护肤科学

要了解皮肤的科学和适当的护理方式,最好的方法就是全面性地理解皮肤的解剖学和生理学。学习关于皮肤的结构和功能,以及其重要的蛋白质,您就可以更好、更明智地决定如何照顾您的皮肤。

皮肤的分层

皮肤是由三层结缔组织所组成。表皮、真皮、和皮下组织加入细胞连接处,结合而成为身体最大的器官。

皮肤的每一层在维持体内均衡方面都有其独特的作用。皮肤能调节体温、保护娇弱的内脏、抵抗病原体和微生物。

有关皮肤各个分层、它们的结构和功能的进一步信息,请参阅

《一层又一层:了解皮肤结构》

湿度

保湿对于健康、充满活力的皮肤至关重要。干燥的皮肤会导致粗糙和不平整的外观,而当皮肤龟裂和有缺口时,就容易受伤。《International Wound Journal》(国际创伤期刊)最近发表的一份研究报告,强调了每天使肌肤保持湿润的重要性。老人福利中心的患者在每天两次进行保湿皮肤的步骤后,发生皮肤撕裂伤的比例显著降低了近50%。

如果保湿霜含有能模拟皮肤所产生天然油脂的成份,则被用在干性皮肤上最为有效。这种相似性使保湿霜和皮肤密切结合,这类保湿霜能将水分留在皮肤中,促进健康的保湿作用。植物油在为干性皮肤保湿方面特别有效。

胶原蛋白与弹性蛋白

您的皮肤是由纤维和蛋白质的复杂网络组成,这些成份可以强化并巩固皮肤的结构。胶原蛋白和弹性蛋白是其中两种整合性蛋白质。

胶原蛋白给予皮肤令人难以置信的力量。皮肤胶原蛋白的生成会随着年龄的增长而减少。这种减少会导致明显的老化迹象-松弛而黯沉的皮肤、皱纹和细纹。胶原蛋白以几种形式存在于皮肤中,每种都有独特的功能。

在真皮-表皮连接处(DEJ),胶原蛋白为其他皮肤细胞形成结构框架;胶原蛋白也在保持DEJ的结构稳定性方面发挥作用。起皱纹的皮肤在DEJ处所含的胶原蛋白非常少,而这个区域的稳定性不足,也会导致更多的皱纹。

弹性蛋白是皮肤基质中的另一种重要蛋白质。它会让皮肤回弹和复原。弹性蛋白的生产会随时间而减少,这将导致皮肤松垂。

弹性蛋白随着年龄的增长而自然下降,阳光对这种蛋白质的伤害才是导致皮肤松垂的最大原因。暴露在紫外线中会导致弹性蛋白硬化和卷曲,因而使其反弹力受到抑制。长时间的光损伤会导致弹性蛋白质失去弹性,无法再支撑皮肤的结构。

帮助减少老化外观的护肤霜通常含有会刺激胶原蛋白和/或弹性蛋白的成份。这些产品的作用是尽可能减少因老化和阳光所造成的损伤,以消除可见的老化迹象,如皱纹和细纹。要有效减少皱纹和细纹,最好将这些护肤霜搭配防晒霜使用。

皮肤与老化

您的皮肤不可避免地会随着年龄而改变,适当的护肤可以减少许多明显的老化迹象。常见的皮肤老化原因有两种-内在和外在的老化。有效的护肤方案会针对这两种老化迹象进行改善。

造成皮肤老化的内在因素包括个体遗传背景的变化。外在因素一般是指身体以外的因素,包括吸烟、阳光曝晒、和营养不良。一般认为,80%的脸部过早老化都是因为晒伤所造成的。引起皮肤过早老化的外在因素在很大程度上是可以预防的。

减少老化皮肤外观的最有效的方法之一,是在饮食中加入抗氧化剂。浆果、茶树油、绿茶、和葡萄籽萃取物是一些效果显著的抗氧化剂,在您的饮食和护肤产品中都含有这些。抗氧化剂可以抵御阳光对皮肤细胞的损害,并增进健康的细胞功能。抗氧化剂不仅对您的皮肤很重要,而且还有助于维护健康的大脑和身体。

结论

了解背后的作用原理,可以帮助您明智地选择护肤品。选择好的保湿霜,尽量减少对皮肤胶原蛋白和弹性蛋白造成的伤害,可以改善皮肤的健康状况并尽可能减少明显的老化迹象。此外,消除您日常生活中的外在老化因素,可以改善肤质,让皮肤看起来感觉更健康强壮。

The Science of Skincare

skincare

The science of your skin and its proper care can be best understood through a comprehensive view of its anatomy and physiology. Learn about the structure and function of your skin and its important proteins so you can make better, more informed decisions on how to care for your skin.

Layers of the Skin

Your skin is a composite of three layers of connective tissue. The epidermis, dermis, and hypodermis join at cellular junctions to create the largest organ of your body.

Each layer of your skin has a unique role in maintaining homeostasis—your body’s state of equilibrium. The skin regulates internal body temperature, protects delicate internal organs, and defends against pathogens and microbes.

For more information on the individual layers of your skin, their structure and function, see

Layer by Layer: Understanding Your Skin’s Structure.

Moisture

skincare

Water retention is essential for healthy, vibrant skin. Dry skin can lead to a rough and bumpy appearance, and can cause injury when your skin cracks and breaks. A recent study published in the International Wound Journal highlights the importance of moisturizing skin daily. Moisturizing skin twice daily was shown to reduce the incidence of skin tears by nearly 50 percent in elderly patients living in an assisted living facility.

Moisturizers are most effective on dry skin when their ingredients reflect the natural oils produced by your skin. This similarity makes for a seamless integration of the moisturizer and your skin. These kinds of moisturizers trap water in your skin and promote healthy hydration. Plant-derived oils are particularly effective at moisturizing dry skin.

Collagen and Elastin

Your skin is made of a complex network of fibers and proteins that strengthen and reinforce its structure. Collagen and elastin are two of these integral proteins.

Collagen gives your skin incredible strength. Collagen production in the skin decreases as you age. This decrease can lead to the visible signs of aging—flat and dull skin, wrinkles, and fine lines. Several types of collagen proteins reside in your skin, and each performs a unique function.

At the dermal-epidermal junction (DEJ), collagen creates a structural framework for other skin cells. Collagen also plays a role in maintaining structural stability at the DEJ. Wrinkled skin contains much less collagen at the DEJ and the lack of stability of the area can lead to more wrinkles.

Elastin is another important protein in the skin matrix. It gives skin its bounce and resilience. Decrease in elastin production over time causes sagging skin.

While elastin naturally decreases with age, photo damage to this protein is the best understood cause of sagging skin. UV exposure causes elastin proteins to stiffen and coil, inhibiting their ability to bounce back into shape. Photo damage over long periods of time causes elastin proteins to lose their elasticity, keeping them from supporting the structure of your skin.

Skin creams and treatments that help minimize the appearance of aging usually contain ingredients designed to stimulate collagen and/or elastin synthesis. These products work to minimize damage done by age and the sun to reverse visible signs of aging like wrinkles and fine lines. To effectively minimize the look of wrinkles and fine lines, combine a regimen of these skin creams and sunscreen.

Skin and Aging

skincare

Inevitably, your skin will change as you age. Many of the visible signs of aging can be minimized by proper skincare. There are two well-established causes of visible skin aging—intrinsic and extrinsic aging. Effective skincare regimens target the signs of both types of aging.

Intrinsic factors governing skin aging include variations in an individual’s genetic background. Extrinsic aging refers generally to factors that originate outside your body. These include smoking, sun exposure, and poor nutrition. Sunburn is thought to account for nearly 80 percent of premature facial aging. The extrinsic factors that cause premature skin aging are largely preventable.

One of the most effective methods of minimizing the appearance of aging skin is including antioxidants in your diet. Berries, tea-tree oil, green tea, and grape-seed extract are some notable antioxidants that can be found in your diet and skincare products. Antioxidants fight off the damage caused to skin cells from the sun, and promote healthy cell function. Antioxidants are not only important for your skin, but they help maintain a healthy brain and body, too.

Summary

Understanding what goes on behind the scenes can help you make smart decisions about your skincare. Choosing a good moisturizer and trying to reduce damage done to the collagen and elastin in your skin can improve the health of your skin and minimize visible signs of aging. In addition, eliminating extrinsic aging factors from your daily life can be the extra boost your skin needs to look and feel healthy and strong.