体重,却不足以帮助他们过健康长寿的生活。

2019年的一项研究发现,几乎所有健康食物的摄取量都低于最佳标准。研究人员报告说,您不吃的健康食物至少与可能常吃的不健康食物一样重要。他们指出,“不理想的饮食所造成的死亡人口,超过世界上包括吸烟的其它风险。”

说到对健康的负面影响,对于全谷物和水果摄取不足是罪魁祸首。没有吃到足够的坚果和种籽、蔬菜、奥米加-3脂肪酸、纤维素和多元不饱和脂肪等,也会对生活品质产生负面影响。摄取太多盐份也是一个影响长期健康的严重问题。

这项研究揭示了您需要添加哪些食物,来实现健康的饮食,而非仅关注需要减去哪些食物。作者Michael Pollan在他的著作《食物无罪》(In Defense of Food)中简要总结了这一点,当时他观察到我们应该“吃食物,但别太多,蔬食为主。”

健康的饮食模式通常是地中海饮食(模仿地中海周围国家的传统饮食模式)的一种变体。这些饮食强调摄取整全性、最低限度加工的食物,例如:蔬菜、水果、全谷物、豆类、扁豆、坚果、种籽和有益脂肪(尤其来自特级初榨橄榄油的脂肪)。

这种类型的饮食法可依照大多数饮食习惯、文化或道德偏好来调整。无论是否是动物性食物,它都可以很健康;虽然经常需要我们仔细规划,以确保素食和全素饮食的完整和平衡。许多人发现,在饮食中加入一些肉,更有助于控制饥饿,但这只是您个人的选择。您也可以选择有机农产品和草饲或牧草饲养的动物产品。

此外,喝最能解渴。

品味健康饮食的科学

有大量证据表明,坚持进行以植物性食物为基础的天然食物饮食,可以获得最重要的健康效果,亦即健康又长寿。

健康饮食可以提供人体健康所需的许多营养,包括奥米加-3脂肪酸、纤维和抗氧化剂,以及一系列维生素和矿物质;它们协同运作,为健康带来重大效益。这从许多研究结果以及成千上万人身上,都获得了证实。

一项针对23,153名35-65岁德国人的研究发现,大量摄取水果、蔬菜和全麦面包,并且减少摄取肉类与改善健康有关。对于那些保持健康体重指数(BMI)、从不吸烟、每周锻炼三个半小时或更长时间的人来说,此结果更为显著。

世界卫生组织进行的一项研究发现,着手改善饮食永远不嫌晚。他们认为,那些坚持健康饮食模式的人,在60岁时会延寿两年。

数十项研究和临床实验均显示,地中海式饮食有助于维持:

  • 健康的腰围和体重/BMI
  • 正常胆固醇
  • 健康的血糖
  • 正常的血脂/脂蛋白
  • 健康的血压和循环
  • 正常的认知功能

降低升糖指数和健康饮食

 

通常,健康饮食模式由具有低升糖指数或负荷的食物组成。

当谈到升糖指数时,常识应引导您的决定,目标是要限制缺乏营养、含精制淀粉和糖份的加工食品,而不是限制天然食物。许多淀粉类蔬菜(如胡萝卜和水果)也有较高的升糖指数。

但没有证据表明这些食物是有害的。

事实上,2018年的一篇评论显示,多吃一些水果有很大的好处,这应部分归结于它们的纤维含量高,并且带有益生元效应(即它们能喂养肠道益菌),对于心血管、消化、代谢、呼吸和骨骼健康等方面都有益处。此外,吃水果也会改善心理健康和皮肤健康的状况。

健康饮食一天(适合成人)

现在,您已对健康饮食的各方面有了较好的总体了解,让我们更深入研究这些食物如何构成您的日常饮食。

以下标准反映出最成熟的健康饮食模式之共通性和差异,包括地中海饮食法、得舒饮食法(Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension,通常称为DASH)、麦得饮食法(Mediterranean-DASH-diet Intervention for Neurodegenerative Delay,简称MIND)、弹性素食(或半素食)饮食法,以及美国农业部的膳食指南等。

健康饮食指南
食物类别 份数
全谷物 每日6-8份
蔬菜 每日5份以上彩色蔬菜

  • 深绿色叶菜1份以上
  • 1种淀粉类蔬菜(例如:白皮土豆、玉米、青豆、芭蕉、木薯、绿色利马豆)
水果 每日3-5份

  • 每周至少含3份浆果类
各种蛋白质来源 *以克为计算单位达到您的目标*(见下文)

致力于增加植物性蛋白质,包括荚果和豆类、大豆制品(豆腐、豆豉等)、无盐坚果和种籽

  • 每周最多7颗鸡蛋

 

如果您吃肉,每周最多6份,并取自多种来源:

  • 每周2-3份鱼/海鲜(每份6盎司)
  • 每周2-4份瘦肉/去皮禽肉(每份3盎司)
乳制品 每日1-3份低脂或脱脂乳制品
脂肪及油类 每日2-3茶匙

  • 除特级初榨橄榄油或植物性脂肪外,其余种类每日最多1份
甜食 谨慎节制,仅能占每日卡路里来源的5-10个百分点

  • 可摄取可可含量70%以上的黑巧克力,并留意含糖量
饮料 充足的水份(您每天可能需要喝到8杯)

根据需求适量的咖啡或茶

若有需求,每日最多一杯酒类饮品

每日最多1茶匙(包含加工食品所含的盐份,请注意阅读食品标签

1,500-2,300毫克的钠

没有食物是必须禁制的,所有食物都适用于健康饮食。但有一个原则:某些食物的摄取必须非常有节制,我们称之为“特殊情况”的食物。

一般来说,特殊情况的食物对您的健康和腰围有害。不过当您可以放纵时,请尽情品尝而无须有罪恶感,但每月只能有几次:

  • 甜点和含糖食物
  • 炸薯片和加工零食
  • 精制谷物,如白面包或意大利面
  • 油炸或含脂肪的菜肴
  • 加工和腌制肉类(培根、萨拉米香肠等)
  • 汽水或果汁

最重要是找到对您个人有效的饮食平衡。要找出自己喜欢的东西,请注意身体的讯号,而不仅仅倚靠味蕾。您的身体喜欢什么食物?某些食物让您有什么感觉?您不妨将这些问题的答案写在食物日志上。

尝试新食物,但也不要强迫自己吃您不喜欢的。您的最佳饮食,应该是由最健康、最有营养,而且您会一生喜爱的食物所组成的。

留意您的巨量营养素

专家一般建议在日常饮食中摄取一定比例的巨量营养素。不要太计较数字,如果您摄取健康的饮食,就像上面所列的,您就可以稍做计划来趋近这些数字。

  • 45-65%的膳食卡路里应来自碳水化合物(主要来自全谷物和蔬果)
  • 每天25-37克纤维
  • 每公斤体重应摄取8-1.2克的蛋白质,均匀分散在一日三餐。(成人、想减重者或运动量较大者,应摄取的蛋白质请参考此范围的高标。)
    • 要以kg为单位计算体重,请将体重(磅)除以205,然后将此数字分别乘以0.8和1.2以计算出范围。
    • 例如,如果您重150磅,
      • 150 / 2.205 = 68
      • 68 * 0.8 = 54
      • 68 * 1.2 = 82
      • 您的目标是每天摄取54-82克蛋白质
    • 15-25%的膳食热量应来自蛋白质

  • 每日卡路里的20-35%应来自膳食脂肪
    • 不饱和脂肪应占膳食脂肪摄取量的90%
    • 饱和脂肪应低于膳食脂肪摄取量的10%

一生的健康始于健康饮食

健康饮食只是整体健康的八大支柱之一。本文总结了这些变体地中海饮食法如何被证实裨益活力和健康。地中海文化的其它部份也是健康生活方式的重要元素,例如充分锻炼充分休息,同时还有维持强大的社会关系。

每一天和每一餐都有很多机会,让您做出正确的选择;建立良好的习惯是长久成功的关键。因此,请下定决心永远告别流行的减重饮食法,终止不健康饮食的循环。您不妨先设定一个小目标,并运用自我激励的科学方法,今天就开始一个受益终生的美食及健康之旅。

参考文献

https://foodinsight.org/fast-take-how-is-what-were-not-eating-affecting-our-health/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30954305

https://foodinsight.org/webinar-what-are-the-influencers-that-impact-how-why-people-eat-2/

https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/healthy-eating-plate

https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Commonalities-and-unique-features-of-the-DASH-diet-USDA-food-patterns-and-Mediterranean_fig1_268883157

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27507131

https://academic.oup.com/ajcn/article/101/6/1317S/4564491

.https://www.hhs.gov/fitness/resource-center/facts-and-statistics/index.html

https://www.forbes.com/sites/nomanazish/2018/10/25/this-is-the-best-time-to-eat-breakfast-according-to-a-dietitian/#60e97d943003

https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/healthy-diet

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25318818

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4085191/

https://www.annualreviews.org/doi/full/10.1146/annurev-publhealth-032013-182351#_i12

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30487459

https://www.cnpp.usda.gov/sites/default/files/nutrition_insights_uploads/Insight49.pdf

http://www.grubstreet.com/2018/03/ultimate-conversation-on-healthy-eating-and-nutrition.html

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28292617

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25432391

https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/health-topics/ad1169

https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/chapter-1/key-recommendations/

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/1730520

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23093136

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3135022/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27871945

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18502303

What is a Healthy Diet? How to Eat Based on Science

Chances are good you, or the person next to you, dieted in the last year. Statistics show 49.3 percent of the population tried to lose weight by dieting in the last 12 months. Over the course of your lifetime, you’ve probably dieted at least five times—possibly more.

It makes sense. You live in a weight-obsessed culture. And, you know weight is closely linked to health. So, you try to lose the pounds. You may find yourself wondering, “what is a healthy diet”?

Paleo. Keto. Low-fat. Low-carb. Vegan. Fruitarian. Whole30. Wheat Belly. Jenny Craig. Dukan. Dubrow. Fit for Life. Carnivore. South Beach. Atkins. If you want to lose weight, you have a lot of choices. Each has its own pros and cons.

Here’s a sobering statistic: an estimated 95 percent of people who lose weight on restrictive, fad diets gain the weight back in one to five years. And, with all the different advice, it’s hard to know who to trust or how you should really eat.

Even if a restrictive diet fad helps you lose weight in the short term, is it a good idea to eat that way forever? To never give your body another carb? Or to stop eating fruit? Or to only eat fruit? What about loading up on butter and bacon?

It’s all mind-bogglingly overwhelming. And, looking at the statistics, it’s pretty hard to argue with the fact that fad diets simply don’t work. In the words of ‘90s fitness icon Susan Powter, it’s time to “stop the insanity.”

Say Farewell to Fad Diets Forever

Consider this: If it were impossible for your body to ever lose another pound, would that mean you should give up trying to eat healthier foods? Of course not.

Adopting short-term, fad diets for weight loss will almost always fail. The answer lies in turning your focus to eating for your health—for the rest of your life. It’s not restricting yourself for a short time because you’re trying to fit a number on a scale.

Health comes in all shapes and sizes. Regardless of your weight, you deserve to feel your best every day. Giving your body the nutrition that science has shown it needs to thrive comes with many rewards. You’ll glow with health. Your body will feel good. You’ll have plenty of energy. And, you’ll feel mentally and emotionally ready to tackle your goals and challenges every day.

Then there are the long-term benefits. Healthy eating patterns have been associated with maintaining the health of virtually every part of your body. This includes your heart, brain, bones and joints, and metabolic function, just to name a few.

The key to success is changing your behavior for a lifetime. Finding a way to eat that feels natural and that you can enjoy forever. A more positive relationship with healthy food will help you live a long, healthy life doing the things you enjoy with those you love.

Below you’ll read an overview of a healthy diet packed with foods science shows are most beneficial for health. You’ll also get guidelines and goals you can work toward to help you make a gradual, permanent shift in how you eat each day.

What is a Healthy Diet?

Most people have gotten it wrong. They eat foods that weigh them down and not enough of those that will help them live long, healthy lives.

A 2019 study found consumption of nearly all healthy food is below optimal levels. Researchers reported the healthy foods you don’t eat are as important, if not more so, as the unhealthy foods you may eat too often. They noted that “suboptimal diet is responsible for more deaths than any other risks globally, including tobacco smoking.”

Low intakes of whole grains and fruit were the worst offenders when it came to negative impacts on health. Not eating enough nuts and seeds, vegetables, omega-3 fatty acids, fiber, and polyunsaturated fats also had negative effects on quality of life. Overconsumption of salt was a serious issue for long-term health, too.

This study shines a light on what you need to add to achieve a healthy diet, instead of only focusing on what you need to cut out. Author Michael Pollan summed it up simply in his book, In Defense of Food, when he observed we should, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”

Healthy dietary patterns are generally a variation of the Mediterranean diet (modeled after traditional dietary patterns from countries surrounding the Mediterranean Sea). These diets emphasize whole, minimally processed foods: vegetables, fruits, whole grains, beans, lentils, nuts, seeds, and beneficial fats (especially from extra virgin olive oil).

This type of diet can be adjusted to fit most dietary, cultural, or ethical preferences. It can be healthy with or without animal-based foods. Although, careful planning is often required to ensure vegan and vegetarian diets are complete and balanced. Many people find that having some meat in their diet helps manage hunger better. But it’s a personal choice only you can make. You may also opt for organic produce and grass-fed or pasture-raised animal products.

And, plain old water is best to quench your thirst.

Chew on the Science of a Healthy Diet

There is abundant evidence that sticking to a whole-food diet based on plant foods supports the health outcomes that matter the most. That means more years in your life and more life in your years.

A healthy diet provides many of the nutrients you need for wellness. This includes omega-3 fatty acids, fiber, and antioxidants—along with a range of vitamins and minerals—that work together to deliver major benefits for health. These benefits have been proven in many studies, in thousands of people.

A study of 23,153 Germans aged 35–65 found high intake of fruit, vegetables, and whole-grain bread, along with low meat consumption, was associated with improved health. The results were even more significant in those who maintained a healthy Body Mass Index (BMI), never smoked, and exercised for three-and-a-half hours or more per week.

A study conducted by the World Health Organization found it’s never too late to start eating better. They saw a two-year increase in life expectancy at the age of 60 in those who adhered to healthy dietary patterns.

Dozens of studies and clinical trials have shown a Mediterranean-style diet helps maintain:

  • healthy waist circumference and body weight/BMI
  • normal cholesterol
  • healthy blood glucose
  • normal blood lipids/lipoproteins
  • healthy blood pressure and circulation
  • normal cognitive function

The Lowdown on Glycemic Index and a Healthy Diet

Generally, a healthy eating pattern consists of food with a low glycemic index or load.

When it comes to the glycemic index, common sense should dictate your decisions. The goal is to limit nutrient-poor, processed foods with refined starches and sugars. Not foods from nature. Many starchy vegetables, such as carrots, and fruits have a higher glycemic index.

But there’s no evidence these foods are harmful.

In fact, a 2018 review showed dramatic benefits linked to eating multiple servings of whole fruit. This is thanks, in part, to their fiber content and prebiotic effects (i.e., how well they feed the good bacteria in your gut). Benefits were seen in cardiovascular, digestive, metabolic, respiratory, and bone health. Plus, eating fruit improved measures of psychological well-being and skin health, too.

A Day in the Life of a Healthy Diet (for Adults)

Now you’ve digested a good overview of what a healthy diet includes. So, let’s look more closely at how those foods could shape your daily eating.

The following standards reflect commonalities and differences of the most well-established healthy eating patterns. These include the Mediterranean diet, Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (commonly called DASH), Mediterranean-DASH-diet Intervention for Neurodegenerative Delay (MIND), Flexitarian (or semi-vegetarian), and USDA Dietary Guidelines.

Guidelines for a Healthy Diet
Food Group Number of Servings
Whole Grains 6–8 per day
Vegetables 5+ per day from a rainbow of colors

  • 1 or more from dark, leafy greens
  • 1 starchy vegetable (examples: white potato, corn, green peas, plantains, cassava, green lima beans)
Fruits 3–5 per day

  • Include berries at least 3 times a week
Protein Sources *Meet your target range in grams* (see below)

Aim to increase the protein you get from plant-based sources, including legumes and beans, soy foods (tofu, tempeh), unsalted nuts and seeds

  • Up to 7 eggs per week

 

If you eat meat, limit to 6 servings per week from a variety of sources:

  • 2–3 fish/seafood per week (6 oz. serving)
  • 2–4 lean meat / skinless poultry per week (3 oz. serving)
Dairy 1–3 low- and non-fat dairy per day
Fats and oils 2–3 teaspoons per day

  • Limit to 1 serving or less that’s not from extra virgin olive oil or another plant-based source
Sweets Sparingly, should only be 5–10 percent of daily calories

  • Try dark chocolate that’s at least 70 percent cacao or higher and keep an eye on sugar content
Beverages Water, enough to stay hydrated (you may want to aim for 8 glasses a day)

Coffee and tea, as desired

1 serving wine/alcohol per day if desired

Salt ~1 tsp TOTAL per day (this includes salt in prepared foods, so watch your food labels)

1,500–2,300 mg of sodium

No foods are off limits—everything can fit into a healthy diet. But that comes with a stipulation: some foods should only be consumed on a very limited basis. Let’s call them “special occasion” foods.

Generally, special occasion foods are the worst for your waistline and your health. Truly savor them without guilt when you indulge. But reserve these foods for only a few times a month:

  • Desserts and sugar-sweetened foods
  • Chips and processed snacks
  • Refined grains, like white bread or pasta
  • Fried or fat-laden dishes
  • Processed and cured meats (bacon, salami)
  • Sodas or fruit juices

It’s all about finding the balance that works for you. To find what you enjoy, pay attention to the signals from your body, not just your taste buds. What does your body like? How do certain foods make you feel? Writing down the answers to these questions in a food journal can help.

Try new things, but don’t force yourself to eat foods you dislike. Your best diet is the one that’s made up of the healthiest, most nutritious foods you will love eating for life.

Mind Your Macros

Experts generally recommend certain ratios of macronutrients in your daily diet. Don’t get too hung up on the numbers. If you eat a healthy diet, like what’s listed above, you should be able to come close to these ranges with a little planning.

Carbohydrates and Fiber

  • 45–65 percent of your dietary calories should come from carbohydrates (mostly from whole grains, fruit, and vegetables)
  • 25–37 grams of fiber per day

Protein

  • Aim to consume .8 g–2 grams of protein for each kilogram (kg) of body weight, spread evenly throughout the day. (Mature individuals, people who want to lose weight, and very active individuals should consume protein at the higher end of the range.)
    • To calculate your weight in kg, divide your weight in pounds (lbs.) by 2.205, then multiply that amount by .8 and 1.2 to get the range.
    • For example, if you weigh 150 lbs.
      • 150/2.205=68
      • .8(68) = 54
      • 2(68)=82
      • Your range is 54–82 g protein per day
    • 15–25 percent of your dietary calories should come from protein

Fat

  • 20–35 percent of daily calories come from dietary fats
    • Unsaturated fats should be 90 percent of dietary fat intake
    • Saturated fats less than 10 percent of dietary fat intake

A Lifetime of Wellness Starts with a Healthy Diet

A healthy diet is only one of the eight pillars of holistic health and wellness. This article summarizes how variations of the Mediterranean diet are proven to support vitality and well-being. Other aspects of the Mediterranean culture are also essential parts of a healthy lifestyle: getting plenty of exercise and adequate rest, along with maintaining strong social relationships.

Each day and every meal are full of chances to make good choices. Establishing positive habits is the key to long-term success. So, commit to saying farewell to fad diets forever and breaking the cycle of unhealthy eating. Start by setting small goals and use the science of self-motivation to begin your journey toward a lifetime of good food and good health today.

To learn more about how to adopt a healthy, whole-food diet, download the USANA® Food Guide. Inside, you’ll find a list of healthy foods, smart swaps, a week of sample menus, and serving sizes. There’s also a suggested shopping list, along with blank shopping lists and meal planning worksheets, and much more.

References

https://foodinsight.org/fast-take-how-is-what-were-not-eating-affecting-our-health/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30954305

https://foodinsight.org/webinar-what-are-the-influencers-that-impact-how-why-people-eat-2/

https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/healthy-eating-plate

https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Commonalities-and-unique-features-of-the-DASH-diet-USDA-food-patterns-and-Mediterranean_fig1_268883157

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27507131

https://academic.oup.com/ajcn/article/101/6/1317S/4564491

.https://www.hhs.gov/fitness/resource-center/facts-and-statistics/index.html

https://www.forbes.com/sites/nomanazish/2018/10/25/this-is-the-best-time-to-eat-breakfast-according-to-a-dietitian/#60e97d943003

https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/healthy-diet

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25318818

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4085191/

https://www.annualreviews.org/doi/full/10.1146/annurev-publhealth-032013-182351#_i12

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/30487459

https://www.cnpp.usda.gov/sites/default/files/nutrition_insights_uploads/Insight49.pdf

http://www.grubstreet.com/2018/03/ultimate-conversation-on-healthy-eating-and-nutrition.html

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28292617

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25432391

https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/health-topics/ad1169

https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/chapter-1/key-recommendations/

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/1730520

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23093136

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3135022/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27871945

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18502303