好的电视节目也可能对您的体重不利

电视能带您到世界各地、奇幻的世界、或令人血脉喷张的飞车追逐。但是一旦陷入这样的行为,可能会让您对体重管理的努力半途而废。这是因为看电视和体重的增加有一些有趣的关联。

一项研究发现,每天看电视两小时以上与身体质量指数(BMI)有关—男性和女性的体脂肪都会增加。因此如果您怀疑大肆收看自己喜欢的节目是否会让您变胖,答案可能是肯定的。

这有两个原因—活动和吃东西。

待在电视机前的时间通常表示会牺牲了四处活动的时间。与体力活动相反的久坐行为,促成了体重的增加。所以看电视与体重增加之间的关联是有道理的,但它的影响绝不只是因为沙发的舒适度。

几项研究发现,边吃东西边看电视会增加热量的摄取。在一项研究中,他们发现看电视时间较多者从零食或晚上的大餐中所摄取的热量也较多。研究结果推断,整体上,看电视似乎会使人吃更多零食。

而某些类型的节目则显示比其他类型更糟糕。

康奈尔大学的一项研究,比较了两种类型的媒体节目—动作片和脱口秀,以确定哪一种会怂恿人吃更多零食。结果呢?动作片的观众多吃了98%。

作者将这种差别归因于电影或电视节目的刺激和快感,其持续不断的动作和不同运镜头角度与场景的剪接,分散了您的注意力。以致您没注意到所吃的东西,无意中变成乱吃或暴饮暴食。而屏幕上的动作所导致的焦虑和兴奋感也发挥了作用。

然而,避免看动作片可能还不够。

另一项研究发现了电视上与食物相关的内容也会增加热量的摄取,而在节目中所看到食物种类也会影响食欲。另一项研究显示,如果某个角色在节目现场吃完东西,那么研究参与者会喜欢较甜的零食,观众就是把那些当作甜点来满足自己。

很明显的,电视和媒体通常都对您的腰围有很大的影响。但这并不表示您要对目前当红的黄金电视节目视而不见。

管理电视收看和您的体重是可以同时进行的,关键在于注意适度的饮食并选择健康的点心。只要努力就不会沦为看电视造成体重增加的受害者。

 

Bowman SA. Television-viewing characteristics of adults: correlations to eating practices and overweight and health status. Prev Chronic Dis. 2006 Apr;3(2):A38. Epub 2006 Mar 15.

Mozaffarian, Dariush, M.D., Dr.P.H; Hao, Tao, M.P.H.; Rimm, Eric B., Sc.D.; Willett, Walter C., M.D. Dr.P.H.; Hu, Frank B., M.D., Ph.D. Changes in Diet and Lifestyle and Long-Term Weight Gain in Women and Men. N Engl J Med. 2011 Jun 23; 364(25): 2392–2404.

Tal, Aner PhD; Zuckerman, Scott, MD; Wansink, Brian, PhD. Watch What You Eat:Action-Related Television Content Increases Food Intake. JAMA Intern Med. 2014;174(11):1842-1843. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2014.4098.

Shimizu, Mitsur; Wansink, Brian. Watching food-related television increases caloric intake in restrained eaters. Appetite. Volume 57, Issue 3, December 2011, Pages 661-664.

Zhou, Shuo; Shapiro, Michael A.; Wansink, Brian. The audience eats more if a movie character keeps eating: An unconscious mechanism for media influence on eating behaviors. Appetite. Volume 108, 1 January 2017, Pages 407-415.

Good TV Might be Bad for Your Weight

TV watching and weight gain

Television transports you to foreign lands, fantasy worlds, or into pulse-pounding car chases. But getting sucked into the action may hurt your weight-management efforts. That’s because TV watching and weight gain have some interesting connections.

One study found that two or more hours of television a day ties to high body mass indexes (BMI)—adding fat—in both men and women. So if you’ve ever wondered if binge watching your favorite show is making you gain weight, the answer might be yes.

And there’s two reasons for it—activity and eating.

Time spent in front of the TV often means less time moving around. Sedentary behavior—as opposed to physical activity—contributes to weight gain. So the tie between TV watching and weight gain makes sense. But it goes beyond the comfort of the couch.

Several studies have found that watching TV while eating increases calorie intake. In one study, they found that those watching more television took in more calories from snacks or large evening meals. The findings suggest that television seems to boost snacking overall.

And some types of programming have been shown to be worse than others.

A study from Cornell University compared two types of media—an action movie and a talk show. They wanted to see which encouraged more snacking. The result? Action-movie viewers ate 98 percent more.

The authors attribute this difference to the stimulation and excitement of the movie or TV show. The constant action—and cuts to different camera angles and scenes—distracts you. Not paying attention to the food being eaten translates to mindless snacking or overeating. Anxiety and agitation caused by the action on screen may play a role, too.

Avoiding action scenes might not be enough, though.

Another study found food-related content on television increased calorie intake. And the type of food seen on a show can influence cravings, too. Another study showed that if a character finishes eating in a scene, study participants preferred sweeter snacks—those that mimic dessert—to savory ones.

It’s clear that television—and media in general—can have a big impact on your waistline. But that doesn’t mean you should turn a blind eye to the current golden age of television.

You can manage your DVR and your weight at the same time. The key is moderation, mindful eating, and healthy snack choices. Put in the effort so you don’t fall victim to the trend of TV watching and weigh gain.


Bowman SA. Television-viewing characteristics of adults: correlations to eating practices and overweight and health status. Prev Chronic Dis. 2006 Apr;3(2):A38. Epub 2006 Mar 15.

Mozaffarian, Dariush, M.D., Dr.P.H; Hao, Tao, M.P.H.; Rimm, Eric B., Sc.D.; Willett, Walter C., M.D. Dr.P.H.; Hu, Frank B., M.D., Ph.D. Changes in Diet and Lifestyle and Long-Term Weight Gain in Women and Men. N Engl J Med. 2011 Jun 23; 364(25): 2392–2404.

Tal, Aner PhD; Zuckerman, Scott, MD; Wansink, Brian, PhD. Watch What You Eat:Action-Related Television Content Increases Food Intake. JAMA Intern Med. 2014;174(11):1842-1843. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2014.4098.

Shimizu, Mitsur; Wansink, Brian. Watching food-related television increases caloric intake in restrained eaters. Appetite. Volume 57, Issue 3, December 2011, Pages 661-664.

Zhou, Shuo; Shapiro, Michael A.; Wansink, Brian. The audience eats more if a movie character keeps eating: An unconscious mechanism for media influence on eating behaviors. Appetite. Volume 108, 1 January 2017, Pages 407-415.