定义微生物群:认识您的细菌伙伴

您从来都不孤单,您的身体随时遍布着几兆数量的微生物朋友,这并不是坏事。这些微生物就构成了您的微生物群—一个您听过很多遍但可能不完全了解的名词。微生物群的定义其实很简单,就是上述细菌、真菌、原生动物、和病毒的统称。但您可别让简单的定义给愚弄了,微生物群是一个值得广泛讨论的话题。

如果这是您第一次听到微生物群,请保持冷静,没必要把消毒剂拿出来。您不需要感到毛毛的或不干净,也不必起鸡皮疙瘩,因为您就是几兆的细菌和微生物的生态系统。

微生物群是健康生活正常的一部份。许多研究显示,您身体中的微生物群甚至在您的健康方面有着重要的作用。

如果您还是有点不安,那么介绍一下您的微生物群,可能会有所帮助。所以现在该是超越为微生物群下定义,而把您介绍给您的细菌伙伴的时候了。

基本细菌生物学简介

有许多微生物种在您的微生物群中,但其中数量最多的是细菌,针对细菌的研究也最多,也是我们以下所要讨论的主要焦点。而了解关于细菌的基本信息,则能让我们更容易地深入讨论微生物群。

了解细菌的第一件事:它们的数量很多。细菌统治着地球,即使您肉眼看不到它们。

它们是地球上占最大百分比的生物。细菌的总重量比地球上的所有人加起来的重量更多。有一项估计称细菌总数达到五百万兆兆;这是一个相当庞大数字,甚至没有名称,是5的后面加30个零。

第二,细菌属于原核生物域。它们是单细胞,具有原始外细胞膜,没有特定的细胞器,也没有明显的细胞核。生物的所有成份(DNA、蛋白质…等等)均漂浮在细胞质(细胞液)中。

您属于不同的物种。人类、动物、和其他复杂的细胞生物属于真核生物域。那是因为我们是多细胞有机体,我们的胞器周围有细胞膜(具有特定功能的细胞器)和细胞核。

人体和细菌

谈完基本生物学,接下来该来探讨与您互动的细菌和微生物。我们从数字开始吧。

虽然细菌几乎比地球上的任何东西都多,但在您的身上就不是这样了。以前的估计是微生物细胞跟人体细胞的数量是10比1;最近的研究则指出,这个比例接近1比1。这只是曾经所认为数量的十分之一,但那意味着您仍然跟数兆的细菌共存。

住在您身体所创造的生活区内的细菌和微生物有很多种类。例如,您的皮肤、鼻子、嘴巴、耳朵、和腋窝的居民都不同;您脚趾上的也和脚部其他部位的不同。而当谈到微生物时,我们首先会想到的地方就是肠道,单单那里就包含了40,000种不同的菌株和物种。这种多样性是很重要的,因为它产生了对空间和食物的竞争。

像任何一种生物一样,细菌是自私的。它们不与您同住,因为它们是英雄和助手。细菌的生理必然性是供养它们自己和它们的后代。幸好您的身体已经发展到能将它们的自私转化为自己的优势,因而创造了双赢的局面(也就是共生)。细菌获得食物,而身体则使用细菌所产生的物质。

这些大多数都具有效益的关系,很容易让人想到细菌到底是好还是坏。然而,这是一种过于简化的想法。有一些显而易见的例子,就是致病的细菌会伤害您。但大部份人都落入灰色地带,因为通常大多数细菌都是无害的或者能提供细微的好处。

特定细菌的好或坏、有益健康或有害,跟它所在的位置有很大关系。在身体的一个部位,一种细菌可能对帮助消化或健康的免疫功能有益,而在另一个部位,相同类型的微生物却会引起问题。而它们的数目多少也是问题;例如,衰弱的免疫系统会让细菌繁殖和生长成有问题的群体。

细菌不会突然决定从英雄变成恶棍,它们不会这样运作,细菌的行为几乎是不变的。它们永远是自私的,而且一直在努力繁殖。但是,如果它们处于错误的地方,条件不利于共生,或是它们大量增长时,微生物就会造成混乱。

如果细菌大多是无害的,我们就不应该称之为好或坏;那么,益生菌又是怎么一回事?研究证明有些细菌菌株在特定情况下可以提供益处,但是在整体细菌的范围中(几兆细胞和成千上万的菌株),这些是罕见的特例。因此,获得经过测试并证明可在身体适当环境中存活、并且已证实确有好处的益生菌,是很重要的。

寻找您的微生物群

大多数人听到「微生物群」就会想到肠道。固然您的下消化道充满了微生物,但却不是唯一能找到的存在不同细菌群落的地方。

让我们来看看:

  • 肠道:您胃部所含的细菌不多。高酸度造成一个不讨细菌喜欢的环境,很少细菌能在此存活。您的肠子则是另一回事了,主要因为这里是食物停留最久的地方。肠道微生物群已被广泛研究,因此我们可以列出在您肠子中发现的许多细菌的种类。
  • 小肠和大肠都充满了各种微生物,其中,拟杆菌(另一种细菌)所占数量非常多。而您在小肠和大肠中会发现不同的细菌群体,各自受不同的菌株所支配。
  • 皮肤:您身体最大的器官有它自己的细菌和微生物。如果您是一个有洁癖的人,这可就要让您害怕了。您真的是被细菌所覆盖,您皮肤所有的褶皱、隐蔽处、和缝隙,都为各种微生物群落的发展提供了充足的空间。请记住,在正常情况下绝大多数都是无害的,其中大部份都可以被归类为放线菌(一种细菌)。
  • 口腔:您的牙齿、舌头、脸颊、嘴唇、和上腭,是大多数无害或有益的细菌的栖息地。单在口腔中就发现了将近300种不同的种类,而那些还只是到目前为止已经命名的。
  • 耳、鼻、鼻窦、和喉咙:这些地方每一个都含有可在特定环境中繁殖的细菌,但由于它们全部相连,所以它们会被一起提到;它们也和口腔相通。

这并不是您身体细菌群落的全部。它们还存在您的性器官、肺部、以及任何它们可以找到的不受排斥的地方。虽然肠道受到最多的关注,但研究人员正在更密切地注意其他地方。那些研究将有助于我们对人体微生物更好的了解,也有助于让我们更认识细菌伙伴。

微生物群

您会受您所居住的生态系统所塑造。您的微生物群也一样,不过在这种情况下,您本身就是生态系统。

这就是为什么每个人身体的微生物群都是独一无二的。您的微生物群受到您的经历所塑造,从出生开始。自然分娩或剖腹产,会影响婴儿的微生物群;您的饮食和生活环境不但影响您的身体,也影响与您共生的细菌朋友;年龄也是构成差别的一项重要因素。

由于人体生态系统内的一大群不同而多样化的细菌,要辨识「正常」或「健康」的人会拥有的每一种菌株很困难的,而且要找出随着时间长久而产生变化的特定微生物群,将会大大耗费时间和精力,而且做完一次研究也不能获得多少信息。但较为整体性的说明就能提供您所需要的信息,而不需要一一说明好几千种菌株。

基本上,与您共存的细菌是那些能够找到生物利基的细菌。它们是最有能力适应和生存在您的独特条件下的。这样您就或多或少可以控制您的微生物群了。而「或多或少」就是关键词,要选择您喜欢的细菌并不容易,因为您无法掌控一切。但我们知道良好习惯,比如睡得好、运动、吃健康饮食,会助长有益的微生物群。

细菌是活的,它们必须与其他数兆的细菌争夺空间和食物。虽然您可以影响这场竞争的结果,但您无法完全搞定这场竞争。而由于这样的原因,您的微生物群也在不断变化。

微生物对身体有什么作用?

简单回答—您的微生物群有很多作用。研究正越来越多地揭示它对您和您的健康有些什么作用。

以下这个例子就会告诉您相当多的信息:饲养在无菌群落(在无菌环境中出生和饲养)的小鼠,与那些饲养在有微生物群的小鼠所呈现的生长型态不同。无菌小鼠在行为和其他健康问题上,也出现一些在正常小鼠中所未出现的缺陷。

一般而言,您的微生物群有助于消化过程、免疫功能、维持健康体重、神经系统功能…等等。但这又是另一个故事了。

Defining Microbiome: Meet Your Bacterial Buddies

defining microbiome

You’re never alone. Your body is always crawling with trillions of microbial friends. That’s not a bad thing. All of them make up your microbiome—a word you hear a lot, but might not completely understand. Defining microbiome is actually pretty simple. It’s the collection of bacteria, fungi, protozoa, and viruses mentioned above. But don’t let the simple definition fool you. The microbiome is an expansive topic to discuss.

If this is your first time hearing about the microbiome, stay calm. There’s no reason to pull out the sanitizer. You shouldn’t feel gross or unclean. And your skin shouldn’t crawl because you’re an ecosystem for trillions of bacteria and microbes.

The microbiome is a normal part of a healthy life. Many studies suggest that your community of microbes could even play a large role in your health.

If you’re still a little uneasy, an introduction to your microbiome might help. So it’s time to go beyond defining microbiome and introduce you to your bacterial buddies.

A Bit of Basic Bacteria Biology

Other microbes live in your microbiome, but bacteria are the most studied, dominant portion. They’ll mostly be the focus of our attention moving forward. And basic information about bacteria is a great place to start the deeper discussion of the microbiome.

The first thing to know about bacteria—there’s a lot of them. Bacteria rule the earth, even though you can’t see them with your naked eye.

They make up the largest percentage of life on earth. Bacteria weigh more in total than all the humans on earth. One estimate puts the total number of bacteria at about five million trillion trillion. That’s a number so big it doesn’t even have a name. But it’s a five with 30 zeroes after it.

Second, bacteria are in the prokaryote domain. They’re single cells with a primitive outer membrane, no specific cellular parts, and no distinct nucleus. All the ingredients for life—DNA, proteins, and more—float around in the cytoplasm (a cellular liquid).

You fall under a different biological umbrella. Humans, animals, and other complex cellular life belong in the eukaryote domain. That’s because we’re multicellular organisms with membranes around our cellular organelles (cell parts with specific functions) and nuclei.

Your Body and Bacteria

Now that the basic biology is out of the way, it’s time to focus on the bacteria and microbes you interact with. Let’s start with the numbers.

While there’s more bacteria than about anything on earth, that’s not exactly the case with your body. Old estimates had microbiome cells outnumbering yours 10-to-1. Recent research suggest the ratio is closer to 1-to-1. That’s a tenth of what was once thought, but that means you’re still living with trillions of bacteria.

And there’s a great variety of bacteria and microbes inhabiting the communities created by your body. For example, your skin, nose, mouth, ears, and armpits all have very different inhabitants. There is even a difference in who is living between your toes versus other parts of the feet. Your gut—the place our mind goes first when say microbiome—can contain 40,000 different strains and species alone. This diversity is important, because it creates competition for space and food.

Like any lifeform, bacteria are selfish. They don’t live with you because they’re heroes and helpers. Bacteria’s biological imperative is to provide for themselves and their descendants. Luckily, your body has evolved to use the selfishness to its advantage. This creates a win-win situation (symbiosis). The bacteria get food and the body uses compounds produced by the bacteria.

These mostly productive relationships make it easy to think of bacteria as good or bad. That’s an oversimplification of the situation, though. There are some black-and-white cases—pathogenic bacteria that are out to harm you. But the majority of fall into a grey area because most are typically harmless or provide a slight benefit.

How you view specific bacteria (good or bad, healthy or harmful) has a lot to do with location. In one area of the body, a strain of bacteria can be beneficial—aiding in digestion or healthy immune function. In another area, that same type of microbe can cause problems. Sheer numbers can also present issues. For example, a weakened immune system can allow a strain of bacteria to multiply and grow to a population that’s problematic.

And the bacteria don’t suddenly decide to turn from heroes to villains. That’s not how they work. Bacteria act about the same all the time. They’re always selfish. And they’re always trying to multiply. But when they’re in the wrong place—where condition aren’t favorable for symbiosis—or they grow to large numbers, the microbes can wreak havoc.

But if bacteria are mostly harmless, and we shouldn’t call them good or bad, what’s the deal with probiotics? There are certain strains of bacteria that research has shown to provide benefits in certain situations. But in the context of your total bacteria—the trillions of cells and thousands of strains—those are rare, specific cases. That’s why it’s important to get probiotics that are tested and proven to survive in the right bodily environment and demonstrate benefits.

Finding Your Microbiome

Most people hear “microbiome” and think about the gut. Your lower digestive tract is packed with microbes. But it’s not the only place you can find different communities of diverse bacteria.

Let’s go through them:

  • Gut: Your stomach doesn’t contain much bacteria. High acidity creates an uninviting environment where few can survive. Your intestines are a different story—mostly because that’s where food stays for the longest time. The gut microbiome has been extensively studied, so we can name many of the bacterial categories you’d find in your intestines.
  • Both the small and large intestines are packed full of a variety of microbes, but Bacteriodetes (another category of bacteria) are very prevalent. And you’ll find distinct populations of bacteria in the small intestine and the large intestine, with different strains dominating each.
  • Skin: Your body’s largest organ has its own community of bacteria and microbes. If you’re a germaphobe, this confirms your worst fears. You really are covered with bacteria. All the folds, nooks, and crannies of your skin provide ample space to develop diverse microbial communities. Remember, the vast majority are harmless in normal circumstances. And most of them can be categorized as Actinobacteria (a category of bacteria).
  • Mouth: Your teeth, tongue, cheek, lips, and palate provide habitat for mostly harmless or beneficial bacteria. Almost 300 different species have been found in the mouth alone. And those are just the ones that have names so far.
  • Ear, Nose, Sinuses, and Throat: Each of these regions contains bacteria that can thrive in that particular environment. But they’re mentioned together because they’re all connected. And they intersect with the mouth, as well.

This is not a comprehensive list of your body’s bacterial communities. They’re in your sex organs, lungs, and about any hospitable place they can find. The gut gets most of the attention, but researchers are looking more closely at other areas. That research will help us get to know our microbiomes better, and help us meet more of our bacterial buddies.

The Making of a Microbiome

You’re shaped by the ecosystem in which you live. Your microbiome is the same. But in this case, you’re the ecosystem.

That’s why everyone’s microbiome is unique. Yours is shaped by the experiences you have—starting at birth. Natural birth or Caesarean section will impact an infant’s microbiome. Your diet and environment impact your body and the bacterial friends that live with you. Age is also an important differentiating factor.

With the array of variables and huge variety of bacteria in your body’s ecosystem, it’s difficult to identify every strain of bacteria “normal” or “healthy” people will have. Mapping out your specific microbiome regularly over time is time consuming and overwhelming. And doing it once doesn’t tell you much. But talking more generally provides the information you need without listing thousands of bacterial strains.

Basically, the bacteria that coexist with you are the ones able to find a biological niche. They’re best able to adapt and survive in your specific conditions. In this way, you’re somewhat in control of your microbiome. And somewhat is the keyword. It’s not as easy as selecting your preferred bacteria, because you can’t control everything. We do know that good habits— sleeping well, exercising, and eating a healthy diet—encourage a beneficial microbiome.

But bacteria are living things. They’re competing with trillions of others for space and food. You can influence the results of this competition, but you can’t totally fix the game. And for those same reasons, your microbiome is constantly changing.

What Can the Microbiome Do for You?

The simple answer—your microbiome does a lot. And research is revealing more and more about what it does for you and your health.

This example tells you quite a bit: Mice raised without a community of bacteria—born and raised in a sterile environment—don’t exhibit the same type of growth as mice with a microbiome. Germ-free mice also show deficiencies in behavior and other health issues not seen in normal mice.

In general, your microbiome helps with digestive processes, immune function, maintaining a healthy weight, nervous system function, and more. But that’s another story. You can dive deeper into the ways your bacterial buddies help out your health in the next article in our microbiome series. (Coming in November 2017.)