USANA®视力宝® | 视力宝DS

服用USANA视力宝®和视力宝DS,让您有健康的眼睛观看世界

USANA视力宝
视力宝DS

注重能提供眼睛所需营养素(维生素C、锌、叶黄素和玉米黄素)的视力保健补充品来照顾眼睛的健康。*

您的眼睛是通往美丽世界的窗口,因此,别让它曝光在阳光或萤幕下而使您的视野黯淡。请留心保护您的眼睛健康,利用适当的营养来维持您的视力。一起来着眼于USANA视力宝和视力宝DS中所含的重要营养素。*

眼科医生会推荐富含水果和蔬菜的饮食,以保持眼睛的最佳状态。同时,许多人也建议在日常生活中添加一种含有特定营养素的先进眼睛保健补充品。视力宝提供能使您眼睛保持健康的营养素。

视力宝含有维生素C和锌,以及植物营养素叶黄素、玉米黄素和山桑子。这些成分能共同维护多方面的健康:*

  • 通过对抗自由基损伤维持眼睛的长期健康*
  • 可作为蓝光过滤器,帮助维护良好的眼睛健康和视力*
  • 通过支持神经功能和抗氧化活性来帮助大脑*
  • 通过提供抗氧化防御并支持胶原蛋白和表面脂质以维持皮肤健康*

您可以藉由所必需的补充营养来保养您珍贵的眼睛,细胞基本营养素将为您的全身健康提供营养基础,包括您的眼睛。若您能优先考虑眼睛保健,可以在您的日常营养补充方案中加入两片视力宝。或者您也可以用一片视力宝DS来获得相同剂量的叶黄素和玉米黄素。*

SHOP HERE

眼睛构造的基本常识

woman with eye area highlighted

要了解视力宝如何协助维护眼睛健康,须先了解视力是如何运作的。这也牵涉到大脑和神经系统,但一切都从眼睛开始。*

人类的肉眼可以感测到可见光谱中特定部分的辐射,亦即可见光,接着您的眼睛可以使直接在您眼前或远达数里之外的物体形成影像。肉眼甚至可以感应到单一个光粒子。

这景况成为可能是因为在人眼中含有高密度的感觉受体;事实上,人体内超过70%的感觉受体都集中在眼睛。

但是您的眼睛只收集和聚焦光线,大脑会对眼睛所感知的信息进行解译,使您可以看到周围的世界。要了解视力,您需要先了解眼睛、大脑和视神经如何协同工作,以视觉诠释您的世界。

视觉信息的处理程序始于眼睛视网膜及其黄斑部。您实际看到的是打在视网膜(眼球后端一种对光线敏感的细胞层)上的光线;视网膜的中心是黄斑部,眼睛的眼球晶体会将光线聚焦在黄斑部上。

聚焦后的光线会启动细胞信号传导路径,这些路径将光线信息从眼球经由视神经传递到大脑的主要视觉皮层,这个处理中心位于您的后脑勺。最后,这个程序会建立图像,帮助您感知周围的世界。

您的眼睛被认为是中枢神经系统(Central Nervous System,CNS)的一部分,因为在早期胚胎发育过程中,眼睛的许多部分实际上都是从脑部组织开始发育的。此外,除了您的大脑外,还需要很多神经来感知您眼睛所收到的体现为物体的光。眼睛是中枢神经系统的一部分这件事很重要,因为中枢神经系统的所有结构都受到保护,这种保护称为「血脑屏障」。

这种屏障是由高选择性的半透膜所组成,它会将循环血液与CNS的流体和结构分开。血脑屏障是由位于CNS内部及周围的沿着血管的细胞彼此紧密连接而形成的。

这个屏障保护着这些非常精细的结构。为了做到这一点,它只允许少数特殊的分子、营养素和化学物质通过。并非所有营养素都能通过屏障进入中枢神经系统,因此,为了使营养素能进入眼睛,您必须留意选择那些已知能穿过血脑屏障的化合物。

为了发挥视觉作用,您的眼睛依赖许多营养素来帮助您看到周围的世界。来看看视力宝所能提供的营养素:

  • 维生素C:这种强效抗氧化剂和必要营养素存在于水果和蔬菜中。它能支持健康的毛细血管、牙龈、牙齿和软骨。维生素C实际上存在于人体内的每个细胞,但其在视网膜中的浓度大大高于血液中的浓度。由于人体无法自行制造维生素C,因此必须从饮食中摄取。*
  • :作为一种必要的微量矿物质,人体许多方面的健康都需要它,它在眼球中的浓度也很高。它在将维生素A运输到视网膜起关键作用,如果缺乏锌可能导致夜间视力不良。这种矿物质也能提供抗氧化保护,并提高视觉敏锐度。*
  • 叶黄素与玉米黄素:这两种类胡萝卜素是少数能通过血脑屏障并沉积在眼睛黄斑部中的营养素。它们可以当作抗氧化剂,有助于中和自由基并减低氧化压力。此外,它们有助于过滤高能量蓝光,支持维护视觉敏锐度。*
  • 山桑子提取物:山桑子果实富含称为花青素的抗氧化剂。山桑子也被证实有助于维持健康的毛细血管,包括眼睛中的毛细血管。健康的毛细血管很重要,因为它们为眼睛组织提供营养素。由于视力与大量的能量息息相关,因此眼球需要充足的营养。*

视力宝利用同时拥有控制自由基及视力保健益处的营养素,使这些营养素为您效力。请为自己添加这些辅助性营养,以持续支持健康的眼睛与视力。*

SHOP HERE

视力宝为您营造眼睛健康的美景*

woman framing eye with heart-hands and bottle of Visionex behind her

眼睛(尤其是黄斑部)容易受到光照和氧化损伤,这些损伤有许多来源:

  • 自然阳光
  • 某些类型的灯泡或计算机屏幕和移动电话的人造光源
  • 暴露于环境污染物下
  • 因眼球的高代谢率而产生的氧化物

这些损害日积月累,随着年龄的增长,视力普遍会下降。

最重要的是进入眼睛中来自太阳的有害射线。正如阳光(具体而言,是紫外线)会烧伤和损伤您的皮肤,这些射线也会损坏眼睛的结构。

这是眼睛需要平衡的一个有趣的困境。一方面,眼睛需要让光线进入才能看得见;但另一方面,又必须尽量减少光线进入以防止损伤。为了帮助对抗光线的有害影响,眼睛形成了一种有趣的机制,就是浓缩特定保护性营养素。

这些营养素中包括维生素C、锌、叶黄素、玉米黄素和黄酮类山桑子。黄酮类化合物是一种植物性化合物,而维生素C有助于促进健康的血管,以确保营养物质的输送顺畅。维生素C和锌会协同作用,提供抗氧化保护。锌还能帮助将维生素A(维护视力的必要营养素)输送到眼睛。*

黄斑部的中央部分含有称为黄斑色素的密集黄色色素,这有助于保护黄斑部敏感的光受体免受高强度、短波长的光(亦即蓝光)的潜在危害。构成这种黄斑色素的营养素是类胡萝卜素,包括叶黄素和玉米黄素。

类胡萝卜素是构成750种以上天然植物色素的大家族。它们是蔬果中的化合物,会使蔬果呈现红色、橙色和黄色。因为在自然界中存在这么多不同的类胡萝卜素,我们的眼睛发展出能够辨识及选择的能力,能将叶黄素和玉米黄素浓缩在眼球、参与视觉的特定神经元、以及大脑特定区域等。我们的眼睛加添了这些营养素的帮助,就拥有能应对日常压力的精良装备。

因为人体不能制造叶黄素、玉米黄素、维生素C、锌和山桑子,所以必须从饮食或营养补充品中获得。研究显示,这些保护眼睛的营养素浓度与您摄取的量有关。因此,只要持续摄取,这些营养素的浓度在几天内就能提升,,并且会继续增加。不幸的是,一旦停止摄取这些营养素,其浓度就会像增加的速度一样迅速下降。因此,重要的是要坚持不断地摄取健康的饮食,并服用保养眼睛健康的营养补充品。*

随着年龄的增长,黄斑色素密度趋于下降。过去二十年的研究一直致力于了解这种与年龄相关的减少程度与营养之间的关系,如今科学家们对营养如何帮助保养视力和维持长期眼睛健康等,有了更多的了解。*

Visionex surrounded by foods that contain nutrients for eye health

第一项AREDS研究(年龄相关眼疾,研究Age-Related Eye Disease Study)是由国家眼科研究所(National Eye Institute)赞助。以前的研究将眼睛健康和营养的关联,但AREDS试图更深入地探索两者的潜在关系。

对于研究参与者而言,维生素C、锌、叶黄素和玉米黄素等营养素的每日建议摄取量,与眼睛健康有很强的关联。第一个AREDS的结果证实了营养与眼睛健康之间确有关联,而其它的研究则左证这些发现。*

视力宝的配方并非偶然,而是基于坚实的科学,包括AREDS的研究。维生素C、锌、叶黄素和玉米黄素可以协助减轻眼球负荷。它们可以增强黄斑色素的健康,保护眼睛免受阳光的伤害。作为抗氧化剂,它们通过防止光线所引起对眼睛脆弱组织的氧化损伤来保护视力。*

服用视力宝,再加上健康饮食和实践眼睛保健的习惯,可帮助您的眼睛保持健康,即使在您老化的时候仍是如此。这也意味着您应该戴上太阳镜,以避免直接暴露在阳光下。您在使用计算机和手机屏幕的时候,眼睛也应该按常规适度休息。

SHOP HERE

藉由视力宝的强大功效保持您的视力敏锐*

woman reading and working

您的眼睛引导您走过您的世界,所以眼睛健康对您的生活有明显的影响。健康的眼睛可以确保您在驾驶汽车或运动等各种场合中,都能有视觉敏锐的表现。

人们花在计算机屏幕和手机上的时间越来越多,因此必须保护眼睛免受压力和疲劳。您希望您的眼睛在工作时表现良好,但是当您开车或踏上赛场时,您也需要敏锐的视力。

科学研究表明,营养的介入(如膳食补充品)有助于提升视觉表现。

2005年的一项研究,针对这一理论找来40名年轻、健康的受试者(平均年龄23.9岁)进行了测试。他们被安排每日服用叶黄素(10毫克)和玉米黄素(2毫克)的营养补充品六个月,然后测试受试者的眼睛在日常情况下经历的眩光效果,这包括在艳阳高照的户外、长时间使用电脑,以及夜间被迎面而来的车头灯照射。

在服用补充品六个月后,与研究开始时的平均值相比,参与者显示出对黄斑色素光密度(Macular Pigment Optical Density,MPOD)的正面影响。MPOD密度与视觉敏锐度有关。在对受试者在其视觉任务的表现进行测试后,研究人员得出结论,补充叶黄素和玉米黄素四到六个月的人,可以在高炫光情况下维持良好的视觉。

视力宝中的叶黄素和玉米黄素补充品,有助保持视觉功能。使用这些重要的类胡萝卜素有许多好处:*

  • 保持对强光照射的容忍度和恢复能力*
  • 在弱光或朦胧条件下辅助视力*
  • 能使物体边缘看起来更清晰,协助维持视力的健康*

视力宝中的营养素能重新启动您的眼睛健康,USANA眼睛健康补充品中的叶黄素和玉米黄素,能帮助黄斑部的蓝光过滤能力,并提供抗氧化剂以抵抗氧化损伤。*

SHOP HERE

视力宝可额外裨益脑部健康*

Visionex in front of book and computer

视力宝的好处不只针对您的眼睛。因为叶黄素和玉米黄素可以穿过血脑屏障,因此,这些类胡萝卜素在沉积在黄斑部之后,还帮助保养大脑功能的健康。*

认知效应与什么有关?您的大脑会使用叶黄素和玉米黄素来协助提升大脑中发送信息的速度和效率。*

第一种可能性,是支持提升信号沿神经元发送的速度。这可能是叶黄素和玉米黄素这两种营养素的抗氧化特性所导致的,使它们能沿着神经元来回传送电子和其它信号。*

第二种可能性,是叶黄素和玉米黄素能辅助特定的细胞信号传导路径。这些路径会打开某些基因,这些基因会在被称为紧密连接处的地方,使神经元紧紧地连结在一起。我们可将这些视为使细胞紧密黏接的胶水,而有更多的胶水则意味着更牢固、更紧密的连接。*

这种联系为什么很重要?神经元需要沿着细胞的长度以及细胞的间距发送信息,连接越紧密,发送和接收信号的效率就越高。支持提升发信效率等于优化细胞的沟通。*

增加这种细胞胶水的份量,可帮助大脑形成新的连接和细胞信号传导路径。两者对于学习和记忆都非常重要。*

因为视力宝能提升大脑发送和接收信息的能力,所以它是CopaPrime+ 的良伴,后者系使用USANA InCelligence技术™来提升峰值认知功能。*

研究显示,高浓度的循环性类胡萝卜素,特别是叶黄素和玉米黄素,可以支持许多如下的大脑功能:*

  • 学习
  • 记忆
  • 口语流利
  • 反应时间
  • 平衡
  • 神经效率(处理速度)

SHOP HERE

视力宝帮助保持肌肤年轻

woman with beautiful skin holding bottle of Visionex

叶黄素和玉米黄素也有帮助改善肌肤健康的外观的好处。它们能增加表面脂质(脂肪)和增强天然抗氧化活性来做到这一点。通过集中在皮肤上,能协助提供对光的防护,减少太阳的曝晒效果。

叶黄素和玉米黄素可促进脂质生成,促使健康的细胞生长。皮肤细胞是体内增长最快的细胞之一,因此它们需要像叶黄素和玉米黄素这样的营养素的辅助,使您有一层美丽而保护性强的皮肤,以保护您的身体。*

视力宝的维生素C起到抗氧化剂作用,也能支持胶原蛋白的合成,胶原蛋白是皮肤上一种重要的结构蛋白。*

视力宝的抗氧化剂有助于保护皮肤避免干燥,或因提早老化而产生的皱纹,而这可能是由暴露于环境所造成的。当与涂抹在皮肤上的广谱防晒用品一同使用时,视力宝能帮助维持您由内而外焕发健康光泽。*

主要成分

  • 维生素C
  • 叶黄素
  • 玉米黄素
  • 山桑子提取物

查看完整的成分表

视力宝 

视力宝DS

使用法

每日两(2)片视力宝,建议随餐服用。或每日1片视力宝DS,建议随餐服用。

适用于

  • 所有健康成人
  • 运动员

American Optometric Association

National Eye Institute

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11594942

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15787426

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25251377

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25483230

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14711439

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14984308

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26540073

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15129301

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26286605

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15953116

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15824226

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23840953

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18510807

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22045492

http://agris.fao.org/agris-search/search.do?recordID=US9601276

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11684226

https://jandonline.org/article/S0002-8223(07)01187-X/abstract

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26317757

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24247062

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25024317

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21440663

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24148268

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20492542

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15117055

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15762089

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18296924

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17306793

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24691400

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18334754

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5138207/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6164534/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3606807/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19168000

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5063591/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3257702/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11880562

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6028556/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27662341

https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/4f8c/334b9cc43af277c2d40ce57926d4b1b0e05d.pdf

您或许也有兴趣阅读

为什么走出户外很重要的10个原因

从森林浴到去公园散步,体验大自然可在许多方面帮助您的健康。一起来看看为什么走出户外很重要的10个原因。

阅读更多

科技和光线如何影响睡眠

白天要离开电脑和智能手机很难。了解为什么在晚上避免其所散发的蓝光来让您入睡是至关重要的。

阅读更多

正视风险 — 保护您的肌肤免受阳光伤害

太阳提供热量、光和快乐,但太多好事加在一起可能有害。了解如何注意安全的晒太阳。

阅读更多

*这些内容未经美国食品暨药物管理局的审阅。本产品不用于诊断、治疗、医治或预防任何疾病。

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here

USANA® Visionex®

See the World Through Healthy Eyes with USANA Visionex® 

USANA Visionex

Focus on eye health with a vision-supporting supplement that delivers the nutrients your eyes need—vitamin C, zinc, lutein, and zeaxanthin.*

Your eyes are the window to the wonders of the world. So, don’t let exposure to the sun or screens dim your outlook. Focus on protecting your eye health and maintaining your vision with proper nutrition. Set your sights on the important nutrients found in USANA Visionex.

Ophthalmologists recommend a diet rich in fruits and vegetables to keep eyes in tip-top shape. And, many recommend adding an advanced eye-health supplement—with specific nutrients—to your daily routine. Visionex supplies nutrients your eyes need to stay sharp.

Visionex is loaded with vitamin C and zinc. They also deliver the phytonutrients lutein, zeaxanthin, and bilberry. Together, these ingredients support many aspects of health:*

  • Maintaining long-term eye health by fighting free-radical damage*
  • Acting as blue-light filters to help maintain good eye health and vision*
  • Aiding the brain through neural support and antioxidant activity*
  • Maintaining skin health by providing antioxidant defense and supporting collagen and surface lipids*

You can look out for your precious eyes with the nutritional support they require. The CellSentials will help provide a nutritional foundation for your overall health, which includes your eyes. And you can make maintaining healthy eyes a top priority by also including two tablets of Visionex in your daily supplement regimen.

SHOP HERE

Eye Anatomy 101

woman with eye area highlighted

To understand how Visionex can help maintain good eye health, you first need to understand how vision works. The brain and your nervous system also get involved, but it all starts with your eyes.*

The human eye detects radiation (or light) in a specific part of the spectrum—visible light. Then your eyes can form images of objects either directly in front of you, or as far as many miles away. They can even respond to a single particle of light.

This is possible because of the high concentration of sensory receptors found in the eye. In fact, your eyes contain over 70 percent of all sensory receptors in the body.

But your eye is only collecting and focusing light. Your brain translates the messages the eye perceives so you can see the world around you. To understand vision, you need to know how the eye, brain, and optic nerves work together to visually interpret your world.

Processing of visual information begins in the retina and macula in your eye. What you actually see is the light that strikes the retina—a light-sensitive layer of cells at the back of the eye. In the center of the retina is the macula. The lenses in your eyes focus light on the macula.

This focused light initiates cell-signaling pathways. These pathways transmit light information from the eyes, through the optic nerves, to the primary visual cortex of the brain. That processing center is located at the very back of your head. Ultimately, this process creates images that help you perceive the world around you.

The Central Nervous System and Blood Brain Barrier

Your eyes are considered part of the central nervous system (CNS), because many parts of the eye actually begin as brain tissue during early embryonic development. Additionally, it takes many nerves, along with your brain, to perceive the light your eyes take in as physical objects. The fact that the eyes are part of the CNS is important, because all structures of the central nervous system are protected by something known as the blood-brain barrier.

This barrier consists of a highly selective, semi-permeable membrane that separates the circulating blood from the fluids and structures of the CNS. The blood-brain barrier is formed by especially tight connections between the cells that line blood vessels in and around the central nervous system.

The barrier protects these very delicate structures. To do so, it allows only a few select molecules, nutrients, and chemicals to pass. Not all nutrients make it through to the CNS. Thus, to get nutrients into the eye, you must selectively target compounds known to cross the blood-brain barrier.

To do their part in vision, your eyes depend on many nutrients to help you see the world around you. Take a look at some supplied by Visionex:

  • Vitamin C: This powerful antioxidant and essential nutrient is found in fruits and vegetables. It supports healthy capillaries, gums, teeth, and cartilage. Vitamin C can be found in virtually every cell in the body, and its concentration is significantly higher in the retina than in the blood. Since the human body does not make vitamin C, it must be consumed as part of the diet.*
  • Zinc: As an essential trace mineral, zinc is necessary for many aspects of health. And it’s found in high concentrations in the eye. It plays a critical role in transporting vitamin A to the retina. Zinc deficiency has been linked to poor night vision. This mineral appears to provide antioxidant protection and promote good visual acuity.*
  • Lutein & Zeaxanthin: These two carotenoids are selectively transported across the blood-brain barrier and deposited in the macula of the eye. They serve as antioxidants, which help to neutralize free radicals and reduce oxidative stress. Additionally, they help filter out high-energy blue light to support visual acuity.*
  • Bilberry Extract: The bilberry fruit is rich in antioxidants called anthocyanosides. Bilberry has also been shown to help maintain healthy capillaries, including those in the eye. Healthy capillaries are important because they deliver nutrients to eye tissue. The eyes need plenty of nutrition because vision churns through a lot of energy.*

Visionex harnesses the free-radical-fighting and vision-supporting benefits of these nutrients. And puts them to work for you. By armoring yourself with supportive nutrition, you will continue to support healthy vision and eyes.*

SHOP HERE

Visionex Works to Make You the Picture of Ocular Health*

The eye (especially the macula) is prone to photo- and oxidative-damage. This comes from multiple sources:

  • Natural sunlight
  • Artificial light from certain types of light bulbs or from computer screens and mobile phones
  • Exposure to environmental pollutants
  • Oxidants produced as a result of the high metabolic rate of the eye

Over time, these insults add up and there can be a general decline in visual acuity as you age.

A top concern are the damaging rays from the sun that enter the eye. Just like sunlight (ultraviolet radiation, to be specific) can burn and damage your skin, these same rays can damage structures of the eye.

This is an interesting dilemma for the eyes to balance. On one hand, eyes need to let light in so you can see. But on the other hand, they have to minimize how much light comes in to help protect against damage. To help combat the harmful effects of light, eyes developed an interesting mechanism—concentrating specific protective nutrients.

Some of these nutrients include vitamin C, zinc, lutein, zeaxanthin, and the flavonoid bilberry. Flavonoids, which are a type of plant compound, and vitamin C help promote healthy blood vessels to ensure nutrient delivery. Vitamin C and zinc work together to provide antioxidant protection. Zinc additionally helps to transport vitamin A, an essential nutrient for vision, into the eye. *

The central portion of the macula contains a dense, yellow pigment called macular pigment. This helps protect the sensitive light receptors in the macula from the potentially harmful effects of high-intensity, shorter wavelengths of light (also referred to as blue light). The nutrients that make up this macular pigment are carotenoids, including lutein and zeaxanthin.

A Quick Guide to Carotenoids

Carotenoids make up a very large family of over 750 naturally-occurring plant pigments. They are the compounds in fruits and vegetables that tend to give them their red, orange, and yellow color. With all the different carotenoids found in nature, the eye has developed the ability to specifically and selectively concentrate lutein and zeaxanthin in the eye, specific neurons involved in vision, and certain regions of the brain. Together with these other nutrients, the eye is well equipped to cope with daily stresses.

Because your body cannot make lutein, zeaxanthin, vitamin C, zinc, and bilberry, they must be obtained from the diet or a nutritional supplement. Research has shown that levels of these eye-protecting nutrients correlate to the amount you consume. So, levels of these nutrients increase in a few days and continue to increase as long as they are being consumed. Unfortunately, once consumption of these nutrients stops, levels begin to decline as rapidly as they increased. Therefore, it is important to consistently eat a healthy diet and take a nutritional supplement that supports eye health.*

As you age, macular pigment density tends to decline. Research over the past twenty years has been geared toward understanding how this age-related decrease is related to nutrition. Now scientists have a better understanding of how nutrition helps support vision and maintain long-term eye health.*

Visionex surrounded by foods that contain nutrients for eye health

The first AREDS research (Age-Related Eye Disease Study) was sponsored by the National Eye Institute. Previous studies linked eye health and nutrition, but AREDS sought to more deeply explore the potential connection.

For study participants, the tie between eye health and a daily recommended intake of nutrients like vitamin C, zinc, lutein, and zeaxanthin was strong. The results of the first AREDS confirmed the link between nutrition and eye health. And additional studies support the findings.*

The formula of Visionex is no accident—it’s based on solid science, including AREDS. Vitamin C, zinc, lutein, and zeaxanthin can help lighten the load of ocular burdens. They reinforce the health of macular pigment to protect your eyes from damaging sunlight. And as antioxidants, they maintain your eyesight by defending against oxidative damage to the delicate tissues of the eye caused by light.*

Along with Visionex, eating a healthy diet and practicing eye-protective habits can help your eyes stay healthy, even as you age. That means avoiding direct exposure to the sun by wearing sunglasses. You should also take regular breaks from computer and smartphone screens.

SHOP HERE

Keep Your Vision Sharp Through the Power of Visionex*

woman reading and working

Your eyes guide you through your world, so their health can have a noticeable impact on your life. Healthy eyes ensure high visual performance across situations like driving a car or playing sports.

Since time in front of computer screens and cell phones is on the rise, it is necessary to protect your eyes from stress and fatigue. You want your eyes to perform well while you are working. But you also need them to be on top of their game when you get behind the wheel or step onto the field.

Scientific research has shown that nutritional interventions (like dietary supplementation) can help support visual performance.

A 2005 study put this theory to the test with 40 young, healthy subjects (average age of 23.9 years). They were assigned to receive daily supplements of lutein (10 mg) and zeaxanthin (2 mg) for six months. The subjects’ eyes were then tested for the effects of glare as experienced in everyday situations. That included being outdoors on bright days, lengthy sessions of computer time, and nighttime exposure to oncoming headlights.

Following the six months of supplementation, the participants saw positive impacts on macular pigment optical density (MPOD) when compared to average values at the beginning of the study. MPOD levels have been linked with visual acuity. After testing the subjects for their performance on visual tasks, researchers concluded that four to six months of lutein and zeaxanthin supplementation supports visual performance in high-glare situations.

Supplementation with the lutein and zeaxanthin in Visionex can help preserve visual function. Use of these important carotenoids has a number of benefits:*

  • Sustains tolerance to and recovery from exposure to bright light*
  • Supports visual acuity in low-light or hazy conditions*
  • Can help maintain healthy vision by making edges appear clearer*

Reboot your eye health with the nutrients found in Visionex. The lutein and zeaxanthin in USANA’s eye supplement helps support the blue light-filtering power of the macula and provides antioxidants to fight off oxidative damage.*

SHOP HERE

Think Visionex For Extra Brain Benefits*

Visionex in front of book and computer

The benefits of Visionex extend beyond your eyes. That’s because lutein and zeaxanthin can cross the blood-brain barrier. So, after these carotenoids are deposited in the macula, they also have work to do supporting healthy brain function.*

What accounts for the cognitive effects? Your brain puts lutein and zeaxanthin to use helping to optimize the speed and efficiency of sending messages in your brain.*

The first way this may work is supporting the speed at which signals are sent down a neuron. This could be the result of the antioxidant properties of lutein and zeaxanthin shuttling electrons and other signals along the neuron.*

The second possibility is that lutein and zeaxanthin support specific cell-signaling pathways. These pathways turn on the gene responsible for holding neurons tightly against each other at connections called tight junctions. Think of these as the glue that keeps cells in close contact. More glue means a strong, tight connection.*

Why would this connection be important? Neurons need to send messages down the length of their cells, as well as between cells. The tighter the connections, the more efficiently the signal is sent and received. Supporting signaling efficiency equals optimal cellular communication.*

Increasing the amount of this cellular glue may help the brain form new connections and cell-signaling pathways. Both are very important for learning and memory.*

Research has shown high levels of circulating carotenoids, specifically lutein and zeaxanthin,  support many brain functions. They include the following:*

  • Learning
  • Memory
  • Verbal fluency
  • Reaction time
  • Balance
  • Neural efficiency (processing speed)

SHOP HERE

Eye-Spy Youthful Skin with Help from Visionex  

woman with beautiful skin holding bottle of Visionex

Lutein and zeaxanthin also offer benefits for supporting your skin’s healthy appearance. They do this by increasing surface lipids (fats) and enhancing natural antioxidant activity. By concentrating in the skin, they help provide protection from light to reduce the visible effects of the sun.

By promoting lipid production, lutein and zeaxanthin foster healthy cell growth. Skin cells are some of the fastest growing cells in the body. So, they need the support of nutrients like lutein and zeaxanthin to guard your body with a beautiful and protective outer layer.*

The vitamin C in Visionex acts as an antioxidant and also supports the synthesis of collagen, which is an important structural protein in the skin.*

The antioxidants in Visionex help protect skin from a dry or prematurely wrinkled appearance that could be caused by environmental exposure. When paired with a broad-spectrum sunscreen applied to the skin to defend against the effects of the sun, Visionex can help maintain your healthy glow from the inside.*

Key Ingredients

  • Vitamin C
  • Zinc
  • Lutein
  • Zeaxanthin
  • Bilberry Extract

See full list of ingredients

Usage

Take two (2) tablets of Visionex daily, preferably with food.

Ideal For

  • All healthy adults
  • Athletes

Frequently Asked Questions About Visionex

None! Submit your question below.

References

American Optometric Association

National Eye Institute

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11594942

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15787426

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25251377

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25483230

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14711439

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14984308

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26540073

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15129301

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26286605

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15953116

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15824226

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23840953

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18510807

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22045492

http://agris.fao.org/agris-search/search.do?recordID=US9601276

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11684226

https://jandonline.org/article/S0002-8223(07)01187-X/abstract

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26317757

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24247062

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25024317

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21440663

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24148268

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20492542

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15117055

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15762089

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18296924

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17306793

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24691400

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18334754

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5138207/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6164534/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3606807/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19168000

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5063591/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3257702/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11880562

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6028556/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27662341

https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/4f8c/334b9cc43af277c2d40ce57926d4b1b0e05d.pdf

You May Also Enjoy

10 Reasons Why Being Outside is Important

From forest bathing to walks in the park, experiencing nature can help many facets of your health. Discover 10 reasons why being outside is important.

Read More

How Technology and Light Affects Sleep

Escaping computers and smart phones is tough during the day. See why it’s essential to avoid their blue-light emissions at night so you can sleep.

Read More

Risky Business—Protecting Your Skin from the Sun

The sun provides heat, light, and happiness. But too much of a good thing can be harmful. See how to practice safe sun exposure.

Read More

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here