瞭解關於膳食脂肪的知識

脂肪的評價很差,它可能是最受到誤解的巨量營養素。「脂肪」這個詞雖然總是讓人聯想到不健康的飲食和體重過重,但是您的身體需要飲食脂肪才能發揮功能。

您會在下面閱讀到更多關於脂肪的內容,但這裡先提一下脂肪在您體內扮演的一些重要角色:

  • 它們是您從飲食中吸收維生素和礦物質所必需的。
  • 脂肪充滿能量。
  • 您需要它們來建立和維護健康的細胞。
  • 它們對神經功能至關重要。

瞭解這種巨量營養素如何在身體中起作用,可能會改變您對膳食脂肪的調整。讓我們來談談關於這種重要營養素的三大迷思,並探討一點關於脂肪的功能、形成和對體重的影響。

迷思1 – 脂肪對您的健康不利

剛好相反,脂肪對您的健康至關重要。

脂肪的另一個名稱是脂質,它們是細胞膜的基礎。沒有這些重要的被覆,您的細胞就無法運作。脂肪也負責創造包覆神經的鞘,把它看作是將脈衝從您的大腦帶到您身體各部位的電線的絕緣體;而脂質也是您皮膚屏障的重要成份。

如上述,脂肪的熱量密度非常高。和碳水化合物或蛋白質相比,它每克所提供的能量高達兩倍以上。某些形式的膳食脂肪會以很容易取得的能量形式儲存起來,這種能量的產生對於強壯有力的肌肉至關重要。

不僅細胞和肌肉健康需要脂肪,您的營養也仰賴它。維生素A、D、E和K需要脂肪才能充分發揮作用,這就是它們被稱為脂溶性的原因。為了讓身體吸收這些必要的維生素,脂肪分子會幫助它們在血流中移動。這些脂肪運輸可以讓必要營養素到達大腦和中樞神經系統,以便脂溶性維生素完成其大部分的工作。

您身體所需的其他維生素和礦物質都是水溶性的,這意味著它們被攝取後(無論是從天然食物或補充品),維生素和礦物質都會溶解於水,並在血液裡被帶到全身。B群

維生素和維生素C都是水溶性維生素。

迷思2 – 所有脂肪都是一樣的

膳食脂肪不是簡單的脂肪,它的分類非常細緻,它們可以分為三類:不飽和、飽和和反式脂肪。其類別由脂肪的化學結構而決定,特別是氫在脂肪分子中的排列。

脂肪由稱為烴的長碳鏈和氫鏈組成。每個氫原子在烴鏈的位置會影響脂肪分子的表現。位於雙碳鍵同一側的氫原子被稱為順式氫;當氫位於雙碳鍵的相對側時,它們被稱為反式氫—這是以下所要討論的重要內容。

不飽和脂肪

這種膳食脂肪通常被稱為「健康脂肪」,它們的主要來源是植物,包括橄欖油、葵花油和芥花油。酪梨、杏仁、核桃和魚類中的脂肪也是不飽和的。不飽和脂肪有兩種,單元和多元不飽和脂肪。

單元不飽和脂肪的化學結構中有一個雙碳鍵,多元不飽和脂肪有幾個這種雙鍵。不飽和脂肪的雙鍵使得脂肪分子難以彼此粘附,這使單元和多元不飽和脂肪在室溫下都呈液態。

不飽和脂肪因其在人體內的作用,通常被認為是健康而有益的。單元不飽和脂肪和多元不飽和脂肪對於已經在正常範圍內的健康膽固醇濃度,都有助於繼續維持正常,它們會增加「好」膽固醇HDL的數量。通過維持重要激素胰島素的功能,對於已經在正常範圍的血糖值,不飽和脂肪還可以幫助保持正常。

單元不飽和脂肪有助於人體吸收維生素E,這是許多人都缺乏的必要營養素。維生素E是一種強效抗氧化劑,可以幫助保護您的身體免受自由基的傷害。

魚油是一種多元不飽和脂肪,也可以保持您的健康。您可能很熟悉魚油中兩種最突出的脂肪,它們富含ω-3和ω-6脂肪酸,有助於維護和支持細胞結構。您的身體無法自己製造ω-3或ω-6,所以需要從飲食中攝取,有些甚至被認為是必要的。

飽和脂肪

飽和脂肪實際上是含有的氫原子數量已達到飽和,烴鏈中的所有碳原子都鍵合了一個氫原子;也就是脂肪分子中沒有雙碳鍵。

飽和脂肪的鏈又長又直,鏈中沒有扭結或曲折。這種結構使得烴鏈非常粘稠,並且容易與其他鏈相結合,這就是飽和脂肪在室溫下呈固態的原因。因為他們很容易彼此黏附,可以堆疊在一起並相互構建。這也使脂肪變得緻密、堅實。

要注意飽和脂肪的攝取,過量食用可能有害。飽和脂肪會減少血液中的「好」膽固醇(HDL)並且增加「壞」膽固醇(LDL)的量。

它們也會影響您體內激素的有效性。越來越多證據指出,攝入大量飽和脂肪會對胰島素會產生不良的影響,抑制這種激素的功能,而使血糖值變得難以控制。

但是從您的飲食中徹底除掉飽和脂肪會產生一些問題。在乳製品和瘦肉中發現飽和脂肪會與較健康的不飽和脂肪結合。如果飲食中完全不含飽和脂肪,也會有用高糖食物來替代的傾向,這些食物對您的血液膽固醇濃度也會造成同樣的損害。

限制飽和脂肪的攝取量是控制整體膳食脂肪較好的方法。如果您要減少飲食中飽和脂肪的含量,請將其換成健康的不飽和脂肪。

反式脂肪

這是一種聲名狼籍的脂肪。反式脂肪是對身體最糟糕的脂肪,而且無處不在。包裝零食、烘焙食品(如甜甜圈、蛋糕和餅乾)、人造奶油以及許多速食食品都含有反式脂肪。另外一些天然食物(如牛肉)也含有少量天然存在的反式脂肪。這些脂肪的名稱來源於每個脂肪分子中碳鏈間的化學鍵。

這個名字本身就暗示了它的本質。反式脂肪的化學結構中含有大量的反式氫,也就是說碳鏈上的氫位於分子的對側,而它們通常很少自然地呈現這種結構。

大多數反式脂肪是通過稱為氫化的過程所產生。氫化過程係將健康植物油在存在氫氣的環境下加熱,迫使氫氣從反式位置附著在碳鏈上。經過這種化學處理後,本來健康的蔬菜油的外觀和表現都像飽和脂肪一樣。因為反式脂肪不容易變質,所以加氫也能延長包裝食品的保質期,。

這些化學物質對您的身體有什麼影響呢?它們有很多潛在的不良影響。反式脂肪與「壞」膽固醇LDL濃度的增加有關。這些脂肪也會影響您的心血管系統,降低其工作效率。反式脂肪也被認為會降低您的身體正確處理糖份的能力。

不幸的是,反式脂肪的使用非常方便,在現代飲食中許多受歡迎的食品中都能發現它。其在包裝食品中的普遍性和烹飪方便性,使反式脂肪很難避免。

要避開這些不良脂肪,請讓您的飲食充滿植物油、堅果和種籽中的健康脂肪。烘焙時用不飽和脂肪替代反式脂肪,並且拒絕甜甜圈和其他包裝食品點心的誘惑。

迷思3 – 高脂肪食物導致體重增加

如果您擔心體重增加和身材變形,可能會錯誤地從飲食中拿掉脂肪;其實應該是要保持平衡的膳食脂肪攝取。但是,飲食中的健康脂肪其實並不會比碳水化合物或蛋白質讓體重增加得更多。

沒有哪一種巨量營養素對體重的影響比其他巨量營養素更大,其中有一些只是提供更多的能量。攝入超過身體一天所需的熱量,就會使體重增加,無論這些多餘的熱量是來自脂肪、碳水化合物或蛋白質。

瞭解您的身體如何利用膳食脂肪是很重要的,這樣就能瞭解為什麼需要將其納入健康飲食中。每克脂肪能提供人體9大卡可用能量,碳水化合物和蛋白質則都是每克4大卡。由於脂肪擁有碳水化合物和蛋白質兩倍以上的熱量,因此應適度攝取,但不是完全除去。健康的脂肪也可以幫助您有較長時間的飽足感。

每個人都可以吃到正確數量的有益脂肪,這個數量則因人而異。讓我們來看看普通健康成年人的飲食應該含多少脂肪。

目前的飲食建議應從脂肪中攝取每日所需熱量的20-30%。對身體最好的脂肪是不飽和脂肪(包括單元不飽和脂肪和多元不飽和脂肪),盡量使一整天攝取的不飽和脂肪達到所有脂肪的90%;建議將飽和脂肪限制在每日脂肪攝取量的10%以內,並且盡可能避免反式脂肪。

辨別膳食脂肪的來源

要分辨飽和脂肪、不飽和脂肪和反式脂肪可能很困難。若是沒有營養成分標示,這幾乎是辦不到的。這裡有一些分辨不同種類膳食脂肪的技巧。

  1. 不飽和脂肪在室溫下通常是液態。通常在油中可以發現單元不飽和脂肪和多元不飽和脂肪,特別是從植物提煉的。植物油、酪梨、堅果、種籽和魚是不飽和脂肪的重要來源。這些食物也是ω-3脂肪酸的優質儲存庫,ω-3脂肪酸可促進心臟健康和血管功能。
  2. 飽和脂肪在室溫下是固態,就像奶油、豬油和起酥油。與魚肉和禽肉等瘦肉相比,紅肉的飽和脂肪含量較高。全脂乳製品如牛奶、起司和優酪乳中也含有飽和脂肪。
  3. 反式脂肪很難分辨,因為它們大多是人造的,而且很容易與天然飽和脂肪混淆。反式脂肪在食品標籤上會顯示為「部分氫化」。它們能改變包裝和加工食品的結構、質感和口味。油炸食品和烘焙食品通常都會使用反式脂肪含量高的成份,速食食品、甜甜圈和包裝點心就是您飲食中反式脂肪的元兇。

千萬不要一想起飲食中的脂肪就害怕。相反地,要將健康脂肪列為優先,並且均衡地與碳水化合物和蛋白質一起吃。膳食脂肪對您的健康至關重要,應該把它當作一種資源。為了促進自己的健康,切記要在飲食中加入建議量的有益脂肪。

參考資料

https://healthyforgood.heart.org/Eat-smart/Articles/Dietary-Fats

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/fat/art-20045550?pg=1

https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/types-of-fat/

http://www.eufic.org/en/whats-in-food/article/8-facts-on-fats

https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/the-truth-about-fats-bad-and-good

https://www.choosemyplate.gov/2015-2020-dietary-guidelines-answers-your-questions

http://www.indiana.edu/~oso/Fat/trans.html

https://healthyforgood.heart.org/eat-smart/articles/monounsaturated-fats

https://healthyforgood.heart.org/eat-smart/articles/polyunsaturated-fats

https://www.livestrong.com/article/312978-supplement-mix-for-weight-loss-muscle-building/

找不到您要的嗎?請再搜尋一次,或提交您的問題 這裡

Understanding the Facts About Dietary Fat

Food sources of omega 3 and healthy fats, top view.

Understanding the Facts About Dietary Fat

Fat gets a bad rap. It may be the most misunderstood macronutrient. The word “fat” is unfortunately associated with an unhealthy diet and excess weight. But your body needs dietary fat to function.

You’ll read more about it below, but here’s just a few of the important roles fat plays in your body:

  • They’re necessary for absorbing vitamins and minerals from your diet.
  • Fats are packed with energy.
  • You need them for building and maintaining healthy cells.
  • They’re essential for nerve function.

Learning how this macronutrient works in your body may change your tune about dietary fat. Let’s bust three of the biggest myths about this important macronutrient and discover a little bit about fat’s function, make up, and impact on weight.

Myth #1 – Fat is Bad for Your Health

On the contrary. Fats are crucial for your health.

Another word for fats is lipid. And they’re the foundation for cell membranes. Without these important coatings, your cells couldn’t function. Fats are also responsible for creating the sheaths that surround nerves. Think of it as insulation for the wires that carry impulses from your brain to all areas of your body. Lipids also make up an important part of your skin barrier.

Like you read above, fat is incredibly calorie dense. It can deliver more than twice the energy per gram than carbohydrates or proteins. Some forms of dietary fats are stored as energy in easy-to-access packages. This energy production is vital for strong and powerful muscles.

Not only is fat necessary for cellular and muscular health, your nutrition depends on it. Fat is required to get the most out of vitamins A, D, E, and K. That’s why they’re called fat-soluble. In order for the body to absorb these essential vitamins, fat molecules help them move through the blood stream. These fatty transports allow essential nutrients to reach the brain and central nervous system where fat-soluble vitamins do most of their work.

Other vitamins and minerals your body needs are water-soluble. This means that after they are consumed (either in whole foods or through supplements) vitamins and minerals dissolve in water and are carried throughout the body in the blood stream. This is true for vitamins B and C.

Myth #2 – All Fats are Created Equal

Dietary fat isn’t just fat. It’s more nuanced than that. They fall into one of three categories—unsaturated, saturated, or trans. The categories are determined by the chemical structure of the fat—specifically the arrangement of hydrogens in the fat molecules.

Fats are made of long chains of carbon and hydrogen called hydrocarbons. The location of each hydrogen atom along the hydrocarbon chain influences how the fat molecule behaves. For reference, hydrogen atoms that reside on the same side of a carbon-carbon bond are called cis-hydrogens. When hydrogens lie on opposite sides of a double bond, they are referred to as trans-hydrogens—that will become important below.

Unsaturated Fats

These dietary fats are often referred to as “healthy fats.” They’re derived mostly from plants and include: olive, sunflower, and canola oil. The fats in avocado, almonds, walnuts, and fish are also unsaturated. There are two kinds of unsaturated fats, mono- and polyunsaturated.

Monounsaturated fats have one carbon-carbon double bond in their chemical structure. Polyunsaturated fats have several of these double bonds. The double bonds of unsaturated fats make it difficult for fat molecules to adhere to one another. This results in mono- and polyunsaturated fats being liquid at room temperature.

Unsaturated fats are called healthy and are beneficial for the work they do in your body. Both mono- and polyunsaturated fats help maintain healthy cholesterol levels already in the normal range. They do this by increasing the amount of “good” HDL cholesterol. Unsaturated fats also help your body maintain healthy blood sugar—provided it’s in the normal range already—by supporting the function of insulin, an important hormone.

Monounsaturated fats help your body cling to vitamin E, an essential nutrient many people are lacking. Vitamin E is a powerful antioxidant and can help protect your body from free-radical damage.

Fish oil is a polyunsaturated fat that also supports your health. You’re probably familiar with the two most prominent fats in fish oil. They’re high in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids that help maintain and support cell structure. Your body can’t make omega-3 or omega-6 on its own, so your diet needs to supply them. Some are even considered essential.

Saturated Fats

Saturated fat is literally saturated with hydrogen atoms. All of the carbon atoms in a hydrocarbon chain are bonded to a hydrogen atom. This means that there are no carbon-carbon double bonds in the fat molecule.

Saturated fats are long and straight, with no kinks or bumps in the chain. This structure makes the hydrocarbon chain very sticky and allows it to combine easily with other chains. That’s why saturated fats are solid at room temperature. Because they adhere to one another easily, they can stack and build upon each other. This creates dense, solid fat.

Watch your intake of saturated fats. They can be harmful when consumed in excess. Saturated fats reduce the “good” (HDL) cholesterol in your blood and can increase the amount of “bad” (LDL) cholesterol.

They also influence the effectiveness of hormones in your body. Growing evidence suggests the hormone insulin is negatively affected by large amounts of saturated fat. By inhibiting the function of this hormone, blood sugar levels could become hard to manage.

But removing saturated fat from your diet entirely could create some issues. Saturated fats are found in combination with healthier unsaturated fats in dairy products and lean meat. When saturated fats are eliminated from the diet, there is also a tendency to replace them with high-sugar foods. These foods do the same kind of damage to your blood cholesterol levels.

Limiting your intake of saturated fats is a better way to manage your overall dietary fat. If you’re reducing the amount of saturated fat in your diet, replace it with healthy unsaturated fats.

Trans Fats

collection of junk food

Here’s a fat that deserves the bad reputation. Trans fats are the worst for your body and are found everywhere. Prepackaged snack foods, baked goods—like donuts, cake, and cookies—margarine, and many fast foods contain trans fats. Some natural foods, like beef, also contain a small amount of naturally occurring trans fats. These fats get their name from the chemical bonds made between the carbon chains in each fat molecule.

The name itself gives it away. Trans fats have a lot of trans-hydrogens in their chemical structure. This means the hydrogens found on carbon chains are located on opposite sides of the molecule. They don’t always come by this structure naturally.

Most trans fats are created through a process called hydrogenation. During hydrogenation, healthy vegetable oils are heated in the presence of hydrogen. This forces hydrogen to attach to carbon chains in the trans-position. After this chemical treatment, once-healthy vegetables oils look, behave, and taste like saturated fats. This is done because hydrogenation also prolongs the shelf life of packaged foods, since trans fats don’t spoil easily.

What does all this chemistry mean for your body? A lot of potentially negative effects. Trans fats are linked to increased levels of “bad” LDL cholesterol. These fats also impact your cardiovascular system, making it work less efficiently. Trans fats are also believed to reduce your body’s ability to process sugar correctly.

Unfortunately, trans fats are incredibly easy to use and found in a lot of the favorite foods in a modern diet. Their prevalence in prepackaged food and convenience in cooking make trans fats hard to avoid.

To steer clear of these bad fats, fill your diet with healthy fats from vegetable oils, nuts, and seeds. Replace trans fats in baking by opting for an unsaturated fat alternative. And ignore the temptation to snack on donuts and other prepackaged foods.

Myth #3 – Foods High in Fat Lead to Weight Gain

If you’re worried about weight gain and getting in shape, dietary fats might be mistakenly eliminated from your diet. It is true that dietary fat consumption should be kept in balance. But the healthy fats in your diet do not contribute to weight gain more than carbohydrates or proteins.

No single macronutrient influences weight more than another—some just provide more energy per gram. Eating more calories than your body needs during the day will lead to weight gain, whether the excess calories come from fats, carbohydrates, or proteins.

It’s important to understand how your body utilizes dietary fat to know why it needs to be included in a healthy diet. Per gram, fats offer the body nine calories of usable energy—compared to carbohydrates and proteins, which provide four calories per gram each. Since fats boast more than twice the calorie content of proteins and carbohydrates, they should be consumed moderately. But not eliminated entirely. Healthy fats can also help you feel full for longer.

Eating the correct amount of beneficial fat is possible—and different—for everybody.  But let’s review what this consumption looks like for the typical, healthy adult.

Current recommendations advise that 20-30 percent of daily calories come from fats. The best fats for your body are unsaturated fats (including mono- and polyunsaturated). Try to make unsaturated fats 90 percent of the fats you eat in a day. It is recommended that saturated fats be limited to less than 10 percent of daily fat consumption. Avoid trans fats whenever possible.

Spotting the Sources of Dietary Fat

Identifying saturated, unsaturated, and trans fats can be difficult. When nutrition facts aren’t available, this can seem impossible. Here are a few tricks for spotting the different kinds of dietary fats.

  1. Unsaturated fats are typically liquid at room temperature. Mono- and polyunsaturated fats are typically found in oils, especially those from plant sources. Vegetable oils, avocados, nuts, seeds, and fish are great sources of unsaturated fat. These foods are also excellent stores of omega-3 fatty acids, which promote heart health and vascular function.
  2. Saturated fats are solid at room temperature. Think of butter, lard, and shortening. Red meat is high in saturated fat when compared to leaner meats like fish and poultry. Whole-fat dairy products like milk, cheese, and yogurt also contain saturated fats.
  3. Trans fats are hard to spot because they are mostly man-made. They can also be easily confused with natural saturated fats. Trans fats appear on food labels as “partially hydrogenated.” They add structure, texture, and flavor to packaged and processed foods. Fried foods and baked goods are often prepared with ingredients high in trans fats. Fast food, donuts, and other prepackaged snack food are the main culprits of trans fats in your diet.

Don’t cringe when you think of the fat in your diet. Instead, prioritize healthy fats and eat them in balance with carbs and protein. Dietary fat is essential for your health and should be valued as a resource. To promote your own well-being, include the recommended amount of beneficial fat in your diet.

References

https://healthyforgood.heart.org/Eat-smart/Articles/Dietary-Fats

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/fat/art-20045550?pg=1

https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/types-of-fat/

http://www.eufic.org/en/whats-in-food/article/8-facts-on-fats

https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/the-truth-about-fats-bad-and-good

https://recipes.heart.org/articles/1013/healthy-cooking-oils

https://www.choosemyplate.gov/2015-2020-dietary-guidelines-answers-your-questions

http://www.indiana.edu/~oso/Fat/trans.html

https://healthyforgood.heart.org/eat-smart/articles/monounsaturated-fats

https://healthyforgood.heart.org/eat-smart/articles/polyunsaturated-fats

https://www.livestrong.com/article/312978-supplement-mix-for-weight-loss-muscle-building/

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here