當您厭煩自己總是疲憊不堪時

每個人在下午3:00的時候都是低迷期。您可能在不經意間反復說著您熟悉的三個字「我累了」。

但為什麼呢?是什麼讓您感到如此沉重的疲勞和困倦?除了一個明顯且簡單的原因——缺乏睡眠。但這個簡單的答案具有欺騙性,它暗示睡眠不足很容易克服和改善。好像獲得充足的睡眠來完全掌控每一天就像在晚上關掉床頭燈一樣簡單。

現實感覺和真正的疲倦其實比這要復雜得多。其它因素還有繁忙的事務、日程的衝突,和個人的承諾。堵車、去健身房,以及在烹飪和外賣之間做決定。這一切都耗盡了您這一天需要用到的寶貴能量。

在此之上,人造燈光(所有人都依賴的技術)延長了每天的工作時間,讓您工作或熬夜到更晚。研究支持這一新的現象。最近的一項全球性研究表明,睡眠不足會嚴重影響口語技巧和推理思維——這些都是您每天都依賴的能力。事實上,研究人員將每晚只有四小時的睡眠時間等同於老化八年。

改變您的日常規律、減慢您的生活節奏,或減少屏幕時間可能很困難。那就讓我們從簡單的開始吧——意識。更好地了解您自己疲憊時的表現很有幫助。是什麼讓您感到疲憊?您的心理和身體感覺如何?

當您符合自己疲憊的特徵時,您就可以迅速做出反應來評量並滿足您的需求。隨著時間的推移,這一意識將幫助您準備好預防策略,讓您避免感受不必要的疲勞。

疲憊的跡象和症狀

Young beautiful Afro-American businesswoman using laptop, holding cup and yawning while working in cafe

意識從了解您在尋找什麼開始。在疲憊的情況下,它既有跡象也有症狀。(它們常見且相似,但也存在差異。)跡象是其他人可以觀察到您的狀況,因為它們是從外部可見的。症狀是您自己的感覺——您可以單獨描述的狀況。

當談到疲憊時,一個跡象可以是過度打哈欠。您的朋友可能很容易注意到並告訴您:「哇,我看到您一直在打哈欠。您昨晚睡眠充足嗎?」一個症狀可以是精神上的模糊,即使您能夠感知和體驗到,您的朋友從外部也不會發現。

以下是一些疲憊的跡象和症狀的例子:

跡象 症狀
情緒 易怒、更加敏感,和焦慮或抑鬱 焦慮或抑鬱
心理 健忘 缺乏專注力或注意力,和精神模糊
生理 經常打哈欠或

無意間打瞌睡

頭疼或肌肉疲勞

雖然這些看起來可能很明顯,但每個人都有獨特的跡象和症狀。當您感覺更加疲憊時,您可能會表現出更多的情緒,而不是疲憊的生理跡象。或許您會對一位朋友發洩自己的情緒,然後立刻意識到自己的過激反應。或者在您感到疲倦時,您會比平時更容易因為生活中的一些小事而緊張或不安。又或者您會對一件事感動流淚,而這卻不是您的天性。

研究表明,睡眠減少或睡眠缺乏導致大腦中的一些連接切斷。具體來說,您大腦中有效地控制情緒的部分會關閉。在您疲憊時,這些控制機制的失效就會引起不合理的反應,儘管您的意圖是好的。

雖然這並不奇怪,但它是您通常聽到的有關對睡眠之需求的有趣替代方案。是的,您需要睡眠才能得到良好的休息並讓身體恢復活力。但您還需要睡眠來恢復大腦中負責情緒的連接。這為您第二天的社交互動和挑戰做好準備。

讓疲憊毀壞您的飲食

After eating fast food. Man feeling full or taking nap after eating junk. Guy having hangover or unhealthy diet. Stomach pain while sitting on couch.

其它一些疲倦的獨特跡象和症狀可能與您的飲食有關。雖然有些人可能會食慾下降,但研究表明,大多數人都會受到相反的影響。隨著疲勞感的上升,身體逐漸喪失其評估食慾的能力,這可能導致暴飲暴食。

此外,在您變得更加疲憊時,您會渴望吃更多卡路里密度高的食物。而且您更有可能選擇高脂肪的零食。這就是為什麼研究顯示肥胖和缺乏睡眠之間存在聯繫

總而言之,了解您的身體和精神如何對疲勞做出反應非常重要。它對您的身心健康都會產生負面影響。如果不加以解決,這些問題可能會導致有害的社會事件或發展為長期的暴飲暴食習慣

希望您能更好地了解自己的身體如何受到疲倦的影響。讓我們改變方向,更多地去關注那些開始產生疲憊時的感覺。

需要午睡嗎? 如何擊敗午後的低迷

下午3點鐘了。您的午餐已經消化了,您的肚子感覺很舒服。電腦的嗡嗡聲感覺上和聽起來都像是催眠曲。屏幕上的文字開始變得模糊,因為您的眼皮輕輕地合上了一次……兩次……然後,啊,感覺真好。那您為什麼不暫時閉上雙眼休息一下呢?

可怕的午後低迷再次露出醜惡的嘴臉。好消息是,一些簡單的技巧可以幫助您降服這個怪獸。嘗試一下這些方法,看看它們是否適合您:

  • 吃富含蛋白質的早餐研究表明,含有蛋白質和纖維的膳食(尤其是早餐)與更好的睡眠品質有關。如果可以的話,減少您的早餐中碳水化合物的比例,並用蛋白質代替。這將幫助您更長時間地感覺飽足,有助於日間的警覺和夜間的睡眠。一個方法就是:跳過貝果,吃一個雞蛋。
  • 午後避免攝入咖啡因。雖然咖啡因有它的好處,但過量的咖啡因會嚴重影響您夜間的休息。在一天中,考慮不要喝第二杯(或第三杯,或第四杯)咖啡或茶。如果實在無法減量,那就嘗試減少每杯咖啡因飲料的分量。
  • 攜帶健康的零食。在您開始感到疲倦之前,您可以食用一些健康的零食。含有蛋白質的食品,比如堅果,可以幫助您感覺更加警覺且精力充沛。另一個方法是:嘗試一些令人滿足的脆的零食,比如胡蘿蔔、芹菜,或用蘋果搭配您最喜歡的堅果醬。小巧而頻繁的零食可在一整天中抵禦飢餓。它們還可以幫助您保持能量充沛並專注於手頭上的任務。

打破疲憊的傳說

最後,用有關睡眠的真實信息武裝自己。外界有很多誤導或混淆的信息。而研究所有的信息可能令人精疲力竭——這正是您想要避免的!

以下是關於睡眠的三個常見的傳說——讓我們來逐個揭穿:

  1. 您每晚必須睡八個小時才能休息好。

不對!「八」在您的腦海中可能是個神奇的數字。很多人認為八小時的睡眠是解決日間疲勞或夜間睡眠問題的關鍵。雖然八小時可能是適合您的休息時間,但它並不適用於每個人。

這個數字來自對數千人的研究並反映出平均時間。這意味著有很多人每晚需要多於或少於八小時的睡眠。所以,如果您每晚只需睡六個小時,但醒來後感覺得到了充分的休息並恢復了活力——那很好。您所做的就是您的身體所需要的,那您就不需要改變。如果您需要的是10個小時,那麼同樣也是如此。如果您每晚睡幾個小時(無論是不是八個小時),但您醒來後感覺疲憊不堪或精神渙散,那麼這就出現問題了。

其中的啟示就是:不要死守八小時。找出什麼最適合您並嘗試圍繞您自己的時間而建立規律。

  1. 午睡很適合彌補睡眠缺乏。午睡時間越長越好。

這個既正確又錯誤。雖然午睡可以幫助您彌補睡眠不足,但仍有策略可循。這與您在什麼時間午睡和持續時間有關。

神經學醫生及睡眠醫學醫生(大腦和睡眠醫生)Dr. W. Chris Winter建議您在上午或一天中更早的時候嘗試午睡。把它想像成在前一晚睡眠的基礎上延長睡眠時間。另一方案(在下午或一天中更晚的時候午睡)則會讓您晚些時候在夜間無法獲得更長時間的睡眠。

其次,重新考慮您需要午睡多久。事實上,兩小時的午睡已經不再是午睡了,已經變成了白天的一次睡眠。相反,考慮您需要多長時間入睡(通常是10-15分鐘),然後加上20分鐘。把鬧鐘設在30-45分鐘,這就讓您有足夠的時間入睡並獲得堅實而合理的小憩。

  1. 在床上看電視可以幫助我入睡。

Person watches TV at night in his bed with his feet sticking up out of the blankets. The TV screen is blank white

這可能對您來說是正確的,但也許不是出於正確的原因。

屏幕和它們發出的藍光會抑制身體幫助您入睡的自然過程,即褪黑激素的產生。考慮在睡前30-90分鐘就關閉屏幕。如果這樣做有困難,那就嘗試15分鐘,並在您使用的屏幕上安裝藍光濾鏡(很容易在智能手機、電腦,或平板電腦上安裝)。

也許您在睡覺時喜歡開著電視的原因是它發出的白色噪音幫助您入睡。選擇不帶藍燈的聲音機。聲音機有多種形式,您可以選擇一款適合您的,包括智能手機上的應用程式。如果這還不是您的風格,那麼一個簡單的風扇也可以達到這一目的。

休息是最好的辦法

無論您是誰或在做什麼,您可能都需要更多的休息。這就是現代生活讓幾乎每個人都體會到的感受。您應該得到更多的休息。現在您已經有了獲得更多休息的工具。

在看過安靜睡眠的阻礙和讓您感到疲憊的壓力因素後,希望您已了解了如何獲得更多的休息。盤點您的習慣、日程安排、跡象,和症狀。通過一些計劃和決心,您將不再身陷疲憊之中。

參考文獻

https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2016/p0215-enough-sleep.html

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5015038/

Greer SM, Goldstein AN, Walker MP. The impact of sleep deprivation on food desire in the human brain. Nat Commun. 2013; 4: p. 2259.

Ward, A. “Somnology (SLEEP) Part 1 with W. Chris Winter.” Ologies Podcast.

Yoo, S. “The human emotional brain without sleep – a prefrontal amygdala disconnect.” Current Biology. 2007; 17: pp. R877-R878.

When You’re Tired of Being Tired

It’s the tagline of everybody’s 3:00-in-the-afternoon slump. It’s that three-word utterance you’re so familiar with you probably don’t realize how often you say it: “I’m so tired.”

But why? What brings you to this point of heavy-lidded fatigue and exhaustion? Besides the obvious, easy answer—lack of sleep. But that answer’s simplicity is deceptive and implies that lack of sleep is easy to overcome and undo. As if getting enough sleep to fully power your day could be as simple as turning off your bedside lamp at night.

The reality of feeling and being tired is much more complex and convoluted. There’s traffic, schedule conflicts, and personal commitments. Carpools, gym trips, and the decision between cooking and takeout. It all drains the precious energy resources you have for the day.

On top of all of that, the fact artificial light (put off by all the technology everyone relies on) extends each day, encouraging you to work later and stay up longer. Research supports this new reality. And the effects are concerning. A recent global study showed that lack of sleep significantly impairs verbal skills and reasoning—things you depend on every day. In fact, researchers equated getting as few as four hours of sleep per night to aging eight years.

Changing your routine, slowing down your life, or decreasing screen time may be difficult. So, let’s start with something simple—awareness. Developing a better understanding of your personal expression of tired is helpful. What gets you there? How does it feel both mentally and physically?

Once you’re in tune with your own hallmarks of feeling tired, you can react quickly to assess and address your needs. Over time, this awareness will help you build preventive strategies, to keep you from experiencing unnecessary tiredness before it happens.

Signs & Symptoms of Tiredness

Young beautiful Afro-American businesswoman using laptop, holding cup and yawning while working in cafe

Awareness starts by knowing what you’re looking for. In the case of being tired, it’s both signs and symptoms. (They’re common and similar terms, but there is a difference.) Signs are what others can detect about you, because they’re visible from the outside. Symptoms are what you personally experience—what can be described by you alone.

When it comes to tiredness, a sign could be excessive yawning. This is something easily noticed by a friend who might say, “Wow, I see you’ve been yawning a lot. Did you get enough sleep last night?” A symptom could be mental fogginess, which isn’t outwardly visible to a friend, even though you are perceiving and experiencing it.

Here are a few more examples of the signs and symptoms of tiredness:

Signs Symptoms
Emotional irritability,

increased sensitivity, and

anxiety or depression

anxiety or depression
Mental forgetfulness lack of focus or concentration, and

mental fogginess

Physical frequent yawning or

unintentional dozing

headaches or

muscle fatigue

While these might seem obvious, there will be unique signs and symptoms for every person. As you become more fatigued, you may exhibit more emotional than physical signs of tiredness. Perhaps you lash out at a friend and immediately realize your overreaction. Or, when you’re tired, you become more easily stressed or upset by day-to-day hiccups than you normally would. Maybe you cry at something touching when that’s not your usual nature.

Research shows that sleep loss or deprivation can cause a sort of disconnection in the brain. Specifically, the part of your brain that controls emotion effectively shuts down. The failure of these control mechanisms when you’re tired gives rise to irrational reactions despite your best intentions.

While this isn’t exactly surprising, it is an interesting alternative to what you normally hear about the need for sleep. Yes, you need sleep to feel well-rested and physically rejuvenated. But you also need sleep to restore the brain connections responsible for emotion. This prepares you for the social interactions and challenges of the day ahead.

Don’t Let Feeling Tired Destroy Your Diet

After eating fast food. Man feeling full or taking nap after eating junk. Guy having hangover or unhealthy diet. Stomach pain while sitting on couch.

Other unique signs and symptoms of tiredness may relate to your diet. While some may experience a decrease in appetite, research shows most people are affected in the opposite way. With increasing feelings of tiredness, the body loses its ability to evaluate appetite, which can lead to overeating.

Additionally, as you become more tired, you crave more calorie-dense foods. And you’re more likely to reach for snacks that are high in fat. That’s why research shows a connection between obesity and sleep deprivation.

Taken together, it’s important to understand how your body and mind respond to feeling tired. It can have negative effects on your mental and physical health. If not addressed, these can lead to detrimental social occurrences or develop into long-lasting habits of overeating.

Hopefully, you have a better understanding of how your own body is affected by getting tired. Let’s switch gears and focus more on when those feelings of being tired kick in.

Need A Nap? How to Beat the Afternoon Slump

It’s 3 o’clock. Your lunch has settled and your belly is warm. The hum of your computer feels and sounds like a lullaby. The text on your screen begins to blur together as your eyelids softly close once … twice … and then ahh, it feels so nice. Why don’t you just leave your eyes closed for a moment?

The dreaded afternoon slump rears its ugly head once again. The good news is a few simple tricks can help you beat this monster into submission. Try out these ideas and see if they work well for you:

  • Eat a breakfast rich in protein. Studies have shown that meals (especially breakfast) that include protein and fiber are associated with better sleep quality. If you can, decrease the carbohydrate portion (if any) in your breakfast and substitute it for protein. This will help you feel fuller for longer, help with daytime alertness, and nighttime sleep. Here’s an idea: skip the bagel and go for an egg.
  • Avoid caffeine late in the day. While caffeine has its perks, overloading too much can wreck your nighttime rest. Consider not going for the second (or third, or fourth) cup of coffee or tea as the day wears on. If that’s not an option, try cutting back on the amount of caffeinated beverages in each cup you drink.
  • Bring healthy snacks along. Before you start feeling tired, reach for a healthy snack. Something with protein, like nuts, can help you feel more alert and full. Another idea: try a satisfyingly crunchy snack like carrots, celery, or apple paired with your favorite nut butter. Small, frequent snacks can ward off hunger throughout the day. They also help you stay powered up and focused on the tasks at hand.

Busting the Tall Tales of Tiredness

Lastly, arm yourself with helpful truths about sleep. There is a lot of misleading or confusing information out there. And wading through it all can be exhausting—exactly what you’re trying to avoid!

Here are three common myths about sleep—let’s debunk each one:

  1. You have to get eight hours of sleep each night to be well rested.

False! You probably have “eight” in your head like it’s a magic number. A lot of people believe eight hours of sleep is the key to solving daytime fatigue or nighttime sleep issues. While eight hours might be the right amount of rest for you, it’s not universal.

This figure comes from research on thousands of people and reflects an average. That means there are plenty of people who fall on either side of eight hours per night. So, if you’re someone who sleeps for six hours each night and wakes up feeling well-rested and rejuvenated—that’s great. You’re doing just what your body needs. Don’t change. The same is true if you replace that six with 10. The issue arises if you sleep some number of hours per night—whether it’s eight or not—and you wake up feeling exhausted and foggy.

Moral of the story: don’t get stuck on eight. Find out what works for you and try to build a routine around your personal number.

  1. Naps are great for making up for lost sleep. The longer the nap, the better.

This one is both true and false. While naps can assist in making up for lack of sleep, there is a strategy to follow. It has to do with the time of day you nap and for how long.

Dr. W. Chris Winter, a neurologist and somnologist (brain and sleep doctor), suggests you try to nap in the morning or earlier in the day. Think of it as adding to the previous night’s sleep. The alternative route—napping in the afternoon or later in the day—robs you of a longer sleep session later that night.

Secondly, rethink how long your naps last. Two-hour naps are, in fact, not naps. They’re daytime sleep sessions. Instead, consider how long it takes you to fall asleep (usually 10-15 minutes) and add 20. Set an alarm for 30-45 minutes, giving you enough time to drift off and stay there for a solid, sensible session.

  1. Getting in bed with the TV on helps me fall asleep.

Person watches TV at night in his bed with his feet sticking up out of the blankets. The TV screen is blank white

This might seem true for you, but perhaps not for the right reasons.

Screens, and the blue light they emit, inhibit your body’s natural processes that help you go to sleep, namely melatonin production. Consider turning the screen off 30-90 minutes before you go to bed. If that’s difficult, try for 15 minutes and apply a blue light filter to the screen you’re using (easy to do on a smartphone, computer, or tablet).

Perhaps what you enjoy about a TV at bedtime is the white noise it emits as you drift off. Opt for a sound machine that doesn’t come with the blue light. Sound machines come in many forms that may suit you, including apps on smartphones. If that’s not your style, a simple fan can do the trick.

Rest is Best

No matter who you are or what you do, you likely need more rest. That’s just the way modern life makes almost everyone feel. And you deserve more rest. Now you have the tools to get it.

After a look at barriers to restful sleep and stressors that keep you feeling tired, hopefully you understand how you can achieve more rest. Take stock of your habits, schedule, signs, and symptoms. With a little bit of planning and dedication, you’ll be free from constantly feeling tired.

Want to learn more? Visit What’s Up USANA? to find more tips about sound sleep habits.

References

https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2016/p0215-enough-sleep.html

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5015038/

Greer SM, Goldstein AN, Walker MP. The impact of sleep deprivation on food desire in the human brain. Nat Commun. 2013; 4: p. 2259.

Ward, A. “Somnology (SLEEP) Part 1 with W. Chris Winter.” Ologies Podcast.

Yoo, S. “The human emotional brain without sleep – a prefrontal amygdala disconnect.” Current Biology. 2007; 17: pp. R877-R878.