为什么走出户外的10个很重要的原因

forest bathing

在如今这个科技强大的世界,许多人都感到有必要简化生活和回归大自然。为了享受户外休闲的健康好处,有必要放空自己到野外去重新充电。那些能够吸收一切大自然事物的人发现为什么走出户外很重要的原因—跟健康有关。

远在智能手机和自动驾驶车之前,日本就认为「森林浴」是其国家卫生计划的重要部分了。有了森林浴,「沐浴」就不能照字面解释了。它有了一个新的意义—是指将自己沉浸于大自然环境中。

此概念源自日本的Shinrin-Yoku森林疗法,并可追溯到1982年。30年后,森林浴的这个目标仍然尚待向人们解说大自然的疗愈能力。许多研究和调查已经证实了日本人长久以来所相信的—大自然在许多方面对健康有益。

森林浴的普及率在美国已有所提升,特别是在大都市地区。个人、家人、或朋友会一起到森林进行疗愈性的徒步旅行和大自然健走。但森林浴并非是唯一可利用户外来改善健康的方法。

还有很多方法可以让您利用大自然的好处。我们会告诉您怎么做—提示:首先就是放下您的手机去体验户外,我们将解释原因。以下是为什么走出户外对改善您和家人健康的10个很重要的原因。

1. 纾解压力

走出户外可以帮助您避开工作或学校的压力。压力会破坏健康的心灵和免疫系统;工作与学校的高压力跟忧郁、肥胖、和高血压都有关系。如未加以适当管理,压力是不健康的。幸好,您家后院就有天然的降压器。

花时间在大自然中可减轻青少年和成年人的压力。到了户外之后,压力激素皮质醇的血液浓度就降低。在一群中国的男学生当中,那些利用休息时间到校外远足和露营的人,在返校时,其皮质醇浓度比那些待在城市里的人更低;而且这些较低的皮质醇浓度在他们从野外回来之后,还持续了几天。

这个结果显示,经常到户外旅行是管理压力的可靠方法。享受大自然成本低,每个人都能做到。下一个长周末,您可以选择在前往其他城市旅行之前,花些时间在大自然中度过。这将会减轻您的压力负担,并重新恢复活力。

专家提示:大自然能帮助创造更多的工作满意度。有景观窗的办公室工作人员满意度较高,工作压力也较少。如果您没有窗户,那就每天花些时间看看外面,感受一下大自然景观的降压效果。

2. 加强免疫力

留在室内对您的免疫健康会有负面的影响。免疫系统发挥最大功能是在它经常接受挑战时。若我们常待在室内,这种情况就不太会发生。

大自然的健康剂量会帮助您的身体准备战斗。这是它的作用原理。

2010年发表的一项研究评估了森林浴对免疫功能的影响。一群日本成年人,一趟三天的森林之旅使他们血液中白血球的数量增加了。这些白血球的高浓度,在他们通过树林冒险之后还维持了30多天。白血球对您的免疫系统相当重要,它们在抗体的帮助下,能识别病原体及有害入侵物,帮助您的身体对抗病菌。

一次大自然之旅对免疫力的提升,能帮助您保持身体健康。对于活跃的成年人和成长中的孩子来说,增加免疫力在健康生活中是一项宝贵的资产。请借着定期到野外走走来加强您身体的天然抗菌能力。

3. 使注意力集中

在一般人群中,研究显示通过接触大自然环境,注意力几乎一律都提高了。2009年发表的一项研究发现,对于无法专注的儿童,也有相同的结果。在附近公园散步20分钟,就足以提高有多动障碍的儿童的注意力。这种所谓「大自然的剂量」可证明是解决儿童注意力不足的一种更自然的方法。

在成人的注意力中也能看到相同的效果。从办公室窗口看看自然景观,和放下工作到户外休息一下,均显示生产力和专注力都会提升。

为了大大提升专注力和创造力,可花一段较长的时间走进森林。经过几天的户外探索后,解决问题的创造力和认知功能,可以提升近50%。到野外静修,可帮助您处理一项大任务或个人目标。如果您还是对为什么走到户外这么重要感到疑惑,那么它可以提升您的创造力。

4. 有助于培养更健康的饮食习惯

想找一个嗜好让您走到户外吗?园艺是增加户外时间的好方法。园艺不仅能让您保持活跃,还能让您定期收获健康的水果和蔬菜。

长期以来,户外休闲与健康的生活息息相关。但是活跃于花园里不仅能让您的劳动获得健康饮食的回报,同时还能锻炼身体。

阅读为什么您在花园里可以增进健康的更多原因。

5. 平静心灵

焦虑和忧郁会使人瘫痪。精神疾病是很难处理的,而方法因人而异。大多数的医生和治疗师建议,除了治疗和药物之外还要定期运动。做那些推荐的户外运动能帮助缓解情绪及精神上的痛苦,同时改善心情。

在大自然中,我们的身体会有几种具体反应。在户外坐坐可以降低血压、降低心跳、降低皮质醇浓度。当我们在户外时身体会慢下来,帮助我们感觉到安宁与平静。

我们的思想运作方式也类似。花时间到户外走走可以改善心情并减少焦虑感。我们在大自然中会更加专注,而专注力的提高能帮助我们应付压力和焦虑感。在户外多走动后,自尊心也会获得提升。

安宁与神智清明是为什么要待在户外的重要原因。在您的心理健康方案中增加接近大自然的时间,您就能找到它。

6. 有助于体重管理

大自然提供美丽的景色和新鲜空气,所以要选择一种让您走出户外的运动方案。疾病控制和预防中心的研究发现,超过三分之一的美国成年人都过胖。

运动和适当的饮食是停止发胖的两种最有效途径。在公园散步每半小时能燃烧149大卡的热量,骑自行车每半小时能燃烧372大卡。为了鼓励孩子外出运动,可找一种适合全家做的有趣活动。增加您走路、骑自行车、跑步、和到外面玩的时间,以降低您的肥胖风险。离开健身房到户外做运动,享受大自然的所有健康好处。

7. 改善您的短期记忆

大自然可说是对记住名字、不忘记钥匙、以及在课堂上笔记写得更好等事情的答案。越来越多的证据显示,花时间待在户外可以改善短期记忆和工作记忆。

密歇根大学的一个简单实验支持了这个理论。两组学生接受记忆测试,然后被分配到在花园或在城市街道步行。受试者在步行后再次进行记忆测试。在花园步行的人分数提高了20%;而在城市街道步行的参与者则未观察到持续的改善。

大自然景色和花园景观使人心灵平静,帮助我们专注。城市充满了车辆、街道噪音、灯光、以及许多人,这些都会分散我们的注意力,使我们很难集中注意力或想起刚刚学到的东西。在安宁自然的环境中思考新的信息,有助于增强您的短期记忆

8. 改善视力

您的眼睛是为什么待在户外另一个很重要的原因。针对澳洲学童的一项研究指出,花时间待在户外与更好的视力有关联。研究追踪了二千名儿童,那些花比较多时间在外面玩的孩子,患近视的风险明显降低。这表明户外活动对儿童的眼睛有保护作用。

这些结果非常显著,因为在那些把时间花在玩室内运动的孩子身上,并未观察到这些结果。待在户外的新鲜空气和阳光下,对成长中的眼睛的保护超过同量的室内体能活动。

室内昏暗的灯光使得孩子们的眼睛难以聚焦于一个影像上,这会使他们得瞇起眼睛才能看得清楚。而户外的充足光线,让孩子们的眼睛在看东西时,不必更费劲。因此当鼓励他们玩耍和运动时,应带他们到户外开心玩,以保护您孩子的眼睛健康。

9. 对抗自然灾害障碍

我们现在待在室内的时间比以往任何时候都多。电脑、平板电脑、手机、和电动游戏吸引了我们的注意力,使我们不再接触大自然。这对我们的孩子尤其不利。

在户外玩能增进孩子的创造力、建立他们持续集中注意力的时间,并提高他们的探索欲。Richard Louv在《失去山林的孩子:拯救大自然缺失症儿童》一书中概述了这种成长模式。Louv创造了「自然缺失症」这个术语,来解释当孩子待在室内的时间太多时会发生什么事。

最近调查结果显示,8-18岁儿童每天在电子媒体上花6小时以上。2002年发表的一项研究发现,8岁儿童辨识神奇宝贝的能力更甚于小区的植物或动物。由于儿童花在户外的时间较少,因此开始养成不健康的习惯。

花很少时间在户外的儿童,有发展慢性健康问题的风险。糖尿病、高血压、肥胖、和忧郁症,都是久坐不动的室内生活方式者常见的问题。帮助您的家人培养健康的习惯,并鼓励他们到户外活动并远离电子设备。

10. 增长寿命

2015年的一项研究追踪了108,630名美国女性,以确定大自然与长寿之间的关系。住在靠近公园、草坪、树木、和森林的妇女,其死亡率明显低于住在远离大自然的妇女。不管是城市或乡下,结果都一样。

平均寿命较长与住在树木花草附近有关,可能出于几个因素。空气质量已知可延长寿命,而在草木较为茂盛的地区更好。靠近公园和自然小径能鼓励更频繁的运动,有助于维持心脏健康。走出户外也能增加社会参与度并改善心理健康。

无论确切的原因为何,到户外活动都能帮助您活得更快乐更长寿,这就是为什么走出户外很重要的终极原因。所以,当您想选一个地方定居时,要挑您和家人能经常接触到大自然的地点。

要健康,就走向户外

今天就找时间出外走走,利用户外的健康好处。以骑自行车或步行到当地公园,来取代花在室内电子设备的时间。用森林浴或园艺作为一种新的嗜好。并请记住,户外休闲可以单独一个人或全家人一起享受。

只要走向户外,什么方法都可以;而探索大自然,绝对获益良多。现在您知道为什么走出户外很重要了,此刻正是重新接触大自然的时候,随后您的身心都将会感谢您。

 

关于作者

Sydney Sprouse是住在俄勒冈州Forest Grove的自由科学作家。她拥有犹他州立大学人类生物学的学士学位,并曾在那里担任本科生调查员和写作人员。Sydney是科学的终身学习者,她的目标是尽可能有效地翻译当前的科学研究。她的写作主题特别偏重于人类生物学、健康和营养。

 

Berman MG, Jonides J, Kaplan S. The cognitive benefits of interacting with nature. Psychol Sci. 2008;19(12):1207-12.

Driessnack M. Ask the expert. Children and nature-deficit disorder. J Spec Pediatr Nurs. 2009;14(1):73-5.

Lauren F Friedman and Kevin Loria. “11 scientific reasons you should be spending more time outside.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 22 Apr. 2016.

Haile, Rahawa. “’Forest Bathing’: How Microdosing on Nature Can Help With Stress.” The Atlantic, Atlantic Media Company, 30 June 2017.

“How Does Nature Impact Our Wellbeing?” Taking Charge of Your Health & Wellbeing.

Maas J, Verheij RA, Groenewegen PP, De vries S, Spreeuwenberg P. Green space, urbanity, and health: how strong is the relation?. J Epidemiol Community Health. 2006;60(7):587-92.

Mao GX, Lan XG, Cao YB, et al. Effects of short-term forest bathing on human health in a broad-leaved evergreen forest in Zhejiang Province, China. Biomed Environ Sci. 2012;25(3):317-24.

“Professional Practice.” Health Benefits of Nature.

Shin Won Sop. The influence of a forest view through a window on job satisfaction and job stress. Scandinavian Journal of Forest Research. 2007;22(3):248-253.

Taylor AF, Kuo FE. Children with attention deficits concentrate better after walk in the park. J Atten Disord. 2009;12(5):402-9.

Tennessen CM, Cimprich B. Views to nature: Effects on attention. Journal of Environmental Psychology. 1995;15(1):77-85.

“This Is Your Brain on Nature.” National Geographic, 7 June 2017.

10 Reasons Why Being Outside is Important

forest bathing

In today’s world of powerful technology, many people feel the urge to simplify and get back to nature. To experience the health benefits of outdoor recreation, it’s necessary to unplug and recharge in the wilderness. Those who are able to soak up everything nature has to offer find out why being outside is important—it comes down to health.

Long before smartphones and self-driving cars, Japan deemed “forest bathing” an essential part of its national health program. With forest bathing, the soaking isn’t literal. Bathing takes on a new meaning—immersing yourself in the natural environment.

The concept stems from Japanese Shinrin-Yoku Forest Therapy, and goes back to 1982. Over three decades later, the goal of forest bathing is still to reintroduce people to the healing power of nature. Much study and research has confirmed what the Japanese have long believed—nature benefits wellbeing in many ways.

The popularity of forest bathing has risen in the United States, particularly in metropolitan areas. Individuals, families, and friends have taken to the woods together for therapeutic hikes and nature walks. But forest bathing isn’t the only thing you can use the outdoors to improve your wellbeing.

There are so many ways you can take advantage of the benefits of nature. We’ll leave the how to you—hint: it starts with putting down your phone and experiencing the outdoors. We’ll supply the why. Here are 10 reasons why being outside is important to improving the health of you and your family.

1. Relieve Stress

Getting outside can help you escape the stress of work or school. Stress can tear up a healthy mind and immune system. High levels of stress at work and school are associated with depression, obesity, and high blood pressure. Stress is unhealthy when not managed properly. Luckily, there is a natural stress reliever right in your backyard.

Spending time in nature relieves stress in teens and adults. Bloodstream levels of the stress hormone cortisol are lowered after time spent outside. For a group of male students in China, those who spent their break from school hiking and camping returned with lower cortisol levels than those who spent time in the city. And these lower cortisol levels persisted for several days after their retreat to the wilderness.

The results suggest regular trips outdoors are a reliable way to manage stress. Experiences in nature are low cost and accessible to everyone. For the next long weekend, choose to spend time in nature over a trip to the city. You will reduce your stress load and return feeling rejuvenated.

Pro tip: Nature can help create more job satisfaction. Office workers with window views are more satisfied and less stressed at work. If you don’t have a window, take time every day to look outside and feel the stress-busting effects of nature views.

2. Strengthen Immunity

Staying indoors can have a negative impact on your immune health. The immune system works best when challenged regularly. That doesn’t happen when we spend time indoors.

Healthy doses of nature will help prepare your body fight. Here’s how it works.

A study published in 2010 evaluated the effect of forest bathing on immune function. For a group of Japanese adults, a three-day trip to the forest increased the number of white blood cells in their blood. These levels of white blood cells stayed elevated for more than 30 days after their adventure in the woods. White blood cells are crucial to your immune system. They help your body battle germs by recognizing pathogens and harmful intruders with the help of antibodies.

The boost in immunity from a trip into nature can help keep you feeling healthy. For active adults and growing children, increased immunity is a valuable asset in a healthy lifestyle. Strengthening your body’s natural germ-fighting power with a regular trip into the wild.

3. Sharpen Your Focus

In the general population, studies have shown that attention is almost uniformly enhanced by exposure to natural environments. A study published in 2009 found that the same holds true for children with attention deficits. Spending twenty minutes walking in a nearby park was sufficient enough to elevate attention performance in children with ADHD. This so-called “dose of nature” could prove to be a more natural solution to attention deficits in children.

The same effects can be seen in adult attention. Views of nature from an office window and breaks from work in the outdoors have both been shown to increase productivity and concentration.

For a significant boost in focus and creativity, escape to the woods for longer periods of time. Creative problem solving and cognitive function can be boosted by nearly 50 percent after spending several days exploring the outdoors. Wilderness retreats may help you tackle a big assignment or personal goal. If you’re still wondering why being outside is important, it can enhance your creativity.

4. Helps Develop a Healthier Diet

Looking for a hobby to get you outside? Gardening is a great way to increase your time outdoors. Not only does gardening keep you active, it provides you with access to healthy fruits and vegetables on a regular basis.

Outdoor recreation has long been associated with a healthy lifestyle. But being active in your garden also lets you can reap the healthy dietary rewards of your labor and get exercise at the same time.

Read more reasons why you can grow health in the garden.

5. Calm the Mind

Anxiety and depression can be crippling. Coping with mental illness is difficult and methods vary from person to person. Most physicians and therapists recommend regular exercise in addition to therapy and medication. Getting that recommended exercise outdoors can help ease emotional and mental pain while improving mood.

There are several physical responses our bodies have to being in nature. Sitting outside can reduce blood pressure, lower heart rate, and decrease cortisol levels. When we are outside our body slows down, helping us feel peaceful and calm.

Our minds work in a similar way. Spending time outside improves mood and reduces feelings of anxiety. We can focus better in nature, and our improved concentration can help us address feelings of stress and anxiety. Self-esteem can also receive a boost after time spent wandering outdoors.

Peace and mental clarity is a big reason why being outside is important. Find it by adding time in nature to your mental healthcare regimen.

6. Aids in Weight Management

Nature offers beautiful views and fresh air, so choose an exercise regimen that will get you outside. Research at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that more than one third of American adults are obese.

Exercise and proper diet are the two most effective ways to stop the spread of obesity. You can burn 149 calories each half hour of walking in the park, and 372 calories every half hour by riding your bike. To encourage kids to get exercise outside, find a fun activity to do as a family. Increase your time walking, biking, running, and playing outside and lower your risk of obesity. Take your exercise outside the gym and enjoy all the health benefits nature has to offer.

7. Better Your Short-Term Memory

Nature could be the answer to remembering names, not forgetting your keys, and taking better notes in class. There is growing evidence that both short-term and working memory can be improved by time spent outside.

At the University of Michigan, a simple experiment backed this theory. Two groups of students were given a memory test and then assigned to take a walk through a garden or down a city street. After their walks, the participants performed the memory test again. Those who walked through the garden improved their scores by 20 percent. No consistent improvement was observed in the participants who walked in the city.

Natural scenery and garden views calm our minds and help us focus. Urban settings are full of traffic, street noise, lights, and lots of people. These things pull our attention in several directions. This makes it hard to sharpen our focus and recall things we just learned. Pondering new information in a peaceful, natural setting may help enhance your short-term memory.

8. Improve Vision

Your eyes provide another reason why being outside is important. A study following Australian school children linked time spent outside and better vision. Of the 2,000 children followed during the study, those who spent more time playing outside significantly reduced their risk of becoming nearsighted. This suggests that outdoor activity has a protective effect on the eyes of children.

These results are striking because the same was not observed in children who spent time playing indoor sports. Being outside in fresh air and sunlight protects growing eyes more than equal physical activity indoors.

Dim indoor lighting makes it difficult for young eyes to focus on an image. This causes the eye to change shape in order to see clearly. The ample light of the outdoors keeps kid’s eyes from working harder than they need to. So when encouraging play time and exercise, take the fun outside and protect your child’s eye health.

9. Fight Nature Deficit Disorder

We’re spending more time inside than ever before. Computers, tablets, cell phones, and video games hog our attention and keep us from getting into nature. That’s especially bad for our children.

Playing outside encourages kid’s creativity, builds their attention spans, and increases their desire to explore. The book Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder by Richard Louv outlines this growing pattern. Louv coined the term nature-deficit disorder to explain what happens when kids spend too much time indoors.

Recent findings show children ages 8-18 spend more than six hours each day with electronic media. A study published in 2002 found that 8-year-old children could better identify Pokémon characters than plants or animals in their neighborhoods. As children spend less time outside, unhealthy habits begin to form.

Children who spend little time outside are at risk for developing chronic health problems. Diabetes, hypertension, obesity, and depression are common companions of a sedentary indoor lifestyle. Help your family learn healthy habits and encourage playing outside over electronic devices.

10. Increase Longevity

A 2015 study followed 108,630 American women to determine the relationship between nature and longevity. Women who lived near parks, lawns, trees, and forests had significantly lower mortality than women living far from nature. The results held regardless of urban or rural settings.

The longer life expectancy associated with living near vegetation could be caused by several factors. Air quality is known to increase longevity and is better in areas of more dense vegetation. Being close to parks and nature trails can encourage more frequent exercise, which helps maintain heart health. Time spent outside also increases social engagement and can improve mental health.

Whatever the exact cause, getting outdoors will help you live happier and longer—and that’s the ultimate reason why being outside is important. So, when establishing a place to live, pick a location where you and your family have regular access to nature.

Get Healthy, Get Outdoors

Find time today to venture outside and take advantage of the health benefits of the outdoors. Replace time spent inside on electronic devices with a bike ride or a walk to a local park. Take up forest bathing or gardening as a new hobby. And remember outdoor recreation can be enjoyed alone or as a family.

There’s no wrong way to get outside and so much to be gained by exploring the natural world. You know why being outside is important. It’s time to reconnect with nature. Your body and mind will thank you for it later.

 

About the Author

Sydney Sprouse is a freelance science writer based out of Forest Grove, Oregon. She holds a bachelor of science in human biology from Utah State University, where she worked as an undergraduate researcher and writing fellow. Sydney is a lifelong student of science and makes it her goal to translate current scientific research as effectively as possible. She writes with particular interest in human biology, health, and nutrition.

 

Berman MG, Jonides J, Kaplan S. The cognitive benefits of interacting with nature. Psychol Sci. 2008;19(12):1207-12.

Driessnack M. Ask the expert. Children and nature-deficit disorder. J Spec Pediatr Nurs. 2009;14(1):73-5.

Lauren F Friedman and Kevin Loria. “11 scientific reasons you should be spending more time outside.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 22 Apr. 2016.

Haile, Rahawa. “’Forest Bathing’: How Microdosing on Nature Can Help With Stress.” The Atlantic, Atlantic Media Company, 30 June 2017.

“How Does Nature Impact Our Wellbeing?” Taking Charge of Your Health & Wellbeing.

Maas J, Verheij RA, Groenewegen PP, De vries S, Spreeuwenberg P. Green space, urbanity, and health: how strong is the relation?. J Epidemiol Community Health. 2006;60(7):587-92.

Mao GX, Lan XG, Cao YB, et al. Effects of short-term forest bathing on human health in a broad-leaved evergreen forest in Zhejiang Province, China. Biomed Environ Sci. 2012;25(3):317-24.

“Professional Practice.” Health Benefits of Nature.

Shin Won Sop. The influence of a forest view through a window on job satisfaction and job stress. Scandinavian Journal of Forest Research. 2007;22(3):248-253.

Taylor AF, Kuo FE. Children with attention deficits concentrate better after walk in the park. J Atten Disord. 2009;12(5):402-9.

Tennessen CM, Cimprich B. Views to nature: Effects on attention. Journal of Environmental Psychology. 1995;15(1):77-85.

“This Is Your Brain on Nature.” National Geographic, 7 June 2017.