大腦的保健品—大腦健康所需要的營養素

大腦的功能超強,您甚至可以用它來思考大腦本身是如何運作的。不可思議,對嗎?但這種能力並不能使大腦對影響身體其餘部分的因素免疫。生活方式和環境都會影響大腦的健康。幸好,有一些對大腦健康有益的營養素已證實可支持認知功能。

脂質

長期以來,膳食脂肪(脂質)一直被認為與大腦健康有關。起初,大家認為脂質對心血管系統功能有影響;但最近的研究顯示,膳食脂肪更對大腦有直接的作用。

ω-3多元不飽和脂肪酸(例如來自魚油的DHA)通常是整個身體細胞膜的組成成份。就像其他飽和脂肪一樣,它們是您大腦細胞的基本組成物質。這也是魚常被稱為大腦食物的一部分原因。

類黃酮

類黃酮的抗氧化作用已在試管中獲得證實,但這些植物化合物(如可可、銀杏和葡萄籽萃取物)在人體內具有更多的綜合作用,目前仍在持續進行研究中。

一些類黃酮在保持健康的大腦功能方面表現出令人雀躍的結果。槲皮素是一種類黃酮,是銀杏萃取物中的主要成份,它已在一些研究中被證明能維持記憶力和學習能力。關於這個主題仍有待進一步研究。

維生素B

足夠的B維生素葉酸鹽是正常大腦功能所必需的。證據呢?缺乏葉酸可導致如憂鬱症和認知障礙等神經失常。

臨床試驗結果深化了葉酸與認知功能之間的關聯。這些研究顯示葉酸補充品本身或與其他B群維生素(B6和B12)結合一起服用,可在老化過程中有效保持健全的認知功能。

其他

還有更多有助於大腦健康的營養素。以下簡要列舉一些經研究對大腦健康有益的其他營養素:

 

  • α-硫辛酸已獲證實可維持記憶力和認知功能。
  • 維生素E,或α-生育酚也與認知表現有關。維生素E的血清濃度降低與老年人的記憶功能衰退有關。
  • 薑黃素是一種強力抗氧化劑,似可保護大腦免受脂質過氧化反應和一氧化氮類的影響。
  • 幾種胃腸激素或胜肽,如瘦素、飢餓肽、類升糖素胜肽-1(GLP1)和胰島素等,可支持健康的情緒反應和認知過程。

量的產生

大腦指揮身體的運作,它需要大量的能量才能確實執行各種功能。因此有必要用健康的巨量營養素來提供大腦所需的能量。

把能量從食物轉移到神經元的機制,可能是控制大腦功能的基礎。與管理神經元能量相關的過程可能會影響大腦的可塑性。

遠的影響

生活方式和飲食對健康有長遠的影響,這表示它們對大眾健康的重要性可能被低估了,特別是健康的老化方面,但它們對大腦卻很重要。正常老化的特徵,如逐漸的和不易察覺的認知衰退等,會受到您吃的健康飲食中,能餵養您大腦的營養素的影響。

這些影響也會超越您的人生;通過表觀遺傳,您將特質傳遞給您的後代子孫。最近的研究支持這一點;研究結果顯示,這些營養對您大腦的影響甚至可能通過會影響表觀遺傳而傳遞好幾個世代。

 

Gómez-Pinilla, Fernando. Brain foods: the effects of nutrients on brain function. Nat Rev Neurosci. 2008 Jul; 9(7): 568–578.

Food for Thought—Nutrients for Brain Health

Your brain is powerful. You can even use it to think about how the brain itself works. Crazy, right? But this power doesn’t make your brain immune to factors that impact the rest of your body. Lifestyle and environment can affect your brain health. Luckily, there are nutrients for brain health shown to support cognitive function.

Lipids

For a long time, dietary fats (lipids) have been connected to brain health. Originally, lipids’ effect on the cardiovascular system was thought to facilitate that connection. But more recent research shows dietary fats have more direct actions on the brain.

Omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids (like DHA from fish oil) normally make up cell membranes throughout your body. And like other saturated fat, they’re fundamental building blocks for your brain cells. That’s part of the reason fish is often called a brain food.

Flavonoids

The antioxidant effects of flavonoids are well-established in a test-tube setting. But these plant compounds—like cocoa, ginkgo, and grape-seed extracts—have more complex actions in the body that is continually being researched.

Some flavonoids show promising results in maintaining healthy brain function. Quercetin—a flavonoid that’s a major component of ginkgo biloba extracts—has been shown to maintain memory and learning abilities in some studies. Further research on the subject is needed.

B Vitamins

Adequate levels of the B vitamin folate are essential for brain function. The proof? Folate deficiency can lead to neurological disorders, like depression and cognitive impairment.

Clinical trial results have deepened the connection between folate and cognitive function. These studies have shown folate supplementation—by itself or in conjunction with other B vitamins (B6 and B12)—to be effective at maintaining healthy cognitive function during aging.

Other Nutrients

There are more nutrients for brain health. Here’s a short list of the other nutrients with researched roles in brain health:

  • Alpha lipoic acid has been shown to maintain memory and cognitive function.
  • Vitamin E, or α-tocopherol, has also been implicated in cognitive performance. Decreasing serum levels of vitamin E were associated with poor memory performance in older individuals.
  • Curcumin is a strong antioxidant that seems to protect the brain from lipid peroxidation and nitric-oxide-based radicals.
  • Several gut hormones or peptides—like leptin, ghrelin, glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP1) and insulin—have been found to support healthy emotional response and cognitive processes.

Energy Production

The brain runs your body. And it takes a lot of energy to literally be the brain of the operation. Healthy macronutrients are necessary to fuel your brain and provide the energy it needs.

The mechanisms involved in the transfer of energy from foods to neurons are likely to be fundamental to the control of brain function. Processes that are associated with the management of energy in neurons can affect brain plasticity.

Far-Reaching Impacts

Lifestyle and diet have long-term effects on your health. That means they are likely underestimated for their importance to public health—especially when it comes to healthy aging. But they’re important to your brain. The gradual and sometimes imperceptible cognitive decline that characterizes normal aging can be influenced by the nutrients you feed your brain through a healthy diet.

These impacts go beyond your life, too. Through epigenetics, you pass on traits to your children and their children. Newer studies back this up. They indicate that these nutritional effects on your brain might even be transmitted over generations by influencing epigenetic events.

Gómez-Pinilla, Fernando. Brain foods: the effects of nutrients on brain function. Nat Rev Neurosci. 2008 Jul; 9(7): 568–578.