週末勇士的提示

Female rock climber at Riverside Quarry, California

4點59分……滴答,滴答,滴答……砰!5點整,興高采烈、自由、探險活動。您所期待的那一刻終於在每個星期五下午5點臨到了。您從上班第40個小時中解脫出來,準備離開工作崗位並迫不及待地衝向正等待著您的活動。但是,作為一名週末勇士,您的追求有時限;忙碌的生活又將在短短兩天半之後的週一上午9點開始。


什麼是週末勇士?

週末勇士是「日常運動員」。他們不是職業運動員,但是他們的訓練幾乎跟職業運動員一樣辛苦,而且是在工作閒暇的短時間內訓練。由於一週的忙碌工作實在很難找到追求自己運動目標的時間,這些人都盡其所能地利用週末。從科學上而言,週末勇士將他們的建議體育活動中的大部分(如果不是全部的話)全擠在一週的一天或兩天。這通常看起來像冒險運動、耐力賽、或其它體育和有趣的活動—可以是個人或團隊。


週末勇士都是很有衝勁的人。他們是週一至週五(或任何工作時間)朝九晚五工作的人,並且打算充分利用他們的假期。但週末也可能會令人感到苦樂參半,因為時間實在太短了。那麼,您該如何盡量利用這兩天呢?來看看一些能讓每個週末都發揮最大價值的提示、竅門和建議!

週末勇士訓練提示

世界衛生組織(WHO)強烈鼓勵成年人每週應定期進行有氧運動和肌力訓練(兩次)。如果您喜歡中度的有氧運動,那就應該每週至少做150分鐘。如果您喜歡劇烈的有氧運動,那麼至少需要75分鐘。(請閱讀這篇文章,瞭解如何建立適當的鍛煉。)

作為週末勇士,您很可能將這些活動時間分成一兩天,而不是分散在七天的時間內。這種截短型的時間表並非WHO指南的初衷。那麼,這種方式是否會失去運動的意義呢?

一點也不會。一項在《美國醫學會期刊:內科學雜誌》上發表的研究讓這些擔憂獲得解決。研究人員對6萬多人進行了20年的調查;根據他們的鍛煉習慣,參與者被歸類為活躍的(每週三次或更多的鍛煉課程)、週末勇士(達到指南建議的每週一到兩次鍛煉)、或者活動不足(少於指南建議的每週一到兩次鍛煉)。

該研究的結論指出,包括週末勇士在內的活躍成年人的健康狀況明顯較好。具體而言,每週至少有一天(或更多)充分活躍的活動,其健康風險可降低30%。這讓我們學到,只要您能完成所有鍛煉項目,那麼完成的方式並不重要。

所以,如果您週間忙碌的工作迫使您選擇週末勇士生活,那也沒關係。但是,有一些方法可以讓您的訓練獲得最大效果。這可能意味著鍛鍊前後充分的暖身和緩和運動、增加交叉訓練、以及重新檢查自己的鍛煉結構。以下是一些概念(安全部分還有更多內容):

動態拉伸

Beautiful young woman practicing or exercising, doing sports in park

動態拉伸意味著您伸展時身體應移動,而不是保持靜止狀態。動態伸展可以讓肌肉伸長,同時增加心跳和血流量。嘗試增加伸展的步行弓步。做弓步時,每一次都用較長的時間讓身體盡量下沉,直到您感覺到伸展變得輕柔,並將您另一側的手臂抬起超過頭頂。這樣可以運動您的肩關節,同時伸展您同一側的臀部屈肌。換腳換手做弓步,並重複數次。

建立您的力度

在整個鍛煉過程中要慢慢增加強度。意思是強度不要一開始就很高,而是要慢慢增加。對於大多數的運動追求,您可以用多種方式來測量:分段計時、負重量、心跳、力量指標…等等。在使用最簡單設備的情況下,時間可能是最容易測量的,所以如果您剛開始訓練,請從測量時間開始。

在您鍛鍊初期階段的暖身活動中,請以時間作為運動量的測量指標。例如,如果您正在跑步,則可以測量完成一圈或一段路線所需的時間。隨著您鍛煉的進步,目標可放在減少每一分段的時間,也就是每一圈或每一段重複路線要跑得更快。

如果您選擇的活動不適合以同樣的方式計時(比如重量訓練),那麼您可以採用不同的測量方法。為自己設定某一個時間要舉的重量,從輕量級開始,每過一段時間就增加重量,讓身體有機會慢慢進步。

高強度間歇訓練

當您的時間特別少的時候,或者您想要做新的鍛煉項目時,可考慮進行高強度間歇訓練(HIIT)。您可在例常鍛煉中加入高強度間歇訓練。高強度間歇訓練是一項由短而有力的幾回合有氧運動所組成的鍛煉課程,其回合之間的恢復時間很短。高強度間歇訓練的一個很好的例子就是Tabata訓練,這是以日本科學家Izumi Tabata博士的名字命名的。Tabata訓煉通常是8回合20秒的運動,每回合之間休息10秒。其概念就是強力運動20秒,然後做短暫的恢復。這種間歇訓練可以支援肌肉粒線體的功能(基本上是您的肌肉產生能量的方式),這是運動能力和健康狀況的指標。

忙碌時快速而友好的燃料

Sweaty young man eating energy bar at gym. Handsome mid guy enjoying chocolate after a heavy workout in fitness studio. Fit man biting a snack and resting on bench.

週末勇士時間寶貴。所以他們在寶貴的週末時間裡一直在運動。當您要盡量利用休假日的時候,節省做飯時間是很重要的。但是您又不想縮減您追求運動目標所需的能量。

由於您將會忙著運動,您需要在運動中吃一些簡單而且容易消化的食物來獲取熱量,亦即您需要一種單一碳水化合物來為您的身體補充能量。能量棒和咀嚼片既方便攜帶也易於食用。如果您喜歡自己做,就請在去鍛煉的前一天晚上做飯時順便幫自己做一些速食點心吧!

水分也是適當補充能量的關鍵部分。在體內水分不足的情況下不要劇烈運動,否則一開始就很不利。在您平常的鍛煉前要提加入補充水分這一步,並持續經常這樣做。

同時不要忘記電解質或鹽。您可以把您喜愛的運動飲料沖泡粉加到水裡喝,或直接喝運動飲料。看看哪一種飲料適合您的運動又合您的口味,以及,當然啦,能讓您保持最佳表現。

但要確保您得到那些更長時間運動所需要的電解質。您的汗水會帶走鹽分,所以亟需補充。例如,鈉決定細胞可以承受多少水;如果它的濃度不平衡,您身體的細胞就不能維持正常的規律性運作。

適當準備鍛煉之前的食物和飲料也很重要。恰巧有一篇關於該主題的完整文章可以幫助您

保持安全,保持穩健

On the road to recovery for knee injury after fitness exercise, healthy lifestyle concept, indoors gym wooden floor brick wall background

週末勇士的每一種運動項目(山地自行車、自行車、跑步、攀岩、滑雪、各種健身房運動等等)都有其獨特的安全考慮。不論是預防受傷或安全裝備,有很多方法可以讓您安全地追求運動目標。下面有一些這方面的提示和技巧。

預防受傷

預防受傷是一個廣泛的議題。所以讓我們以戶外活動為例。以下是週末勇士幾個不同戶外活動的注意事項。

  騎自行車 跑步 攀岩
著裝 自行車短褲

有口袋的針織衣

適當的外套

帽子/太陽眼鏡

合腳的跑步鞋

適當的外套

帽子/太陽眼鏡

攀岩鞋

適當的外套

帽子/太陽眼鏡

安全裝備 頭盔

前後車燈

輪胎修補包

反光物品/外套

頭燈、

反光物品/外套

頭盔

安全帶

保護裝置

掛鉤

繩子

規劃考慮因素 利於自行車騎乘之路線

交通/野地小道狀況

手機服務範圍

天氣狀況

可能的野生動物

手機服務範圍

天氣狀況

可能的野生動物

岩壁狀態

手機服務範圍

潛在危險 車禍

爆胎

自行車事故

惡劣天氣

碎石路和岩石

(在黑暗中)迷路

惡劣天氣

鬆裂的岩石

設備誤用/故障

(在黑暗中)迷路

應該先將行程告訴親友嗎?

從選擇穿的衣服到攜帶的配件,都要以可以預防受傷為考量因素。

想像一下,在初秋的早晨開始騎自行車,就必須穿上保暖的衣服,也要確定外套能反光。尤其是您需橫越馬路,或是騎在車道邊的自行車道更是重要。確保別人可以看到您,這樣他們就可以安全地避開您。在您的自行車加裝頭燈和後燈也可以達到相同的效果,燈光可以提高其它駕車人的注意。

我們繼續以其自行車為例。您穿戴著保護性的反光裝備,安全地騎在交通繁忙的道路上。但是如果您離家更遠,卻發生爆胎。這時如果沒有輪胎修補包(或者您不知道要怎麼使用),那麻煩可大了,特別是如果這時您的手機沒有訊號的話。

所以以下是務必要做的事:規劃路線時要確保沿路手機都有訊號;帶上一個裝備精良的修理工具包,並且事先了解並練習使用工具包。如果沒有注意這些,您可能會牽著自行車長途跋涉走回家,而這段路程更有著潛在的危險。

現在讓我們騎著車出城。那裏也許沒有舖好的道路,而只是野外小徑。不論是一條很長的小道或通往山上的爬山小徑,都有需要您注意的不同的潛在性危險。請注意天氣預報,如果該地區容易受到天氣的影響(特別注意:落石、小徑被沖毀、路面溼滑,山洪…等),這一點尤為重要。

此外,根據您所進入的小徑所在的荒野區域,您需要知道那裡有些什麼野生動物。事先研究一下那裡的野生動物種類、牠們的習性,以及萬一遇見這些動物時該如何保護自己的安全。

週末勇士的優質恢復

您出去實現了您的週末目標。也許您騎著自行車穿越了崎嶇難行的小徑、攀登了令人膽顫心驚的巨岩、或僅靠雙腳的力量登上高峰,現在您正享受著完成鍛煉的愉悅和成就感,那麼該來談談如何適當地恢復正常了。

這是一個老生常談的話題,因為「恢復正常」這件事已經不是什麼新鮮事了。每個週末結束時,您一定要做的是:肌肉的恢復、補充水分、飲食和睡眠。

肌肉恢復

當您在外面長時間運動時,您的肌肉疲憊不堪。激烈的運動會撕裂您的肌肉,在肌肉纖維中產生輕微裂傷,這實際上可以使它們變得更為強壯。但在此期間,身體的感覺是酸痛和緊繃。

這時就該放慢腳步,對自己溫柔些。想想哪些肌肉群最需要縮小伸展和移動的範圍,好讓您得到最好的恢復。同時也要投資一些肌體恢復的裝備;可考慮:按摩滾筒、按摩球、阻力帶,或專業按摩來輔助恢復過程。不知道這些裝備長什麼樣和它們的功用嗎?讓我們來看看。

  • 按摩滾筒。如果您還沒有聽說過這種肌肉恢復法,請注意。按摩滾筒是一種利用集中的壓力來釋放緊繃、痠痛的肌肉的方法。滾筒有多種形式:空心或實心圓柱體、或大或小的球體、以及各種形狀的紋路。假設您的小腿肌肉很緊,您可以把一個泡綿球放在小腿下面,然後緩緩來回滾動,來釋放緊繃的肌肉。這種動作的另一個好處是增加血液循環以促進適當的恢復效果。網路上有針對各種肌肉群的許多指南。
  • 拉伸(使用或不使用阻力帶)。做完運動並使用按摩滾筒之後,您的肌肉就夠溫暖來做伸展了。在此之前,您曾讀到關於通過動態拉伸為肌肉暖身的資訊,但做完鍛煉並使用按摩滾筒開始緩和運動之後,身體不需要動態拉伸,而是應該專注於靜態拉伸。選擇一種拉伸動作並保持至少15秒,讓肌肉慢慢得到放鬆。如果您身體的靈活度不太好,那麼您可以用一條阻力帶來做拉伸動作。請參閱梅奧診所提供的基本伸展簡易指南
  • 按摩。如果按摩滾筒和拉伸都沒有效,那就請找精通運動按摩或體療的專業人士按摩。泰式瑜伽按摩就是一個很好的例子。(這種按摩是在完全穿著衣服的情況下,由執業者利用他們的身體和體重施加適當的壓力和牽引力來放鬆您緊繃的肌肉)。按摩治療師非常瞭解解剖學和運動學(身體動作的科學),能提供更多見解、建議、和舒緩。此外,還有一些按摩理療師精通傳統按摩和牽引拉伸。

補充水分

Portrait of young caucasian woman resting after training holding a sports bottle sitting on mat with legs crossed in gym with loft interior.

一定要好好補充您身體所流失的水分和鹽分,這意味著多喝水和電解質。在您完成了鍛煉活動後,您的飲料中不需要額外的熱量(像上面所說的甜味飲料)。只要確保能得到讓肌肉獲得最佳恢復的電解質和鹽。

飲食

在您的鍛煉或探險之後,您應該利用您的身體增加的糖原為您在一週當中和下一次鍛煉提供能量。鍛煉後30-60分鐘內,確保攝取健康比例的易消化碳水化合物蛋白質,兩者的比例大約為1:1或2:1。另外,在此期間應盡量避開纖維素和脂肪;這兩種巨量營養素會減緩碳水化合物和蛋白質的吸收。

在這段時間之後,下一餐開始就可以回到正常的健康飲食了。食用富含抗氧化劑的水果和蔬菜—藍莓、堅果、青椒,柳丁和綠葉蔬菜,以及健康的精益蛋白質(如雞肉、魚肉、堅果和豆類);也要吃富含纖維的健康碳水化合物,通常被稱為「複合」碳水化合物,這些包括全穀物和蔬菜。最後,不要忘記健康的單元不飽和脂肪和多元不飽和脂肪,尤其是高脂魚、核桃和亞麻籽中的ω-3脂肪酸。

睡眠

無論如何,您總是需要睡眠。但是當您的週末勇士的身體已經疲累時,更需要睡眠。在運動後要好好休息。如果可能的話,比正常情況提前一小時上床睡覺。這聽起來可能很難,但是一旦您躺到床上,您的身體就會感謝您。

睡眠是我們的身體進行大部分修復工作的時間。提早休息一小時將讓您的身體早一點啟動修復過程。睡眠讓您的身體有時間治癒肌肉,補充能量供應。這也是您的心情放鬆和重新調適的時期;如果您希望到下個週末前一直都能精力充沛,那麼這就是一段重要的時期。

出去活動並善用週末

couple of bikers having a break looking at the sea

作為一個週末的勇士,您有想要享受的運動、想要征服的高山、或想要達成的目標。現在您擁有更多工具可讓您安全又有效率地完成這些目標。在您計劃下週末的活動時,請應用在這裡所學習到的技巧。這些關於事前準備、安全考量、能量補充計劃和恢復等訊息,都是能幫助您更安心地達成目標的工具。

關於作者

Jenna Templeton是住在猶他州鹽湖城的健康教育家和自由科學作家。她獲得維吉尼亞理工大學化學學士學位後,在營養產業中擔任研究科學家五年。這項工作引發了她對個人健康的興趣,於是前往猶他大學攻讀健康推廣與教育碩士。在工作之外,Jenna十分享受現場音樂、園藝、一切美食、以及在瓦薩奇山脈活動。

參考資料

“6 Dynamic Stretches That Prep You for Any Workout.” Health.

“7 Best Recovery Foods.” Muscle & Fitness online.

“Chapter 4. Active Adults.” Physical Activity Guidelines, 2nd edition. CDC.

“Drink Up for Sports and Fitness.” WebMD.

Hamilton M. “How to Use a Foam Roller to Warm Up and Cool Down.” Runner’s World.

O’Donovan G, Lee I, Hamer M, Stamatakis E. Association of “Weekend Warrior” and Other Leisure Time Physical Activity Patterns With Risks for All-Cause, Cardiovascular Disease, and Cancer Mortality. JAMA Intern Med. 2017;177(3):335–342.

Shilton AC. “The New Rules of Hydration.” Outside Online.

“The Healing Power of Sleep.” WebMD.

Trewin A, et al. Acute HIIE elicits similar changes in human skeletal muscle mitochondrial H2O2 release, respiration, and cell signaling as endurance exercise even with less work. Am J Physiol Regul Integr Comp Physiol. 2018; 315: R1003–R1016.

“What is Tabata Training?” Active.

Tips for Weekend Warriors

Female rock climber at Riverside Quarry, California

4:59… Tick, tock, tick, tock… BAM! 5:00. Elation. Freedom. Adventure. The moment you never thought would come finally arrives each Friday at 5:00 p.m. You’re released from your 40th hour of duty and ready to leave work behind and tackle the adventures that await. But, as a weekend warrior, your pursuits have an expiration. And the buzzer will sound in a mere two and half days on Monday by 9:00 a.m.


What’s a Weekend Warrior?

Weekend warriors are “everyday athletes.” They’re not quite professional athletes, but they train nearly as hard and do so in the short window of time when they’re not tied to a job. Pressed for time to pursue their athletic goals during the work week, these folks maximize their weekends. Scientifically speaking, weekend warriors pack most, if not all, of their recommended physical activity into one or two days out of the week. This often looks like adventure sports, endurance races, or other sports and playful activities—both solo and team-oriented.


Weekend warriors are the go-getters. They’re the people who work nine-to-five, Monday through Friday, (or any schedule, really) and are intent on making the most of their time off. But weekends might also feel bittersweet because they’re so short. So, how can you maximize those two days? Dive into some tips, tricks, and takeaways to milk each weekend for all it’s worth!

Weekend Warrior Training Tips

The World Health Organization (WHO) strongly encourages adults to engage in regular aerobic activity and strength training (twice) every week. If you prefer moderate aerobic physical activity, you should hit at least 150 minutes per week. If you prefer vigorous, intense aerobic physical activity, your goal at least 75 minutes. (Check out this article to see how to build a proper workout.)

As a weekend warrior, you likely pack those minutes of activity into a day or two instead of spreading them out over a seven-day span. This truncated type of schedule was not the original intent of the WHO guideline. So, does this consolidation exclude you from the benefits of exercise?

Not at all. A study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association: Internal Medicine puts those worries to rest. Researchers surveyed more than 60,000 people over a 20-year span. Based on their exercise habits, participants were considered active (three or more exercise sessions), weekend warriors (hitting the guidelines in one or two sessions per week), or insufficiently active (less than guidelines in one to two sessions per week).

The study concluded that active adults, including weekend warriors, had significantly better health outcomes. Specifically, being sufficiently active for at least one day (or more) per week lessened health risks by 30 percent. The takeaway is that it doesn’t matter how you get your activity done, so long as you get it done.

So, it’s OK if your busy work-week forces you to choose the weekend warrior life. But there are ways you can maximize your training efforts. This could mean warming up and cooling down sufficiently, adding in cross-training, and re-examining the structure of your workout. Here are some ideas (with more to come in the safety section):

Dynamic Stretching

Beautiful young woman practicing or exercising, doing sports in park

Stretching dynamically means your stretches coincide with movement rather than remaining static. Dynamic stretching allows your muscles to elongate while increasing your heart rate and blood flow. Try walking lunges with an added stretch. Once you step into a lunge, pause long enough to sink down into the bottom of it until you feel a gentle stretch and raise your opposite arm overhead. This will allow for movement in the shoulder joint while stretching out your hip flexor on the same side. Switch sides and repeat.

Build Your Efforts

Ramp up the intensity throughout your workout. This means you don’t start out hard. Instead, you gradually increase your efforts over time. For most athletic pursuits, you can measure this in a number of ways: time splits, weight carried, heart rate, power metrics, and more. Time may be the easiest to measure with the simplest equipment, so start there if you’re new to training.

As you continue warming up in the early stages of your activity session, use time as a measure of effort. For example, if you’re running you could measure the time it takes you to complete a lap or section of a route. As you progress through your workout, aim to decrease that split time. This means you run faster each time you repeat the lap or segment of your run.

If your activity of choice doesn’t lend itself to timing in the same way—say, weight training—you can employ a different strategy. Assign yourself a set time interval for a weighted movement. Start with light weights. With each new interval, increase the weight so your body has a chance to warm up slowly.

High-Intensity Interval Training

Consider high-intensity interval training (HIIT) when you’re especially pressed for time. Or add a HIIT session to your regular routine if you’re looking for something new. HIIT is a workout session made up of short, powerful rounds of cardio activity with minimal recovery periods in between. A great example of HIIT is Tabata training, named for Dr. Izumi Tabata, a Japanese scientist. Tabata workouts are typically eight rounds of 20 seconds of work, followed by 10 seconds of rest. The idea is to work as hard as you can for 20 seconds before moving into the short recovery. Such interval workouts can support muscle mitochondrial function (basically how your muscles make energy), which is a marker of athletic prowess and good health.

Fast and Friendly Fuel On-The-Go

Sweaty young man eating energy bar at gym. Handsome mid guy enjoying chocolate after a heavy workout in fitness studio. Fit man biting a snack and resting on bench.

Weekend warriors don’t have time to waste. So, they’re constantly on the move during their precious weekend hours. When you’re scrambling to maximize your days off, it’s important to save time on food preparation. But you also don’t want to skimp on the fuel you need to get after your goals.

Since you’ll be on the move, your calories should come from foods that are easily eaten and digested while in motion. This means simple carbs that your body can easily use as fuel. Energy bars and chews are easy to pack and easy to eat. If you prefer something homemade, work in food prep time the night before your big day out to create your own quick snack.

Hydration is also a key component of proper fueling. Don’t show up to work hard without being properly hydrated or you’re starting at a disadvantage. So, add this easy trick into your routine: hydrate early, and continue to do so often.

And don’t forget your electrolytes or salts. You can turn to your favorite sports beverage mix that you can add to water or a ready-to-drink option. Look into which suits your activity and taste buds the best, and, of course, keeps you exercising at peak performance.

But make sure you get those electrolytes for longer bouts of exercise. You lose salts in your sweat, and it’s imperative they’re replaced. For instance, sodium determines how much water your cells can hold. And if its concentration is off balance, your body’s cells can’t maintain proper regulation.

Properly preparing with pre-workout food and drink is important, too. Luckily, there’s a whole story on that topic to help you out.

Stay Safe, Stay Strong

On the road to recovery for knee injury after fitness exercise, healthy lifestyle concept, indoors gym wooden floor brick wall background

Each weekend-warrior discipline (mountain biking, cycling, running, climbing, skiing, dominating the gym, and more) comes with unique safety considerations. Whether it’s injury prevention or safety gear, there are many ways to maintain your safety in pursuit of your athletic goals. You’ll see those tips and tricks below.

Injury Prevention

Injury prevention is a broad topic. So, let’s consider outdoor pursuits as an example. Below are several considerations for a handful of different weekend warrior outdoor activities.

Biking Running Rock Climbing
Clothing Chamois bike shorts;

jersey with pockets;

appropriate layers;

hat/sunglasses

Proper trail shoes;

appropriate layers;

hat/sunglasses

Climbing shoes;

appropriate layers;

hat/sunglasses

Safety Gear Helmet;

head and tail lights;

bike tube repair kit;

reflective item/layer

Headlamp;

reflective; item/layer

Helmet;

harness;

belay device;

carabiner;

rope

Planning Considerations Bike-friendly route;

traffic/trail conditions;

cell-phone-service range

Weather conditions;

wildlife potential;

cell-phone-service range

Weather conditions;

wildlife potential;

rock quality;

cell-phone-service range

Potential Dangers Car accident;

popped tires;

bike crash

Inclement weather;

loose trail and rock;

getting lost (in dark)

Inclement weather;

loose rocks;

equipment misuse/failure;

getting lost (in dark)

Should You Tell a Friend? Yes Yes Yes

From the clothes you wear to the accessories you carry, there are a lot of options that can help fend off injury.

Imagine getting started in the dark hours of an early fall morning. If you’re hopping on your bike, it’s imperative to wear warm clothing to protect you from the elements and make sure your apparel is reflective, too. This is especially true if you’re riding and might cross paths with, or bike alongside, traffic. Make sure others can see you so they can safely avoid you. Strap forward-facing and rear lights to your bike to serve the same purpose. The lights help alert other motorists of your presence.

Let’s continue with the cycling example. You’re wearing your protective, reflective gear, and you make it through the busy roads safely. But now that you’re further away from home, you pop a tire. This could spell disaster if you don’t have a repair kit (or you’re unsure of how to use one), especially if you don’t have cell-phone service.

Make sure you do the following: plan your route with cell coverage in mind, carry a well-equipped repair kit, and understand and practice how to use your repair kit. Without these precautions in place, you may be carrying your bike a long way home. And that journey comes with its own potential dangers.

Now let’s move further out of the city. Perhaps instead of the pavement, you’re hitting the trails. It doesn’t matter if it’s a long trail run, hike, or approach to a place to climb, the potential dangers are unique and require your attention. Be aware of the weather forecast. It becomes especially important if the terrain may be easily influenced by it (think: rockfall, washed out trails, slick footings, flash floods, etc.).

Additionally, depending on the trails in wilderness areas you enter, you may need to be familiar with the wildlife inhabiting those spaces. Do your homework and understand what kind of animals live there. Then study their habits and how to keep yourself safe should you have an encounter.

Quality Recovery for Weekend Warriors

You went out and crushed your weekend goal. Perhaps you biked that beast of a trail, climbed a daring route, or reached a summit by foot-power alone. Now that you are enjoying the afterglow and sense of accomplishment after finishing your workout, it’s time to talk about how to recover properly.

You’ll sense a theme here, because the tenets of recovery aren’t breaking news. There are some main to-dos that should be on your radar, things you should check off your list as each weekend winds down: muscle recovery, hydration, diet, and sleep.

Muscle Recovery

When you’re out there working hard for long bouts of time, your muscles take a beating. Intense exercise breaks down your muscles. It creates microtears in the muscle fibers, which actually allows them to build back up even stronger. But in the interim, the physical sensation manifests as soreness and tightness.

This is the time to slow down and be gentle with yourself. Consider which muscle groups need the most work to narrow down which stretches and movements will best support your recovery. Also invest in some recovery gear. Think: foam roller, massage ball, resistance band, or professional massages to aid in the process. Not sure what this gear looks like and what they do? Let’s find out.

  • Foam rolling. If you haven’t already heard of this muscle recovery strategy, take note. Foam rolling is a way to release tight, knotted muscles by utilizing focused pressure. The rollers take numerous forms—hollow or solid cylinders, small or larger spheres, and textured options of the same shapes. Let’s say you have a tight calf muscle. You can place a foam ball under your calf and utilize your bodyweight to apply pressure to the tight muscle. Then by rolling back and forth slowly, you can work to release the muscle tension. An added benefit of this type of movement is increased circulation for proper recovery. There are numerous guides available online for working out tricky spots in various muscle groups.
  • Stretching (with and without resistance bands). After exercising and foam rolling, your muscles are sufficiently warm for stretching. Earlier, you read about warming up your muscles with dynamic stretching. But after completing an activity and beginning the wind-down process with light foam rolling, your body doesn’t require dynamic stretching. Now you can focus on static or stationary stretching. Pick a stretch and hold it for at least 15 seconds to allow your muscle to release slowly. If your flexibility is limited, grab a resistance band to extend your reach. The Mayo Clinic has a simple guide to basic stretches.
  • Massage. When foam rolling and self-stretching doesn’t cut it, turn to a professional. This could be someone well versed in sports massage or a specialist in body work. Thai yoga massage is a good example. (This type of massage is a fully clothed session in which the practitioner utilizes their own body and weight to apply appropriate pressure and traction to release your tense muscles). Massage therapists understand anatomy and kinesiology (the science of body movement) on a deep level and can provide more insight, advice, and relief. There are also massage therapists that specialize in combinations of traditional massage and guided stretching.

Hydration

Portrait of young caucasian woman resting after training holding a sports bottle sitting on mat with legs crossed in gym with loft interior.

Be sure to replace the fluids and salts you’ve lost by hydrating well. This means drinking water and electrolytes. Now that you’re done with your activity, there’s no need to beef up your drink with extra calories (like the sweetened examples above). Just make sure you’re getting in the electrolytes and salts you need for optimal muscle recovery.

Diet

Immediately following your workout or adventure, you want to take advantage of your body increasing glycogen production to fuel your week and next workout. Within 30-60 minutes following your workout, make sure to get a healthy ratio of easily digestible carbohydrates and protein. Somewhere around 1:1 or 2:1 carbohydrate to protein should do. Also, try to avoid fiber and fat immediately during this time. These two macronutrients can slow the absorption of the carbohydrates and protein.

Following this period, and starting at your next meal, get back to your normal healthy diet. Fill up on antioxidant-rich fruits and veggies—blueberries, nuts, peppers, oranges, and leafy greens. Include healthy, lean proteins like chicken, fish, nuts, and beans. Reach for healthy, fiber-rich carbohydrates, generally referred to as “complex” carbohydrates. These include whole grains and vegetables. And lastly, don’t forget the healthy mono- and poly-unsaturated fats, especially omega-3 fatty acids found in fatty fish, walnuts, and flax seeds.

Sleep

Sure, you always need sleep. But when your weekend-warrior body has taken a beating, the necessity is even stronger. Allow for ample rest after your athletic efforts. If possible, begin a wind down routine an hour earlier than normal. It may sound difficult, but once you hit the sheets, your body will thank you.

Sleep is the time our bodies do the majority of repair work. Getting an extra hour of rest will allow your body to begin the repair process. Sleep gives your body time to heal broken-down muscles and replenish energy supplies. It’s also a period in which your mind can relax and regroup. This is an essential period if you want to have enough energy to charge through to the next weekend.

Get Out There and Dominate the Weekend

couple of bikers having a break looking at the sea

As a weekend warrior, you have your own sports to enjoy, mountains to conquer, and objectives to achieve. But now you have more tools to do so safely and more efficiently. As you plan your next weekend adventure, consider the tips you’ve learned here. Your preparation, safety considerations, fuel plan, and recovery are the tools that will help achieve your goals with more ease and peace of mind.

About the Author

Jenna Templeton is a health educator and freelance science writer living in Salt Lake City, Utah. After receiving a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Virginia Tech, Jenna spent five years as a research scientist in the nutritional industry. This work fueled her interest in personal wellness, leading her to pursue a graduate degree in Health Promotion & Education from the University of Utah. Outside of work, Jenna enjoys live music, gardening, all things food, and playing in the Wasatch mountains.

References

“6 Dynamic Stretches That Prep You for Any Workout.” Health.

“7 Best Recovery Foods.” Muscle & Fitness online.

“Chapter 4. Active Adults.” Physical Activity Guidelines, 2nd edition. CDC.

“Drink Up for Sports and Fitness.” WebMD.

Hamilton M. “How to Use a Foam Roller to Warm Up and Cool Down.” Runner’s World.

O’Donovan G, Lee I, Hamer M, Stamatakis E. Association of “Weekend Warrior” and Other Leisure Time Physical Activity Patterns With Risks for All-Cause, Cardiovascular Disease, and Cancer Mortality. JAMA Intern Med. 2017;177(3):335–342.

Shilton AC. “The New Rules of Hydration.” Outside Online.

“The Healing Power of Sleep.” WebMD.

Trewin A, et al. Acute HIIE elicits similar changes in human skeletal muscle mitochondrial H2O2 release, respiration, and cell signaling as endurance exercise even with less work. Am J Physiol Regul Integr Comp Physiol. 2018; 315: R1003–R1016.

“What is Tabata Training?” Active.