增加您對蛋白質和胺基酸的知識

Food high in protein on a wooden background. Healthy diet eating

所有生物—包括您—基本上都是充滿了水的蛋白質結構,而有一些是由骨骼支撐著。由此就知道蛋白質非常重要,它是您身體最重要的構成物質。事實上,蛋白質這個詞源自於希臘文的proteios,代表「第一品質」,或者來自於protos這個字,意思是「第一」。

據估計,人體含有超過兩百萬種蛋白質。在陸地生物中發現的總數可能超過1,000萬種,但沒有人確實知道數量。蛋白質的數量非常龐大,因為每種蛋白質都有另一種可以分解它的蛋白質。

蛋白質結構

蛋白質是由生命的基本結構單元—胺基酸所構成的長鏈分子,它們是具有極特殊化學結構的有機化合物。胺基酸含有胺基(具有一個氮和兩個氫原子的分子)和羧基(含碳、兩個氧和一個氫原子的分子),它們會與每個特定胺基酸分子的側鏈(殘基)相連結。

人體的蛋白質是由20種眾所周知的胺基酸組成。最近,又發現了另外兩種胺基酸。所以,地球上所有的動植物蛋白質都是由這22種胺基酸構成的。

1806年,法國化學家Louis-Nicolas Vauquelin和Pierre Jean Robiquet從蘆筍中分離出一種化合物,後來被命名為天冬醯胺。這是第一個被發現的胺基酸。

目前已知的蛋白質中最長的是肌聯蛋白,也被稱為connectin。它含有26,926個胺基酸,肌聯蛋白可以在肌肉中發現,並有助於肌肉產生被動剛性。

即使胺基酸數量有限,蛋白質也是非常複雜的分子,因為大多數蛋白質都會折疊成獨特的立體結構。

生物化學家經常提到蛋白質結構的四個不同層面:

  • 一級結構:這是通過稱為肽鍵的鍵連接在一起的線性胺基酸序列。
  • 二級結構:這是蛋白質局部或特定部分的立體形式。這些立體結構都是藉由氫鍵還穩定其捲曲和轉彎的。
  • 三級結構:這是單個蛋白質分子的整體形狀,意思和「折疊」相同,三級結構控制蛋白質的基本功能。
  • 四級結構:這是由幾個蛋白質分子(多肽鏈)形成的一個蛋白質複合體,其功能與單一蛋白質相同。在這種情況下,它們通常被稱為蛋白質亞基。

蛋白質功能

您可能會認為蛋白質是身體的構成物質,尤其是肌肉組織。但蛋白質在身體裡還有一些可能會讓您驚訝的重要作用,其中一些主要功能如下:

酶和激素

蛋白質在細胞中最著名的作用是作為催化化學反應的酶,這可以幫助您將食物代謝成細胞的能量。消化酶是這類蛋白質的一個很好的例子。這些酶也可以作為抗氧化劑,含硒蛋白麩胱甘肽過氧化物酶是您體內最重要的抗氧化物質之一。

性激素(例如促性腺激素)和內分泌激素,如胰島素和胰高血糖素,也都是蛋白質。

1955年,胰島素成為第一個被完全測序的蛋白質。英國生物化學家Frederick Sanger因為這項開創性的研究獲得諾貝爾化學獎。

生物科技公司Genentech於1978年使用DNA重組技術,生產合成的「人類」胰島素,從而使胰島素成為通過生物科技製造的第一個人類蛋白質。

細胞訊號傳輸

許多蛋白質參與細胞訊號傳輸和轉輸過程。有一些蛋白質(如胰島素)會將訊號從它們合成的細胞傳遞到遠處組織中的其他細胞。

蛋白質參與訊號傳輸過程兩端的工作,還能作為細胞上的受體與訊號分子結合,以誘發生物化學反應。

抗體是免疫系統的蛋白質成分,它們的主要功能是結合體內的異物(抗原)然後鎖定抗原,將它破壞。

結構性蛋白

這些結構蛋白為生物元件提供了形狀和強度,大多數結構蛋白質本質上是纖維狀的。

膠原蛋白和彈性蛋白是這些堅韌纖維蛋白質的兩個很好的例子。它們都是結締組織的關鍵組成元件,如軟骨。它們在皮膚結構中具有主要作用。角蛋白為您的頭髮和指甲提供結構;在動物界中,角蛋白有助於製作羽毛、蹄和一些動物殼。

最後一類是球狀結構蛋白。它們形成長而堅硬的纖維,使細胞能夠保持其形狀和大小。

其他功能

蛋白質還會在細胞粘附、生長因數、營養素運輸和儲存等等方面發揮作用。在人類中,非蛋白質胺基酸也具有作為神經遞質或其他分子前體的重要作用。神經遞質是幫助傳遞神經之間脈動的物質。

  • 色胺酸是神經遞質血清素的前體,它涉及情緒及其他多種功能。
  • 酪胺酸(及其前體苯丙胺酸)是多巴胺、腎上腺素和去甲腎上腺素、以及各種微量胺的前體。
  • 甘胺酸是血液中重要化合物(稱為卟啉,即血紅素)的前體。
  • 精胺酸是一氧化氮的前體。

飲食中的蛋白質和胺基酸

您吃的蛋白質其實不是完整地被吸收。所以,吃了雞胸肉並不能讓您的身體增加完全相同類型的蛋白質。蛋白質被消化成可被腸子吸收並能讓血液輸送的胺基酸或小肽。

肽與蛋白質的區別在於它們較小—通常含有50個或更少的胺基酸。最短的肽是二肽,由單一肽鍵所連接的兩個胺基酸組成。多肽是一條長而連續,且無支鏈的肽鏈。

蛋白質的消化從胃開始,其酸性環境和胃蛋白酶開始使蛋白質變性(解開),這可以讓從胰腺分泌的消化酶更容易作用。

其他特定的酶會進一步將較大的肽消化成二肽和三肽以及遊離胺基酸,然後就會被釋放到血液中供其他組織使用。消化後,胺基酸用於合成蛋白質和其他生物分子,或被轉化為尿素和二氧化碳作為能源。

在20種標準胺基酸中,有9種被認為是必需的,因為您的身體無法從其他化合物中製造出正常生長所需的濃度。所以,這些胺基酸必須從食物中獲得。這些必要胺基酸包括組胺酸、異亮胺酸、亮胺酸、賴胺酸、甲硫胺酸、苯丙胺酸、蘇胺酸、色胺酸和纈胺酸。

蛋白質品質

並不是所有飲食中的蛋白質對您健康的幫助都是一樣的。科學家制定了一個量表,讓您知道蛋白質的品質。先前測定品質的方法包括PER(蛋白質效率比)和BV(生物價值),但是現在已經很少使用了。

現在確定蛋白質品質較常用的方法被稱為蛋白質消化率校正胺基酸評分(PDCAAS)。PDCAAS會根據您的需求評估食物蛋白質質量。它是依據2至5歲兒童(被認為是最具營養需求的年齡族群)的胺基酸需求(經過消化率調整)來測量蛋白質的品質。

PDCAAS係將特定食物蛋白質的胺基酸譜與標準胺基酸譜進行比較,來確定蛋白質質量等級。最高分數是1.0,這個分數代表蛋白質在消化後,每單位蛋白質會提供人體所需的100%或更多的必要胺基酸。

蛋白質需求

每天的蛋白質需求牽涉到許多因素,包括年齡、身體成分、性別、總能量攝取量(卡路里)、訓練狀態和運動員的鍛鍊程度。

蛋白質攝取量建議係以體重為依據。正常健康成年人的每日建議攝取量是每公斤體重0.8克的蛋白質;身體健康,體重150磅並且經常久坐不動的成年女性,以此計算,每天需要約55克的蛋白質。

成年女性的蛋白質建議攝取量(RDA)為46克/天,成年男性為56克/天,而孕婦和哺乳期婦女為71克/天。這與上面的建議標準不相符合,是有原因的。

就像微量營養素的RDA一樣,它們代表能讓健康人士擁有正常的健康和成長所應攝取的數量。RDA是滿足基本營養需求所需的最低攝取量,但不一定是最佳攝取量。

運動員所需的蛋白質

運動員在緊張的訓練或比賽之後,需要靠膳食蛋白質來修復和重建骨骼肌與結締組織。運動員每天每公斤體重通常應該攝取至少1.4至2.0克的蛋白質。

有一種特定類型的胺基酸對運動員來說特別重要,那就是支鏈胺基酸(BCAA)。在九種必要胺基酸中,只有三種是BCAA,但它們形成肌肉組織中約35%的蛋白質。這些BCAA也會在有氧運動期間,降低蛋白質降解速率並延遲肌糖原的消耗,發揮有益作用。

這三種BCAA是亮胺酸、異亮胺酸和纈胺酸。BCAA對於蛋白質的合成和周轉、細胞訊號傳輸路徑和葡萄糖代謝都至關重要。他們還在腦中蛋白質和神經遞質的合成以及能量的產生中發揮作用。

越來越多的科學文獻指出,在三種BCAA中,亮胺酸似乎在刺激蛋白質合成的過程中發揮最重要的作用。

年長者所需的蛋白質

老化會導致肌肉流失。正常老化與肌肉蛋白質代謝的變化,以及對膳食中胺基酸的反應降低有關。膳食中攝入充足的亮胺酸(BCAA)有助於克服對肌肉蛋白質的不敏感性,並成為預防過度肌肉流失的有效方法。有益的最小劑量大約是每份或每餐攝取亮胺酸2.0至2.5克。

同樣明顯的是,攝取亮胺酸作為整個優質蛋白質的一部分,可能比單獨用BCAA補充更有益。為了盡量提高老年人肌肉的蛋白質留存率,並提供充足的亮胺酸,大多數專家均提議每餐包含25-30克優質蛋白質的膳食計劃。

隨著年齡的增長,肌肉會流失,但流失若超過正常的速率(每年0.5-1.0%)則被稱為肌少症。這是由於骨骼肌量的逐漸減少,會導致力量和功能下降。肌少症發生在60歲以上的族群中多達30%,超過80歲的族群中則超過50%。

素食者和全素者

Vegan sources of protein. Healthy food concept. Selective focus

植物蛋白可以提供足夠的優質蛋白質來維持健康的生長、修復和肌肉功能嗎?當然可以。

然而,許多植物性蛋白質所提供的所有必要胺基酸低於最佳值。對於素食者或全素者來說,攝取多樣化的食物(包括豆類、堅果和種籽)就更形重要。通常情況下,多樣化且熱量充足的素食就可以提供充足的優質蛋白質。

總體建議

根據現有研究的總體結論,蛋白質的安全和健康範圍大約為總膳食卡路里的15-25%,並且會根據活動程度和年齡進行一些調整。若平均每天攝入2,000卡路里的熱量,則每天應攝入75-125克蛋白質。

食物來源選擇正確的蛋白質

就像脂肪和碳水化合物一樣,蛋白質也是一種巨量營養素,這代表您的身體需要相對較多數量的蛋白質。但與脂肪和碳水化合物不同的是,可用的蛋白質無法被大量儲存。您的胺基酸存量會持續被使用,因此必須經常補充。如果您沒有從飲食中攝取足夠的蛋白質,身體就會轉從肌肉中支取。

世界上沒有一種食物是最好的蛋白質來源。雖然肯定會有一些食物被認為是較佳的蛋白質來源,但多樣化的飲食通常能提供足夠的蛋白質。而且,專注於高品質的天然食物將能幫助您獲得足夠的重要營養素和蛋白質。

根據蛋白質含量和其他營養素,最佳的蛋白質來源是:海鮮、禽類瘦肉、豆類、雞蛋、乳製品(優格、牛奶和起司)、大豆、瘦牛肉和瘦豬肉;此外藜麥、南瓜籽和開心果也是極佳的選擇。

那麼如果很難達到蛋白質需求量,或者沒有時間坐下來吃頓飯,該怎麼辦呢?可以用高品質的代餐飲品或能量粑作為蛋白質的有益補充。

更多關於蛋白質的知識

  • 只要您身體健康且水分充足,則高蛋白質攝取量並不會傷害健康的腎臟。
  • 「完全」和「不完全」這兩個術語用在植物蛋白方面就會產生誤導。在滿足熱量需求時,從植物中獲取各種蛋白質可提供足夠的所有必要胺基酸。
  • 像碳水化合物一樣,每克蛋白質可供應約4大卡的熱量。每克脂肪可提供9大卡,而每克酒精可提供7大卡。
  • 蛋白質首先用於身體的成長和修復,剩下的才會用於能量。而沒有用到的蛋白質則被轉換為脂肪儲存起來。
  • 碳水化合物不是刺激胰島素分泌的唯一物質,蛋白質也可以刺激胰島素的分泌,但程度較輕並且不會升高血糖值。
  • 蛋白質比脂肪或碳水化合物更能讓人有飽足感。一些研究指出,蛋白質含量的適度增加和升糖指數的適度降低,可以改善並維持健康的體重。

參考資料

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4889822/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK22600/

https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-017-0177-8

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK56068/table/summarytables.t4/?report=objectonly

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16365098
http://www.theissnscoop.com/tag/bcaa/

https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/1550-2783-7-7

http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/0115426506021005430

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2760315/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3359496/

https://askthescientists.com/collagen/

https://askthescientists.com/eating-bugs/

https://askthescientists.com/milk-types/

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here

Build Your Knowledge About Protein and Amino Acids

All biological organisms—including you—are essentially protein structures filled with water, and sometimes supported by bones. That’s how crucial it is. Protein is your body’s most important building block. In fact, the word protein is derived from the Greek proteios “the first quality,” or from protos “first.”

It’s estimated the human body contains over two million proteins. The total number found in biological organisms on land is likely to exceed 10 million. But nobody knows for sure. The number is huge, because every protein has another one that can break it down.

Protein Structure

Proteins are long-chained molecules made from the basic building blocks of life—amino acids. They’re organic compounds that have a very specific chemical structure. Amino acids containing amine (molecules with a nitrogen and two hydrogen atoms) and carboxyl (molecules containing carbon, two oxygen, and one hydrogen molecule) functional groups. These are connected to a side chain (R group) of molecules specific to each amino acid.

There are 20 well-known amino acids that make up the proteins in your body. Recently, two additional amino acids have been discovered. So, all animal and plant proteins on earth are constructed from these 22 amino acids.

In 1806, French chemists Louis-Nicolas Vauquelin and Pierre Jean Robiquet isolated a compound in asparagus that was subsequently named asparagine. It was the first amino acid discovered.

The longest known protein, titin, is also known as connectin. It contains 26,926 amino acids. Titin is found in muscle and contributes to its passive stiffness.

Even with a somewhat limited amount of amino acids, proteins can be very complex molecules. That’s because most proteins fold into unique, three-dimensional structures.

Biochemists often refer to four distinct aspects of a protein’s structure:

  • Primary structure: The linear amino acid sequence held together by bonds known as peptide bonds.
  • Secondary structure: The three-dimensional form of local or specific segments of proteins. These local segments are twists and turns stabilized by hydrogen bonds.
  • Tertiary structure: The overall shape of a single protein molecule. Also synonymous with the term “fold,” the tertiary structure controls the basic function of the protein.
  • Quaternary structure: The structure formed by several protein molecules (polypeptide chains), which function as a single protein complex. They’re usually called protein subunits in this context.

Protein Function

You might think of proteins as building blocks—especially for muscle tissue. But proteins serve many vital functions in the body. And some that might surprise you. The major ones are listed below.

Enzymes and Hormones

The best-known role of proteins in the cell is as enzymes, which catalyze chemical reactions. This can help you metabolize your food into cellular energy. Digestive enzymes are a good example of this type of protein. These enzymes also can take the form of antioxidants. Selenium-containing protein glutathione peroxidase is one of the most important antioxidant compounds in your body.

Sex hormones, known as gonadotropins, and endocrine hormones—like insulin and glucagon—are also proteins.

In 1955, insulin became the first protein to be fully sequenced. British biochemist Frederick Sanger received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for this groundbreaking research.

Recombinant DNA techniques are used in 1978 by biotechnology firm Genentech to produce synthetic “human” insulin, making insulin the first human protein to be manufactured through biotechnology.

Cell signaling

Many proteins are involved in the process of cell signaling and signal transduction. Some proteins, such as insulin, transmit a signal from the cell in which they were synthesized to other cells in distant tissues.

Proteins participate in both sides of the signaling process. They also act as receptors on the cells that bind to a signaling molecule to induce a biochemical response.

Antibodies are protein components of the immune system. Their primary function is to bind foreign substances in the body (antigens) and target them for destruction.

Structural proteins

These provide shape and rigidity to biological components. Most structural proteins are fibrous in nature.

Collagen and elastin are two great examples of these tough, fibrous proteins. They’re both critical components of connective tissue, like cartilage. And they serve major functions in the structure of skin. The protein keratin provides structure for your hair and nails. In the animal kingdom, keratin helps make feathers, hooves, and some animal shells.

A final category includes structural proteins that are globular. They form long, stiff fibers that allow cells to maintain their shape and size.

Other functions

Proteins also play roles in cell adhesion, growth factors, nutrient transport and storage, and much more. In humans, non-protein amino acids also have important roles as neurotransmitters or precursors to other molecules. Neurotransmitters are substances that help transfer impulses between nerves.

  • Tryptophan is a precursor of the neurotransmitter serotonin, which is involved in mood and much more.
  • Tyrosine (and its precursor phenylalanine) are precursors of dopamine, epinephrine, and norepinephrine and various trace amines.
  • Glycine is a precursor of important compounds in the blood known as porphyrins (ie. heme)
  • Arginine is a precursor of nitric oxide.

Protein and Amino Acids in the Diet

Proteins you eat are not absorbed intact. So, you don’t eat a chicken breast and add that exact same type of protein to your body. Proteins are digested into amino acids or small peptides that can be absorbed by the intestine and transported in the blood.

Peptides are distinguished from proteins because they’re smaller—typically containing 50 or fewer amino acids. The shortest peptides are dipeptides, consisting of two amino acids joined by a single peptide bond. A polypeptide is a long, continuous, and unbranched peptide chain.

Protein digestion begins in the stomach. The acidic environment and the stomach enzyme pepsin begin to denature (unravel) the protein. This makes it more accessible to digestive enzymes secreted by the pancreas.

Other specific enzymes further digest the larger peptides into di- and tripeptides and free amino acids. These are then released into the blood for use by other tissues. After digestion, the amino acids are used to synthesize proteins and other biomolecules or they’re converted to urea and carbon dioxide as a source of energy.

Of the 20 standard amino acids, nine are called essential because your body cannot make them from other compounds at the level you needed for normal growth. So, they must be obtained from food. The essential amino acids include histidine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methionine, phenylalanine, threonine, tryptophan, and valine.

Protein Quality

Not all dietary proteins are equally effective for your health. Scientists have developed a scale to let you know a protein’s quality. Previous methods of measuring quality include the PER (protein efficiency ratio) and BV (biological value). But they’re rarely used today.

Now the preferred method of determining protein quality is known as protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score (PDCAAS). The PDCAAS allows evaluation of food protein quality based on your needs. It measures the quality of a protein based on the amino acid requirements (adjusted for digestibility) of a 2- to 5-year-old child (considered the most nutritionally demanding age group).

Using the PDCAAS method, the protein quality rankings are determined by comparing the amino acid profile of the specific food protein against a standard amino acid profile. The highest possible score is a 1.0. This score means, after digestion of the protein, it provides 100 percent or more of the essential amino acids required—per unit of protein.

Protein Requirements

Daily protein needs are combinations of many factors, including age, body composition, gender, total energy intake (calories), training status, and level of exercise for an athlete.

The recommendation for protein intake is based on body weight. For normally healthy adults the daily recommendation is 0.8 grams of protein for every kilogram of body weight. For a normally healthy adult woman who weighs 150 pounds and is sedentary, that translates to about 55 grams of protein a day.

The recommended dietary allowance (RDA) for adult females is 46 grams/day, for adult men it is 56 grams/day, and for pregnant and lactating women it is 71 grams/day. That doesn’t match up with the recommendations for a reason.

Much like the RDAs for micronutrients, they’re meant to provide sufficient levels to allow for normal health and growth in apparently healthy individuals. The RDA is the minimum level of intake needed to meet basic nutritional requirements, but it isn’t necessarily the specific amount that is best or optimal.

Protein for Athletes

Athletes consume dietary protein to repair and rebuild skeletal muscle and connective tissues following intense training bouts or athletic events. Athletes should generally get at least 1.4 to 2.0 grams of protein for every kilogram of body weight per day.

One specific type of amino acids is especially important for athletes— branched-chain amino acids (BCAAs). Of the nine essential amino acids, only three are known as BCAAs. But they make up about 35 percent of the proteins in muscle tissue. These BCAAs are also known to play a beneficial role during aerobic exercise by decreasing the rate of protein degradation and delaying muscle glycogen depletion.

The three BCAAs are leucine, isoleucine, and valine. BCAAs are crucial to protein synthesis and turnover, cell signaling pathways, and glucose metabolism. They also play roles in the synthesis of proteins and neurotransmitters in the brain, and the production of energy.

A growing amount of scientific literature suggests that of the three BCAAs, leucine appears to play the most significant role in stimulating protein synthesis.

Protein for the Elderly

Aging tends to lead to muscle loss. Normal aging is associated with changes in muscle protein metabolism and decreased response to amino acids in a meal. Adequate leucine (BCAA) intake during a meal may help overcome this insensitivity to muscle proteins and be a useful tool in the prevention of excess muscle loss. The minimum dosage for these benefits is likely between 2.0 and 2.5 grams of leucine per serving or meal.

It is also becoming clear that leucine, taken as part of a whole quality protein, is likely more beneficial than supplementing with BCAAs alone. To maximize muscle protein retention in the elderly and provide adequate leucine, most experts propose dietary plans that include 25-30 grams of high-quality protein per meal.

Muscle loss occurs with age but losing more than normal (0.5-1.0%/year) is known as sarcopenia. It’s a progressive decline in skeletal muscle mass which leads to decreased strength and functionality. Sarcopenia occurs in as much as 30% of individuals over 60 years of age and more than 50% of those over 80 years.

Vegans and Vegetarians

Can plant proteins by themselves provide enough quality protein to sustain healthy growth, repair, and muscle function? Absolutely.

However, many plant proteins provide less than optimal levels of all essential amino acids. For vegans or vegetarians, it simply becomes more important to get a wide variety of foods that include beans, legumes, nuts, and seeds. Typically, a vegetarian diet that is highly varied and adequate in calories will provide plenty of quality protein.

Overall Recommendation

Based on the totality of the available research, a safe and healthy range of protein to aim for is roughly 15-25 percent of total dietary calories—with some adjustments for activity level and age. For an average 2,000 calorie intake, this would represent an intake of 75-125 grams of protein per day.

Food Sources—Choosing the Right Protein

Just like fat and carbohydrates, protein is a macronutrient. That means your body needs relatively large amounts. But unlike fat and carbohydrates, usable protein is not stored in significant amounts. Your amino acid stores are constantly used and must be replenished often. If you aren’t getting enough protein in your diet, your body will take it from your muscle mass.

There is no single best protein source. While there are certainly some foods that would be considered better protein sources, a varied and mixed diet typically provides adequate protein intake. And, focusing on quality whole foods will help you achieve an adequate intake of important nutrients and proteins, too.

The best sources of protein, based on protein content and other nutrients, are: Seafood, lean poultry, beans, eggs, dairy (yogurt, milk, and cheese), soy and other legumes, lean beef, and pork. Quinoa, pumpkin seeds, and pistachios are also excellent sources of protein.

What if you’re having a hard time meeting your protein needs, or don’t have the time for a sit-down meal? A quality meal-replacement drink or bar can be a beneficial addition to your protein intake for the day.

More Protein Facts

  • As long as you’re healthy and well-hydrated, high protein intakes do not damage healthy kidneys.
  • The terms “complete” and “incomplete” are misleading in relation to plant protein. Getting a variety of protein from plants supplies enough of all essential amino acids when caloric requirements are met.
  • Protein, like carbohydrates, supplies approximately four calories of energy per gram. Fat provides nine calories per gram, and alcohol provides seven calories per gram.
  • Protein is first utilized for growth and repair. Excess can be used for energy. Protein not needed for these functions will be converted and stored as fat.
  • Carbohydrates are not the only stimulus for insulin secretion. Protein can also stimulate insulin secretion, but to a lesser degree and without raising blood glucose levels.
  • Protein is more satiating than fat or carbohydrates. Some research shows that a modest increase in protein content and a modest reduction in glycemic index can lead to an improvement in compliance and maintenance of a healthy weight.

References

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4889822/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK22600/

https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-017-0177-8

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK56068/table/summarytables.t4/?report=objectonly

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16365098
http://www.theissnscoop.com/tag/bcaa/

https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/1550-2783-7-7

http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/0115426506021005430

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2760315/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3359496/

https://askthescientists.com/collagen/

https://askthescientists.com/eating-bugs/

https://askthescientists.com/milk-types/

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here