辅助免疫力食品:免疫力营养购物指南

古谚有云:「一天一苹果,医生远离我。」不过,其实在商店的架上还有其它能帮助免疫力的食品可供您选择。免疫营养是当今饮食趋势的热门目标,虽然需要各种有益健康的食物来营造均衡的饮食,有些食物是免疫力营养素的极佳来源。

对人体免疫系统有益的食物是营养丰富的。这代表它们含有各种维生素、矿物质、植物营养素和其它有益的营养成分。其中的β-葡聚醣、维生素C、B族维生素和锌等,则是最重要的免疫营养素。

它们都有助于保护您的健康。这些营养素具有辅助免疫细胞的功能,如嗜中性白血球、巨噬细胞和自然杀手细胞。免疫营养可以辅助您的自然防御力,帮助您保持健康。

通过日常膳食来摄取这些营养素非常重要。好消息是,每一种营养素都有健康、美味的外包装。无论是红辣椒、奇异果、鹰嘴豆还是腰果,每次去商店时都记得买点辅助免疫力的食物。

真菌、全谷物和乳制品:β葡聚醣

许多人都知道蘑菇与免疫力的关系密切,但蘑菇之外还有许多食物也含有β-葡聚醣(这是蘑菇中能辅助免疫的营养成分)。β-葡聚醣是存在于真菌(如蘑菇)、细菌和其它植物的细胞壁的糖。它们也存在于燕麦、其它谷物和乳制品中。

当您吃下富含β-葡聚醣的食物时,您的免疫系统就会增强。β-葡聚醣是免疫刺激剂,亦即它们能辅助免疫细胞的功能和反应性。这些微量营养素支持嗜中性白血球的正常活动,有助于维持健康。

您的免疫反应可以通过β-葡聚醣等分子来引发。它们用无害的刺激来训练您的先天免疫力(您古老的免疫系统),以对真正的威胁做出反应。您的免疫系统现在将处于高度意识状态,「清醒」着并随时警戒着外来的触发因子。

β-葡聚醣的存在也会刺激巨噬细胞(一种白血球)的活性。在β-葡聚醣的帮助下,嗜中性白血球和巨噬细胞在维持免疫健康方面发挥着重要作用。

富含β-葡聚醣的食物很常见。β-葡聚醣是添加在食物中的大量多醣(大糖分子)以增加其纤维含量。许多谷物、烘焙食品、速溶燕麦片和乳制品,都含有β-葡聚醣。多认识β-葡聚醣的膳食来源,就可以养成健康的免疫营养概念。

水果和蔬菜:维生素C.

维生素C是一种强劲的抗氧化剂。它还能与您的免疫系统配合运作,维持您的健康。嗜中性白血球(五种主要类型白血球之中的另一种)具有高浓度的维生素C,它们用此来消除自由基和其它有毒的氧化物质,让它们在不须保护您的健康时还能保护自己。

维生素C的存在也会引发白血球的活化或成熟。这些重要的免疫细胞是您身体自然防御的一部分,让您感觉无恙。白血球可以与抗体协同作用,指导免疫系统中的其它细胞,这个基本功能有助保持健康的免疫功能。

它们明亮而充满活力,因此当您外出购物时,很容易发现富含维生素C的食物。柑橘类水果、彩色甜椒、菠菜和绿花菜等,都是这种必要维生素和抗氧化剂的绝佳来源。您可以把它做成零食或配菜。因此,请注意保养您的免疫系统,在购物车中添加维生素C。

蛋白质:B族维生素和锌

这组必要维生素和强力矿物质能搭配您的免疫系统,让您保持健康,感觉无恙。B族维生素能支持健康的新陈代谢,并帮助产生白血球,实现健康免疫的目标。锌能支持免疫细胞的生成,且可作为抗氧化剂,去破坏自由基而保护您的身体。

B族维生素自成一类。这八种免疫营养素常见于鲔鱼、牛肝、鸡肉和火鸡肉中。如上所述,它们在健康的免疫系统中起了重要作用,因为它们帮助人体制造白血球。B族维生素也支持血红素的产生,这种蛋白质有助于红血球携带氧气在整个人体内循环。

有助于多种免疫系统功能。在您体内,锌会刺激免疫细胞的产生。它还能帮助这些细胞启动适当的免疫反应。巨噬细胞也依赖锌来帮助它们在您身体的防御中发挥正常作用。

锌也看自由基很不顺眼。通过帮助减少有毒氧化物质,锌可以减少自由基对人体的伤害。

不过,必要矿物质可能很难找。锌藏在牡蛎、螃蟹和龙虾等食物中。但如果高价海鲜不适合您的预算或味蕾,请购买一盒健康的全谷早餐麦片;许多强化和全谷物的早餐麦片含有大量的锌。

吃下含有B族维生素和锌的免疫辅助食物,可以对红血球提供血红素,以及增加白血球和嗜中性白血球等战斗细胞的数量,提升您的免疫系统功能。请学着如何轮流选择这些巨量营养素,以便在关注免疫营养的同时,食物还能有一些变化。

免疫营养素购物清单

通过健康饮食可以获得免疫增强的微量营养素。如果您无法找到以下食物,或因任何原因需要避免使用它们,您可能需要其它帮助来支持您的免疫力。营养补充品也可以提供这些必需的微量营养素来帮助您的免疫系统。补充品可以帮助您的身体保持很充足的免疫营养素。

请从这个购物清单开始,它提供了充足的免疫营养膳食来源。您应该能够在商店、果菜市场或自己的花园里找到富含β-葡聚醣、维生素C、B族维生素和锌的食物。

这些营养素潜藏在视线之内,您需要做的就是好好地享受食物。祝您有个好胃口!

β葡聚醣

  • 全麦面包
  • 高纤全谷物麦片
  • 燕麦
  • 蘑菇
  • 海藻
  • 低脂乳制品
  • 低脂肉类产品

维生素C

  • 橙子
  • 奇异果
  • 葡萄柚
  • 红椒
  • 青椒
  • 绿花菜
  • 抱子甘蓝
  • 菠菜

B族维生素

  • 维生素B强化麦片
  • 鸡胸肉
  • 鲑鱼
  • 优格

  • 牡蛎
  • 龙虾
  • 螃蟹
  • 牛肉
  • 鹰嘴豆
  • 腰果
  • 腰豆

Immunity Supporting Foods: A Shopper’s Guide to Immunity Nutrition

The old adage says, “an apple a day, keeps the doctor away.” But there are other immune supporting foods along the aisles of the grocery store. Immunity nutrition is a popular target of today’s diet trends. And while a variety of wholesome foods are needed to create a balanced diet, some are particularly good sources of immunity nutrients.

Foods that support your body’s immune system are nutrient dense. That means they’re packed with vitamins, minerals, phytonutrients, and other helpful nutrients. Beta-glucans, vitamin C, B vitamins, and zinc are some of the most important immunity nutrients.

They all work to protect your health. These nutrients support the function of immune system cells—like neutrophils, macrophages, and natural killer cells. By supporting your natural defenses, immunity nutrition can help maintain your health.

It is important to get these nutrients in your daily meals. And the good news is each comes in a healthy, delicious package. Whether it’s red pepper, kiwi, chickpeas, or cashews, make sure you get immune supporting foods each time you go to the grocery store.

Fungi, Whole Grains, and Dairy: Beta Glucans

Mushrooms have famously been linked to immune health. But more foods than mushrooms contain beta-glucans—the nutrients responsible for mushrooms’ immune support. Beta-glucans are sugars found in the cell walls of fungi (like mushrooms), bacteria, and other plant material. They are also present in oats, other grains, and dairy products.

When you consume foods rich in beta-glucans, your immune system flourishes. Beta-glucans are immunostimulants, meaning they support the function and responsiveness of immune cells. These micronutrients support the normal activity of neutrophils, which help maintain your health.

Your immune response can be primed by molecules like beta-glucans. They train your innate immunity (your ancient immune system) to react to real threats with harmless stimuli. Now “awake” and alert to foreign triggers, your immune system is in a heightened state of awareness.

Macrophage (a type of white blood cell) activity is also stimulated by the presence of beta-glucans. Together (and with the help of beta-glucans) neutrophils and macrophages play an important role in maintaining your immune health.

And you don’t have to dig too deep to find beta-glucan-rich foods. Beta-glucans are large polysaccharides (large sugar molecules) that are added to foods to increase their fiber content. Many cereals, baking goods, instant oatmeal, and milk products are fortified with beta-glucans. Increase your awareness of dietary sources of beta-glucans so you can practice healthy immune nutrition.

Fruits and Veggies: Vitamin C

Vitamin C is a powerful antioxidant. And it also works with your immune system to maintain your health. Neutrophils (yet another of the five major types of white blood cells) have a high concentration of vitamin C. They use it to reduce free radicals and other toxic oxygen species to protect themselves when they are out protecting your health.

The presence of vitamin C also triggers the activation—or maturation—of leukocytes.  These important immune cells are part of your body’s natural defenses that keep you feeling your best. Working in tandem with antibodies, leukocytes can direct other cells in your immune system. This essential function helps maintain healthy immunity.

They’re bright and vibrant, so foods rich in vitamin C are easy to spot when you are out shopping. Citrus fruits, colorful peppers, spinach, and broccoli are all excellent sources of this essential vitamin and antioxidant. You can make it a snack or a side dish. So, look out for your immune system and add vitamin C to your shopping cart.

Protein: B Vitamins and Zinc

This group of essential vitamins and a mighty mineral partner with your immune system to keep you healthy and feeling your best. B vitamins do this by supporting a healthy metabolism and helping to produce white blood cells. Zinc supports the development of immune cells and acts as an antioxidant—defending your body by destroying free radicals.

B vitamins are a class of their own. These eight immunity nutrients are commonly found in tuna, beef liver, chicken, and turkey meat. As mentioned above, they play an important role in a healthy immune system because they help your body manufacture white blood cells. B vitamins also support the creation of hemoglobin. This protein helps red blood cells carry oxygen throughout your body.

Zinc aids in multiple immune system functions. In your body, zinc stimulates the production of immune cells. It also helps these cells initiate a proper immune response. Macrophages also rely on zinc to help them play their normal role in your body’s defenses.

Free radicals are no match for zinc, either. By helping to reduce toxic oxygen species, zinc can minimize free radical damage.

The essential mineral can be tricky to locate, though. Zinc is hiding in foods like oysters, crab, and lobster. But if high-priced seafood doesn’t suit your budget or taste buds, grab a box of healthy, whole-grain breakfast cereal instead. Many fortified and whole grain breakfast cereals contain a significant amount of zinc.

Eating immune supporting foods loaded with B vitamins and zinc help your immune system by supplying red blood cells with hemoglobin and increasing the number of fighter cells like leukocytes and neutrophils. Learn to rotate macronutrient choices so you get some variety while focusing on immunity nutrition.

Immunity Nutrients Shopping List

Immune boosting micronutrients can be acquired through healthy eating. If you have trouble locating the foods below, or avoid them for any reason, you may need some help supporting immunity. Nutritional supplements can also provide these necessary micronutrients for immune support. Supplementation can help your body stay topped off with the immunity nutrients of which you need more.

But start with this shopping list, which provides ample dietary sources of immunity nutrition. You should be able to find foods rich in beta-glucans, vitamin C, B vitamins, and zinc at the grocery store, farmer’s market, or in your own garden.

These nutrients are hiding in plain sight. All you need to do is eat and enjoy. Bon Appetit!

Beta-Glucans

  • Whole wheat bread
  • High-fiber whole wheat cereals
  • Oats
  • Mushrooms
  • Seaweed
  • Low-fat dairy products
  • Low-fat meat products

Vitamin C

  • Oranges
  • Kiwifruits
  • Grapefruits
  • Red peppers
  • Green peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Spinach

B Vitamins

  • B vitamin fortified cereals
  • Liver
  • Chicken breasts
  • Salmon
  • Eggs
  • Yogurt

Zinc

  • Oysters
  • Lobster
  • Crab
  • Beef
  • Chickpeas
  • Cashews
  • Kidney Beans