Entrées par Jenna Templeton

Sous la loupe : les acides gras essentiels oméga-3 et oméga-6

Oméga-3. Oméga-6. Vous en avez sans doute entendu parler, mais pourtant le mystère persiste. Ordres militaires? Expressions utilisées sur les réseaux sociaux? Autre chose? Même si ces mots énigmatiques ne laissent rien deviner, n’ayez crainte. Vous êtes au bon endroit pour tout savoir au sujet des acides gras essentiels oméga-3 et oméga-6. Les acides gras […]

Vivre en pleine conscience, c’est vivre en santé

Comme la pleine conscience ne se définit pas facilement, faisons appel à notre imagination et essayons de la mettre en pratique l’espace d’un instant. Imaginez-vous en train de marcher dans la ville, en profitant du plein air et en ressentant l’effervescence des rues que vous arpentez. Vous vous assoyez sur un banc près d’un carrefour […]

Conseils pour les sportifs du dimanche

Il est 16 h 59… tic, tac, tic, tac… DRING! 17 h. Allégresse. Liberté. Aventure. Le moment que vous ne cessiez d’attendre est enfin arrivé, comme chaque semaine : vendredi 17 h. Vous avez bouclé la dernière de vos 40 heures de la semaine et vous laissez le travail derrière vous, prêt à plonger dans l’aventure qui vous attend. En tant […]

Salubrité Des Aliments : Ayez Du Flair

«ÇA SENT CORRECT, ÇA? » C’est tout probablement une question que vous avez déjà posée ou à laquelle vous avez eu à répondre. Avec les réfrigérateurs spacieux d’aujourd’hui, il est facile d’oublier ce qui se trouve au fond des tablettes. Les jours passent et la date de péremption de certaines denrées approche. Pourtant, lorsqu’il est […]

Les effets de la technologie (et de la lumière) sur le sommeil

À mesure que le soleil décline, la nuit approche. La lumière faiblit et l’obscurité s’installe en vous invitant à l’imiter, en allant au lit pour la nuit. Telle une couverture douillette, l’obscurité vous enveloppe et le monde extérieur s’apaise, permettant à votre monde intérieur de faire de même. Si vous êtes comme bien d’autres gens, […]

Conseils pour garder la forme sur la route

Il fait encore nuit lorsque votre réveille-matin vous tire brusquement d’un sommeil profond. L’heure du lever est déjà là, car il est bientôt temps de partir pour l’aéroport. Un dernier coup d’œil sur vos bagages pour vous assurer que tout est bien là et vous voilà dans le taxi. Que votre avion vous mène au […]

Tout sur les hormones : leur fonction dans le maintien de la santé

Si l’on considère le système circulatoire comme une autoroute, les hormones comptent parmi ses plus importants voyageurs. Et si l’on compare les hormones à des voitures, c’est précisément parce que ces molécules complexes sont en fait des véhicules qui se déplacent constamment sur les autoroutes internes afin de transporter des messages et des signaux entre […]

Entries by Jenna Templeton

Minimizing Distractions to Maximize Quality Family Time

You’re driving along the road on autopilot, hardly paying attention, and then a nearly perceptible swerve. HONK! HONK! Your neck jerks. Your eyes snap to alert. And your hands grip the wheel. Another driver had laid into their horn, bringing you back to reality. Whether you’re behind the wheel or in the passenger seat, the […]

A Deep Dive into Omega-3 and Omega-6 Essential Fatty Acids

Omega-3. Omega-6. Perhaps you’ve heard these terms bandied about, yet they’re still shrouded in mystery. Maybe they’re military call signs, social media slang, or something else entirely? Their cryptic names don’t give any hints. But fear not! You’ve come to the right place to learn more about omega-3 and omega-6 essential fatty acids. What are […]

Mindful Living is Healthy Living

Describing mindfulness can be hard. So, let’s do a little thought experiment and try some mindful living for a minute. Imagine you’re walking through a city, enjoying the fresh air, and delighting in the bustle and energy of the streets. You take a seat on a bench near a busy intersection, safely tucked away from […]

Learn How Hunger Works to Avoid Getting Hangry

You walk into a restaurant. You’re famished. It’s in your eyes and growling loudly from your stomach. Once hunger hits, it can’t be reversed until you eat. The beast must be satisfied. And the server knows it from how quickly your eyes devour the menu and lock in on an order. It’s easy for objectivity, […]

Tips for Weekend Warriors

4:59… Tick, tock, tick, tock… BAM! 5:00. Elation. Freedom. Adventure. The moment you never thought would come finally arrives each Friday at 5:00 p.m. You’re released from your 40th hour of duty and ready to leave work behind and tackle the adventures that await. But, as a weekend warrior, your pursuits have an expiration. And […]

Strength Training vs Cardio: How to Build a Workout

Fitting into an old pair of jeans again. Competing in that bucket-list race. Chasing around children and grandchildren. Or perhaps simply not panting after taking the stairs. Whatever your goal, there are many motivations to get your body moving. And there’s also many different ways to put your body in motion. But how should you […]

Food Safety: Keeping Your Food Foul-Free

“WILL YOU SMELL THIS?” You’ve probably had experience with this question before. And if you haven’t been the one asking, you’ve definitely been on the receiving end. With larger-than-life refrigerators, it can be easy to forget what’s hiding in the back of yours. And as the days on your calendar tick by, the expiration dates […]

How Technology (and Light) Affect Sleep

As the sun recedes, nighttime approaches. The light fades and the darkness crawls in. It welcomes you to do the same: crawl into your bed and retire for the night. The darkness is like a blanket. Tuck into its warmth and the outside world quiets, allowing your internal world to do the same. If you’re […]

The Science of Slumber: Sleep and Health

BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! An entire night has passed in the blink of an eye. The last thing you remember is your head hitting the pillow in the dark. Now, seemingly seconds later, the incessant, blaring of the alarm clock wakes you. But it does no help in reminding you what day it is, where […]