整体健康的8大支柱

健康通常被理解为没有疾病或病痛。虽然这个定义也没错,但它缺乏更广泛的全面性认知。所以请开始用更广泛的眼光来评估您的整体健康。这表示健康应由更多因素而决定,而不仅仅是每年避免流感就好。

整体健康是由身体、营养、情绪、社交、心灵、智力、财务、和环境等8大支柱所维系的。

这些支柱将让您对如何追求最佳的健康状态有个清楚的认知,但它绝对不是一些规范。健康之道并没有一套对所有人都适用的规则,其过程对每个人来说都是独一无二的。

您的生活规律、个性、和环境决定了健康对您的意义,这也是为什么您追求健康的方法应该个人化的原因。而对每个人都一样的是,健康需要一套整体方法。

因此,让我们进一步了解每一个支柱,以及该如何加强。

身体

大多数人一听到「身体健康」就立刻想到运动。定期的体力活动是绝对不容忽视的重要部份,但值得注意的不只这方面。

身体不仅仅需要运动,身体健康还包括充足的睡眠、卫生、和健康的饮食(下一部份将进一步讨论)。若想要评估自己身体的健康状况,请自问一下:您是否有足够的优质睡眠?如果没有,是什么阻挠您获得正常的安静睡眠呢?

研究人员发表了最新的国家睡眠基金会对成年人睡眠需求的建议;此研究重申的理念是,成年人每天晚上应该至少睡7到9个小时。

至于大学生、为人父母者、和工作狂,可能很难达到这个数字。但只要使用简单的策略就能确保您轻松获得不中断的睡眠。

提示:

  1. 睡前30分钟避免看屏幕。
  2. 每晚结合让自己放松下来的程序来帮助入眠,包括调暗屋内的灯光、播放平静心灵的音乐、甚至是轻度伸展身体。
  3. 隔绝不必要的光线和噪音。这可以利用遮光帘和音频助眠机(white-noise machine)来达到。

营养

虽然营养与身体健康有密切的关系,但将它单独列为一项支柱是很重要的。因为营养必须根据年龄、性别、活动程度、和身体化学特性而予以个人化,所以这一点特别真实。

均衡的饮食要求您吃能为身体和心灵带来营养的食物。美国农业部建议,成年人用餐时,盘子里应装满一半的水果和蔬菜;另一半则应该大部份是谷类,连同适量的蛋白质,另搭配乳制品。

餐盘中包含适量的每一类食物,将有助于您获得必要的巨量营养素,来供应日常的能量、肌肉生长与复元、以及身体其他生理过程的所需。

遗憾的是,病预防控制中心(CDC)在2013年所提出的报告指出,全美国有76%成年人日常的水果摄取量未达建议的标准,甚至大多数(87%)的成年人未达到日常蔬菜的需求量。如果很难达到一天5杯蔬果的建议,那么补充品能帮助您的身体重新获得适量的必要营养素。

加强这项支柱需要小心注意饮食并适当补充营养。由于生活的压力和时间的限制,这些工作变得困难重重。但改善营养将有助于加强整体健康的其他7大支柱。

提示:

  1. 吃各种颜色的蔬果。餐盘中这一部份的多样化,将确保身体得到所需的微量营养素。
  2. 注意食物的份量,以帮助维持体重并和「我的餐盘」指南一致。
  3. 用全谷物来取代精制谷物,以确保获得足够的纤维。

情绪

情绪健康包括驾驭情感的能力。这表示有能力辨识、评估、并有效与人分享这些感觉。

为什么这很重要呢?因为人生的起伏会让您的情绪像坐云霄飞车一样,但您越了解这些感觉,并且管理得越好,那么您的情绪就越平和。

提示:

  1. 列一张名单,写下哪些人可以支持您,以及如何跟他们联系。在遇到困难时,可能一时很难找到人帮助,如果手上有这份快速参考名单,想寻求帮助就容易多了。
  2. 寻求治疗师或辅导员的帮助。通常第三者的洞察力可以帮助您驾驭起起伏伏的情绪。
  3. 写日记是辨识及处理情感的一种简单方法,特别是如果您不想大声嚷嚷告诉别人的话。它一直都是衡量自己是否有所进步或成长的好方法。而短短几页的日记,就能提醒您过去的障碍与成功。

社交

心灵这项支柱对每个人都有所不同,因为这是整体健康中的个人部份。它在个人的人生中的影响比其他几项都来得更强大,端视每个人对它的定义如何而决定。

心灵通常被视为对目的、方向、或意义的感觉。若没有心灵,则价值观就会一无是处,混乱了生命的平衡。许多人通过默想、祈祷、或其他活动(例如接触大自然)来培养他们的心灵,。

保持心灵健康可能每个人的作法不同。这跟特定的宗教或信仰体系无关,而是跟个人的心路历程有关。有些人可能会以警觉作为手段,来检查他们内心的意图、引导他们的行为、并维护他们价值导向的人生。对如何加强您心灵健康的选择,取决于您自己。

提示:

  1. 坚持每天为自己拨出一小段时间,将这段时间列为优先,不分心、不中断、也不进行重要活动。这段时间可用来放松、反省、默想、或祈祷。
  2. 维持写日记的习惯。定期写作能帮助洁净您的心思,并使您对自己订下的目标负责。
  3. 选出您人生的三大价值,并将它们写下来,经常加以反省。心中牢记这些价值观,将有助于指引每天的大小决策。这种做法让您更容易向有价值的事说「是」,并向不合乎您价值观的事说「不」。

智力

智力健康是透过不断思考来加强的。如此做将有助于建立新的技能和知识来激发并挑战自我,帮助自己成长。您可以按您的心情决定选择不同的方法,来保持头脑敏锐。对某些人来说,就是脑力游戏和猜谜,或是钻研学术。即使只是进行刺激智力的对话和辩论,也能加强此一支柱。

有些人通过自我探索和个人提升来体验智力。学术上的努力、参与社区活动、或是追求个人成长的其他途径,是您可以尝试的一些例子。

提示:

  1. 参加当地社区学院或大学的成人推广教育课程。
  2. 加入读书会或前往当地图书馆申请一张借书证。
  3. 开始写日记或其他可以自我反省的活动。

财务

经济状况良好就是生活能够量力而为并适当地为将来做计划。这或许很难达成,但一些小小的措施,从长远来看将会在重大时刻获得回报。

财务健康听起来可能没那么令人兴奋,但若能在这方面获得改善,就必定能加强整体健康的其他支柱。毕竟,财务困难是美国人所提出的最大压力源之一。采取一些小措施来控制花费和节省支出,就能确实减轻您日常生活的负担。

提示:

  1. 优先偿还债务。
  2. 借助于像Mint这类的在线系统或个人理财规划师来制作预算。
  3. 取消每个月花在非必需品,如娱乐、外出用餐、和休闲等的固定费用。

环境

环境健康涉及您个人直接接触的环境,以及您居住和工作所处的更大社区。具体说来,环境健康取决于个人与其所处环境之间的相互关系。您怎样支持您的环境呢?反之,您的环境如何支持您的健康、幸福、和安全呢?

加强环境健康的影响,是您本人以及您本地和全球更大的社区都能感受到的。您越在乎和尊重您的自然与所营造的环境,它们就越能支持您的日常生活。

提示:

  1. 个人:保持您工作空间的清洁。整洁的工作空间能激发创造力和生产力。
  2. 邻里:加入社区清洁工作。这可能包括:减少产生废弃物、资源回收、并捡拾附近的垃圾。
  3. 更大社区:减少开车。无论是把多次出外办事集中在一趟完成或在可能情况下尽量不开车,每一个小小的努力都可以聚沙成塔,成为大贡献。

建立整体健康的支柱

对每个人而言,健康的意义可能都不同,而健康赋予每个人追求个人目标的能力。总之,当身、心、灵都获得完整的照顾时,它们就能减少您追求并实现您目标时的阻力。

要决定您个人追求健康的方法,可从整体健康的八大支柱着手,找出您最需要关注的方面。并请记住,加强每一个支柱,都将为您提供最佳基础来让您享受最健康的美好人生。

 

关于作者

Jenna Templeton是住在犹他州盐湖城的健康教育家和自由科学作家。她获得弗吉尼亚理工大学化学学士学位后,在营养产业中担任研究科学家五年。这项工作引发了她对个人健康的兴趣,于是她前往犹他大学攻读健康推广与教育硕士。在工作之外,Jenna十分享受现场音乐、园艺、一切美食、以及在瓦萨奇山脉游玩。

 

Hirshkowitz M et al. “National Sleep Foundation’s sleep time duration recommendations: methodology and results summary”. Sleep Health 1 (2015). 1(1): 40-43.

Moore LV and Thompson FE. “Adult Fruit and Vegetable Intake Recommendations – United States, 2013”. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.

Waldinger RJ, Schulz MS. “What’s love got to do with it? Social functioning, perceived health, and daily happiness in married octogenarians”. Psychology and Aging (2010). 25(2): 422-431.

The 8 Pillars of Holistic Health and Wellness

holistic health and wellness

Health is often understood as the absence of disease or sickness. While this definition is valid, it lacks the comprehensiveness of a broader approach. So start assessing your holistic health and wellness on a wider spectrum. This means wellness depends on more factors than simply avoiding the flu each year.

Holistic health and wellness is sustained by eight pillars: physical, nutritional, emotional, social, spiritual, intellectual, financial, and environmental.

The pillars will give you a sense of how to work toward your optimal wellness, but it’s by no means prescriptive. The path to wellness is not one-size-fits-all. The journey is unique and different for each individual.

Your biology, personality, and environment will determine what wellness means to you. That’s why your approach should be personalized. The common thread for everyone is that wellness requires a holistic approach.

So, let’s learn more about each pillar and how you can strengthen each one.

Physical

Most people immediately think of exercise when they hear “physical wellness.” Regular physical activity is an important part of the equation that can’t be ignored. But it’s not the only aspect deserving of attention.

Your body needs more than movement alone. Physical wellness also includes appropriate sleep, hygiene, and a healthy diet (more on this in the next section). If you’re evaluating your physical health, ask these questions: Are you getting enough quality sleep? And if not, what barriers keep you from achieving regular and restful sleep?

Researchers published an update to The National Sleep Foundation’s recommendations for adult sleep requirements. Their study reaffirmed the idea that adults should get at least seven to nine hours of sleep each night.

For college students, parents, and workaholics, this can be a tough number to meet. But simple strategies can ensure the sleep you get comes easily and goes on uninterrupted.

Tips:

  1. Avoid screens 30 minutes before bedtime.
  2. Incorporate a relaxing wind-down routine each night. This can include dimming lights in your home, turning on calming music, and even light stretching.
  3. Block out unnecessary light and noise. This can be done with blackout curtains and a white-noise machine.

Nutrition

Though nutrition is intimately tied to physical health, it’s so important and must be represented by its own pillar. This is especially true because nutrition must be personalized based on age, sex, activity level, and body chemistry.

A balanced diet requires that you consume nutritional foods that feed your body and mind. The USDA recommends that during meals, adults fill half of their plates with fruits and vegetables. The other half should be dedicated to mostly grains, along with a modest portion of protein and a side of dairy.

Diversifying your plate with appropriate amounts of each food group will help you acquire the necessary macronutrients for day-to-day energy, muscle growth and recovery, and other bodily processes.

Unfortunately, in 2013, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported that nationally, 76 percent of adults didn’t meet the recommendations for daily fruit intake. Even more—87 percent—of adults didn’t meet daily vegetable requirements. When meeting the suggested five cups a day becomes difficult to do, supplementation can help restore the necessary nutrients in your body to appropriate levels.

Strengthening this pillar requires careful attention to your diet and appropriate supplementation. Life’s stressors and time commitments can make these tasks difficult. But nutritional improvements will help strengthen the other seven pillars of holistic health and wellness.

Tips:

  1. Consume a variety of colorful fruits and vegetables. Diversifying this portion of your plate will ensure you get the micronutrients your body needs.
  2. Pay attention to portion sizes to help with weight maintenance and adherence to MyPlate guidelines.
  3. Replace refined grains with their whole counterparts to ensure you get enough fiber.

Emotional

Emotional wellness encompasses the ability to navigate your feelings. This means identifying, assessing, and effectively sharing those feelings with others.

Why is this important? The ups and downs of life can take you on an emotional rollercoaster. But the better you understand, process, and manage those feelings, the smoother the ride will be.

Tips:

  1. Create a list of those who support you and how best to contact them. When the going gets tough, it can be hard asking for help. Having this quick reference at hand may make it that much easier to reach out.
  2. Seek out a therapist or counselor. Often a third party’s insight can help you navigate rough waters.
  3. Journaling is an easy way to identify and process your feelings, especially if you’re not comfortable sharing them out loud. It’s always a great way to measure your progress or growth. And reminders of your past obstacles and successes will only be a few pages away.

Social

Social wellness is about connecting with others to form positive relationships. And if those falter, it’s about dealing with any conflicts appropriately.

Social relationships create support systems that can carry you through life’s struggles. Harvard’s Study of Adult Development ran for 80 years, collecting data on hundreds of participants. A recent study on a subset of this population—surviving octogenarians—investigated the connections between marital satisfaction, social lives, and happiness. Researchers found that participants who spent more time with others reported greater levels of happiness.

The impact of surrounding yourself with those that care for you can’t be understated. When the demands of life increase and stress mounts, the ability to turn to someone for support and understanding is powerful. Building and maintaining these networks take time and energy, but the work is worth the effort. And it will continue to serve you throughout your life.

Tips:

  1. Meet new people through social networks like Meetup.com, community events, or volunteer service.
  2. Schedule a recurring time weekly to reach out to out-of-state friends and family. Connect with someone new each week to keep those relationships strong.
  3. Revisit the idea of pen pals and snail mail. Connecting with loved ones through handwritten communication can really strengthen bonds.

Spiritual

The spiritual pillar will look different for everyone because it’s such a personal piece of overall wellness. It will play a stronger role in one person’s life more than another, depending on how each person defines it.

Spirituality is commonly viewed as a sense of purpose, direction, or meaning, without which, values can slip to the wayside, upending life’s balance. Many cultivate their spirituality through meditation, prayer, or other activities that foster a connection to nature or a higher power.

Maintaining your spiritual wellness will look different for everyone. It’s not about a specific religion or belief system. Spiritual health is about personalizing your journey. Some people might practice mindfulness as a way of checking in with their intentions, guiding their actions, and maintaining a values-based approach to life. How you choose to strengthen your spiritual health is up to you.

Tips:

  1. Dedicate a small chunk of time each day to yourself. Make this time a priority, free of distractions, interruptions, and major activities. This time can be used to relax, reflect, meditate, or pray.
  2. Keep a journal. Writing regularly can help clear your mind and keep you accountable to the goals you’ve set.
  3. Choose your top three values in life and write them down. Reflect on them often. Keeping these values in the front of your mind will help guide everyday decisions—big and small. This practice will make it easier to say “yes” to things that matter, and “no” to things that don’t align with your values.

Intellectual

Intellectual wellness is strengthened by continually engaging the mind.  Doing so can help you build new skills and knowledge that inspire and challenge you, and help you grow. You might choose different ways to keep your mind sharp—depending on your mood. For some, that’s brain games and puzzles, or scholastic endeavors. Even simply engaging in intellectually stimulating conversations and debates can strengthen this pillar.

Some experience intellectual boons through self-discovery and personal advancement.  Academic efforts, involvement in community activities, or other avenues of personal growth are just a few you can try.

Tips:

  1. Look for continuing education classes through a local community college or university.
  2. Join a book club or visit your local library and sign up for a card.
  3. Take up journaling or another self-reflective activity.

Financial

To be financially well is to live within your means and plan for the future appropriately. It can be tough to accomplish, but small steps can pay off big-time in the long-run.

Financial wellness might sound the least exciting. But pursuing betterment in this area will surely strengthen the other pillars of holistic health and wellness. After all, financial troubles are one of the top stressors that Americans report. Taking small steps to control spending and save money can really lighten the burden on your everyday life.

Tips:

  1. Make paying off debt a priority.
  2. Create a budget with the help of an online system like Mint or a personal financial planner.
  3. Set aside a fixed amount of money every month for non-essentials, like entertaining, dining out, and recreation.

Environmental

Environmental wellness is concerned with your immediate personal surroundings and the larger community where you live and work. Specifically, environmental wellness is determined by the reciprocal relationship between an individual and their environment. How do you support your environment? And in return, how does your environment support your health, well-being, and safety?

The effects of strengthening your environmental wellness can be felt personally, and by your larger local and global communities. The more you care for and respect your natural and built environments, the better they can support and sustain your daily life.

Tips:

  1. Individual: Keep your workspace clear. A clutter-free workspace inspires creativity and productivity.
  2. Neighborhood: Join local clean-up efforts. This could include: producing less waste, recycling, and picking up litter in your neighborhood.
  3. Larger community: Cut back on car trips. Whether it’s combining errands or replacing motorized transport when possible, each small effort can add up to a large impact.

Build Up Your Pillars of Holistic Health and Wellness

Wellness means different things to each individual. And being well gives each person the ability to reach their personal goals. After all, when your body, mind, and soul are cared for holistically, you’re able to pursue and meet your goals with less resistance.

To determine your personalized approach to wellness, reflect on the eight pillars of holistic health and wellness. Figure out which ones most require your attention. And remember, strengthening each one will provide a great foundation for living your best, healthiest life.

 

About the Author

Jenna Templeton is a health educator and freelance science writer living in Salt Lake City, Utah. After receiving a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Virginia Tech, Jenna spent five years as a research scientist in the nutritional industry. This work fueled her interest in personal wellness, leading her to pursue a graduate degree in Health Promotion & Education from the University of Utah. Outside of work, Jenna enjoys live music, gardening, all things food, and playing in the Wasatch mountains.

 

Hirshkowitz M et al. “National Sleep Foundation’s sleep time duration recommendations: methodology and results summary”. Sleep Health 1 (2015). 1(1): 40-43.

Moore LV and Thompson FE. “Adult Fruit and Vegetable Intake Recommendations – United States, 2013”. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.

Waldinger RJ, Schulz MS. “What’s love got to do with it? Social functioning, perceived health, and daily happiness in married octogenarians”. Psychology and Aging (2010). 25(2): 422-431.