了解卡路里是您体重管理的第一步

健康饮食的迷思

有关健康饮食的信息汗牛充栋。它们出现在网络上、拥挤的书店的架子上,并在朋友和家人之间传递着。有了这么多的信息,您可能会认为成为健康专家应该很容易。事实正好相反,过量的信息可能反而令人困惑,甚至无所适从。这也许是事实,因为最基本的饮食计算标准—卡路里,目前仍是一团迷雾。所以深入了解热量,是您做出健康明智选择的第一步。

当您坐下来吃饭的时候,可能会因为太饿而不管所吃的是否均衡。也或许您信奉「无知便是福」的信念。无论如何,知识就是力量。学习巨量营养素的基本知识和以及它们所提供的卡路里数据,可以帮助您制作均衡的膳食。用准确的营养信息来充分做好准备,可以让您过最健康的生活。

了解食物的卡路里

简而言之,卡路里是一个能量单位。卡路里指出您所吃食物和所喝饮料的能量含量。了解卡路里可以帮助您对于饮食和运动做出明智的决定。

人类饮食中有三种主要的热量来源,来自三种巨量营养素:碳水化合物、脂肪、和蛋白质。碳水化合物是主要来源,每克提供四大卡热量。其次是脂肪,每克九大卡的热量是碳水化合物的两倍多。第三种来源是蛋白质,每克能提供四大卡。(有些国家用千焦耳代替大卡来测量食物的热量,本文使用的单位是大卡,其换算公式为:1大卡 = 4.2千焦耳)。

有个常见的问题是:所有热量是否都相同。从研究分析中看来,很难解释为什么他们不一样。请记住,热量是一种衡量单位。所以来自脂肪的一大卡热量与来自蛋白质的一大卡热量应该提供相同的能量。但是真的,这个问题应该被提出来。

您的肠道几乎吸收您所有吃下的碳水化合物、蛋白质、和脂肪中的所有热量。但是,肠道对待纤维(一种碳水化合物)的方式不同于其他巨量营养素;肠道不会吸收纤维的所有热量,只会吸收大约一半。那是因为纤维很难被肠道完全消化。

最重要的是,纤维容易吸收水分。这个过程可以帮助您有更长时间的饱足感,并帮助您减少您吃下的(或吸收的)热量,再加上纤维对健康的其他益处,难怪美国心脏协会建议成人每天应摄取25克的纤维。

您休息时的身体

大多数人都对运动燃烧热量的概念很熟悉。但是,您的身体光是站着不动也会消耗能量。

您的身体在休息时所消耗的量被称为您的「基础代谢率」或BMR。它占了您每天消耗热量的三分之二。

这是一个重要的数量,因为新陈代谢需要大量的能量。代谢包括体温调节、血液循环、和细胞生长等过程,仅举数例。您的大脑消耗了大约20%的热量,平均每天大约450大卡。

如果您正在计算热量,您可以把它们当做免费的东西。理解您的身体燃烧的热量只是为了维持身体所需,将有助于您更好去规划饮食和运动。

您应该吃多少卡路里?

您需要每天消耗一定的热量,以便有效地产生新陈代谢作用,并使身体正常工作。对于男性来说,这个数字大约是每天2500大卡,女性每天需要大约2000大卡的热量。

这些日常需求的波动取决于几个因素:年龄、性别、体重、和活动量。

  • 年龄:婴儿和儿童比成年人所需的热量要少。但成年人随着年纪增长,能量需求也随之下降。这是事实,部分原因是老年人的活动量也随着年龄的增长而下降。
  • 体重:热量需求和体重相关。个头较大的人需要较多的热量,因为身体负担较多的重量,需要出更多力气,因此也需要更多能量;而且他们的身体也有更多活体组织需要支持。反之亦然,身材越小的人,需要的热量越少。
  • 性别:男性通常平均每天需要较多的热量,因为他们的BMR(基础代谢率)比较高。
  • 活动量:运动员是活动量影响热量需求的一个很好的例证。强烈的身体活动所消耗的热量需要获得补充,以确保身体的新陈代谢能够继续而不受影响。这就是为什么运动员能摄取更多热量却还保持身材苗条的原因。

在计算您专属的热量需求时,请思考您是需要减重、维持体重、或增重。(这个主题将在后文中进一步探讨)假设您是要减重,那么失去一磅的体脂肪相当于燃烧3,500大卡的热量。所以,如果您每天燃烧或减少摄取500大卡的话,每周就会减掉一磅。

下面是一些关于如何更加注意热量摄取的概念:

  1. 在三餐中增加更多的水分。也许从汤开始或增加饮水量。无论哪种方式,多喝些水,可以帮助您更有饱足感。
  2. 增加纤维的摄取量。纤维不容易消化,因此,肠道只能吸收纤维的一半热量。此外,纤维会让您更有饱足感。
  3. 将蛋白质添加到您的早餐(如果现在没有的话)。蛋白质将帮助您维持更久的饱足感;蛋白质也可以帮助支持除脂肪体重,这将有助于增加您的基础代谢率。
  4. 尽可能远离垃圾食物,因为它们通常会添加糖和固体脂肪。虽然这些食物能提供能量,但缺乏重要的营养素。
  5. 阅读营养标签上巨量营养素和热量的含量。请注意每个包装中的份数,营养标签只标出了一份所含的数量。

了解热量与运动

现在您已经熟悉了饮食中的热量,让我们来探讨热量与运动的关系。

您知道运动是消耗热量的最好方法,而燃烧热量是管理体重的一种方法。剧烈的运动可以燃烧多达每分钟20大卡。

但是这种努力很难维持一段长时间;好消息是,持续、适量的活动可以燃烧最多的热量。

事实上,英国广播公司制作了一部在一家三个人当中进行小范围比较的纪录片。虽然这不是一个科学的研究,但结果还是有趣并值得关注。

一个家人维持久坐不动,另一个人做了几个小时的家务,第三个人则参加了一项短暂而剧烈的锻炼。,结果做家务的人却比从事剧烈锻炼的人燃烧了更多的热量。尽管家务并不是激烈的活动,但却能让家庭成员长期坚持下去。

所以不要担心出汗。如果您没有足够的精力大量运动,那就聚焦在让身体能长时间持续活动。

明白自己正在燃烧热量,和了解自己已经消耗多少热量是不同的。计算消耗多少大卡的热量很有帮助,因为这可以让达成目标体重更加容易-无论是减重、维持、或增重。

许多健身房的运动机器和穿戴式活动追踪器,可以毫不费力地计算热量消耗。但还是会有些时候当您在运动时,身边是没有机器或科技辅助产品的。

好消息是,各种运动以及其所消耗的热量都有公开数据可以查询。体育活动纲要就是一个查询的好资源。它按速度或强度列出各项运动,在每一种活动类型旁边则有相应的MET值(或称代谢当量)。

  • 低于9 MET:轻微活动(园艺或钓鱼)
  • 0至5.9 MET:中等活动(割草或雪鞋行走)
  • 高于0 MET:剧烈活动(铲雪或踢足球)

通过简单的计算,可以将MET转换为燃烧的热量。您唯一需要提供的其他变量是您的体重(以公斤为单位)和活动的时间长度(以小时为单位)。

(活动的MET值)×(公斤体重)×(小时)=燃烧的热量

假设您重150磅,或68公斤。看看下面的列表,看看您做30分钟的各项不同运动时,分别会消耗多少热量。

  • 骑自行车(轻微出力)= 119大卡
  • 骑自行车(适度出力)= 231大卡
  • 走路(轻微出力)= 102大卡
  • 跑步(适度出力)= 282大卡
  • 跑步(高度出力)= 374大卡
  • 自由式游泳(轻微到适度出力)ㄒ197大卡
  • 水中有氧运动 = 187大卡
  • 循环训练(适度出力)= 146大卡

热量与体重的关系

了解从您的饮食摄取的热量和您所燃烧(消耗)的热量,可以让体重管理成为一个简单的数学问题。当然还需要很多的努力,但关键在于平衡热量的进出。

您可以注意饮食来控制热量的摄取,您也可以将一系列体能活动纳入您的生活中来调整所消耗的热量。

如果您的摄取量低于您的日常热量要求,您可能会减重;如果您符合要求,就会保持当前的体重;而如果您的摄取量远远超过您的基准要求,那么您可能会增加体重。

减轻体重:热量摄取 – 热量消耗 < 0

维持体重:热量摄取 – 热量消耗 = 0

增加体重:热量摄取 – 热量消耗 > 0

回想一下影响您每天热量需求的因素(年龄、体重、性别、和活动量),这些会影响您的「热量摄取」,以及您需要消耗多少热量来达成自己的目标。

网络上有很多热量计算器可以让您好好考虑这些因素。美国农业部提供了一个体重计划器,可以帮助您确定管理体重所需的活动变化和热量。

热量平衡算式的哪一边才是最重要的?

正如您上面所看到的,30分钟的运动只能燃烧大约100-400大卡,或者每小时大约200-800大卡;而普通人每天需要摄取大约2,250大卡的热量。所以在这算式中,会产生立即影响的部分应该是「热量摄取」。通过运动燃烧500大卡,是一项艰巨的工作。然而放下筷子、或者拒吃垃圾食品,却能轻松减少500大卡的热量。

这并不是要贬低运动对健康的益处。每个人每天至少运动30分钟,而每周至少应该运动四天。这将让您体验到运动的健康益处。

为了对您的体重产生最简单的影响,请慢慢开始减少热量摄取。如果开始时很难控制热量,请相对地增加您的运动量。但如果想对体重产生最快的影响,请在热量平衡算式的两边都下功夫:一方面减少食量并选择健康的食物,一方面增加日常的运动量。

融会贯通

要养成均衡膳食和运动的健康习惯可能很辛苦,而先了解热量会很有帮助。幸运的是,有许多资源可以简化这个过程。首先根据您的年龄、性别、体重、和活动量了解自己的能量需求,这会给您一个很好的开始。

注意食品包装上的信息,根据营养标签做出明智的决定,这将帮助您规划点心和正餐,以满足日常的热量需求。然后,根据您的体重管理目标与能量需求基准的比较,来确定您应该摄取多少热量。

最后,根据您喜欢的体能活动确定您可以燃烧多少热量,这会让您对关于应该多长时间运动一次以达到您的体重管理目标有个概念。

了解热量是成为更健康的第一步。不论您的健康和健身目标是什么,您现在都可以更自信地做出决定了。

关于作者

Jenna Templeton是住在犹他州盐湖城的健康教育家和自由科学作家。她获得弗吉尼亚理工大学化学学士学位后,在营养产业中担任研究科学家五年。这项工作引发了她对个人健康的兴趣,于是她前往犹他大学攻读健康推广与教育硕士。在工作之外,Jenna十分享受现场音乐、园艺、一切美食、以及在瓦萨奇山脉游玩。

参考文献

Understanding Calories is Your First Step to Weight Management

understanding calories

The Mystery of a Healthy Diet

There’s lots of information about what a healthy diet is. It’s on the internet, crowding bookstore shelves, and passed between friends and family members. With so much information available, you might assume becoming a health expert should be easy. Instead, the overload of information can be quite confusing and even daunting. Perhaps this is true because the most basic measure of diet—the calorie—is also shrouded in mystery. So understanding calories is your first step to making healthy, informed choices.

When you sit down for a meal, you may be too hungry to worry about whether it’s a balanced one. Or maybe you abide by the “ignorance is bliss” mentality. In either case, knowledge is power. Learning the basics of macronutrients and the number of calories they provide can help you create well-balanced meals. Arming yourself with accurate nutritional information will allow you to live your healthiest life.

Understanding Calories in Your Food

Simply put, a calorie is a unit of energy. Calories indicate the energy content of the food and beverages you eat and drink. Understanding calories can help you make educated decisions about your diet and exercise.

There are three main sources of calories in the human diet. They come from the three macronutrients: carbohydrates, fat, and protein. Carbohydrates are the main source. They provide four calories per gram. Fat comes in second and offers more than twice as many calories, at nine calories per gram. Protein is the third source, which delivers four calories per gram. (Some countries use kilojoules instead of calories to measure food energy. This article uses calories. But here’s the conversion rate you need—1 calorie = 4.2 kilojoules.)

A common question is whether all calories are created equal. On paper, it’s hard to argue why they wouldn’t be equal. Remember, calories are a measurement. So a calorie from fat should provide the same amount of energy as a calorie from protein. But really, this question should be posed to the gut.

Your gut absorbs almost all of the calories from the carbohydrates, protein, and fat you eat. But your gut treats fiber (a type of carbohydrate) differently than the other macronutrients. Instead of taking on all the calories fiber has to offer, your gut will only absorb about half. That’s because fiber is difficult for the gut to digest completely.

On top of that, fiber easily absorbs water. This process can help you feel fuller for longer, and helps you cut back how many calories you eat—or at least absorb. Combined with the other health benefits of fiber, it’s no wonder that The American Heart Association recommends adults consume 25 grams per day.

Your Body at Rest

Most people are familiar with the idea that exercise burns calories. However, your body also expends energy by merely existing.

The amount your body uses at rest is called your “basal metabolic rate” or BMR. It makes up for two-thirds of your daily calories burned.

This is a significant chunk because metabolism requires a lot of energy. Metabolism includes processes like body temperature regulation, blood circulation, and cell growth, to name a few. Your brain chews up about 20 percent of your calories—about 450 for an average diet—per day by itself.

If you’re counting calories, you can think of these as freebies. Understanding calories your body burns just to maintain itself will help you plan your diet and exercise better.

How Many Calories Should You Eat?

You need to consume a certain number of calories each day for your metabolic processes to occur effectively and for your body to work properly. For men, this number is roughly 2500 calories per day. Women need approximately 2000 calories per day.

These daily requirements fluctuate depending on a few factors—age, sex, weight, and activity level.

  • Age: Infants and children require fewer calories than adults. As adults age through the lifespan, energy requirements decrease. This is true, in part, because activity levels of older adults tend to decrease with age.
  • Weight: Calorie needs are a function of weight. A larger person needs more calories because carrying more weight takes more effort and requires more energy. They also have more living tissue to support. This is also true in the opposite direction—smaller person, fewer calories.
  • Sex: Men typically require more calories per day on average because their BMR is higher.
  • Activity level: Athletes are a great illustration of the effect of activity level on calorie needs. Calories burned through intense physical activity need to be replaced to ensure the body’s metabolism can continue, unaffected. That’s why athletes take in more calories and stay fit.

When determining your unique calorie needs, consider whether you’re trying to lose, maintain, or gain weight. (This topic will be further explored in a later section.) Imagine you’d like to lose weight. Losing one pound of body fat is the equivalent of burning 3,500 calories. So if you either burn or cut out 500 calories per day, you would lose one pound per week.

Here are some other ideas on how to be more mindful of your calorie intake:

  1. Add more fluids to your meals. Maybe start with soup or increase your water intake. Either way, consuming more fluids can help you feel full.
  2. Increase your fiber intake. Fiber is not easily digested and, as a result, the gut only absorbs half of fiber’s calories. Additionally, fiber will keep you feeling full for longer.
  3. Add protein to your breakfast (if this isn’t already part of your routine). Protein will help you feel full for longer. Protein can also help support lean body mass, which will help increase your BMR.
  4. Limit empty calories when possible. These are usually found in added sugar and solid fats. While these foods provide energy, they lack important nutrients.
  5. Read nutritional labels for macronutrient and calorie content. Pay attention to the number of serving sizes in each package. The nutritional information represents only one serving.

Understanding Calories and Exercise

Now that you’re familiar with the calories in your diet, let’s explore how calories relate to exercise.

You already know exercise is the best way to burn calories. And burning calories is one way to manage your bodyweight. Vigorous exercise can burn as much as 20 calories per minute.

But this type of effort is difficult to maintain for a long period of time. The good news is that sustained, moderate activity burns the most calories.

In fact, a documentary by the BBC demonstrated this with a small comparison between three families. Though it wasn’t a scientific study, the findings of the comparison are interesting and noteworthy.

One family remained sedentary. Another did housework for a few hours. The third participated in a short, vigorous workout. The family that did housework burned more calories than the family that exercised vigorously. Even though the housework was not an intense activity, the family kept at it for much longer.

So don’t worry about working up a sweat. If you don’t have the energy for a big push, focus on moving your body for a sustained period of time.

Knowing that you’re burning calories is different than being aware of the exact amount you’ve worked off. Calculating calories burned is helpful because it can make achieving your bodyweight goals easier—whether that be weight loss, maintenance, or weight gain.

Many gym-based exercise machines and wearable activity trackers make calculating calories burned an effortless task. Still there may be times you’re exercising without a machine or smart technology.

The good news is published data exists on an assortment of exercises and how many calories each activity burns. The Compendium of Physical Activities is a good place to start. It provides categories of activities listed by speed or intensity. Beside each activity type is the corresponding MET value, or Metabolic Equivalent of Task.

  • Under 2.9 METs: light activity (gardening or fishing)
  • Between 3.0 and 5.9 METs: moderate activity (mowing the lawn or snowshoeing)
  • Greater than 6.0 METs: intense activity (shoveling snow or playing soccer)

With a simple calculation, METs can be converted to calories burned. The only other variables you need to supply are your body weight in kilograms (kg) and the length of time the activity was performed (in hours).

(MET Value of Activity) x (Body Weight in kg) x (Time in hours) = Calories Burned

Let’s say you weigh 150 pounds, or 68 kilograms. Check out the list below to see how many calories you would burn doing different activities for 30 minutes.

  • Biking (light effort) = 119 calories
  • Biking (moderate effort) = 231 calories
  • Walking (light effort) = 102 calories
  • Running (moderate effort) = 282 calories
  • Running (high effort) = 374 calories
  • Swimming freestyle (light to moderate effort) = 197 calories
  • Water aerobics = 187 calories
  • Circuit training (moderate effort) = 146 calories

The Relationship Between Calories and Bodyweight

Understanding calories from your diet (calories in) and those you burn (calories out) makes weight management a matter of simple math. There’s still a lot of effort, but it’s all about balancing calories in and calories out.

understanding calories

You can control calorie intake by paying attention to your diet. And you can change how many calories you burn by incorporating a range of physical activity into your lifestyle.

If you’re consuming less than your daily calorie requirement, you will likely lose weight. If you’re matching the requirement, you should maintain your current weight. And if you’re consuming significantly more than your baseline requirement, you will likely gain weight.

Weight loss: Calories In – Calories Out < 0

Weight maintenance: Calories In – Calories Out = 0

Weight gain: Calories In – Calories Out > 0

Recall the factors that will influence your daily calorie needs (age, weight, sex, and activity level). These affect your “calories in” and, consequently, how many calories you need to expend to reach your goal.

There are many calorie calculators available online that take these factors into account. The USDA provides a Body Weight Planner that can help you determine the activity changes and calories needed to manage your weight.

Which Is the Most Important Side of the Calorie Balance Equation?

As you can see above, exercise only burns about 100-400 calories per 30 minutes of activity—or about 200-800 calories per hour. Whereas the average person needs to consume approximately 2,250 calories per day. Probably the easier side of the equation to immediately affect is “calories in.” It is hard work to burn 500 calories through exercise. Yet pretty easy to put the fork down—or stop eating the empty calories through junk food—and consume 500 fewer calories every day.

This isn’t to underscore the health benefits of exercise. Everyone should be exercising at least 30 minutes per day at least four days a week. This will help you experience the health benefits of exercise.

To make the easiest impact on your weight, slowly begin to consume fewer calories. If you have a hard time restricting your calories at first, increase your exercise routine accordingly. But to make the quickest impact on your weight, work on both sides of the calorie balance equation. Combine eating less, making healthy food choices, and increasing your daily exercise routine.

Putting It All Together

Developing a healthy regimen of balanced meals and exercise can be daunting. Understanding calories can be a big help. And fortunately, there are many resources available to make this process easier. Start by learning about your energy needs based on your age, sex, weight, and activity level. This gives you a great starting point.

Gather the information you can from food packaging to make educated decisions based on the labels. This will help you meet your daily calorie requirements while building out your snacks and meals. Then, based on your weight management goals, you can decide how many calories you should be consuming compared to your baseline energy requirement.

Finally, determine how many calories you can burn based on the physical activities you enjoy. This will give you an idea of how long and how often you should exercise to achieve your weight management goals.

Understanding calories can be the first step to a healthier you. No matter what your health and fitness goals are, you’re now armed to navigate the decisions more confidently.

 

 

About the Author

Jenna Templeton is a health educator and freelance science writer living in Salt Lake City, Utah. After receiving a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Virginia Tech, Jenna spent five years as a research scientist in the nutritional industry. This work fueled her interest in personal wellness, leading her to pursue a graduate degree in Health Promotion & Education from the University of Utah. Outside of work, Jenna enjoys live music, gardening, all things food, and playing in the Wasatch mountains.

 

References