Dix bonnes raisons de passer du temps à l’extérieur

forest bathing

À l’heure où la technologie règne en maître, bien des gens sentent le besoin de se simplifier la vie et se rapprocher de la nature. Pour ressentir les effets bénéfiques des activités extérieures, il est nécessaire de tout débrancher et de faire le plein d’énergie en pleine nature. Ceux qui arrivent à absorber tout ce que le plein air a à offrir savent pourquoi il est important de passer du temps dehors. C’est une question de santé.

Bien avant l’arrivée des téléphones intelligents et des voitures sans conducteur, le Japon avait fait des « bains de forêt » un volet essentiel de son programme national de santé. Le bain de forêt consiste à s’immerger dans le milieu naturel.

Ce concept est issu du shinrin-yoku, ou thérapie par la forêt, qui remonte à 1982. Trois décennies plus tard, l’objectif du bain de forêt demeure inchangé : remettre les gens en contact avec les pouvoirs thérapeutiques de la nature. De nombreuses études et recherches confirment ce que les Japonais croient depuis longtemps : la nature contribue au bien-être de maintes façons.

Les bains de forêt connaissent une popularité grandissante aux États-Unis, particulièrement dans les zones métropolitaines. Les gens – en solo, en famille ou entre amis – se retrouvent dans les bois pour faire des randonnées thérapeutiques et des promenades dans la nature. Cependant, pour améliorer le mieux-être, le bain de forêt n’est pas la seule façon de profiter des bienfaits de la nature.

Les bienfaits de la nature peuvent être ressentis de mille façons; à vous de choisir (petit indice : on doit commencer par mettre son téléphone de côté et faire l’expérience du plein air). Par contre, nous vous expliquerons en dix points pourquoi le fait de passer du temps à l’extérieur est si important pour votre santé et celle de votre famille.

1. Évacuer le stress

Le fait d’aller dehors peut aider à évacuer le stress lié au travail ou aux études. S’il n’est pas bien géré, le stress peut être dommageable pour la santé, en nuisant au bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire et de l’esprit, par exemple. Un niveau élevé de stress au travail ou à l’école est associé à divers problèmes, par exemple la dépression, l’obésité et l’hypertension artérielle, mais heureusement, le remède naturel contre le stress est tout près : dans votre propre arrière-cour.

Passer du temps dans la nature réduit le stress chez les adultes et les adolescents. Le taux de cortisol (une hormone reliée au stress) dans le sang diminue après un séjour dans la nature. Chez un groupe de jeunes vacanciers en Chine, on a observé que le taux de cortisol de ceux qui avaient fait de la randonnée et du camping était inférieur à celui de ceux qui étaient restés en ville, et cette différence avait persisté pendant plusieurs jours après leur retour.

Les résultats montrent que le fait de passer régulièrement du temps dans la nature est un moyen fiable de gérer le stress. Mieux encore, les activités de plein air sont peu coûteuses et accessibles à tous. Pendant le prochain long week-end, préférez donc un séjour dans la nature à une escapade urbaine afin de réduire votre stress et vous ressourcer.

La nature peut contribuer à la satisfaction au travail. Les employés dont le bureau est fenestré sont plus heureux et moins stressés. Si vous n’avez pas de fenêtre, prenez le temps chaque jour de regarder dehors et d’en ressentir les bienfaits antistress.

2. Renforcer l’immunité

Trop de temps passé à l’intérieur peut nuire à l’immunité. Le système immunitaire fonctionne mieux lorsqu’il est régulièrement mis à l’épreuve, ce qui n’est pas le cas entre quatre murs.

Une bonne dose de plein air prépare l’organisme à se défendre. En voici le mode de fonctionnement.

Une étude publiée en 2010 a évalué l’effet du bain de forêt sur la fonction immunitaire. Chez un groupe d’adultes japonais, on a observé une augmentation du nombre de globules blancs dans le sang après un séjour de trois jours dans la forêt et cette augmentation s’est maintenue pendant plus de 30 jours après leur retour. Composante essentielle du système immunitaire, les globules blancs aident l’organisme à combattre les germes en identifiant, avec l’aide des anticorps, les agents pathogènes et autres envahisseurs.

Un séjour dans la nature donne un coup de pouce à l’immunité et peut aider à se sentir en santé. Pour les adultes actifs et les enfants en croissance, il est avantageux d’avoir une meilleure immunité. Allez régulièrement dans la nature pour renforcer la capacité naturelle de votre organisme à combattre les germes.

3. Améliorer la capacité de concentration

Les études ont montré que la capacité de concentration de la population générale s’améliore de manière presque homogène au contact de la nature. Selon une étude parue en 2009, il en irait de même pour les enfants atteints d’un trouble du déficit de l’attention. Une promenade de vingt minutes dans un parc suffirait à augmenter le niveau d’attention des enfants présentant un TDAH. Cette « dose de nature » pourrait constituer une solution plus naturelle aux troubles du déficit de l’attention chez les enfants.

Le même effet peut être observé chez les adultes. Un lien a été établi entre le fait de voir la nature par une fenêtre au travail ou de prendre des pauses à l’extérieur et l’augmentation de la productivité et de la concentration.

Pour améliorer de beaucoup votre concentration et votre créativité, passez plus de temps dehors. La fonction cognitive et la capacité à résoudre des problèmes de manière créative augmentent de près de 50 % après avoir passé plusieurs jours dans la nature. Les retraites en pleine nature peuvent vous aider à vous attaquer à un dossier important ou un projet personnel. Si vous vous interrogez toujours sur l’importance du plein air, dites-vous qu’il peut s’avérer une excellente source d’inspiration.

4. S’alimenter plus sainement

Vous cherchez une activité pour passer du temps dehors? Le jardinage est une excellente façon de passer plus de temps à l’extérieur. En plus de vous garder actif, il vous donne un accès régulier à des fruits et légumes frais.

Les activités extérieures sont depuis longtemps associées à un mode de vie sain. Travailler dans le jardin vous permet non seulement de récolter des bénéfices nutritionnels, mais aussi de faire de l’exercice.

Découvrez d’autres raisons pour lesquelles le jardinage aide à améliorer la santé.

5. Calmer l’esprit

L’anxiété et la dépression peuvent être invalidantes. Il est difficile de composer avec la maladie mentale et les méthodes varient d’une personne à l’autre. La majorité des médecins et des thérapeutes recommandent de faire de l’exercice régulièrement, en plus de suivre un traitement et de prendre des médicaments. La pratique extérieure de l’exercice recommandé peut aider à soulager la souffrance émotive et mentale, en plus d’améliorer l’humeur.

Le fait d’aller dans la nature entraîne dans l’organisme diverses réactions physiologiques. S’asseoir dehors peut faire baisser la pression artérielle, ralentir le rythme cardiaque et réduire le taux de cortisol. Le corps fonctionne au ralenti lorsqu’il est à l’extérieur, ce qui provoque une sensation de calme et de paix.

L’esprit fonctionne de la même façon. Passer du temps dehors adoucit l’humeur et diminue l’anxiété. Dans la nature, il est plus facile de se concentrer et donc de prendre conscience de ses problèmes de stress et d’anxiété. L’estime de soi peut aussi en être améliorée.

C’est en grande partie pour retrouver la paix intérieure et l’acuité mentale qu’il est important d’aller dehors. Trouvez-les en intégrant du temps dans la nature à votre programme de soins de santé mentale.

6. Gérer votre poids

Comme la nature offre de beaux paysages et de l’air frais, choisissez un programme d’exercices qui vous permet de sortir. Des recherches menées par les Centers for Disease Control and Prevention aux États-Unis (Centres pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies) indiquent que plus d’un adulte américain sur trois est obèse.

L’exercice et la saine alimentation sont les solutions les plus efficaces contre la progression de l’obésité. Une promenade de 30 minutes dans un parc brûle 149 calories et une randonnée à vélo de même durée, 372 calories. Afin d’encourager vos enfants à faire de l’exercice à l’extérieur, trouvez des activités amusantes à faire en famille. Pour réduire les risques d’obésité, passez plus de temps à marcher, à faire du vélo, à courir et à jouer dehors. Soyez actif à l’extérieur du gym et profitez de tous les bienfaits que la nature peut vous offrir.

7. Améliorer votre mémoire à court terme

La nature pourrait aussi vous permettre de retenir les noms, de ne plus oublier vos clés et de prendre de meilleures notes en classe. En effet, il apparaît de plus en plus clairement que le temps passé dehors améliore la mémoire à court terme et la mémoire de travail.

Une expérience simple menée à l’University of Michigan soutient cette théorie. On a demandé à deux groupes d’étudiants de passer un test de mémoire, puis à l’un, de faire une promenade dans un jardin et à l’autre, au centre-ville. Au retour, les participants ont de nouveau subi le test. Ceux qui s’étaient promenés dans le jardin avaient amélioré leurs résultats de 20 %, tandis que les autres n’avaient vu aucune amélioration.

Les paysages naturels et les vues sur les espaces verts calment l’esprit et favorisent la concentration. En ville, la circulation, le bruit, les lumières et la densité de population dispersent notre attention. Dans ce contexte, il est difficile de bien se concentrer et se rappeler ce que l’on vient d’apprendre. Le fait de réfléchir à de nouveaux apprentissages dans un environnement naturel et paisible peut aider à améliorer la mémoire à court terme.

8. Améliorer votre vision

La santé oculaire est une autre raison pour laquelle il faut aller dehors. Une étude menée en Australie auprès d’enfants du primaire a établi une corrélation entre le temps passé à l’extérieur et une meilleure vision. Parmi les 2 000 enfants suivis pendant l’étude, ceux qui passaient plus de temps dehors diminuaient de façon significative leur risque de souffrir de myopie. Ces résultats donnent à entendre que jouer à l’extérieur aurait un effet protecteur sur la vision des enfants.

Ces résultats sont étonnants, car l’effet protecteur n’a pas été observé chez les enfants qui pratiquent des sports à l’intérieur. L’exposition à l’air frais et à la lumière du soleil protège mieux les yeux en croissance qu’une activité physique équivalente pratiquée à l’intérieur.

Il est difficile pour les enfants de voir les images clairement à la lumière plus faible de l’intérieur. Les yeux doivent modifier leur forme afin de s’adapter. La lumière extérieure, plus abondante, évite aux yeux des enfants de devoir faire des efforts supplémentaires. Faites d’une pierre deux coups : lorsque vient le temps d’encourager vos enfants à s’amuser et à bouger, envoyez-les dehors et protégez ainsi la santé de leurs yeux.

9. Combattre le trouble du déficit de la nature

Nous passons plus de temps à l’intérieur que jamais auparavant. Les ordinateurs, les tablettes, les téléphones cellulaires et les jeux vidéo accaparent notre attention au détriment de la nature.

Jouer dehors encourage la créativité des enfants, développe leur capacité d’attention et augmente leur désir d’explorer. Dans son livre Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder, Richard Louv met en lumière cette nouvelle tendance en créant le néologisme nature-deficit disorder (trouble du déficit de nature) pour expliquer ce qui arrive lorsque les enfants passent trop de temps à l’intérieur.

Des études récentes montrent que les enfants âgés de 8 à 18 ans consacrent plus de six heures par jour à des appareils électroniques. Selon une étude publiée en 2002, les enfants de 8 ans avaient plus de facilité à identifier des personnages de Pokémon que des plantes ou des animaux de leur voisinage. Moins les enfants passent du temps dehors, plus ils adoptent des habitudes malsaines.

Et ces enfants risquent de développer des problèmes de santé chroniques. Le diabète, l’hypertension, l’obésité et la dépression accompagnent souvent un mode de vie sédentaire. Aidez votre famille à adopter des habitudes saines et à privilégier les jeux à l’extérieur, plutôt que les appareils électroniques.

10. Augmenter la longévité

En 2015, 108 630 femmes américaines ont fait l’objet d’une étude pour établir la relation entre la nature et la longévité. Les femmes vivant à proximité de parcs, de jardins, d’arbres et de forêts avaient un taux de mortalité nettement moins élevé que les femmes qui vivaient loin de la nature. Les résultats étaient similaires en ville et à la campagne.

L’association entre une plus grande espérance de vie et le fait d’habiter près de la végétation peut être attribuée à différents facteurs. On sait que l’air de qualité augmente l’espérance de vie et il est de meilleure qualité dans les endroits où la végétation est plus dense. Le fait d’habiter près de parcs et de pistes de randonnée encourage à faire de l’exercice plus fréquemment, ce qui contribue à assurer la santé du cœur. Passer du temps dehors encourage également l’engagement social et peut améliorer la santé mentale.

Quelle que soit la cause exacte, aller dehors contribue à une vie plus longue et plus heureuse, et c’est là l’ultime raison pour laquelle il est si important de passer du temps à l’extérieur. Quand vient le temps de choisir un endroit pour vous établir avec votre famille, optez pour celui qui vous permet d’accéder régulièrement à la nature.

Prenez votre santé en main, allez dehors!

Prenez le temps, dès aujourd’hui, de vous aventurer à l’extérieur et de profiter des bienfaits de la nature. Remplacez le temps passé à utiliser des appareils électroniques par une randonnée à vélo ou une promenade dans un parc près de chez vous. Choisissez le jardinage ou les bains de forêt comme nouveaux passe-temps. Et surtout, rappelez-vous qu’on peut profiter des activités extérieures seul ou en famille.

Il n’y a pas de mauvaise façon de passer du temps à l’extérieur et il y a beaucoup à gagner à explorer la nature. Maintenant, vous savez pourquoi il est important d’aller dehors. Le moment est venu de reprendre contact avec la nature. Votre corps et votre esprit vous en seront reconnaissants.

 

À propos de l’auteure

Sydney Sprouse est une rédactrice scientifique indépendante basée à Forest Grove en Oregon. Elle détient un baccalauréat en biologie humaine de la Utah State University, où elle a travaillé comme stagiaire en recherche et rédactrice boursière. Étudiante permanente des sciences, sa motivation consiste à rendre accessible au plus grand nombre les recherches scientifiques actuelles. Les sujets qui l’intéressent avant tout : la biologie humaine, la santé et l’alimentation.

 

Berman MG, Jonides J, Kaplan S. The cognitive benefits of interacting with nature. Psychol Sci. 2008;19(12):1207-12.

Driessnack M. Ask the expert. Children and nature-deficit disorder. J Spec Pediatr Nurs. 2009;14(1):73-5.

Lauren F Friedman and Kevin Loria. “11 scientific reasons you should be spending more time outside.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 22 Apr. 2016.

Haile, Rahawa. “’Forest Bathing’: How Microdosing on Nature Can Help With Stress.” The Atlantic, Atlantic Media Company, 30 June 2017.

“How Does Nature Impact Our Wellbeing?” Taking Charge of Your Health & Wellbeing.

Maas J, Verheij RA, Groenewegen PP, De vries S, Spreeuwenberg P. Green space, urbanity, and health: how strong is the relation?. J Epidemiol Community Health. 2006;60(7):587-92.

Mao GX, Lan XG, Cao YB, et al. Effects of short-term forest bathing on human health in a broad-leaved evergreen forest in Zhejiang Province, China. Biomed Environ Sci. 2012;25(3):317-24.

“Professional Practice.” Health Benefits of Nature.

Shin Won Sop. The influence of a forest view through a window on job satisfaction and job stress. Scandinavian Journal of Forest Research. 2007;22(3):248-253.

Taylor AF, Kuo FE. Children with attention deficits concentrate better after walk in the park. J Atten Disord. 2009;12(5):402-9.

Tennessen CM, Cimprich B. Views to nature: Effects on attention. Journal of Environmental Psychology. 1995;15(1):77-85.

“This Is Your Brain on Nature.” National Geographic, 7 June 2017.

10 Reasons Why Being Outside is Important

forest bathing

In today’s world of powerful technology, many people feel the urge to simplify and get back to nature. To experience the health benefits of outdoor recreation, it’s necessary to unplug and recharge in the wilderness. Those who are able to soak up everything nature has to offer find out why being outside is important—it comes down to health.

Long before smartphones and self-driving cars, Japan deemed “forest bathing” an essential part of its national health program. With forest bathing, the soaking isn’t literal. Bathing takes on a new meaning—immersing yourself in the natural environment.

The concept stems from Japanese Shinrin-Yoku Forest Therapy, and goes back to 1982. Over three decades later, the goal of forest bathing is still to reintroduce people to the healing power of nature. Much study and research has confirmed what the Japanese have long believed—nature benefits wellbeing in many ways.

The popularity of forest bathing has risen in the United States, particularly in metropolitan areas. Individuals, families, and friends have taken to the woods together for therapeutic hikes and nature walks. But forest bathing isn’t the only thing you can use the outdoors to improve your wellbeing.

There are so many ways you can take advantage of the benefits of nature. We’ll leave the how to you—hint: it starts with putting down your phone and experiencing the outdoors. We’ll supply the why. Here are 10 reasons why being outside is important to improving the health of you and your family.

1. Relieve Stress

Getting outside can help you escape the stress of work or school. Stress can tear up a healthy mind and immune system. High levels of stress at work and school are associated with depression, obesity, and high blood pressure. Stress is unhealthy when not managed properly. Luckily, there is a natural stress reliever right in your backyard.

Spending time in nature relieves stress in teens and adults. Bloodstream levels of the stress hormone cortisol are lowered after time spent outside. For a group of male students in China, those who spent their break from school hiking and camping returned with lower cortisol levels than those who spent time in the city. And these lower cortisol levels persisted for several days after their retreat to the wilderness.

The results suggest regular trips outdoors are a reliable way to manage stress. Experiences in nature are low cost and accessible to everyone. For the next long weekend, choose to spend time in nature over a trip to the city. You will reduce your stress load and return feeling rejuvenated.

Pro tip: Nature can help create more job satisfaction. Office workers with window views are more satisfied and less stressed at work. If you don’t have a window, take time every day to look outside and feel the stress-busting effects of nature views.

2. Strengthen Immunity

Staying indoors can have a negative impact on your immune health. The immune system works best when challenged regularly. That doesn’t happen when we spend time indoors.

Healthy doses of nature will help prepare your body fight. Here’s how it works.

A study published in 2010 evaluated the effect of forest bathing on immune function. For a group of Japanese adults, a three-day trip to the forest increased the number of white blood cells in their blood. These levels of white blood cells stayed elevated for more than 30 days after their adventure in the woods. White blood cells are crucial to your immune system. They help your body battle germs by recognizing pathogens and harmful intruders with the help of antibodies.

The boost in immunity from a trip into nature can help keep you feeling healthy. For active adults and growing children, increased immunity is a valuable asset in a healthy lifestyle. Strengthening your body’s natural germ-fighting power with a regular trip into the wild.

3. Sharpen Your Focus

In the general population, studies have shown that attention is almost uniformly enhanced by exposure to natural environments. A study published in 2009 found that the same holds true for children with attention deficits. Spending twenty minutes walking in a nearby park was sufficient enough to elevate attention performance in children with ADHD. This so-called “dose of nature” could prove to be a more natural solution to attention deficits in children.

The same effects can be seen in adult attention. Views of nature from an office window and breaks from work in the outdoors have both been shown to increase productivity and concentration.

For a significant boost in focus and creativity, escape to the woods for longer periods of time. Creative problem solving and cognitive function can be boosted by nearly 50 percent after spending several days exploring the outdoors. Wilderness retreats may help you tackle a big assignment or personal goal. If you’re still wondering why being outside is important, it can enhance your creativity.

4. Helps Develop a Healthier Diet

Looking for a hobby to get you outside? Gardening is a great way to increase your time outdoors. Not only does gardening keep you active, it provides you with access to healthy fruits and vegetables on a regular basis.

Outdoor recreation has long been associated with a healthy lifestyle. But being active in your garden also lets you can reap the healthy dietary rewards of your labor and get exercise at the same time.

Read more reasons why you can grow health in the garden.

5. Calm the Mind

Anxiety and depression can be crippling. Coping with mental illness is difficult and methods vary from person to person. Most physicians and therapists recommend regular exercise in addition to therapy and medication. Getting that recommended exercise outdoors can help ease emotional and mental pain while improving mood.

There are several physical responses our bodies have to being in nature. Sitting outside can reduce blood pressure, lower heart rate, and decrease cortisol levels. When we are outside our body slows down, helping us feel peaceful and calm.

Our minds work in a similar way. Spending time outside improves mood and reduces feelings of anxiety. We can focus better in nature, and our improved concentration can help us address feelings of stress and anxiety. Self-esteem can also receive a boost after time spent wandering outdoors.

Peace and mental clarity is a big reason why being outside is important. Find it by adding time in nature to your mental healthcare regimen.

6. Aids in Weight Management

Nature offers beautiful views and fresh air, so choose an exercise regimen that will get you outside. Research at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that more than one third of American adults are obese.

Exercise and proper diet are the two most effective ways to stop the spread of obesity. You can burn 149 calories each half hour of walking in the park, and 372 calories every half hour by riding your bike. To encourage kids to get exercise outside, find a fun activity to do as a family. Increase your time walking, biking, running, and playing outside and lower your risk of obesity. Take your exercise outside the gym and enjoy all the health benefits nature has to offer.

7. Better Your Short-Term Memory

Nature could be the answer to remembering names, not forgetting your keys, and taking better notes in class. There is growing evidence that both short-term and working memory can be improved by time spent outside.

At the University of Michigan, a simple experiment backed this theory. Two groups of students were given a memory test and then assigned to take a walk through a garden or down a city street. After their walks, the participants performed the memory test again. Those who walked through the garden improved their scores by 20 percent. No consistent improvement was observed in the participants who walked in the city.

Natural scenery and garden views calm our minds and help us focus. Urban settings are full of traffic, street noise, lights, and lots of people. These things pull our attention in several directions. This makes it hard to sharpen our focus and recall things we just learned. Pondering new information in a peaceful, natural setting may help enhance your short-term memory.

8. Improve Vision

Your eyes provide another reason why being outside is important. A study following Australian school children linked time spent outside and better vision. Of the 2,000 children followed during the study, those who spent more time playing outside significantly reduced their risk of becoming nearsighted. This suggests that outdoor activity has a protective effect on the eyes of children.

These results are striking because the same was not observed in children who spent time playing indoor sports. Being outside in fresh air and sunlight protects growing eyes more than equal physical activity indoors.

Dim indoor lighting makes it difficult for young eyes to focus on an image. This causes the eye to change shape in order to see clearly. The ample light of the outdoors keeps kid’s eyes from working harder than they need to. So when encouraging play time and exercise, take the fun outside and protect your child’s eye health.

9. Fight Nature Deficit Disorder

We’re spending more time inside than ever before. Computers, tablets, cell phones, and video games hog our attention and keep us from getting into nature. That’s especially bad for our children.

Playing outside encourages kid’s creativity, builds their attention spans, and increases their desire to explore. The book Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder by Richard Louv outlines this growing pattern. Louv coined the term nature-deficit disorder to explain what happens when kids spend too much time indoors.

Recent findings show children ages 8-18 spend more than six hours each day with electronic media. A study published in 2002 found that 8-year-old children could better identify Pokémon characters than plants or animals in their neighborhoods. As children spend less time outside, unhealthy habits begin to form.

Children who spend little time outside are at risk for developing chronic health problems. Diabetes, hypertension, obesity, and depression are common companions of a sedentary indoor lifestyle. Help your family learn healthy habits and encourage playing outside over electronic devices.

10. Increase Longevity

A 2015 study followed 108,630 American women to determine the relationship between nature and longevity. Women who lived near parks, lawns, trees, and forests had significantly lower mortality than women living far from nature. The results held regardless of urban or rural settings.

The longer life expectancy associated with living near vegetation could be caused by several factors. Air quality is known to increase longevity and is better in areas of more dense vegetation. Being close to parks and nature trails can encourage more frequent exercise, which helps maintain heart health. Time spent outside also increases social engagement and can improve mental health.

Whatever the exact cause, getting outdoors will help you live happier and longer—and that’s the ultimate reason why being outside is important. So, when establishing a place to live, pick a location where you and your family have regular access to nature.

Get Healthy, Get Outdoors

Find time today to venture outside and take advantage of the health benefits of the outdoors. Replace time spent inside on electronic devices with a bike ride or a walk to a local park. Take up forest bathing or gardening as a new hobby. And remember outdoor recreation can be enjoyed alone or as a family.

There’s no wrong way to get outside and so much to be gained by exploring the natural world. You know why being outside is important. It’s time to reconnect with nature. Your body and mind will thank you for it later.

 

About the Author

Sydney Sprouse is a freelance science writer based out of Forest Grove, Oregon. She holds a bachelor of science in human biology from Utah State University, where she worked as an undergraduate researcher and writing fellow. Sydney is a lifelong student of science and makes it her goal to translate current scientific research as effectively as possible. She writes with particular interest in human biology, health, and nutrition.

 

Berman MG, Jonides J, Kaplan S. The cognitive benefits of interacting with nature. Psychol Sci. 2008;19(12):1207-12.

Driessnack M. Ask the expert. Children and nature-deficit disorder. J Spec Pediatr Nurs. 2009;14(1):73-5.

Lauren F Friedman and Kevin Loria. “11 scientific reasons you should be spending more time outside.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 22 Apr. 2016.

Haile, Rahawa. “’Forest Bathing’: How Microdosing on Nature Can Help With Stress.” The Atlantic, Atlantic Media Company, 30 June 2017.

“How Does Nature Impact Our Wellbeing?” Taking Charge of Your Health & Wellbeing.

Maas J, Verheij RA, Groenewegen PP, De vries S, Spreeuwenberg P. Green space, urbanity, and health: how strong is the relation?. J Epidemiol Community Health. 2006;60(7):587-92.

Mao GX, Lan XG, Cao YB, et al. Effects of short-term forest bathing on human health in a broad-leaved evergreen forest in Zhejiang Province, China. Biomed Environ Sci. 2012;25(3):317-24.

“Professional Practice.” Health Benefits of Nature.

Shin Won Sop. The influence of a forest view through a window on job satisfaction and job stress. Scandinavian Journal of Forest Research. 2007;22(3):248-253.

Taylor AF, Kuo FE. Children with attention deficits concentrate better after walk in the park. J Atten Disord. 2009;12(5):402-9.

Tennessen CM, Cimprich B. Views to nature: Effects on attention. Journal of Environmental Psychology. 1995;15(1):77-85.

“This Is Your Brain on Nature.” National Geographic, 7 June 2017.