植物營養素101:植物化合物基礎課程

植物營養素

植物化合物介紹

植物是健康飲食的一大部分。水果、蔬菜、和全穀物為身體提供必要的營養和滋養。這一類的食物含有大量維生素和礦物質,在保持健康上能發揮積極作用,而這些您喜愛的作物所提供的好處超越您可見範圍。植物充滿了被稱為植物營養素的強力化合物。

這些植物化合物能促進和保持身體健康。但身體無法自行製造這些重要營養素,因此需要可靠的來源提供這些植物化合物。吃多樣化的植物性食物有助於補充您的飲食,讓您身體獲得所需要的植物營養素。

全面均衡的飲食能為您提供數十種植物營養素,而每一種營養素對其植物來源和您的身體都發揮著專門的作用。抗氧化能力是植物營養素最重要的功能之一,這些植物化合物也有助於保護眼睛、維持健康的免疫系統、促進細胞訊號傳輸。植物營養素對您的健康是有益的、重要的、和有價值的。

重要詞彙

想瞭解植物營養素在人體內如何作用,需要瞭解一些新的詞彙。認識以下術語,將有助於瞭解植物營養素對於健康的重要性和價值。

  • 植物營養素:植物中一種對人體健康和營養有積極影響的化合物。植物營養素也可稱為植物化學物質。
  • 自由基:含有不成對電子的分子。自由基非常活躍,它能激發氧化作用。
  • 氧化劑:這些分子含有氧,並具有高度活性,容易和其他分子起作用,改變它們的化學性質。這些變化最終會對細胞產生毒性。
  • 抗氧化劑:一種分子,能減緩或減少自由基和其他氧化劑對生物造成的損傷。抗氧化劑會中和潛在危險分子中的不成對電子,而防止發生所謂氧化的化學反應。
  • 類胡蘿蔔素:一類天然產生的植物色素,類胡蘿蔔素在水果和蔬菜中產生紅色、橙色、和黃色。這些植物營養素能保護植物免於氧化損傷。
  • 多酚:這些植物營養素集中在植物葉子的組織中,能阻止掠食者,幫助植物保持健康。多酚是我們飲食中最大的抗氧化劑類。
  • 生物類黃酮:生物類黃酮是多酚的一個子類別,它們在植物中具有相同的功能,但化學結構不同。生物類黃酮含有獨特的化學特徵,如酮和醇基(分別為碳氧雙鍵和氫氧單鍵)。

植物營養素在人體內的功用

植物營養素在植物中充當色素,為水果和蔬菜帶來鮮豔的色彩。它們還能保護、強化、和加強植物的健康,但這些化合物也可在維持您的健康上發揮作用。

植物營養素可作為抗氧化劑,能幫助保護人體免受自由基的侵害。人體需要保持氧化劑(自由基等)和非活性分子的平衡。當這種平衡轉為對氧化劑有利時,您的細胞健康就會受到損害。

這些植物化合物會中和潛在危險分子中的不成對電子,以幫助中和氧化劑並保持健康的平衡。這種化學相互作用能使氧化劑保持穩定,避免產生氧化損傷。

植物營養素分類

植物營養素

以下是關於一些主要植物營養素類別的資料和例子。雖然它們的結構不同,但每一種植物營養素的作用都有相同的目標:減少氧化損傷並保護您的健康。

類胡蘿蔔素

光合細菌、藻類、和植物產生超過750種稱為類胡蘿蔔素的色素。類胡蘿蔔素有助於保護植物免受光線的有害波長之害,讓植物可以使用陽光而獲得能量。這些色素也是保護植物細胞的光合作用部分。

這類植物營養素是鮮紅色、橙色、和黃色水果和蔬菜的色素來源。類胡蘿蔔素是強有力的抗氧化劑,對於保護眼睛健康和幫助促進細胞通訊的順暢極為重要。

β-胡蘿蔔素

β-胡蘿蔔素可能是最知名的類胡蘿蔔素和植物營養素。它是維生素A的前體。由於您的身體無法製造維生素A,因此您需要在飲食中有一種原維生素(例如β-胡蘿蔔素),以便在有需要時,您的身體就能將它轉變成維生素A。

β-胡蘿蔔素能在體內轉化成維生素A,並支持眼睛健康。這種轉化是在十二指腸(小腸的第一部分)發生的,腸內酵素將β-胡蘿蔔素分解成稱為視黃醛的兩種活性維生素A分子,這是體內可使用的維生素A形式,它也跟身體中許多複雜的過程有關。

茄紅素、葉黃素、和玉米黃素

這三種類胡蘿蔔素也有助於維持眼睛健康。但它們的功用與β-胡蘿蔔素不同。

光進入眼睛就集中在視網膜上,並經眼睛裡的視桿細胞和視錐細胞過濾。茄紅素、葉黃素和玉米黃素的化學結構也使它們能吸收光。這些色素特別能吸收藍光,藍光已被證實會引起光誘導的氧化損傷。

但這些植物營養素的功用不僅如此。如以上所提及的類胡蘿蔔素,有助於使身體的細胞訊號傳輸更有效率和更可靠。它們是如何做到的呢?類胡蘿蔔素會刺激產生一種稱為連結蛋白的蛋白質,這些蛋白質能幫助鄰近細胞更快地交換信息。

多酚

多酚具有獨特的形狀和一個描述其化學成份的名稱。想要多一點瞭解他們,我們就得深入探討一下化學。

化學化合物有各種形式和各樣的獨特結構,而原子在各分子中的順序和位置決定了它的功能。多酚主要由兩種原子模式所組成:苯環和醇基。

苯環是由碳和氫以及交替出現的單、雙鍵所組成的循環化學環。醇基則是由連接到另一個原子(如碳)的氧和氫所組成。一個苯環和一個醇基加在一起等於一個酚。當多個酚串連在一起就產生多酚。這種化學形式很重要,因為它確實能讓多酚吸收並中和多餘的電子。

多酚是飲食中數量最多的抗氧化劑。目前已知它們能促進心血管健康。而白藜蘆醇和薑黃素這兩種多酚在健康飲食中尤其重要,它們是膳食補充品的關鍵成份。

白藜蘆醇

白藜蘆醇是飲食中常見的抗氧化多酚,在花生、漿果、葡萄、和紅酒中都可以找到它。

白藜蘆醇的好處是最近才剛被發現的。1990年代,當科學家正在研究與引用紅葡萄酒有關的健康益處時,偶然發現了白藜蘆醇。

多年來,人們一直仔細觀察法國人的飲食。法國人經常吃高度含有飽和脂肪的食物,但他們卻擁有健康的心臟和血管。他們還喝大量的葡萄酒。這種現象被稱為「法國悖論」(French paradox)。白藜蘆醇在紅葡萄酒中被發現後,研究人員更進一步查看,想瞭解它是否有助於解釋這些觀察到的矛盾現象。

白藜蘆醇本身就是撲滅自由基和其他活性含氧物的最佳物質,但它也能支持其他重要分子的功能。麩胱甘肽是人體中最普遍存在的分子之一,它與白藜蘆醇配搭,能幫助保護人體細胞免於氧化損傷,如此將有助於維持健康的細胞功能。

葡萄籽萃取物

植物營養素

由於葡萄含有白藜蘆醇(主要在葡萄皮中)和葡萄籽萃取物,這兩種植物營養素功能非常相似。您可以猜到葡萄籽萃取物就是來自葡萄籽。它是一種能維護心血管健康的強大抗氧化劑。

植物營養素能支援健康的靜脈脈動的功能,使血液順利流回心臟,因此可幫助身體維持正常範圍內的健康血壓,對循環系統有好處。

薑黃素

如果您喜歡熱帶美食,那您該高興了!因為您喜歡的一些食物都含有豐富的植物營養素。薑黃素是一種多酚類化合物,在人類營養中佔有重要地位。這種植物營養素已被證實有能力支援健康的大腦和關節功能。

薑黃素存在於薑黃中,是一種從熱帶植物薑黃的根部所萃取的香料。薑黃能為菜餚添加鮮豔的黃橙色。這種充滿活力的多酚在印度一向被用來作為藥用,新的科學研究也為它古老的傳說增添了可信度。

薑黃素的很多益處是來自其抗氧化的能力,但它也會擾亂細胞介素和激素(如環氧合酶)的路徑,這也是薑黃素幫助維護關節健康功能的方式。

薑黃素對大腦健康提供的支援以不同的方式呈現。由於老化,記憶會受到累積在腦中的「垃圾」或「斑塊」影響。斑塊是凝結在大腦組織的蛋白質,它會干擾細胞訊號傳輸。薑黃素已被證明有助於分解這些斑塊,並使它們更難形成。這種植物營養素也已被證實可支援腦細胞的成長,並維護健康的認知功能和記憶。

綠茶萃取物

每天有數百萬人喝綠茶,但飲料必須喝得非常多,才能獲得能量的提升。綠茶萃取物可以幫助您保持健康的體重。

綠茶萃取物是天然的咖啡因來源,而且含有大量的多酚。這種植物營養素已被證實可增加身體每天所使用的能量;而使用更多能量,就更容易達到健康的體重。

它的作用原理是:綠茶萃取物能支持去甲腎上腺素(調節熱量產生和脂肪氧化的神經傳導物)的作用。多酚還會氧化脂肪細胞,並加快身體使用能量的速度。這種新陳代謝的增加會產生熱量並燃燒脂肪,但卻不會對心跳速率產生重大影響。

橄欖果實萃取物

植物營養素

橄欖果實萃取物和其他橄欖衍生化合物的主要功用是作為抗氧化劑,它們能保護身體免受不健康氧化的影響。這就是橄欖果實萃取物為何能減少有毒化學物質導致皮膚發紅和過敏的原因。

麩胱甘肽功能也會受橄欖果實萃取物的刺激。橄欖果實萃取物和麩胱甘肽協同作用,能破壞自由基並抑制氧化壓力。

這種多酚還能促進健康的循環作用,有助於支援心臟功能。那是因為健康的動脈有助於維持正常血壓,也能促進一般健康。

生物類黃酮

生物類黃酮(也稱為黃酮類)是一種特殊的多酚類,因其化學結構而進一步分類。有數百種植物衍生的生物類黃酮具有保持身體健康和強壯的功用。

像其他植物營養素一樣,生物類黃酮主要是作為抗氧化劑。但它們也有助於保護肝臟、維持大腦健康等等。此外,生物類黃酮還可用來維護正常的激素水平。

槲皮素和蘆丁

槲皮素和蘆丁屬於一類稱為黃酮醇的生物類黃酮。由於其醇基在其化學結構中的位置,這類的生物類黃酮獨樹一格。

像槲皮素和蘆丁這類的黃酮醇會干擾激素之間的訊號,促進正常的激素相互作用。槲皮素和蘆丁也能為肝臟提供支援。它們共同作用,產生促進尿液排泄毒素的天然過程。

橙皮苷

橙皮苷屬於生物類黃酮的黃烷酮類。這些化合物的獨特處在於其化學排列的氧–碳雙鍵。

橙皮苷和其他黃烷酮類都是作為保護大腦的抗氧化劑,這些抗氧化劑的作用就像薑黃素(參見上述多酚類部份)。橙皮苷可以抗拒斑塊的形成來幫助保護大腦功能,這些蛋白質堆積的班塊會干擾腦細胞的通訊。橙皮苷和其他黃烷酮類能優化大腦健康和防止與老化有關的記憶喪失,來幫助維護健康的認知功能。

黃烷酮也被證實具有支持免疫系統並幫助您保持健康的能力。

其他抗氧化劑和重要植物化合物

身體需要適量的植物營養素才能保持健康。但在適當的飲食中還有一些健康所需要的其他重要分子和化學物質。以下化合物對於排毒和消化健康都極為重要。

N-乙醯-L-半胱胺酸

半胱胺酸是組成最重要排毒分子麩胱甘肽所必需的胺基酸。從飲食中獲得半胱胺酸比您想像的來得容易;它可在許多動物蛋白質中發現,但它也有幾個植物來源,所以您只要加上大蒜就行了。

蒜瓣充滿了一種稱為胺酸的分子,它含有能幫助身體產生麩胱甘肽所需要的半胱胺酸。但胺酸被封鎖在大蒜裡面,需要外力壓碎、切碎、和咀嚼才能釋放蒜素。

蛋白蒜胺酸酶釋放蒜素,使其可以被我們的身體吸收。被吸收之後,我們的身體就會從蒜素中釋放出半胱胺酸以供使用。其中一種用途就是產生麩胱甘肽。半胱胺酸會增加人體內麩胱甘肽的濃度,並使麩胱甘肽去除外來的化學物質並清除自由基損傷。

α-硫辛酸

麩胱甘肽的解毒過程需依賴α-硫辛酸的幫助。但身體也需要這種抗氧化劑來幫助維持正常的血糖(前提是血糖值原來就在正常範圍內),這是因為α-硫辛酸會增加葡萄糖對胰島素的敏感性;這也有助於維持您的代謝健康。

膳食纖維

植物營養素

纖維對於健康和舒適的消化極為重要。植物充滿了能促進消化的纖維和碳水化合物。

增加纖維可以促進身體對食物中糖的使用。纖維也能軟化糞便,有助於緩解偶發性便秘(這是消化不良的副作用之一)。

越來越多的證據顯示,高纖飲食有助於體重的控制。纖維豐富的食物可延長飯後的飽足感,這種飽足感能抑制無意識的零食需求,並減少不健康食量。

高纖維食品所提供的營養通常比其低纖維製品更多。用纖維豐富的膳食填飽肚子,就能使身體得到更好的營養,並幫助維持健康的體重。

強有力的作物 – 基本植物營養素的來源

您的飲食中已經含有植物營養素了,您只需要知道怎麼獲得。各種顏色的水果和蔬菜是類胡蘿蔔素的優良來源,而深綠色的葉菜都含有豐富的生物類黃酮。植物營養素也藏在某些您喜歡的飲料中—例如紅葡萄酒和綠茶。

以下這些植物營養素密集的食物,能幫助您確保身體獲得這些重要的植物化合物。雖然這絕不能算是全面性的,但畢竟是一個很好的開始:

  • 紅色、橙色、和黃色甜椒
  • 番茄
  • 蘿蔔
  • 南瓜
  • 漿果
  • 橙子
  • 綠花菜、白花菜、羽衣甘藍
  • 深綠色葉菜
  • 堅果和堅果油
  • 橄欖油
  • 紅葡萄酒
  • 巧克力
  • 薑黃、薑、和大蒜
  • 高纖全穀物

即使是最好的飲食也可能有所不足,所以要用您的健康飲食作為植物營養素的基礎,並考慮增加營養補充品,以獲得所需的一切,來享受最健康、最精彩的人生。

 

關於作者

Sydney Sprouse是住在奧勒岡州Forest Grove的自由科學作家。她擁有猶他州州立大學人類生物學的學士學位,並曾在那裡擔任研究生和寫作人員。Sydney是科學的終身學習者,她的目標是盡可能有效地翻譯當前的科學研究。她的寫作主題特別偏重於人類生物學、健康學和營養學。

 

參考文獻

https://www.fruitsandveggiesmorematters.org/what-are-phytochemicals

http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/dietary-factors/phytochemicals

http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/81/1/215S.full

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3942711/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3850026/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26633317

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/multimedia/antioxidants/sls-20076428?s=6

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3249911/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polyphenol

http://www.health-mall.in/files_hl/BIOFLAVONOIDS_THERAPEUTIC_POTENTIAL.pdf

https://nccih.nih.gov/health/grapeseed/ataglance.htm

http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/70/6/1040.long/-

https://www.alz.org/braintour/plaques.asp

Phytonutrients 101: A Crash Course in Plant Compounds

phytonutrients

Introduction to Plant Compounds

Plants are a large portion of a healthy diet. Fruits, vegetables, and whole grains provide your body with essential nutrition and nourishment. Loaded with vitamins and minerals, these food groups play an active role in keeping you healthy. But your favorite produce has more to offer than meets the eye. Plants are packed with powerful compounds called phytonutrients.

These plant chemical compounds can promote and maintain good health. But your body can’t make these important nutrients. So it needs a reliable source of these plant compounds. Eating a variety of plant-based foods can help supplement your diet with the phytonutrients your body needs.

A well-rounded diet can provide you with dozens of phytonutrients. And each performs a specialized role in the plants they’re derived from—and in your body. Antioxidant ability is one of the most important functions of phytonutrients. These plant compounds also help protect your eyes, maintain a healthy immune system, and help facilitate cell signaling. Phytonutrients are interesting, important, and valuable to your health.

Important Terminology

Understanding how phytonutrients work in the body requires a grasp of some new vocabulary. Learning the following terms will help you understand the importance and value of phytonutrients to your health.

  • Phytonutrient: A chemical compound found in plants that has positive impacts on human health and nutrition. Phytonutrients can also be referred to as phytochemicals.
  • Free Radicals: Any molecule containing an unpaired electron. Free radicals are very reactive and can trigger oxidation.
  • Oxidant: These molecules contain oxygen and are highly reactive. They easily react with other molecules changing their chemical nature. These changes can ultimately become toxic to the cell.
  • Antioxidant: A molecule that slows or reduces the damage done to an organism by free radicals and other oxidants. Antioxidants help prevent a chemical reaction called oxidation from occurring. They do this by neutralizing unpaired electrons on potentially dangerous molecules.
  • Carotenoids: A class of naturally occurring plant pigments. Carotenoids produce red, orange, and yellow color in fruits and vegetables. These phytonutrients protect plants from oxidative damage.
  • Polyphenols: These phytonutrients are concentrated in the leaf tissue of plants. They deter predators and help keep plants healthy. Polyphenols are the largest class of antioxidants in your diet.
  • Bioflavonoids: Bioflavonoids are a subcategory of polyphenols. They share the same function in plants, but differ in chemical structure. Bioflavonoids contain unique chemical signatures, like ketones and alcohol groups (carbon-oxygen double bond and oxygen-hydrogen single bond, respectively).

Phytonutrient Function in Your Body

In plants, phytonutrients act as pigments, giving fruits and vegetables their vibrant color. They also protect, fortify, and strengthen healthy plants. But these compounds can also play a role in helping maintain your health.

Phytonutrients act as antioxidants, helping protect your body from free radicals. Your body needs to maintain a balance of oxidants (free radicals, etc.) and unreactive molecules. When this balance shifts in favor of oxidants, damage can be done to your healthy cells.

These plant compounds help neutralize oxidants and help maintain that healthy balance. They do this neutralizing unpaired electrons on potentially dangerous molecules. This chemical interaction stabilizes the oxidant and keeps oxidative damage from taking place.

Classes of Phytonutrients

phytonutrients

Below, you’ll find information about some of the major classes of phytonutrients and examples of each. Although they may differ in structure, each phytonutrient works for the same goal: reducing oxidative damage and protecting your health.

Carotenoids

Photosynthetic bacteria, algae, and plants produce more than 750 pigments called carotenoids. Carotenoids help protect the plant from harmful wavelengths of light so plants can use the sun for energy. These pigments also protect the photosynthetic portions of plant cells.

This class of phytonutrient is the source of the bright red, orange, and yellow colors of fruits and vegetables. Carotenoids are powerful antioxidants and are critical in protecting your eye health and helping facilitate smooth cellular communication.

Beta-Carotene

Beta-carotene is probably the most well-known carotenoid and phytonutrient. It is a precursor to vitamin A. Since your body can’t make vitamin A, you need a provitamin like beta-carotene in your diet. So your body can turn it into vitamin A when it needs.

Beta-carotene is converted to vitamin A in the body and supports healthy eyes. This conversion is accomplished in the duodenum (the first part of your small intestine) when intestinal enzymes split beta-carotene into two active vitamin A molecules called retinal. That’s the usable form of vitamin A in the body. And it’s involved in many complex processes in your body.

Lycopene, Lutein, and Zeaxanthin

These three carotenoids also help maintain eye health. But they work differently than beta-carotene.

Light entering your eye is focused on the retina and filtered by cells in your eye called rods and cones. The chemical structures of lycopene, lutein, and zeaxanthin allow them to absorb light, too. These pigments specifically absorb blue light, which has been shown to cause light-induced oxidative damage.

But that’s not all these phytonutrients do. Carotenoids like those listed above help your body’s cell signaling be more efficient and reliable. How do they do it? Carotenoids stimulate the manufacture of proteins called connexins. These proteins help neighboring cells exchange information, faster.

Polyphenols

Polyphenols have a distinctive shape and a name that describes their chemical makeup. To understand them a bit more, let’s dive deep into the chemistry.

Chemical compounds come in all shapes and a variety of unique organizations. The order and placement of atoms in each molecule determine its function. Polyphenols are made primarily of two kinds of atom patterns: benzene rings and alcohol groups.

Benzene rings are cyclical chemical rings made of carbon and hydrogen with alternating double bonds. Alcohol groups consist of oxygen and hydrogen attached to another atom, like carbon. Together, one benzene ring plus one alcohol group equals one phenol. When multiple phenols are strung together, polyphenols are born. This chemical shape is important because it literally lets polyphenols absorb and neutralize extra electrons.

Polyphenols are the most numerous antioxidants in your diet. They are known to promote cardiovascular health. Two polyphenols, resveratrol and curcumin, are especially important in a healthy diet and are key ingredients in dietary supplements.

Resveratrol

Resveratrol is an antioxidant polyphenol found commonly in your diet. You can find it in peanuts, berries, grapes, and red wine.

The positive effects of resveratrol have only recently been uncovered. In the 1990s, scientist stumbled upon resveratrol while studying the health benefits associated with red-wine consumption.

For many years the diets of French people had been under scrutiny. The French regularly eat foods high in saturated fats, yet they have healthy hearts and blood vessels. They also consume large amounts of wine. This phenomenon is referred to as the “French paradox.” After resveratrol was discovered in red wine, researchers took a closer look to see if it could help explain these paradoxical observations.

By itself, resveratrol is great at tackling free radicals and other reactive oxygen species. But it also supports the function of other important molecules. Glutathione, one of the most ubiquitous molecules in your body, pairs up with resveratrol to help protect your cells from oxidative damage, which helps maintain healthy cell function.

Grape Seed Extract

phytonutrients

Since grapes contain both resveratrol (found primarily in grape skins) and grape seed extract, the function of these two phytonutrients are very similar. Grape seed extract comes from, you guessed it, grape seeds. It is a powerful antioxidant and supports cardiovascular health.

Circulatory system benefits come from the phytonutrient’s ability to help the body maintain healthy blood pressure already in the normal range. This is done by supporting the healthy function of venous pumps, which help blood return to the heart.

Curcumin

If you enjoy tropical cuisine, get excited. Because some of your favorite foods are loaded with phytonutrients. Curcumin is a polyphenolic compound making waves in human nutrition. This phytonutrient has demonstrated the ability to support healthy brain and joint function.

Curcumin is found in turmeric, a spice derived from the roots of the tropical plant Curcuma longa Linn. Turmeric adds bright yellow-orange color to cooking. This vibrant polyphenol has been used for medicinal purposes in India for centuries. And new scientific research is adding credence to its ancient claims.

A lot of the benefits come from curcumin’s ability to behave like an antioxidant. But it also disrupts the route of cytokines and enzymes like cyclooxygenase. That’s how curcumin helps maintain healthy joint function.

The brain-health support provided by curcumin is achieved in a different way. As a result of aging, memory can be effected by the build-up of “junk” or “plaques” in the brain. Plaques are clumps of protein that stick to brain tissue and interrupt cell signaling. Curcumin has been shown to help dismantle those plaques and makes it harder for them to form. This phytonutrient has also been show to support brain-cell growth and maintain healthy cognitive function and memory.

Green Tea Extract

Green tea is enjoyed by millions of people every day. But there is more to the drink than a natural energy boost. Green tea extract may help maintain a healthy weight.

Green tea extract is natural source of caffeine and it’s full of polyphenols. This phytonutrient has been shown to increase the energy your body uses every day. And using more energy makes reaching a healthy weight more manageable.

Here’s how it works. Green tea extract supports the action of norepinephrine, the neurotransmitter that regulates heat production and fat oxidation. The polyphenol also oxidizes fat cells and increases the rate at which your body uses energy. This increase in metabolism creates heat and burns fat—all without significant impact on your heart rate.

Olive Fruit Extract

phytonutrients

Olive fruit extract and other olive-derived compounds work primarily as antioxidants. They protect the body from unhealthy oxidation. That’s how olive fruit extract reduces the toxic chemicals that lead to redness and irritation.

Glutathione function is also stimulated by olive fruit extract. Olive fruit extract and glutathione work together to destroy free-radicals and keep oxidative stress at bay.

This polyphenol also promotes healthy circulation which also helps supports heart function. That’s because healthy arteries help maintain normal blood pressure and promote general well-being.

Bioflavonoids

Bioflavonoids (also known as flavonoids) are a special category of polyphenols. They are further categorized by their chemical structure. And there are hundreds of plant-derived bioflavonoids that work to keep you healthy and strong.

Like other phytonutrients, bioflavonoids are primarily antioxidants. But they can also help protect the liver, maintain brain health, and more. In addition, bioflavonoids can be useful in maintaining normal hormone levels.

Quercetin and Rutin

Quercetin and rutin belong to a group of bioflavonoids called flavonols. This category of bioflavonoid is unique because of the position of alcohol groups in its chemical structure.

Flavonols—like quercetin and rutin—interrupt signals between hormones and promote normal hormone interaction. Quercetin and rutin also provide support to your liver. They work together to assist in a natural process that promotes toxin excretion in the urine.

Hesperidin

Hesperidin falls into the bioflavonoid category of flavanones. These compounds are distinguished by the oxygen-carbon double bond in their chemical arrangement.

Hesperidin and other flavanones act as antioxidants that protect the brain. These antioxidants function like curcumin—which is mentioned in the polyphenols section above. Hesperidin can help preserve brain function by fighting against plaque formation. These protein build-ups interfere with brain cell communication. By optimizing brain health and protecting against age-related memory loss, hesperidin and other flavanones help maintain healthy cognitive function.

Flavanones have also demonstrated abilities to support your immune system and help keep you healthy.

Other Antioxidants and Important Plant Compounds

Your body needs adequate amounts of phytonutrients to maintain its fitness. But there are other important molecules and chemical compounds necessary for health that can be found in a proper diet. For detoxification and healthy digestion, the following compounds are critical.

N-Acetyl L-Cysteine

Cysteine is an amino acid necessary for building that all-important detox molecule, glutathione. Getting cysteine in your diet is easier than your think. It’s available in a lot of animal protein. But there’s several plant sources. So all you have to do is just add garlic.

Whole garlic cloves are brimming with a molecule called alliin. It contains the cysteine needed to help produce the glutathione your body needs. But alliin is trapped inside. Crushing, chopping, and chewing garlic releases alliinase.

The protein alliinase frees alliin making it available for our bodies to absorb. Once absorbed, our bodies release the cysteine from alliin making it available for use. One use is glutathione production. Cysteine increases the concentration of glutathione in the body and puts it to work detoxing foreign chemicals and cleaning up free-radical damage.

Alpha-Lipoic Acid

Glutathione relies on alpha-lipoic acid for help in the detoxification process. But your body also needs this antioxidant for helping to maintain normal blood sugar—provided it’s already in the normal range to begin with. Alpha-lipoic acid does this by increasing glucose’s sensitivity to insulin. This helps maintain your metabolic health.

Dietary Fiber

phytonutrients

Fiber is crucial for healthy and comfortable digestion. Plants are full of fiber and carbohydrates geared towards making digestion easier.

Increasing fiber can help your body make better use of the sugars in your food. Fiber also softens stool and can help relieve occasional constipation—one of the more uncomfortable side effects of poor digestion.

Growing evidence suggests that high-fiber diets help in weight control. Fiber-rich foods can prolong the feeling of fullness after a meal. This full feeling keeps the need for mindless snacking in check and can lower the amount of unhealthy food consumed.

High-fiber foods also generally provide more nutrition than their low-fiber counterparts. By filling your belly with a fiber-rich meal, you can get better nutrition to your body and help maintain a healthy weight.

Powerful Produce – Sources of Essential Phytonutrients

Phytonutrients are already in your diet. Your just need to know where to look. Colorful fruits and vegetables are excellent sources of carotenoids. Dark green and leafy veggies are rich in bioflavonoids. Phytonutrients are also hiding in some of your favorite beverages—namely red wine and green tea.

This list of phytonutrient-dense foods can help you make sure your body gets these important plant compounds. This is by no means comprehensive, but it’s a good place to start:

  • Red, orange, and yellow peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Carrots
  • Squash
  • Berries
  • Oranges
  • Broccoli, cauliflower, kale
  • Dark, leafy, green vegetables
  • Nuts and nut oils
  • Olive oil
  • Red wine
  • Chocolate
  • Turmeric, ginger, and garlic
  • Whole grains high in fiber

And even the best diets may fall short. So use your healthy diet as a foundation of phytonutrients and consider adding supplementation to get everything you need to live your best, healthiest life.

 

References

https://www.fruitsandveggiesmorematters.org/what-are-phytochemicals

http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/dietary-factors/phytochemicals

http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/81/1/215S.full

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3942711/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3850026/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26633317

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/multimedia/antioxidants/sls-20076428?s=6

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3249911/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polyphenol

http://www.health-mall.in/files_hl/BIOFLAVONOIDS_THERAPEUTIC_POTENTIAL.pdf

https://nccih.nih.gov/health/grapeseed/ataglance.htm

http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/70/6/1040.long/-

https://www.alz.org/braintour/plaques.asp