骨骼健康:認識骨骼的剖析

bone health

骨骼和骨骼系統經常被人們誤解,它們承擔了很多重量以支撐人體,並維持身體的形狀;但它的功能還不止於此。為了讓您的身體健康強壯,您的骨骼功能比想像中還要多,而且比您所瞭解的還要活躍。認識您骨骼的剖析,是骨骼保健的第一步。

基本骨骼剖析

骷髏會讓我們聯想到疾病與死亡,它們也經常是危險或毒藥的符號。但是您的骨骼不但是活的而且很健全,而扎實的骨骼健康就要從細胞水平開始。

您的骨骼充滿了細胞,每一個細胞都各司其職。骨骼中的細胞能創造許多東西,從新生的骨頭到打泵入心臟的血液都包含其內。不過這裡要探討的重點,是您骨骼解剖結構中的組成元件。

有三種類型的細胞幫助維持健全的骨骼,從名稱中我們就可以知道關於這些細胞功能的重要信息。認識骨細胞如何運作是很重要的;知道骨骼如何運作,就能解釋牙齒矯正器如何輔助矯正牙齒、以及骨折是如何癒合的。

成骨細胞(Osteoblasts)

建造骨骼的細胞(bone=骨頭;blast=微生物、生長)。這名字的字面意義就是骨骼生長。成骨細胞生產新的骨骼並重建舊的或破碎的骨骼。這些立方體細胞像積木一樣堆疊。當成骨細胞聚集在一起時,它們會分泌一種稱為類骨質的軟性成份。血管和附近的骨骼細胞在類骨質中沉積鈣和其他礦物鹽,使它變得硬而堅固。類骨質硬化後,這些成骨細胞被固定住,並轉化成另一種類型的骨骼細胞—骨細胞(Osteocytes)。

骨細胞(Osteocytes)

成熟的骨骼細胞(osteo=骨,cyte=細胞)。它們來自已經停止製造新骨的成骨細胞。骨細胞會長出長分支臂,將它們連接到相鄰的骨細胞。通過這些連結,它們可以藉由細胞訊號傳輸路徑互相溝通並交換礦物質。骨細胞監測骨骼狀況並偵測機械應力,當骨骼有哪部分需要加強時,它們就會通知成骨細胞。

破骨細胞(Osteoclasts)

與成骨細胞相反,破骨細胞(osteo=骨,clast=斷裂)分解骨骼,但這種骨骼分解並非壞事。破骨細胞在骨骼內部與骨骼表面形成空間,以容納肌肉與血管。它們也回收老骨,讓新的、健康的骨頭可以取而代之。這使得骨骼堅固,能抵抗機械應力。破骨細胞是帶有皺褶邊緣的大細胞,它們起皺的外表能緊緊抓住骨頭。這些細胞分泌鹽酸,將鈣和磷酸鹽等礦物質從骨頭析出。這個過程稱為骨質溶解(osteolysis,osteo=骨,lysis=分開)。

這所有細胞之間的團隊合作,能保持您的骨骼健康。成骨細胞和破骨細胞發揮相反的作用,但共同合作使您的骨骼變得堅強。當骨骼斷裂時,破骨細胞會清除碎片並去除所有鋸齒狀的邊緣,成骨細胞則增生新骨來填補空隙。

雖然很難看到骨骼細胞工作的場面,但其實您的牙齒就像骨頭一樣工作,這能提供我們很好的例子。

為了矯正不整齊的牙齒,您下顎的骨骼會不斷被分解和修復。牙齒矯正器對您的牙齒和下顎施加壓力,這種壓力刺激破骨細胞把長錯地方的骨骼清除掉,然後成骨細胞再將新骨骼放在正確的位置。最後,就能擁有一口整齊的牙齒,讓您展現美麗的笑容。

骨骼在身體中的作用

您可能聽過這種說法:如果沒有骨骼,您不過就是一團血肉。這可是千真萬確!

骨架提供了框架來支撐您的身體,使其保持堅固和直立。骨骼就像是肌肉群的附件,它們有如槓桿讓肌肉收縮和伸展。這些重要的肌肉附件協助我們走路、跑步、坐、和站立。

骨骼也能保護您的重要器官免受傷害。它們可以吸收傷害的衝擊,並護衛骨骼下的器官。仔細想想,您的肋骨保護了多少重要的器官;而頭骨更是保護了您無價的腦部

沒有骨骼,就沒辦法認出您來。您的臉部和頸部的肌肉負責做出面部表情,而肌肉下的骨骼則賦予您臉部的形狀。您的臉頰、下巴、和鼻子的位置,都是由骨骼決定的。

進階骨骼剖析:伸展和強化

您會盡量避免緊繃、壓力、和緊張,但這三種力量可以迫使您的骨骼成長和發育。骨骼剖析可讓這概念成形;機械性刺激能觸發成骨細胞和破骨細胞強化人體的骨骼。這種壓力是好的,它使骨骼變得更強。

骨骼要增長時,需要被附在其上的肌肉組織拉開。靠近人體長骨末端,有一些稱為生長板的區域,生長板是指有活性骨骼組織的區塊。當您的肌肉在長骨的末端拉扯時,就會提供必要的壓力來刺激骨骼生長。骨細胞感應到生長板的張力後,會引導成骨細胞去建造新的骨骼組織。當這種情況在兒童身上發生得太快時,可能導致持續的隱隱作痛。這種持續不舒服的感覺被稱為生長痛。

骨骼長度會增常,厚度也會增加。運動會增加骨骼厚度,讓骨骼更堅固、更難折斷。咸認運動員腿骨的平均長度比一般人更長。我們發現運動員的腿部通常比較長,尤其是大腿,因為它們的密集鍛鍊不斷地對骨骼施加壓力。

最終,當成長板的活動減緩時,我們的骨頭就停止增長。對於女性來說,這種情況發生在16歲左右,而男性大約是19歲。在25到30歲之間,大多數人將達到骨骼質量的高峰。到了40歲以後,維持骨質量就很重要,也是健康生活的一部分。

骨骼健康維護

保護骨骼最好的辦法就是用健康的習慣來加強,飲食和運動是兩種有助維持骨骼健康的最佳方法。

到目前為止,對您的骨頭最寶貴的礦物質是鈣質。鈣的存量短缺時,身體會從您的骨頭中把鈣抽取出來,用在其他地方。所以為了保護您的骨骼,請多吃一些富含鈣質的飲食。 這種重要的礦物質存在於牛奶、優酪乳、和起司中,也可以在綠葉蔬菜和軟骨魚中發現。有某些食物會阻礙身體吸收鈣,例如蘇打水和碳酸飲料會降低腸道吸收的鈣量。請仔細評估您的飲食,看看是否能攝取到更多的鈣質。若有疑問,那麼攝取含有鈣質的多種礦物質或其他補充品總是一個好主意。*

骨骼健康的另一個重要成份是鎂。它除了是骨骼基質礦物質之外,鎂還會刺激甲狀腺分泌降鈣素。降鈣素是一種激素,會將鈣從您的血液轉移到骨骼中,以助維持骨骼的強韌。鎂有助強化骨骼之外,這種關鍵礦物質還有助維持健康的肌肉功能。*

維生素D也在骨骼健康中發揮關鍵作用;維生素D可以協助身體吸收飲食中的鈣。當皮膚暴露在陽光下時,身體可以自己製造維生素D。還有一些食品和乳製品也添加維生素D,它們可以幫助您獲得身體所需,但若體內含量仍然不足的人應考慮補充維生素D。*

bone health

一輩子的骨骼健康

骨骼為您的身體提供了一輩子的力量和活動力,好好維護的話,將可讓您的骨骼在未來的年歲中運作順暢。縱然骨骼在20歲前就停止生長,但細胞仍每天積極地自我修復和更新。

骨骼細胞以非常顯著的速率進行再生。如果說您一輩子就只有這一副骨骼可用,這完全不是事實。實際上,您的骨架每二到十二年(這取決於您的年齡)會完全更新一次。在您年輕時,它再生的速率較快,之後隨著年齡的增長而減緩。若沒有這種再生,之前因曾經斷裂或持續的機械應力而減弱的骨骼將永遠不能完全康復;而且這些部位的骨骼將長得比以往更堅固。

這種不斷的再生和更替應該會給您帶來希望,每天都是一個新的機會來幫助您的骨架。所以養成能保護與強化您骨骼健康的飲食和運動習慣,永遠都不會太晚。

更多關於骨骼的有趣知識

好好了解以下這11項骨骼剖析的知識,下次再有人跟您說骷髏很恐怖時,就可以跟他們分享這些知識。這會提醒他們,骨頭其實並不可怕—它們,太厲害了!

  1. 您的骨頭跟血管是相通的。這意味著血管會通到您的骨頭裡,並將氧氣和營養素傳遞給骨骼組織。血液中的營養素會被帶到骨骼上,它們是使骨骼變硬和堅固所必要的。
  2. 隨著年齡的增長,身體骨頭的數量實際上是會減少的。新生嬰兒的小骨架裡有近270塊骨頭。隨著身體的成熟,較小的骨頭會融合在一起形成更複雜的形狀。人類頭骨由22片骨骼組成,當我們成長時,它們會融合在一起。到成年時,人類身體只有206塊骨頭。
  3. 紅血球在血液中不斷循環。然而,我們對紅血球從何而來其實不太了解。骨髓(也就是骨骼中心的黏稠物質)會生產紅血球。有兩種類型的骨髓—紅色和黃色。紅色骨髓形成紅血球、白血球、和血小板。在嚴重失血的情況下,黃骨髓可以轉化為紅骨髓。
  4. 股骨(大腿骨)是人體中最長和最堅固的骨骼。一些專家甚至提出假設:股骨比一塊相同重量的鋼鐵更堅固。而全身最短的骨頭是鐙骨(中耳的骨頭)。
  5. 牙齒雖然仍然被視為是骨骼系統的一部分,但它們不是骨頭。骨頭和牙齒有很多共同點:它們都是堅硬的、白色的、並且含有鈣,但這兩者還是有一些區別。牙齒沒有骨骼組織的再生能力,在破裂時無法自行癒合。另一方面,骨骼有一個細胞網絡可以治癒裂縫,讓骨骼更堅固。
  6. 膠原蛋白是存在骨骼中的一種蛋白質,可以幫助它們承受壓力和張力。膠原蛋白也是皮膚中的重要蛋白質,它給予皮膚彈性,並幫助骨骼吸收衝擊。
  7. 雖然牙齒缺乏膠原蛋白,但仍然比骨骼強壯。牙齒是身體最堅硬的部分,主要由稱為齒質的蛋白質所製成。齒質完全被堅硬的琺瑯質覆蓋著,這種琺瑯質使牙齒非常堅固。
  8. 在動物界中,骨骼是很少見的。近97%的動物是無脊椎動物,這意味著它們沒有脊柱。人類反而是動物界中的少數,而由於我們的脊柱和其上的關節,使得我們可以直立行走。
  9. 在人體206塊骨頭中,共有106塊(過半)的骨頭都在手上和腳上。
  10. 您能夠說話,是得力於一塊非常獨特的骨骼。舌骨主要用途在於維持舌頭的位置。您可以輕輕按壓靠近喉嚨頂部的地方,就能感受到舌骨。舌骨完全被肌肉和食道所包圍,這塊骨頭很特別,因為它是身體中唯一不附著在另一塊骨頭上的骨。
  11. 骨頭被認為是一種器官。總而言之,它們為您的身體提供至少六項基本功能,包括:支撐、移動、保護、生產血球細胞、儲存營養素(主要是鐵、鈣、和鎂)、和生產激素。

正如您所看到的,骨頭不僅僅是僵硬的靜態結構元素,它們提供了許多讓您好好過健康生活所需的功能。現在開始,多關注骨骼剖析,並盡您所能照顧您的骨骼健康。

 

關於作者

Sydney Sprouse是住在奧勒岡州Forest Grove的自由科學作家。她擁有猶他州州立大學人類生物學的學士學位,並曾在那裡擔任研究生和寫作人員。Sydney是科學的終身學習者,她的目標是盡可能有效地翻譯當前的科學研究。她的寫作主題特別偏重於人類生物學、健康學和營養學。

  • *這些內容未經美國食品暨藥物管理局的審閱。本產品不用於診斷、治療、醫治、或預防任何疾病。

 

參考資料

https://medlineplus.gov/ency/anatomyvideos/000104.htm

http://www.nature.com/bonekeyreports/2015/150408/bonekey201529/full/bonekey201529.html

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3152283/

https://askabiologist.asu.edu/bone-anatomy

https://www.healthline.com/health/fun-facts-about-the-skeletal-system#3

http://www.nytimes.com/2005/08/02/science/your-body-is-younger-than-you-think.html

http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2013/03/how-does-your-skeleton-grow

http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00317

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16225203

https://www.livescience.com/33130-why-are-teeth-not-considered-bones.html

http://www.biologicaldiversity.org/species/invertebrates/

Bone Health: Understanding Bone Anatomy

bone health

Bones and your skeletal system are often misunderstood. They do a lot of heavy lifting to support your body and give it shape. But that’s not all. Your bones do much more to make your body healthy and strong. And they’re more alive than you realize. Learning about your bone anatomy is the first step to properly supporting your bone health.

Basic Bone Anatomy

Skeletons can remind us of sickness and death. They often symbolize danger or poison. But your bones are alive and well. And solid bone health starts at the cellular level.

Your skeleton is full of cells—each with a specialized job to do. The cells in your bones create everything from new bone to the blood pumping through your heart. But the main focus here will be on the structural components of your bone anatomy.

There are three types of cells that help maintain bone integrity. Their names tell us important information about their function. It is important to understand how bone cells operate. Knowing how your bones function can explain how braces straighten teeth and how broken bones heal.

Osteoblasts

The builder cells of the bone (osteo = bone; blast = germ, grow). Their name literally means bone growth. Osteoblasts make new bone and rebuild old or broken bones. These cube-shaped cells stack like building blocks. When osteoblasts come together, they secrete a flexible material called osteoid. Blood vessels and nearby bone cells deposit calcium and other mineral salts in the osteoid to make it hard and strong. After the osteoid hardens, those osteoblasts are stuck and they transform into another type of bone cell—osteocytes.

Osteocytes

Mature bone cells (osteo = bone, cyte = cell). They come from osteoblasts that have stopped making new bone. Osteocytes grow long branching arms that connect them to neighboring osteocytes. Through these connections they can exchange minerals and communicate through cell-signaling pathways. Osteocytes monitor the bone and detect mechanical stress. They tell osteoblasts when sections of bone need reinforcement.

Osteoclasts

The opposite of osteoblasts. Osteoclasts (osteo = bone, clast = break) break down bone. But this kind of bone breaking isn’t bad. Osteoclasts make room in and on bones for muscles and blood vessels. They also recycle old bone so new, healthy bone can replace it. This keeps bones strong and resistant to mechanical stress. Osteoclasts are large cells outlined with a ruffled border. Their wrinkled exterior grips tightly to bone. These cells secrete hydrochloric acid which strips minerals like calcium and phosphate from the bone. This process is called osteolysis (osteo = bone, lysis = break apart).

It’s a team effort between all these cells to maintain your bone health. Osteoblasts and osteoclasts perform opposite roles but work together to make your bones strong. When a bone is broken, osteoclasts remove the broken pieces and smooth any jagged edges. Osteoblasts add new bone to fill in the gaps.

It is difficult to see bone cells at work. But your teeth work like bones do, and provide a good example.

To straighten crooked teeth, the bones in your jaw are constantly being broken down and repaired. Braces apply pressure to your teeth and jaw. This pressure stimulates osteoclasts to get rid of bone in the wrong place. Then osteoblasts put new bone in the right place. The result is a beautiful smile of straight teeth.

Role of Bones in the Body

You may have heard that without your bones, you’d be a puddle of flesh and blood. And it’s true.

The skeleton provides the framework and support your body needs to stay rigid and upright. Bones serve as attachments for muscle groups. They act as levers and allow for muscle flexing and extension. These important muscle attachments help us to walk, run, sit, and stand.

Your bones also protect your vital organs from harm. They can absorb the impact of injuries and shield the organs underneath them. Think of all the vital organs your rib cage protects. Your skull is a case for your invaluable brain.

And you would be unrecognizable without your bones. While the muscles in your face and neck are responsible for facial expressions, the bones underneath give your face shape. The position of your cheeks, your chin, and nose are all determined by your skeleton.

Advanced Bone Anatomy: Lengthening and Strengthening

You try to avoid stress, pressure, and tension as much as possible. But these three forces compel your bones to grow and develop. Your bone anatomy makes this possible. Mechanical stimulation triggers osteoblasts and osteoclasts to reinforce the bones in your body. This kind of stress is good, it makes bones stronger.

To lengthen, bones need to be pulled on by the muscle groups attached to them. Regions of bone called growth plates are near the ends of the long bones in your body. Growth plates are sections of active bone tissue. When your muscles tug on the ends of long bones, they provide the necessary stress to encourage bone growth. Osteocytes sense the tension in the growth plate and direct osteoblasts to lay down new bone tissue. When this happens too quickly in children, it can lead to a nagging, dull pain. This constant discomfort is often referred to as growing pains.

Bones grow in length, but they also increase in thickness. Exercise thickens bones, making them stronger and harder to break. Athletes have often been recognized for having longer than average leg bones. Longer legs, especially thighs, may be seen in athletes because they constantly apply pressure to their bones from frequent exercise.

Eventually, our bones stop growing in length when growth plates slow down their activity. For women, this occurs around age 16. For men, it’s about age 19. Between ages 25 and 30, most people will reach their peak bone mass. Maintaining bone mass after age 40 is important and part of a healthy lifestyle.

Bone Health Maintenance

The best way to protect your bones is to fortify them with healthy habits. Diet and exercise are two of the best ways to help maintain your bone health.

By far the most valuable mineral to your bones is calcium. When calcium stores are lacking, your body pulls it from your bones to use elsewhere. To safeguard your bones, eat a diet rich in calcium.

This essential mineral is found in milk, yogurt, and cheese, but also in green leafy vegetables and soft-bone fish. Some foods make it difficult for your body to absorb calcium. Soda and carbonated beverages decrease the amount of calcium absorbed by the intestines. Evaluate your diet and see if you can include more calcium. When in doubt, taking a multi-mineral or other supplement with a calcium component is always a great idea.*

Another critical component to your bone health is magnesium. Besides being one of the minerals in found in bone, magnesium stimulates the thyroid to secrete calcitonin. Calcitonin is a hormone that helps preserve bone strength by channeling calcium from your bloodstream to your bones. Not only does magnesium help strengthen your bones, but this key mineral can help maintain healthy muscle function.*

Vitamin D is also a critical player in bone health. Vitamin D allows our bodies to absorb the calcium in our diets. Your body can make its own vitamin D when skin is exposed to the sun. And some foods and dairy products are fortified with vitamin D. They can help you get what your body needs. But those still falling short should consider taking a supplement with vitamin D.*

bone health

Bone Health Throughout the Lifespan

Bones provide your body with strength and mobility throughout your whole life. Maintaining these important organs will keep your bones working for years to come. Even though bones stop growing in length before age 20, cells are actively repairing and replacing themselves every day.

Bone cells regenerate at a pretty remarkable rate. It’s a myth that you only get one skeleton during your lifetime. In fact, your skeleton completely replaces itself every two to 12 years—depending on your age. It turns over more quickly when you are young, and slows as you age. Without this regeneration, bones weakened by prior fracture or constant mechanical stress would never fully mend. Instead these regions grow to be stronger than ever.

This constant regeneration and turnover should give you hope. Every day is a new opportunity to help out your skeleton. So it’s never too late to develop habits of diet and exercise that will strengthen and protect your bone health.

More Bone Fun Facts

Learn these 11 bone anatomy facts and share them the next time someone tells you that skeletons are spooky. It will remind them that bones aren’t scary—they’re awesome.

  1. Your bones are vascular. This means blood vessels run to your bones and deliver oxygen and nutrients to bone tissue. Nutrients are brought to your bones in the bloodstream. They are necessary for making bones hard and strong.
  2. The number of bones in your body actually decreases as you age. Newborn babies have close to 270 bones in their tiny skeletons. As they mature, smaller bones fuse together to form more complex shapes. The human skull is made up of 22 bones that fuse together as we grow. By adulthood, humans have only 206 bones in their bodies.
  3. Red blood cells are constantly circulating in the bloodstream. However, their origins are less well known. Bone marrow, the thick substance at the center of bones, produces red blood cells. There are two types of bone marrow—red and yellow. Red bone marrow forms red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets. Yellow bone marrow can be converted into red bone marrow in the case of severe blood loss.
  4. The femur (thigh bone) is the longest and strongest bone in your body. Some experts have hypothesized that the femur is stronger than a piece of steel of the same weight. The shortest bone is the stapes (bone of the middle ear).
  5. While still considered part of the skeletal system, teeth are not bones. Bones and teeth have a lot in common. They are both hard, white, and packed with calcium, but there are a few differences that distinguish the two. Teeth do not have the regenerative powers of bone tissue. Teeth are unable to heal themselves when broken. Bones, on the other hand, have a network of cells at their disposal designed to heal cracks and make them stronger.
  6. Collagen is a protein found in bones that helps them withstand tension and pressure. Collagen is also an important protein in your skin. It gives skin elasticity and helps your bones absorb shock.
  7. Even though they lack collagen, teeth still manage to be stronger than bone. Teeth are the hardest part of the body and are made primarily of a protein called dentine. Dentine is covered completely by hard tooth enamel, and it is this enamel that makes teeth so strong.
  8. In the animal kingdom, skeletons are quite rare. Close to 97 percent of all animal life is invertebrate. That means they lack a spinal column. Humans are in the minority. It is our spinal column and the joints attached to it that allow us to walk upright.
  9. Of the 206 bones in your body, 106 (more than half) are found in your hands and feet.
  10. If you can speak, you owe a lot to a very unique bone. The hyoid bone is responsible for holding your tongue in place. You can feel your hyoid bone by gently pressing near the top of your throat. The hyoid bone is completely surrounded by muscle and the esophagus. This bone is special because it is the only bone in the body not attached to another bone.
  11. Bones are considered organs. Taken together they provide no fewer than six essential functions to your body. These include: support, movement, protection, blood-cell production, nutrient storage (mostly iron, calcium, and magnesium), and hormone production.

As you can see, bones are much more than stiff, static structural elements. They provide many functions you need to live a healthy life. Start thinking more about bone anatomy and doing everything you can to look after your bone health.

  • *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

 

About the Author

Sydney Sprouse is a freelance science writer based out of Forest Grove, Oregon. She holds a bachelor of science in human biology from Utah State University, where she worked as an undergraduate researcher and writing fellow. Sydney is a lifelong student of science and makes it her goal to translate current scientific research as effectively as possible. She writes with particular interest in human biology, health, and nutrition.

 

https://medlineplus.gov/ency/anatomyvideos/000104.htm

http://www.nature.com/bonekeyreports/2015/150408/bonekey201529/full/bonekey201529.html

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3152283/

https://askabiologist.asu.edu/bone-anatomy

https://www.healthline.com/health/fun-facts-about-the-skeletal-system#3

http://www.nytimes.com/2005/08/02/science/your-body-is-younger-than-you-think.html

http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2013/03/how-does-your-skeleton-grow

http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00317

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16225203

https://www.livescience.com/33130-why-are-teeth-not-considered-bones.html

http://www.biologicaldiversity.org/species/invertebrates/