細胞訊號傳輸:細胞如何相互溝通

cell signaling

每天的每一分鐘,身體都在完成複雜的任務。不論是維持體溫或是讓您的手遠離火爐,您的數兆個細胞都在進行所有需要的溝通,來幫助您運作。這種有效且高效率的溝通形式,就是所謂的細胞訊號傳輸過程。

傳送和接收這些資訊所需的網絡很複雜。這是由一支信使分子軍隊組成,跨細胞和在細胞之間傳輸訊號(傳訊分子)。它們尋找接收訊號的目標(受體),最後,信使和受體相互作用,使細胞產生了最終的結果(細胞對原始訊號做出回應)。

細胞訊號傳輸分子有多種形式。有時訊號傳輸發生在細胞本身的內部。其他情況則是細胞傳送訊息給鄰近或其他距離較遠的細胞。這些訊號可以是:

  • 化合物(例如:營養素和毒素)
  • 電脈衝(例如:誘導沿著神經的電信號的神經遞質)
  • 機械性刺激(例如:胃撐開表示您吃飽了)

化學訊號傳輸

化學信號傳輸方法一般有四種。它們是以每個訊號在傳送和接收細胞之間行進的距離分類的。

  1. 自分泌傳訊:當細胞傳送訊號給自己時,它們是這麼做的。在自分泌傳訊中,細胞釋放一個化學訊號跟它自己表面的受體結合。這種方法看起來可能有點奇怪,但自分泌傳訊有其重要性。它幫助細胞保持完整性並正確地分裂。這在發育過程中相當重要,有助於細胞強化它們的特性。
  2. 旁分泌傳訊:這發生在跨越短距離的兩個細胞之間。此種溝通方式讓細胞與其近鄰彼此協調運轉和作用。有一個例子稱為突觸傳訊,那是在兩個神經元之間的微小間隙間發生訊號傳輸。這個間隙又稱為突觸,您也可以稱之為神經遞質。它們把訊息從神經元傳到神經元,來幫助我們的大腦和中樞神經系統協同運作。
  3. 內分泌傳訊:要跨越長距離傳送訊息,細胞就會用這種方法。內分泌訊號經由血流行進到標靶組織和細胞;而源自身體的一部分並經由血流行進到其標靶的訊號,就稱為激素。生長激素(GH)就是一個很好的例子。腦垂腺釋放這種激素,來刺激細胞、軟骨、和骨骼的生長。在這個內分泌傳訊的例子中,生長激素離開腦垂腺並經由血流行進到全身的細胞,然後這些激素指示您的骨骼和軟骨細胞進行分裂,以幫助您長得更高更壯。
  4. 直接接觸傳訊:隙型連結(連接鄰近細胞的微小通道)存在於植物和動物之中。這些隙型連結充滿了水,讓小的傳訊分子可以穿越通道,這就是直接接觸的細胞訊號傳輸。它讓整群細胞對僅由一個細胞接收到的訊號做出回應。

電氣性和機械性訊號傳輸

化學訊號傳輸並不是您身體唯一的溝通形式。許多細胞對電氣性或機械性訊號也有反應。其中兩個眾所周知的例子就是調節心跳(電氣性)或運動(機械性)後的傳訊使肌肉生長。

心臟由四個空腔組成。兩個供應血液到肺部,而其他兩個則輸送血液到身體其餘部分。如此分工表示心臟不會同時一起跳動。心跳不像在彎二頭肌那樣,而比較像一波一波的海浪。這種界線非常分明的跳動模式,是通過電訊號啟動和同步進行的。

肌細胞中的機械性訊號(想像實體形狀的改變)能促進它們的生長和強度增加。當肌細胞被拉伸(或變形或受損)時,鈣離子就會流入肌細胞。這種鈣離子的融入就是媒介,把機械性訊號轉變成化學訊號。鈣離子的存在表示肌肉內部有許多細胞訊號傳輸路徑,包括負責肌肉生長的激素。

您的兩個感官—觸覺和聽覺是機械性訊號的其他例子。您的皮膚感覺細胞回應觸摸的壓力,內耳和大腦中的感覺細胞則對聲波的傳動產生反應。

無論是化學、電氣性、或機械性,這些過程都有一個相似的目標。人體發展了許多機制來感知、反應、和適應內在和外在的環境。

細胞如何識別和回應訊號

稱為受體的大蛋白幫助細胞識別傳給它們的訊號。受體可以位於細胞的內部和外部,或錨定在細胞膜上。當特定分子與其特定受體結合時,就發生訊號傳輸。您看,這是非常具體的過程,就像鎖和鑰匙的工作方式一樣。

受體有兩類:即細胞內受體和細胞表面受體。位置很重要,所以您大概可以猜到它們是如何取名的。

細胞內受體位於細胞內部。訊號分子必須穿過細胞膜中的孔,才能到達這類的受體並引起反應。

細胞表面受體較容易觸及。這些受體蛋白嵌入在細胞膜內。它們在細胞外部與訊號分子相結合,但最終卻將在內部傳遞訊息。

訊號是在細胞內部或外部接收並不重要。一旦訊號分子被正確結合到正確的受體蛋白時,它就會在細胞內部啟動細胞訊號傳輸。

這些細胞內訊號傳輸路徑會將訊息放大,為每個結合的受體產生多個細胞內訊號。放大的訊號隨後傳播到整個細胞並引發回應。這不是一次只發生一個,細胞能同時接收並回應多個訊號。

細胞訊號傳輸對維持健康的作用

細胞訊號傳輸的目的是回應和適應您的內部和外部環境。由於它們有助於您身體的調整,所以正常運作的細胞訊號傳輸路徑對維持和增進健康相當重要。因此當細胞訊號傳輸路徑運作良好時,您身體就能順利運行。

而內部和外部環境都會影響您的細胞,那是因為您的細胞其實只是化學反應的「容器」,它們需要具體條件才會有所反應。

這包括適當的溫度、pH值、和能量狀態,您的細胞需要感知到這些條件。如果這三個因素中的任何一個,發生了超過其所能允許的非常小範圍的變化,那麼所有的生物化學作用都會停止。那時就會發生嚴重問題。

例如,我們的正常體溫是37°C(98.6°F)。只要有僅僅+/- 3°C(+/- 5°F)的變化就可以危及生命。體溫最低可以設定在35°C(95°F)。如果我們的體溫因為脫水、接觸到極端熱度、或發燒而升高到僅僅40°C(104 °F),同樣會發生危及生命的情況。

您身體的pH值也同樣受到嚴格限制。我們的正常pH值是7.4,如果低於6.8或高於7.8,隨即會發生不可逆的細胞損傷。

您需要大量的能量來讓身體運行,這就是為什麼能量的調節很重要。就像上面提到的溫度和pH值一樣,您的身體會非常嚴格地調節它的能量平衡。通過細胞訊號傳輸路徑(有一些直接與麩胱甘肽相關),我們的細胞就有能力根據需要而提高或降低能量的產生。如果能量平衡脫離它非常嚴格的正常範圍,細胞功能就會嚴重受損。

排毒是訊號傳輸有助於細胞維護的另一個例子。無論是不經意地從我們的飲食和環境,或是因為飲酒或服用藥物,您都會經常接觸到毒素。通過廣泛的訊號傳輸網絡,當您的細胞接觸到毒素時就可以立刻感知。

一旦辨識到毒素的存在,身體就會立刻啟動一個過程來處理。這個過程從上調適當的細胞訊號傳輸路徑開始,最終將逐步增加您的解毒機制。若不是身體存在著這些天生建立在其DNA的內在機制,那麼我們每一天都將面對毒素挑戰。

身體不斷感知、適應、和校正pH值、體溫、能量狀態、及毒素接觸等變化的能力,這對您的整體健康非常重要。幸好我們有細胞訊號傳輸來應付這一些需要。

 

主要營養素對細胞訊號傳輸的影響

某些情況可以對正常的細胞訊號傳輸產生負面影響,包括不健康的飲食、缺乏運動、環境因素、接觸毒素、和正常的老化過程。然而,最近的研究顯示,健康的生活方式以及許多維生素、礦物質、和植物營養素,可以一同支援細胞訊號傳輸路徑。

細胞利用幾種維生素和礦物質來有效地溝通。維生素D、鈉、鉀、鎂、和其他幾種元素在細胞訊號傳輸中扮演著重要的角色。身體需要保持這些關鍵營養素的健康平衡,以便細胞持續正常溝通。

某些維生素和礦物質甚至直接參與細胞訊號傳輸,它們可以啟動細胞訊號傳輸或作為訊號傳輸媒介。通常它們也是受體正常作用所需要的,或者幫助那些已經被細胞訊號傳輸「開啟」的酶的正常功能。

最近的研究更顯示,植物中的某些營養素(植物營養素)也對細胞訊號傳輸具有直接的有益影響。以下列舉其中幾個例子:

  • 巧克力和葡萄籽所含的表兒茶素已證實可支援心血管健康
  • 綠花菜所含的蘿蔔硫素和綠茶所含的茶多酚均已證實可開啟排毒途徑。
  • 菠菜和其他蔬菜所含的硫辛酸可支援排毒,也有助於保持健康的體重。
  • 薑黃根所含的薑黃素已證實有助於維持平衡而健康的免疫系統

吃含豐富蛋白質和健康脂肪的飲食有助於身體的細胞訊號傳輸路徑。那是因為ω-3脂肪酸和其他健康脂肪,都是維持良好細胞所需的。

包圍每個細胞的細胞膜主要是由稱為磷脂的脂肪所製成,這些物質讓細胞膜得以保持流體狀而不會起皺紋。它們還使分子更容易自由流動穿過細胞膜,這最終有助於細胞的通訊。

談到利用營養來維持健康的細胞通訊,您可以做的最後一件事就是吃能夠抵禦損害的食物。自由基和其他危險形式的氧會侵蝕健康的細胞,並損害DNA、信號傳輸分子、和蛋白質。而一旦受損,它們也就無法作用了。所以服用抗氧化劑可以保護細胞免受這種損害

 

保持溝通的進行

關於細胞訊號傳輸,有很多可討論的。它是一個複雜的生理過程,您的細胞在這過程中可以與自己、鄰近或相離甚遠的其他細胞交談。但是它可拆解為以下這幾個部分:

  • 細胞通過不同訊號傳輸方法(化合物、機械性刺激、和電脈衝)接收訊號。
  • 信號傳輸分子可與在細胞表面或細胞內部的合適受體結合。
  • 這觸發了接收訊號並將其在細胞中放大的一連串活動。
  • 最後,其結果是細胞的某種回應,這顯然取決於所傳送的訊號。

還有,別忘了這個過程的作用細節的重要性,您細胞之間的所有溝通都能讓它們適應其內部和外部的環境。這種感知、回應、和適應的能力,使得細胞訊號傳輸對維持您的健康極為重要。

希望您稍微瞭解了一些關於細胞訊號傳輸如何發生,以及它為什麼很重要的原因。現在,來幫助您的細胞保持溝通吧!這表示要以健康的生活方式,以及含有豐富維生素、礦物質、植物營養素、抗氧化劑、蛋白質、和健康脂肪的飲食來保護並支持您的細胞。

 

Berridge MJ. Unlocking the secrets of cell signaling. Annu Rev Physiol. 2005;67:1-21.

“Cell Signaling.” Nature News, Nature Publishing Group, 2014, www.nature.com/scitable/topicpage/cell-signaling-14047077. Accessed 19 Sept. 2017.

Cooper, Geoffrey M. “Signaling Molecules and Their Receptors.” The Cell: A Molecular Approach. 2nd edition., U.S. National Library of Medicine, 1 Jan. 1970, www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK9924/.

Ermak G, Davies KJ. Calcium and oxidative stress: from cell signaling to cell death. Mol Immunol. 2002;38(10):713-21.

Eveleth, Rose. “There are 37.2 Trillion Cells in Your Body.” Smithsonian.com, Smithsonian Institution, 24 Oct. 2013, www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/there-are-372-trillion-cells-in-your-body-4941473/. Accessed 20 Sept. 2017.

“Introduction to cell signaling (Article).” Khan Academy, https://khanacademy.org/science/biology/cell-signaling/mechanisms-of-cell-signaling/a/introduction-to-cell-signaling. Accessed 24 Sept. 2017.

Martin GS. Cell signaling and cancer. Cancer Cell. 2003;4(3):167-74.

Mattson MP. Hormesis and disease resistance: activation of cellular stress response pathways. Hum Exp Toxicol. 2008;27(2):155-62.

Von essen MR, Kongsbak M, Schjerling P, Olgaard K, Odum N, Geisler C. Vitamin D controls T cell antigen receptor signaling and activation of human T cells. Nat Immunol. 2010;11(4):344-9.

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here

Cell Signaling: How Your Cells Talk To Each Other

cell signaling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every minute of the day your body completes complex tasks. Whether it’s maintaining body temperature or keeping your hand away from a hot stove, your trillions of cells do all the talking needed to help you function. This effective, efficient form of communication is a process called cell signaling.

The network needed to send and receive these messages is complex. It consists of an army of messenger molecules to spread the signal across and between cells (signaling molecules). They’re seeking targets that receive the initial signal (receptors). And finally, the interaction of messengers and receptors creates a final cellular consequence (the cell responding to the initial signal).

Cell signaling molecules come in multiple forms. Sometimes the signaling happens within the cell itself. In other cases, cells send messages to neighbors or other cells a great distance away. These signals can be:

  • Chemical compounds (example: nutrients and toxins)
  • Electrical impulses (example: neurotransmitters inducing electrical signals along nerves)
  • Mechanical stimuli (example: stretching of the stomach to signal you are full)

Chemical Signaling

There are four general methods of chemical signaling. They’re broken down by the distance each signal travels between sending and receiving cells.

  1. Autocrine Signaling: When cells send signals to themselves, this how they do it. In autocrine signaling, the cell releases a chemical signal that binds to a receptor on its own surface. This method may seem strange, but autocrine signaling is important. It helps cells maintain integrity and divide correctly. This is crucial during development and helps cells reinforce their identity.
  2. Paracrine Signaling: This takes place across short distances between two cells. This method of communication allows cells to coordinate movement and activity with their neighbors. An example of this is called synaptic signaling. That’s when signaling occurs across the tiny gap between two neurons. This gap is also known as a synapse. You can also call these neurotransmitters. They send messages from neuron to neuron to help our brain and central nervous system work together.
  3. Endocrine Signaling: To send messages across long distances, cells use this method. Endocrine signals travel through the bloodstream to reach target tissues and cells. Signals that originate in one part of the body and travel to their target through the bloodstream are called hormones. Growth hormone (GH) is a great example. The pituitary gland releases this hormone, which stimulates growth in cells, cartilage, and bones. In this example of endocrine signaling, GH leaves the pituitary gland and travels through the blood stream to the cells throughout the body. The hormone then instructs your bone and cartilage cells to divide, helping you grow taller and stronger.
  4. Direct-Contact Signaling: Gap junctions—tiny channels that connect neighboring cells—are found in plants and animals. These gap junctions are full of water and allow small signaling molecules to travel across the channel. This is cell signaling through direct contact. It allows for entire groups of cells to respond to a signal that only one cell received.

Electrical and Mechanical Signaling

Chemical signaling isn’t your body’s only form of communication. Many cells also respond to electrical or mechanical signals. Two well-known examples of this would be regulating your heart beat (electrical) or signaling muscle growth following exercise (mechanical).

Your heart is composed of four chambers. Two supply blood to the lungs while the other two send blood to the rest of the body. Dividing the work means your heart does not beat all at once. It’s not like flexing a bicep. The heart beats more like a wave moving across the ocean. This very defined beating pattern is initiated and synchronized by electrical signals.

Mechanical signals (think physically changing the shape) in muscle cells can lead to their growth and strength gains. When muscle cells are stretched—otherwise deformed or damaged—calcium ions flood into the muscle cell. This flux of calcium ions is the intermediary, changing the mechanical signal into a chemical one. The presence of calcium ions signals a number of cell signaling pathways inside of the muscle, including hormones responsible for muscle growth.

Two of your senses—touch and hearing—are additional examples of mechanical signaling. Your skin’s sensory cells respond to the pressure of touch. And sensory cells in the inner ear and brain react to the movement of sound waves.

Whether it’s chemical, electrical, or mechanical, these processes share a similar goal. The human body has developed a number of mechanisms to sense, respond, and adapt to your environment—inside and out.

How Cells Recognize and Respond to Signals

Large proteins called receptors help cells recognize signals sent to them. Receptors can be located both inside and outside of the cell or anchored into a cellular membrane. Signaling happens when specific molecules bind to their particular receptors. You see, this is a highly specific process—just like how a lock and key work.

There are two classes of receptors: intracellular and cell-surface receptors. Location is important, so you can probably guess how they got their names.

Intracellular receptors are located inside the cell. Signal molecules must travel through pores in the cell’s membrane to reach this type of receptor and elicit a response.

Cell-surface receptors are easier to get to. These receptor proteins are embedded in the cell’s membrane. They bind with signaling molecules on the outside of the cell, but ultimately relay the message internally.

Whether the signal is received inside or outside of the cell doesn’t matter. Once a signal molecule is properly bound to the correct receptor protein, it initiates cellular signaling inside the cell.

These intracellular signaling pathways amplify the message, producing multiple intracellular signals for every bound receptor. The amplified signal then propagates throughout the cell and elicits a response. This doesn’t just happen one at a time. Cells receive and respond to multiple signals at once.

Cell Signaling’s Role in Maintaining Health

The purpose of cell signaling is to respond and adapt to your internal and external environment. Since they help your body adjust, properly functioning cell-signaling pathways are essential to maintaining and promoting health. So when cell-signaling pathways work well, your body runs smoothly.

And the environment—internally and externally—can impact your cells. That’s because your cells are really just “bags” of chemical reactions. They require specific conditions to make the reactions work.

That includes proper temperature, pH, and energy status. Your cells need to sense these conditions. If any of these three factors changes outside of a very small range of tolerance, all of that biochemistry stops. That’s when serious problems can occur.

For example, our normal body temperature is 37°C (98.6°F). A variance of only +/- 3°C (+/- 5°F) can be life threatening. Hypothermia can set in at 35°C (95°F). If our temperature raises to just 40 °C (104 °F) because of dehydration, exposure to extreme heat, or fever, it is an equally life-threatening situation.

Your body’s pH is similarly tightly regulated. Our normal pH is 7.4. If it falls below 6.8 or raises above 7.8, irreversible cell damage ensues.

You need a tremendous amount of energy to run your body. That’s why regulating energy is important. Just like the temperature and pH examples above, your body tightly regulates its energy balance. Through cell signaling pathways (some directly related to glutathione), our cells have the ability to turn energy production up or down as need. If energy balance falls out of its very tightly regulated normal range, cellular function is critically impaired.

Detoxification is another example of signaling helping with cellular maintenance. You’re constantly exposed to toxins, either inadvertently through our diet and environment or directly through the consumption of alcohol or medications. Through an extensive signaling network, your cells can sense when they are exposed to toxins.

Recognizing the presence of a toxin kicks off a process that deals with it. That starts with upregulating the appropriate cell signaling pathways. This will ultimately ramp up your detoxification mechanisms. If your body didn’t have the inherent mechanism literally built into its DNA, every day would be a challenge.

The body’s ability to constantly sense, adapt, and correct changes in pH, temperature, energy status, and toxin exposure is essential for your overall health. And we have cell signaling to thank for that.

Key Nutrients’ Impact on Cell Signaling

Certain things can negatively affect proper cell signaling. These include an unhealthy diet, a lack of exercise, environmental factors, exposure to toxins, and the normal aging process. However, recent research has shown that living a healthy lifestyle along with a number of vitamins, minerals, and phytonutrients can support cell signaling pathways.

Your cells utilize several vitamins and minerals to effectively communicate. Vitamin D, sodium, potassium, magnesium, and number of others play important roles in cell signaling. Your body needs to maintain a healthy balance of these key nutrients in order for keep communicating properly.

Some vitamins and minerals are even directly involved in cell signaling. They can initiate cell signaling or act as the signaling intermediates. They are also often required for receptors to work properly or to help an enzyme function properly after cell signaling has “turned it on.”

Recent research has also shown that certain nutrients from plants (phytonutrients) also have direct, beneficial effects on cell signaling. Only a few examples include:

Eating a diet rich in protein and healthy fats can help your body’s cell-signaling pathways. That’s because omega-3 fatty acids and other healthy fats are needed to maintain the shape of your cells.

The membrane surrounding each of your cells is made primarily of fats called phospholipids. These allow the membrane to remain fluid and not ridged. They also facilitate the free flow of molecules across the cellular membrane, which ultimately helps with cellular communication.

The last thing you can do to maintain healthy cellular communication through nutrition is eating foods that protect against damage. Free radicals and other dangerous forms of oxygen erode healthy cells and damage DNA, signaling molecules, and proteins. And once damaged, they aren’t going to work as well. So taking in antioxidants can defend your cells from such damage.

Keep the Conversation Going

That’s a lot of talk about cell signaling. It’s a complex process where your cells can talk to themselves, their neighbors, or other cells far away. But it breaks down into these parts:

  • Your cells receive signals through various signaling methods (chemical compounds, mechanical stimuli, and electrical impulses).
  • Signaling molecules join the appropriate receptor either on a cell or inside it.
  • This triggers a chain of events that incorporates the signal and amplifies it in the cell.
  • Finally, the result is a cellular consequence of some sort—which obviously depends on the signal sent.

And don’t lose the importance of this process in the details of how it works. All that talking amongst your cells allows them to adapt to their internal and external environment. This ability to sense, respond, and adapt makes cell signaling essential to maintaining your health.

Hopefully you understand a little bit about how cell signaling happens and why it’s important. Now help your cells keep the conversation going. That means protecting and supporting your cells with a healthy lifestyle and a diet rich in vitamins, minerals, phytonutrients, antioxidants, proteins, and healthy fats.

 

Berridge MJ. Unlocking the secrets of cell signaling. Annu Rev Physiol. 2005;67:1-21.

“Cell Signaling.” Nature News, Nature Publishing Group, 2014, www.nature.com/scitable/topicpage/cell-signaling-14047077. Accessed 19 Sept. 2017.

Cooper, Geoffrey M. “Signaling Molecules and Their Receptors.” The Cell: A Molecular Approach. 2nd edition., U.S. National Library of Medicine, 1 Jan. 1970, www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK9924/.

Ermak G, Davies KJ. Calcium and oxidative stress: from cell signaling to cell death. Mol Immunol. 2002;38(10):713-21.

Eveleth, Rose. “There are 37.2 Trillion Cells in Your Body.” Smithsonian.com, Smithsonian Institution, 24 Oct. 2013, www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/there-are-372-trillion-cells-in-your-body-4941473/. Accessed 20 Sept. 2017.

“Introduction to cell signaling (Article).” Khan Academy, https://khanacademy.org/science/biology/cell-signaling/mechanisms-of-cell-signaling/a/introduction-to-cell-signaling. Accessed 24 Sept. 2017.

Martin GS. Cell signaling and cancer. Cancer Cell. 2003;4(3):167-74.

Mattson MP. Hormesis and disease resistance: activation of cellular stress response pathways. Hum Exp Toxicol. 2008;27(2):155-62.

Von essen MR, Kongsbak M, Schjerling P, Olgaard K, Odum N, Geisler C. Vitamin D controls T cell antigen receptor signaling and activation of human T cells. Nat Immunol. 2010;11(4):344-9.

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here