備戰花粉:對抗季節性過敏

您的身體有一個龐大、複雜、訓練有素的安全部隊,可以保護您免受源源不絕的外敵侵略,我們稱之為免疫系統。它是一個由細胞,組織和器官組成的網絡,聯合提供全天候的全身性防護。在您不自覺的情況下,您的免疫系統會辨識並攻擊各式各樣的日常性威脅,同時會將這些病原體與健康組織區分開來。但這個神奇的系統有時卻反而會被花粉等威脅較小的物體拖垮,這就是您季節性過敏的開端。

從鼻子、嘴巴和眼睛所起的作用來說,過敏症狀如流鼻涕、流眼淚和打噴嚏都有一定的道理。由於它們是入侵者易進的入口,所以您的眼淚和黏液都配有一種叫做溶菌酶的酶,它能夠分解許多細菌的細胞壁。您的唾液中含有抗菌化合物,而您的鼻腔和肺部的外層則有黏液保護罩,其上排列著許多肥大細胞,它是白血球的一種。

任何細菌或病毒想通過這些通道入侵的話,首先必須成功闖過這些重要的防禦。對您健康不構成威脅的無害物質也會被防禦網攔截。它們被您的免疫系統誤判為摧毀目標,這也是導致過敏最基本的原因。

但是還有更多值得探索的東西,尤其若您會經常鼻塞、流鼻水、打噴嚏的話。讓我們來深入了解吧!

季節性過敏:它們是什麼?為何會發生?

過敏原通常是一種無害的物質,卻會刺激免疫系統,導致過敏反應,這被視為一種免疫系統出錯。

季節性過敏(也稱過敏性鼻炎或乾草熱)是人體免疫系統在一年之中某些時間對環境中的無害物質反應過度所造成的。乾草熱(花粉症)名稱的由來,正是因爲這是人們在夏季收割乾草時所經歷的症狀。

花粉是季節性過敏患者中最常見的過敏原,這種細小的粉狀物質主要是春季、夏季和秋季時由樹木、青草、野草和花卉所產生的。授粉行為會將花粉微粒從植物的雄性物質轉移到雌性部分,從而進行繁殖。當花粉被釋放到空氣中,被風吹散,或由昆蟲、蝙蝠和鳥類攜帶至其它同種植物上,就能成功授粉。

授粉是許多植物生命週期中非常重要的一個環節,但若您患有季節性過敏,這種授粉行為可能會造成嚴重困擾。

這些微小無害的花粉微粒在空氣中懸浮,有時會進入您的鼻腔,引發鼻內免疫反應。這可能會讓您打噴嚏、流鼻水或鼻塞、流眼淚、鼻子或喉嚨發癢。雖然這些症狀聽起來或感覺上像感冒,但它們不是由病毒引起的,這只是您的免疫系統對那些「無害」的植物花粉反應過度。

雖然要判定您是季節性過敏還是感冒可能有點難,但兩者間還是有一些獨特的差異:

  • 季節性過敏不會發燒。
  • 您的分泌物通常都很稀薄而清澈。
  • 您的鼻子、喉嚨和耳朵可能會感到搔癢,也可能會連打好幾個噴嚏。
  • 季節性過敏症狀通常持續7到10天以上,因為它們與花粉的產生及數量有關。

季節性過敏是如何造成的?

人季節性過敏不是天生的,但它在您一生中可能會慢慢形成。

這一切都肇因於暴露在過敏原(可能引起過敏的分子)下。您一生與它們接觸,本來相安無事,但突然間,您的身體卻認定某種過敏原是一種必須被摧毀的入侵者。

當這種情況發生時,您的免疫系統會研究過敏原,並製造出高度特化的蛋白質,稱為IgE的抗體來對抗它,以防備下一次再接觸。一旦您的身體變得敏感,您的免疫系統就能保持對過敏原的持久記憶,這個過程稱為「致敏」。

在下一次接觸時,先前製造的抗體便會識別過敏原,並開啟特殊免疫細胞來對抗並摧毀它。這些IgE抗體對特定抗原具有特異性,例如,如果是豚草花粉,則免疫系統產生的IgE抗體只會攻擊豚草的花粉。

是否會誘發過敏始於您的基因。雖然您不會從父母那裡繼承特定的過敏症,但是過敏症的傾向會被傳下來。父母之一是過敏者,小孩可能有高達50%的機會罹患過敏;如果父母都有過敏,則可能會有80%的機率。任何人都可能會出現過敏症,但兒童往往比成人更容易受到影響。

過敏可能需要數年累積才會發作,一旦得過一種過敏,可能也會讓您更容易得到其它種。然而对过敏者来说,要誘發過敏也有一個門檻,因此,人體可以處理少量接觸,而一旦接觸過多,則會誘發人體的過敏反應。這會刺激鼻腔組織中的肥大細胞,並觸發嗜鹼性球和嗜酸性球(某些類型的白血球)釋放組織胺。

組織胺是一種有機化合物,會引起最常見的過敏症狀。它們會造成鼻子、喉嚨或皮膚發癢、流眼淚、打噴嚏、咳嗽、流鼻水或鼻塞。

季節性過敏患者常會使用抗組織胺藥物,這些藥物通常用來阻止組織胺的作用,它是處理季節性過敏症狀最普遍的方式。

可怕的過敏季節

過敏季節取決於您居住的地方以及您對什麼過敏,例如對花粉過敏的人可能在春季、夏季或秋季等花粉數量最高的時候最難受。

但是哪些花粉來源與哪個季節最相關呢?這裡有一份快速、簡單的指南:

  • 春季:樹木(如橡樹和樺樹)是春季的重要花粉來源。在某些地區,它們會在1月份開始生產花粉。
  • 夏季:在夏季,草類(如黑麥草和提摩西草)是引起花粉過敏的主要來源。
  • 秋季:雜草是秋季最主要的過敏原,尤其是幾乎在任何環境都能生長的豚草。

得了一種過敏,就可能更容易再得到其它種。因此,如果某一年您的豚草過敏症狀看起來比往昔更嚴重,您也可能是開始對同空間內另一種過敏原過敏。

季節性過敏如何延伸到食物過敏

過敏可以以其它意想不到的方式相互作用。例如,多達三分之一的某些花粉過敏症患者,也會發展出對含有類似蛋白質的食物過敏,稱為「花粉食物過敏綜合症」或「口腔過敏綜合症」。

它是在花粉和未加工的水果、蔬菜甚至某些樹堅果中發現的交叉反應過敏原引起的,這意味著您可能會感到嘴唇發癢、喉嚨沙啞、或嘴唇、口腔、咽喉和舌頭腫脹等。

花粉食物過敏綜合症的症狀通常侷限於口腔和咽喉。那是因為這些蛋白質對胃酶很敏感,所以它們在被攝入人體後會迅速降解,這限制了反應的程度。此外,這些蛋白質對熱敏感,因此烹飪有害食物不會引起相同的反應。在大多數情況下,一旦吞嚥或從口腔中取出有害食物,症狀就會消退。

雖然並非所有患有花粉過敏症的人都會經歷花粉食物過敏綜合症,但以下是常見的花粉過敏原和食物:

  • 樺樹花粉:蘋果、杏仁、胡蘿蔔、芹菜、櫻桃、榛子、奇異果、桃、梨和李子
  • 牧草花粉:芹菜、甜瓜、橙子、桃子和番茄
  • 豚草花粉:香蕉、黃瓜、甜瓜、葵花籽和意大利瓜

過敏測試

您可能會猜測是什麼原因引起您的過敏反應,但進行測試是唯一的確認方法。

過敏測試可以利用皮膚穿刺或血液測試來進行,這兩種方法都能找出您可能對哪些物質過敏。這些測試由專門研究免疫系統和治療過敏症的醫生提供,且會配合全面體檢和健康史的調查。

皮膚過敏測試是最常見的,它被認定是測試某些類型過敏原的可靠方法。在此過程中,會在您的皮膚表面做一個「穿刺或搔刮」的小壓痕,將選定的少量過敏原置入您的皮膚

皮膚過敏測試根據皮膚的反應來確定特定的過敏反應,結果顯現的速度非常快,在皮膚上的反應大約15分鐘內就會發生。

如果您有過敏症,過敏原置入皮膚的地方會出現輕微的腫脹和發紅。例如,如果您對樺樹花粉過敏,而不是對黑麥草花粉過敏,則只有樺樹花粉會導致發紅、腫脹和搔癢。施用黑麥草花粉的地方將不受影響。

如果您厭倦了季節性過敏原之戰,這些測試可有助確認哪些過敏原會引發您的症狀。測試可有助於確認您需要採取哪些步驟來避免特定的觸發因素。它還有助於確認可能最適合您的預防措施或治療方法。

訓練您的免疫系統

在過敏症專家或免疫學家的幫助下,可以根據您的過敏類型,訓練您的免疫系統漸次降低對某些過敏原的反應。「脫敏」或免疫療法是對包括花粉的某些物質之過敏反應的預防性治療。

免疫療法包括在漸增口含溶解或皮下注射劑量的免疫侵襲性過敏原。漸增的劑量會改變免疫系統隨著時間對過敏原的反應方式。當未來免疫系統接觸到過敏原時,這有助減輕過敏症狀。

在開始治療之前,過敏症專家必須幫助您確認哪些花粉或其它物質會引發過敏症狀。在醫療之前,可先進行皮膚測試(或有時是血液測試)以確認針對特定過敏原的抗體。

對於那些厭倦了季節性打噴嚏和持續服用抗組織胺藥物的人來說,免疫療法是長期性解決免疫系統對過敏原反應的方法。

避免季節性過敏的秘訣

如果您的鼻子讓您快瘋了,您能做什麼?花粉很難躲閃,但迴避仍是在過敏季節中控制過敏原接觸的最佳方法之一。

為了將您對花粉的接觸減到最低:

  • 查看網際網路或其它資源,隨時了解您當地的花粉懸浮量
  • 當花粉懸浮量很高時,請儘量留在室內
  • 避免清晨到戶外鍛煉
  • 駕駛時請搖上車窗
  • 當花粉懸浮量很高時,請避免進行園藝作業
  • 在戶外時請佩戴防花粉口罩
  • 考慮添購家用空氣清淨機
  • 在颳風風日和雷雨時儘量待在室內
  • 保持門窗緊閉
  • 在室外可戴墨鏡,避免花粉接觸眼睛
  • 經常使用吸塵器將過敏原排出家門

擊敗惱人的過敏季節

對抗季節性過敏影響的最佳方法之一,是吸收知識、做好準備和付諸行動。一旦得知您對哪些花粉過敏,就請儘量避免與它接觸,並在症狀失控前對症下藥,便能幫助您在花粉季節中游刃有餘!

參考資料

https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/hay-fever-pollen-counts

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3312700/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2847274/

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319708.php?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=daily&utm_term=MNT%20Daily%20News%20%28Combined%29

https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/conditions-dictionary/immunoglobulin-e-%28ige%29

https://www.worldallergy.org/education-and-programs/education/allergic-disease-resource-center/professionals/ige-in-clinical-allergy-and-allergy-diagnosis

https://www.webmd.com/allergies/chronic-allergies-causes#1

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allergen

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/B9780124158474001002

https://www.healthline.com/health/allergies/pollen-library#1

https://allerg.qc.ca/Information_allergique/3_2_pollen_aliment_en.html

https://telfast.com.au/allergen-guide/

https://www.healthline.com/health/allergic-rhinitis

https://www.webmd.com/allergies/understanding-hay-fever-basics

https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/allergy-shots-(immunotherapy)

https://health.howstuffworks.com/diseases-conditions/allergies/outdoor-allergies/seasonal-allergies.htm

https://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/allergy-shots/about/pac-20392876

https://azsneeze.com/nasal-allergy-eye-allergy-and-sinusitis-april/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allergic_rhinitis

https://www.epainassist.com/allergies/seasonal-allergies

Pollen Preparedness: Dealing with Seasonal Allergies

Your body has a large, complex, and well-trained security force protecting you from the constant barrage of foreign invaders trying to get in. You call it your immune system. And it’s a network of cells, tissues, and organs working together to provide full-time, full-body protection. Without your knowledge, your immune system identifies and attacks a wide variety of day-to-day threats. All while distinguishing these pathogens from your healthy tissues. But this amazing system is sometimes tripped by less evil objects, like pollen. And that’s where your seasonal allergies start.

The symptoms of allergies—running nose, watery eyes, and sneezing—make sense when you consider the role your nose, mouth, and eyes play. They’re easy entry points for invaders, so your tears and mucus are equipped with an enzyme called lysozyme. It’s capable of breaking down the cell walls of numerous bacteria. Your saliva is armed with antibacterial compounds. And your nasal passages and lungs are coated in a protective shield of mucus and lined with mast cells—a type of white blood cell.

Any bacteria or virus that wants to gain entry through these passageways must first successfully navigate through these important defenses. Harmless substances—those that do not pose a threat to your health—also get caught up in these defenses. They are mistakenly targeted for destruction by your immune system. And that’s only the most basic answer for what causes allergies.

But there’s so much more worth exploring, especially if you’re familiar with the runny, watery, sneezy world of allergies. Let’s dive deeper.

Seasonal Allergies: What They Are and How They Happen

An allergen is typically a harmless substance that can trigger an immune system response that results in an allergic reaction. This is considered a type of immune system error.

A seasonal allergy (also called allergic rhinitis or hay fever) is your immune system overreacting to harmless substances in the environment during certain times of the year. Hay fever originally received its name because of the symptoms that people experienced during the summer months when hay was harvested.

Pollen is the most common allergen in sufferers’ seasonal allergies. This fine, powdery substance is produced by trees, grasses, weeds, and flowers mainly during the spring, summer, and fall. Pollination is the transferring of pollen grains from a male part of a plant to a female part so that reproduction can occur. This works when pollen is released into the air, picked up by wind, or carried by insects, bats, and birds to fertilize other plants of the same species.

Pollination is a very important step in the life cycle of many plants. But pollination can be miserable if you experience seasonal allergies.

These tiny, harmless pollen grains float around in the air and can find their way into your nasal passages. This can trigger an immune response inside your nose. That could lead to sneezing, runny or stuffy nose, teary eyes, and an itchy nose, or throat. While these symptoms may sound and feel like a cold, they are not caused by a virus. It’s just your immune system overreacting to that “harmless” plant pollen.

While it can be confusing to determine if you have seasonal allergies or a cold, there are some unique differences:

  • Seasonal allergies do not cause a fever.
  • Any mucus secretions you may experience are typically thin, runny, and clear.
  • Your nose, throat, and ears may feel itching and you may have rapid bouts of sneezing.
  • Seasonal allergy symptoms usually last longer than seven to 10 days as they are tied to pollen production and counts.

How Do Seasonal Allergies Develop?

You weren’t born with seasonal allergies. But you can develop them over your lifetime.

It all begins with exposure to an allergen (molecules with the potential to cause allergy). You’ve been around them all your life without difficulty. But suddenly your body decides a certain allergen is an invader that must be destroyed.

When this happens, your immune system studies the allergen and makes highly specialized proteins called IgE antibodies to act against it. That’s just in case another exposure occurs. Once your body is sensitized, your immune system maintains a lasting memory of that allergen. This process is called priming.

At your next exposure, your previously made antibodies recognize the allergen and turn on special immune cells to fight and destroy it. These IgE antibodies are specific to a particular antigen. For example, if it is ragweed pollen, the IgE antibodies produced by your immune system only attack the pollen from ragweed.

The chance of developing an allergy starts in your genes. While you can’t inherit specific allergies from your parents, the tendency toward developing allergies is passed down. Children with one allergic parent can have up to a 50-percent chance of developing allergies. And with two allergic parents, it can be an 80-percent chance. Anyone can experience allergies, but children tend to be affected more often than adults.

Allergies can take years to develop. And having one allergy can make you more likely to get others. There’s also a threshold for people who have allergies. So, you can handle a small exposure, but too much launches your body into an allergic response. That activates mast cells in nasal tissues and triggers the release of the histamine from basophils and eosinophils (types of white blood cells).

Histamine is an organic compound that causes the symptoms most often associated with allergies. They’re responsible for the itchy nose, throat, or skin; watery eyes; sneezing; cough; and a runny or stuffy nose.

Seasonal allergy sufferers are familiar with antihistamines. These medications are often used to block the effects of histamines. And it’s the most popular way to deal with the symptoms of seasonal allergies.

The Dreaded Season of Allergies

Allergy season is determined by where you live, and what you’re allergic to. Those with pollen allergies likely dread spring, summer, or fall seasons when pollen counts are at their highest levels.

But what pollen producers are most closely tied to what season? Here’s a quick, simple guide:

  • SPRING: Trees (like oak and birch) are the significant source of pollen during spring months. In some areas, they can begin producing pollen as early as January.
  • SUMMER: During the summer months, grasses (like ryegrass and timothy-grass) are a top source of allergy-causing pollen.
  • FALL: Weeds are the top allergy offenders during the fall. This is especially true for ragweed, which grows in almost every environment.

Having one allergy makes you more likely to get others. So, if one year your ragweed symptoms seem more severe than usual, you may also be reacting to another allergen that’s sharing the air.

How Seasonal Allergies Can Cross Over to Food Allergies

Allergies can interact in other unexpected ways. For example, up to a third of people with certain pollen allergies also develop allergies to foods that contain similar proteins. This is called pollen-food syndrome, or oral allergy syndrome.

It’s caused by cross-reacting allergens found in both pollen and raw fruits, vegetables, or even certain tree nuts. It means that you could experience an itchy mouth; a scratchy throat; or lip, mouth, throat, and tongue swelling.

The symptoms of pollen-food syndrome are usually confined to the mouth and throat. That’s because these proteins are sensitive to gastric enzymes, so they are rapidly degraded upon ingestion. That limits the extent of the reaction. In addition, these proteins are sensitive to heat, so cooking the offending food doesn’t cause the same reaction. In most cases, the symptoms subside once the offending food is swallowed or removed from the mouth.

Although not everyone with pollen allergies experiences pollen-food syndrome, the following are the commonly associated pollen allergens and foods:

  • Birch pollen: apple, almond, carrot, celery, cherry, hazelnut, kiwi, peach, pear, and plum
  • Grass pollen: celery, melons, oranges, peaches, and tomato
  • Ragweed pollen: banana, cucumber, melons, sunflower seeds, and zucchini 

All About Allergy Testing

You may have a guess about what causes your allergic reactions. But testing is the only way to know for sure.

Allergy testing can be done as a skin prick or through blood testing. Both methods are used to help determine what substances you may be allergic to. These tests are provided by medical doctors specializing in the immune system and the treatment of allergies. And they are given in addition to a thorough physical exam and health history.

Skin allergy testing is the most common. It’s considered a reliable method to test for certain types of allergens. For this procedure, a tiny amount of select allergens are put into your skin by making a small indentation “prick or scratch” on the surface of your skin.

The skin allergy test determines specific allergies based on how your skin reacts. And the results show up pretty fast. Reactions on the skin occur within about 15 minutes.

If you have allergies, a little swelling and redness will occur where the allergen(s) were placed in your skin. For example, if you are allergic to birch pollen, but not ryegrass pollen, only the birch pollen will cause redness, swelling, and possible itching. The spot where the ryegrass pollen was applied will remain unaffected.

If you’re tired of the seasonal allergen battle, these tests can help determine which allergens trigger your symptoms. And testing can help determine what steps you need to take to avoid your specific triggers. It also helps identify prevention measures or treatments likely to work best for you.

Train Your Immune System

Depending on the type of allergy you have, it’s possible to train your immune system to become less responsive to certain allergens over time—with the help of an allergist or immunologist. Desensitization or immunotherapy is a preventive treatment for allergic reactions to certain substances, including pollens.

Immunotherapy involves giving gradually increasing doses of the immune-offending allergen either under the tongue or as an injection into the skin. The incremental increase in dosing changes the way your immune system reacts to the allergen over time. This can help reduce the symptoms of an allergy when the allergen is encountered by your immune system in the future.

Before starting treatment, it is important for your allergist to help you identify which pollens or other substances trigger allergy symptoms. Skin and sometimes blood tests are performed to confirm the antibodies to specific allergens before therapy can begin.

For those tired of seasonal sneezing fits and constant doses of antihistamines, immunotherapy is a long-term way to address the way your immune system responds to allergens.

Tips for Seasonal Allergy Avoidance

If your nose is driving you crazy, what can you do? Pollen can be difficult to dodge. But avoidance remains one of the best ways to control exposure to allergens during allergy season.

To minimize your exposure to pollen:

  • Stay informed of your local pollen counts by checking the internet or other community sources
  • Remain indoors when pollen counts are high
  • Avoid exercising outdoors early in the morning
  • Keep car windows rolled up while driving
  • Avoid gardening or yard work when pollen counts are high
  • Wear a pollen mask when outdoors
  • Consider investing in a home air purifier
  • Stay indoors on windy days and during thunderstorms
  • Keep doors and windows closed
  • Wear sunglasses while outside to keep pollen out of your eyes
  • Vacuum often to keep allergens out of your home

Beat the Allergy Season Blues

One of the best ways to combat the impact of seasonal allergies is through knowledge, preparation, and action. Knowing what pollens you’re allergic to, controlling exposure, and treating the symptoms before they become overwhelming can help you navigate the perils of pollen season.

References

https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/hay-fever-pollen-counts

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3312700/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2847274/

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319708.php?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=daily&utm_term=MNT%20Daily%20News%20%28Combined%29

https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/conditions-dictionary/immunoglobulin-e-%28ige%29

https://www.worldallergy.org/education-and-programs/education/allergic-disease-resource-center/professionals/ige-in-clinical-allergy-and-allergy-diagnosis

https://www.webmd.com/allergies/chronic-allergies-causes#1

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allergen

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/B9780124158474001002

https://www.healthline.com/health/allergies/pollen-library#1

https://allerg.qc.ca/Information_allergique/3_2_pollen_aliment_en.html

https://telfast.com.au/allergen-guide/

https://www.healthline.com/health/allergic-rhinitis

https://www.webmd.com/allergies/understanding-hay-fever-basics

https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/allergy-shots-(immunotherapy)

https://health.howstuffworks.com/diseases-conditions/allergies/outdoor-allergies/seasonal-allergies.htm

https://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/allergy-shots/about/pac-20392876

https://azsneeze.com/nasal-allergy-eye-allergy-and-sinusitis-april/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allergic_rhinitis

https://www.epainassist.com/allergies/seasonal-allergies