吃蟲子:這會是食物金字塔的下一塊嗎?

eating bugs

如果吃蟲子讓您覺得毛骨悚然,那您可能屬於少數族群了。

在地球有超過1,900種可食用昆蟲,所以蟲子其實是晚餐菜單上常見的食物。有二十億人常吃昆蟲;吃昆蟲的習性在非洲、亞洲、和南美洲很常見。在熱帶地區,人們甚至把昆蟲視為當地美食。

所以重組一下您的味蕾,因為昆蟲其實真的很營養,甚至很好吃!請慢用!

吃蟲子是我們人類歷史的一部分

人類吃蟲子的歷史,已經有一萬年。當資源不足時,狩獵採食者吃蟲求生。他們通過觀察動物來了解哪些蟲可食用,這幫助他們避開有毒的昆蟲和蜘蛛。蟲子很快就成為一個常見的營養來源,一直持續到今天。

乍看起來,昆蟲似乎並不算豐盛的一餐;但是,與其他蛋白質來源相比,這些微小的蟲子可沒有看起來那麼簡單。蚱蜢比牛肉含有更高密度的蛋白質。它們有兩方面和牛肉不同:纖維和脂肪。蚱蜢每盎司的脂肪較少,纖維較多

蚱蜢不是唯一值得一提的昆蟲,世界各地的餐桌上還有其他種類的蟲子。

  • 瓢蟲是住在亞馬遜河流域和非洲部分地區的人們最喜歡的點心。它們含有比其他昆蟲更豐富的蛋白質。在將纖維素(植物糖)轉化為可消化的脂肪方面,瓢蟲也是很棒的選擇。
  • 螞蟻雖然體積很小,但他們有很多東西可以供應您的身體。100克紅螞蟻可提供比100克雞蛋(約兩顆水煮蛋)更多的蛋白質—大約是螞蟻為14克,而雞蛋為12克。螞蟻的熱量和碳水化合物含量低,所以他們在低熱量食物選項中,確實是物美價廉。
  • 蟋蟀,蚱蜢、和蝗蟲是人類最常吃的昆蟲,這可能是因為它們很容易被找到並捕獲。很多人說烤蟋蟀的味道像堅果。這些蟲子可以吸取其他一同烹煮食材的味道,最常用來炒菜和煮成咖哩。
  • 椿象是隱藏版的昆蟲美食。據說它們可以為您的食物添加蘋果味,並且是碘的豐富來源
  • 蜜蜂已經是深受眾人喜愛的蜂蜜的來源,但是蜜蜂本身也是可以吃的。非洲,亞洲、澳洲和墨西哥各地的原住民會吃蜜蜂的幼蟲。蜂卵、幼蟲、或蜂蛹嘗起來像是花生或杏仁。但要特別小心成年蜜蜂,免得被螫傷。

昆蟲是可持續供應的蛋白質來源

目前世界的人口是七十五億。為了供應食物給不斷增長的人口,許多世界領導人正在尋找可持續供應的蛋白質來源。吃蟲子也是一種解決方案。

昆蟲近年來成為頭條新聞,因為它們的養殖成本便宜,且環境的選擇也很簡單。許多人稱蟲子為「生態蛋白質」,因為它們將植物轉化為蛋白質的效率很高。這使得養殖昆蟲比養牛更有效率。

蟲子需要的水比牲畜少,佔用的空間也較更小。100磅的牛飼料能產出10磅牛肉,但同樣數量的飼料卻能產出45磅的蟋蟀。

「生態蛋白質」的支持者也對吃蟲子作為害蟲防治的方法感到興奮。捕獲昆蟲以控制摧毀農作物的害蟲,可能是一種更環保的解決方案,這就是為什麼昆蟲美食正日漸替代農藥的原因。

蛋白質(不論蟲子或非蟲子)對您的健康是很重要的

無論是吃蟲子、牛肉、雞肉、魚、或蔬菜,你的飲食中都必須有優質的蛋白質。蛋白質對身體健康至關重要。大多數人都明白,蛋白質可以增長肌肉,但是它的功能遠不止於此。您的結締組織含有豐富的蛋白質,頭髮、抗體、血液、和酶都需要蛋白質才能正常運作。

膳食蛋白質經常被誤解,因為許多人不了解目前的建議和指導方針。

根據目前的膳食建議,您每日應該有10-35%的熱量是來自蛋白質,有很多方法可以做到這一點。動物肉品是很好的來源,其他像是希臘優格、奶品、豆類、起士、堅果、和蛋類也都是很好的選擇。

而且,您也可以考慮將昆蟲納入蛋白質來源,如果你有勇氣嘗試吃蟲子。

吃蟲子吧,對您真的有好處!

如果您想為飲食尋找更多滋味,蟲子絕對是您的首選。只要選擇正確的蟲子,吃蟲是完全安全的,而且是一種很好的蛋白質來源。你的身體需要蛋白質來保持健康和活躍。

但是,如果您對下一餐開始品嘗蟲子感到緊張,請多想想養殖蟲子對相關的環境所帶來的正面影響吧。您不會孤單的!加入這數十億人,讓昆蟲蛋白質成為健康飲食的一部分。

 

關於作者

Sydney Sprouse是住在奧勒岡州Forest Grove的自由科學作家。她擁有猶他州州立大學人類生物學學士學位,並曾在那裡擔任研究生和寫作人員。Sydney是科學的終身學習者,她的目標是盡可能有效地翻譯當前的科學研究。她的寫作主題特別偏重於人類生物學、健康和營養。

 

參考資料

https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/how-much-protein-do-you-need-every-day-201506188096

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2004/07/0715_040715_tvinsectfood_2.html

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2013/13/130514-edible-insects-entomophagy-science-food-bugs-beetles/

https://foodandnutrition.org/september-october-2013/bugs-new-beef/

https://www.terminix.com/blog/whats-buzzing/eating-bugs-an-environmental-solution

Eating Bugs: The Next Block in the Food Pyramid?

eating bugs

If eating bugs makes your skin crawl, you might be in the minority.

With more than 1,900 species of edible insects on Earth, bugs are a regular item on the dinner menu. Two billion people regularly munch on insects. Entomophagy (the practice of eating bugs) is common in Africa, Asia, and South America. Insects are even considered local delicacies in tropical paradises.

So reprogram your taste buds because insects are actually quite nutritious—and even delicious. Bon appétit!

Eating Bugs is Part of Our Human History

Humans have been eating bugs for ten thousand years. Hunter-gatherers ate bugs to survive when resources were low. They learned which bugs were edible by observing animals. This helped them steer clear of poisonous insects and spiders. Bugs quickly became a regular source of nourishment—one that has persisted to this day.

At first glance, insects do not seem to make a great meal. But when compared to other protein sources, those tiny bugs offer more than meets the eye. Grasshoppers are more densely packed with protein than beef. And they differ from beef in two other categories: fiber and fat. Per ounce, grasshoppers have less fat and more fiber.

Grasshoppers are not the only insects worth mentioning. There are several other bugs on dining tables throughout the world.

  • Beetles are a favorite snack of people living in the Amazon basin and parts of Africa. They are richer in protein than other insects. Beetles are also great at turning cellulose (plant sugars) into digestible fats.
  • Ants are tiny but they have a lot to offer your body. One-hundred grams of red ants provide more protein than 100 grams of egg (about two boiled)—approximately 14 grams for ants to 12 grams for eggs. Ants are low in calories and carbs, so they’re a real bargain for the calorie-conscious.
  • Crickets, grasshoppers, and locusts are the most commonly eaten insects. This could be because they are easy to find and catch. Many people say that roasted crickets taste nutty. These bugs pick up the flavor of whatever they are cooked with and are popular in stir-fries and curries.
  • Stinkbugs are hidden treasures of insect cuisine. They are said to add an apple flavor to your cooking and are a rich source of iodine.
  • Bees are already sources of a crowd favorite—honey. But bees themselves are eaten, too. The indigenous peoples of Africa, Asia, Australia, and Mexico eat bees when they are still young. The egg, larval, or pupal bee brood taste like peanuts or almonds. Watch out for adult bees. They can sting.

Insects Are a Sustainable Protein Source

The current world population is seven and a half billion. To feed their growing populations, many world leaders are looking for sustainable sources of protein. Eating bugs provides a solution.

Insects made headlines in recent years because they’re cheap to grow and easy on the environment. Many call bugs “eco protein” because of their efficiency in converting plants to protein. This makes insect farming more efficient than raising cattle.

Bugs require less water than livestock and take up less space. One-hundred pounds of cattle feed is required to produce 10 pounds of beef. But the same amount of feed yields 45 pounds of cricket.

Fans of “eco protein” are also excited about eating bugs as a method of pest control. Harvesting insects may be a more environmentally conscious solution to controlling the pests that destroy crops. That’s why insect cuisine is gaining traction as an alternative to pesticides.

Protein—Bugs or No Bugs—is Essential for Your Health

Whether you eat bugs, beef, chicken, fish or vegetable sources, quality protein in your diet is a must. Protein is essential to physical fitness. Most people understand that protein builds muscle, but it does much more than that. Your connective tissues are rich in protein. Hair, antibodies, blood, and enzymes all require protein to function properly.

Dietary protein is often misunderstood—with many not understanding the current recommendations and guidelines.

Current dietary recommendations say you should get 10 to 35 percent of your daily calories from protein. There are lots of ways to do that. Animal meat is a good source, but so are Greek yogurt, milk, beans, cheese, nuts, and eggs.

And you can consider insects in that list of protein sources, if you are brave enough to try eating bugs.

Eat a Bug, They’re Good for You

If you’re looking to spice up your diet, look no further than the bugs outside. Eating bugs is perfectly safe—as long as you get the right ones—and it’s an excellent source of protein. Your body needs protein to keep you healthy and active.

But if you’re nervous about trying a bug with your next meal, consider the positive environmental effects associated with bug farming. And you won’t be alone. Join the billions of people who make insect protein a regular part of a healthy diet.

 

About the Author

Sydney Sprouse is a freelance science writer based out of Forest Grove, Oregon. She holds a bachelor of science in human biology from Utah State University, where she worked as an undergraduate researcher and writing fellow. Sydney is a lifelong student of science and makes it her goal to translate current scientific research as effectively as possible. She writes with particular interest in human biology, health, and nutrition.

 

https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/how-much-protein-do-you-need-every-day-201506188096

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2004/07/0715_040715_tvinsectfood_2.html

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2013/13/130514-edible-insects-entomophagy-science-food-bugs-beetles/

https://foodandnutrition.org/september-october-2013/bugs-new-beef/

https://www.terminix.com/blog/whats-buzzing/eating-bugs-an-environmental-solution