好好利用同伴压力来增强健康

人类渴望陪伴和友谊,这就是为什么社会健康是您整体健康的支柱之一。有朋友固然很好而且很重要;但成为一种社交动物也会有不足之处——不仅仅是您必须勉强出席某些应酬所带来的社会压力,同伴压力也可能会引起甚至强化不健康的习惯和行为。

没错,即使年龄增长,同伴压力也不会消失。从您在青少年时期避免交错朋友,一直到成年后找到健康同伴,这种压力与健康之间的关系在您的一生中都非常重要。

研究发现,青少年比成年人更渴望得到同伴的接纳。这些社会压力在青少年身上会产生能够影响决策的强烈情绪。

好消息是,随着年龄的增长,人们通常更有能力处理或拒绝同伴的压力。但是在18到30岁这段期间,这种能力没有太大变化。研究也发现,成人的同伴压力和健康之间有着非常有趣的关联。

一项针对澳洲成年女性的研究发现,健康与同伴压力之间存在密不可分的关系,它显示了社会规范和认同对于饮食与健身有何等的影响。研究结果显示,常与健康人士来往的女性更有可能在饮食和活动中有较健康的行为表现。

社会压力和健康之间的这种关系即使在夫妻这样的小团体中也是真实存在的。研究一致表明,共同做出健康选择的伴侣更容易成功地坚持下去。但结婚也与体重增加有关。

因此,也许成年人的重点不应该是逃避同伴压力。相反地,您应该寻求或营造一种氛围,让积极的同伴压力能对您有益。

这在饮食和运动中可能是最重要的;这两个领域对健康都有广泛的影响。那么,让我们看一下同伴压力与这两个健康领域的关系。首先,我们先看看食物选择方面,然后再讨论身体的运动程度方面。

同伴压力与饮食

您已经知道健康饮食很重要。我们需要包含全谷物、健康脂肪、纤维和大量蛋白质的均衡饮食。但这并不容易做到。

其中一些困难可能源于您周围人的饮食。当其他人正在纵情享受美食时,您要想坚持只吃沙拉就会很困难。人的意志力往往有限。

反之亦然,当您和一群吃得健康的食客在一起时,就会有应该吃同样东西的压力。这就是同伴压力的积极面,而且它不仅仅是直觉或经验而已。

科学证实了健康饮食具有感染力这一事实。利物浦大学一项针对15种研究的分析评论称这些健康的饮食行为会“经由社交而传播”,这是通过向受测者倡导饮食规范来实现的。研究人员建议利用这种积极的同伴压力来改善健康饮食的行为。

您同伴(朋友、家人或同事)的选择基本上都会影响您的选择。如果您和喜欢吃高热量、高脂肪食物的大食客在一起,您的饮食也会跟着不健康。但是,当每个人都在吃沙拉时,群体的行为和同伴压力的力量会使您不太可能点薯条。

您希望成为该团体的一份子,并且看起来跟大家一样。事实上,您甚至不必看到同伴的这些行为。只是简单地以一种标准(健康或不健康)来观察此群体,也许就足以将您推向某个方向。

如何好好利用这个推力?

从思维的转变以及提出问题开始着手,您可能会受到快餐与不健康食品的广告轰炸,这会让您以为这些都是正常人所吃的食物。但是注意一下您周围人所吃的健康食物,就能改变您的看法。甚至问一下您的朋友,他们的日常饮食如何;整体来说,可能会比他们在聚会或餐厅时所吃的更健康。

这种看法的改变可能足以让您朝着选择健康饮食的方向前进,这样您就可以养成并巩固健康的饮食习惯。

但如果这还不够,您可能需要自己带头。这意味着您要在群体中创造一种您希望看见的积极的同伴压力。如果有所选择,您就选择健康食物。如果是轮到您举办晚宴,您可以选择以蔬果为主的餐点。过一阵子,您就可能会看到别人办晚宴时也选择这些健康饮食了。

现在您知道同伴压力如何影响饮食了。请将它用在对您有益的方面,并引导您的同伴们走向健康。

同伴压力如何影响运动

运动是您增进健康的另一个非常重要的步骤。它不但可以影响您的体重和心脏健康,甚至还会影响您的骨骼和关节。

社交压力可以影响您的饮食,同样它也会通过多种方式影响您的健身和运动。

没有人想被群体排除在外。对于脱群的恐惧(简称FOMO)会形成一种强大的力量。它可能在当您其实很想看电视的时候,驱使您去健步走。不断地使用这种积极的同伴压力有助于养成稳固的健康生活习惯。

研究显示,这些趋势从成长初期就会开始,并会一直延续到成年。

一项针对儿童的研究显示,亲密朋友对运动程度的影响最大。另一项针对成年人的研究则发现,夫妻会互相影响彼此的健康程度。所以,无论您的年龄如何,如果与您最亲近的人很活跃,您可能也会变得活跃。

您可以将上述的关于同伴压力与饮食的道理应用于运动和健身中。在很多情况下,“想要改变就从自身做起”是个好建议,这样您就能在朋友群中带进一股健身热潮。但是将同伴压力应用于健身这方面您还有更多选择。

您应该不会看到某个吃得健康的陌生人就坐下来和他一起吃饭,这并不合常理。但是,您可以轻松地加入一个以健身为主的群体。

以下是一些值得探索的点子:

  • 参加工作场所或当地健身房的团体健身课程。
  • 加入运动团体——比如跑步俱乐部、休闲体育联盟或瑜伽工作室。
  • 在网上寻求健身社交的支持。
  • 关注活动、体育和健身方面的社交媒体帐号。

无论您决定追求什么,记得和您的配偶以及最亲密的朋友好好讨论,并邀请他们一起追求。也许他们也在寻找动力;那么您就可以营造一个活跃的氛围,在您需要时给您动力。

将积极的同伴压力应用在整体健康的其它方面

您的整个人生都可以从积极的同伴压力中获益。它可以在整体健康的范围内(精神上、情绪上、智力上和经济上)造成极大的改变。

首先,您要将自己置身于支持您目标的人群中,其中包括那些会催促您,让您在人生各个方面都做到最好的人。您交往的人应该拥有您所想要达到的行为方式。

想要在职场中获得大成就吗?请加入群体并与成就卓越的人交朋友。这就像与健身狂在一起,可以强化您的运动和健身。

与各式各样的人交朋友,并(在现实生活和网络上)创建各种社交网络是利用同伴压力为自己带来益处的关键。现在您知道积极的同伴压力的奥妙,应该充满动力了。

您现在要做的就是采取行动。开始利用社会压力作为推动力,将您推向更健康的生活。不要忘了带上您的朋友一起。

参考文献

https://www.webmd.com/diet/news/20131230/peer-pressure-may-influence-your-food-choices

https://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah/adolescent-development/healthy-relationships/healthy-friendships/peer-pressure/index.html

https://fit.webmd.com/teen/mood/article/peer-pressure

https://www.womenssportsfoundation.org/health/peer-pressure-can-help-kids-exercise-more/

https://articles.extension.org/pages/71199/how-peer-and-parental-influences-affect-meal-choices

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/12/101206201233.htm

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/318837.php

https://www.uwhealth.org/news/dealing-with-peer-pressure-when-youre-an-adult/46604

http://www.mentalhealthcenter.org/how-to-deal-with-peer-pressure-as-an-adult/

Harness the Power of Peer Pressure for Your Health

Humans crave companionship and camaraderie. That’s why social health is one of your pillars of overall health. And friends are great and important. But being a social animal has drawbacks—more than just the social pressure to go to that party you’d rather skip. Peer pressure can create or reinforce unhealthy habits and behaviors.

That’s right. Peer pressure doesn’t stop existing when you get older. The connections it has to health are important throughout your life. It extends from avoiding the wrong crowd as a teen to finding your tribe of healthy friends as an adult.

Studies have found that teens and adolescents crave acceptance from their peers more than adults. These social pressures produce big emotions in teens that can alter decision-making.

The good news is that people generally get better at dealing with or rejecting peer pressure as they age. But the resistance doesn’t change much between 18 and 30. And research is also uncovering interesting connections between adult peer pressure and health.

A study of adult Australian women found strong connections between health and peer pressure. It showed how much of an impact social norms and support can have on diet and exercise. The results suggested that women who are around healthy people were more likely to exhibit healthier behaviors in diet and activity.

These connections between social pressures and health holds true in the smallest group, too—married people. Studies have consistently found partners who make healthy choices together have more success in sticking with them. But being married also correlates with weight gain.

So, maybe the focus for adults shouldn’t be avoiding peer pressure. Instead, you should seek out or create situations where positive peer pressure can work in your favor.

This is probably most important in diet and physical activity—two areas that have wide-ranging impacts on health. So, let’s take a look at two scenarios where peer pressure and health intersect, focusing first on food choices and then on activity levels.

The Why and How of Peer Pressure and Diet

You already know how important it is to eat a healthy diet. The kind that provides a balance of whole grains, healthy fats, fiber, and plenty of protein. But it’s not always easy.

Some of that difficulty could stem from what people are eating around you. It’s much harder to stick to salad when others are indulging in delicious treats. Willpower only goes so far.

But the opposite scenario is also true—when you are around healthy eaters, you feel pressure to do the same. That’s the positive side of peer pressure. And it’s backed up by more than intuition or experience.

Science supports the fact that healthy eating is contagious. One review from the University of Liverpool—which analyzed 15 studies—says these kind of healthy eating behaviors are “transmitted socially.” This was done through the dissemination of eating norms to participants. And the researchers suggest using this positive peer pressure to change behaviors around healthy eating.

Basically, what your peers—friends, family, or coworkers—are choosing impacts what you choose. If you’re around big eaters choosing high-calorie, high-fat foods, your choices may follow suit. But the power of social norms and peer pressure make it less likely you order the fries when everybody gets a salad.

You want to be part of the group and identified as normal. In fact, you don’t even have to see these behaviors from your peers. Simply viewing the social norm in one way—healthy or unhealthy—is likely enough to push you in one direction.

How can you use this to your advantage?

Start by thinking differently and asking questions. You might be bombarded with ads for fast food and unhealthy foods. That can make you think those foods are what normal people eat. Change your perspective by focusing on the healthy options people choose around you. Even ask your friends what their daily diet looks like. It’s probably healthier overall than the choices they might make at a party or restaurant.

This shift in perspective might be enough to nudge you toward the healthy option for dinner. That’s something you can build on to cement healthy habits.

But if that isn’t enough, you may have to flip the switch yourself. That means creating the positive peer pressure you’d like to see in your group of friends. When you have the option, choose healthy. It’s your turn to host the dinner party, so opt for a plant-based meal. After a while you might see these healthy-eating choices reflected back.

Now you know how peer pressure affects diet. Use it to your benefit and steer the social norms of your peer group toward healthy behaviors.

How Activity is Affected by Peer Pressure

Physical activity is another extremely important piece of your health puzzle. The impact of moving your body extends from your weight and heart health to your bones and joints.

And social pressure can shape your exercise and activity in many of the ways it does your diet.

Nobody wants to be left out. The fear of missing out (or FOMO, for those in the know) is a powerful force. It can push you to go hiking when you’d really like to be watching TV instead. And consistently using that positive peer pressure can help solidify a healthy lifestyle.

Research shows these tendencies start early and extend to adulthood.

One study in children showed close friends provide the biggest impact on activity levels. Another in adults found that couples influence each other’s fitness levels. So, no matter your age, if the people closest to you are active, you’re likely to be, too.

You can apply the tips from above about peer pressure and diet to activity and exercise. “Be the change you want to see” is good advice in many cases. So, you can always start a fitness craze in your group of friends. But there are more options when it comes to peer pressure and fitness.

You probably wouldn’t just sit down to dinner with random people you see eating healthy. That’s outside of accepted social norms. But you can more easily surround yourself with a fitness-based community.

Here’s some ideas to explore:

  • Join group fitness classes at work or a local gym.
  • Get involved in an activity-related group—a running club, recreational sports league, or yoga studio.
  • Seek out online fitness communities for support.
  • Follow social media accounts around activities, sports, and fitness.

Whatever you decide to pursue, talk about it with your spouse and closest friends, and invite them along. Maybe they’re looking for a push, too. So, you can help create an active atmosphere that can pick you up when you need it.

Applying Positive Peer Pressure to Other Aspects of Overall Wellbeing

Your whole life can benefit from a boost of positive peer pressure. It can move the needle across the spectrum of holistic health and wellness—mentally, emotionally, intellectually, and financially.

It all starts by surrounding yourself with people who support your goals. That includes people who will push you to be your best in every aspect of your life. You want to be around people who exhibit the behaviors you want to achieve.

Want to achieve great heights in your career? Join groups and make friends with high achievers. It’s just like hanging out with fitness fanatics to boost your activity and exercise.

Making a wide assortment of friends and creating a varied social network (in real life and online) is key to leveraging peer pressure for your benefit. And now that you know the secrets of positive peer pressure, you’re empowered.

All you have to do now is act. Start using the boost of social pressure to push you in the direction of a healthier lifestyle—and take your friends with you, too.

References

https://www.webmd.com/diet/news/20131230/peer-pressure-may-influence-your-food-choices

https://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah/adolescent-development/healthy-relationships/healthy-friendships/peer-pressure/index.html

https://fit.webmd.com/teen/mood/article/peer-pressure

https://www.womenssportsfoundation.org/health/peer-pressure-can-help-kids-exercise-more/

https://articles.extension.org/pages/71199/how-peer-and-parental-influences-affect-meal-choices

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/12/101206201233.htm

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/318837.php

https://www.uwhealth.org/news/dealing-with-peer-pressure-when-youre-an-adult/46604

http://www.mentalhealthcenter.org/how-to-deal-with-peer-pressure-as-an-adult/