晝夜節律帶動您的健康

您可曾想過為什麼有些動物是夜行性的?或者,為何有些人每天至少要睡上九個小時?又或者,為什麼您有個家人每天只睡五小時就能撐一整天?

答案在於您的生理機能。

您知道您的身體自己有一個時鐘嗎?好吧,這只是個比方;不過您的身體確實有它自己的計時方式,稱為您的體內生物時鐘,或者用科學一點的講法,就是您的晝夜節律(circadian rhythms)。

一個運轉良好的時鐘對您的健康極為重要。正因如此,那位發現晝夜節律運作方式的科學家,就在2017年獲得了諾貝爾醫學獎。

一起來了解您的生物時鐘如何影響您各方面的健康。這包括充足睡眠、心理健康、飲食習慣、健康老化、惱人的時差問題、以及全身健康。

晝夜節律的發現

人們日常的例行公事,很自然地依循著太陽的24小時運轉週期。不過,以真正的晝夜節律而言,無論外部環境如何,其週期都必須保持規律。意思是說,即使您拿掉所有外界刺激(例如太陽或您的鬧鐘),您的生理機能仍會依循24小時的週期。事實上,正是一些在完全黑暗的環境所進行的研究,使我們發現了這些晝夜節律的存在。

18、19世紀和20世紀早期的研究人員發現,這些自然週期的發生,其實與陽光無關。他們發現處在完全黑暗中的植物,其行為模式仍然依循著大約24小時的規律。同樣地,處在完全黑暗中的人類和其他動物,仍然保有週期性的睡眠與其他生理上的慣性。

由於這方面的研究不斷取得進展,「一日規律性」(circadian)這個詞在1959年首次被使用,並在1977正式被採納。「Circadian」起源於拉丁文,意思是大約(circa)一天(diem)。晝夜節律(circadian rhythms)的定義是:所有以大約24小時為循環週期的生理機制。

今日相關研究仍在持續進行,對象通常是那些睡眠及清醒時間不規律的人。包括不定時會有疲倦感、或睡眠品質不佳的人,也延伸到那些需要與自身天然的24小時生理時鐘對抗的人,例如輪班工作者和時常出差的商務人士。

晝夜節律會隨著不斷變化的刺激而改變

您的很多生理機制會從開啟到(大部份是)終止作為一個循環,且以24小時為週期,如同您前面所讀,但也不是很精確的對準24小時。各生理機制的週期不盡相同,但在沒有外部刺激的狀況下,它們的週期約是24到25小時左右。

如果沒有陽光或其他因素,您的生理機能也會每天平移約一小時,時差就是這種現象的一個最好的例子。如果您有出遠門旅行過,就會知道這是什麼感覺,通常大概需要一天的時間,才能與當地時區的作息接軌。

有很多外部因素可以影響您的晝夜節律,其中主要的控制因素是太陽的標準日/夜週期。不過其實它可以是幾乎任何種類的光線,自然或人造的都可以。此外,無光環境可以幫助您重置時鐘。

其他一些影響因素也可以幫您同步或破壞您的日常節律,例如睡眠時間點、清醒時間點、飲食、運動、老化和旅行等,都會影響您的生物時鐘。

晝夜節律也與您的年度作息有關

您有沒有想過是什麼驅使熊類在冬眠之前先增加體重?或者,在更私人的層面來看,為什麼您好像會在寒冷季節來臨之前變胖一些?晝夜節律不僅會影響每天的作息,他們也會影響季節性的作息,比如飲食狀況。

您可能會發現其他季節性的循環,比如情緒上和行為上的變化。在寒冷、陰暗而潮濕的天氣裡,您可能會發現自己通常更容易感到疲倦。有些人在溫暖而陽光明媚的季節裡會有较愉快的心情。有一些動物行為,例如遷移、冬眠和繁殖等,也是季節性晝夜節律的好例子。

您的健康取決於您的晝夜節律

許多研究顯示,擾亂日常節律會對健康產生負面影響;保持良好的作息規律(以固定的睡眠、清醒和用餐時間為主軸)能對人體產生正面的影響。

保護您的自然晝夜節律對全人的健康和幸福很重要。舉例來說,晝夜節律可以影響睡眠與清醒的週期、賀爾蒙分泌、消化,並能維持正常的血壓、飢餓感和體溫等。

晝夜節律的紊亂(因輪班、出差、某些形式的失明和許多疾病狀態引起的),會使健康向不利的狀況發展。這包括睡眠障礙、肥胖、心理健康問題和其他慢性病等。

不過,您的生活方式可幫助您保持固定作息。要養成健康生活方式的相關因素有很多,維持固定的作息,進而養成健康的習慣,都有助穩定您的生理節律,並幫助您達到理想的健康狀態。

健康的晝夜節律是一夜好眠的要素

讓我們特別談談晝夜節律所牽動的事情中最重要一環:睡眠。

規律的睡眠週期,對身心都有益處。充足、規律的睡眠能改善注意力和協調性。就身體層面來說,您的身體在睡眠期間會進行大量的定期維修和保養;而睡眠不足會導致體重增加、免疫功能受損,也會提高產生各種健康問題的風險。

由於您的身體有一個運轉中的生物時鐘,它會控制一個基本的狀態,也就是您何時想睡、何時醒來。這些節律能幫助您每天在同一時間入睡,並保持睡眠狀態;它們也可以幫助身體在早上把您喚醒,並啟動生理開關,釋放您日常作息所需的能量。

在白天時,您的身體會抑制褪黑激素的生產,這種東西通常被稱為睡眠激素。到了晚上,當不再有光線刺激您的眼球時,您的身體會開始產生褪黑激素。這種激素會降低人體的警覺性,使您感到昏昏欲睡,並幫助您入睡。晝夜節律則會進一步幫助您保持睡眠狀態,並改變消化速度來減少您在半夜的如廁需求,同時也會降低體溫來減緩新陳代謝。

這也是為什麼大多數的睡眠專家都認同,您應該睡在一個涼爽黑暗的房間裡。

但是午休怎麼辦呢?它們該如何歸入晝夜節律裡?雖然不受褪黑激素影響,但午休仍然適合您的晝夜節律。就像夜晚的睡眠一樣,午睡可以讓您精力充沛、更有專注力。建議採用短暫(少於30分鐘)充電式的午睡,以免因午睡過久而破壞您的正常睡眠週期。

午睡可能不會影響您的晝夜節律。但是某些現代文化和生活方式會讓您與生理時鐘互相抗衡。搭飛機可以讓您快速跨越全球多個時區,但這可能會讓您與生理時鐘不同調,通常我們稱這為「時差」,以下您會讀到更多常見的干擾因素。

晝夜節律紊亂的4種常見因素

1. 藥物和酒精會干擾您的生理時鐘

不論合法或非法藥物,都對中樞神經系統有很強的影響。雖然影響範圍可能是所有類型的晝夜節律,但睡眠是其中最明顯的一種。例如,咖啡因是一種刺激物,可以破壞並延遲正常的睡眠週期。酒類可以做的事情恰好相反,它讓您疲勞;但同時,它也會讓您無法進入深沈而安寧的睡眠。

藥物濫用對晝夜節律特別有危害,即使是單次的濫用,也可能會破壞睡眠週期,導致進一步的濫用和成癮。藥物濫用還會導致長期破壞晝夜節律,這情況即使在您戒除藥癮後仍會持續存在。

任何類型的藥物,包括處方藥,都有可能會破壞節律。但虽然如此,您也不應該自行停止服用您的處方藥,而應該與您的醫生和藥劑師合作,讓他們幫助您確定服藥時機和其他生活方式的變化,以維持您的生理節律和良好健康。

2. 人工照明對您的日常節律並不好

您的眼睛可能不會去注意自然光和人造光的區別,但是您的晝夜節律卻會區分光的類型。根據時機和色彩的不同,人造光可以延長或縮短您自然的生活節律。

波長較短的光線,例如藍光和紫外線,對您的生物週期特別有害,這些波長會抑制褪黑激素的產生。記住,褪黑激素是輔助您睡眠的激素。在家中、電視、手機或電腦螢幕上的燈光,都會對您的褪黑激素產量造成負面影響。

當您每晚準備睡覺時,請試著先關閉您的數位螢幕。另一種作法是,現在許多手機和電腦都有一個「夜間」功能選項,會使螢幕變得較暖和,並減少其藍光的輸出。

3. 值夜班對晝夜節律(和健康)不利

doctor feel tired sleeping on desk of clinic. beautiful mixed race asian chinese woman model. medical and health concept

不幸的是,您對於這種破壞可能沒有太多的主導權。

夜班工作會多方面破壞您的晝夜節律。在您應該熟睡的時間裡,您必須工作;而當您的身體應該醒著時卻必須睡覺,並且您一天24小時都被人造光跟陽光包圍著。

有幾件事可以讓您在值夜班的狀態下,仍能建立一個健康的日常作息:

  • 照表操課。每天都要在相同的時間睡覺、起床。
  • 打造一個黑暗的睡眠環境。使用百葉窗、遮光簾、或想辦法遮蔽陽光晒入窗戶;把毛巾塞在下方門縫裡;盡一切可能讓屋內的感覺像是夜晚。
  • 也許可以補充一點褪黑激素。對於輪班工作者來說,補充褪黑激素可以輔助維持您身體的自然晝夜節律。*

4. 儘量配合當地作息,以對抗時差的影響

如果您曾經跨越好幾個時區旅行,您就會知道時差是什麼感覺。當您需要精力充沛時,它卻讓您感到疲倦;或者害您整晚睡不著覺。航空公司的飛行員、機組人員和經常出差的商務人士,都非常熟悉這些感受。在極端情況下,會造成持續性疲倦,而且會導致長期睡眠不佳。

應對時差的最佳方法之一就是堅持配合當地作息。您可能剛剛飛了10小時,下機準備去睡覺,但當地現在才到中午,那就請您盡可能保持清醒。您可以輕鬆一點過這第一天,但千萬不要去睡覺,要堅持到夜晚來臨。

或者,由於時區變化,您可能已經睡夠了,但當地目前是睡覺時間。如果您往東飛過幾個時區,就很可能遇到這種情況。這種時候,請盡量在您登機當日早點起床,且避免在飛機上睡覺。這將有助於平移您的清醒時段,讓它盡量能配合目的地時區的作息。

在上述任何一種情況下,在您計劃入睡前大約一小時,先補充一點褪黑激素,可以幫助您將晝夜節律調向當地時區*。這將幫助您感到精力充沛,並隨時準備好應付時差。

保持日夜節律

正如您所看到的,您的晝夜節律是極為重要的。但在探討如何實現理想健康時,他們卻被忽略了。您已經看到它們如何影響您的生活,以及您的生活如何影響您的晝夜節律。請盡您所能保護您的自然週期,以幫助您維持健康。

參考資料

Duffy JF, Wright KP (August 2005). “Entrainment of the human circadian system by light”. Journal of Biological Rhythms. 20 (4): 326–38.

Halberg F, Cornélissen G, Katinas G, Syutkina EV, Sothern RB, Zaslavskaya R, Halberg F, Watanabe Y, Schwartzkopff O, Otsuka K, Tarquini R, Frederico P, Siggelova J, et al. (October 2003). “Transdisciplinary unifying implications of circadian findings in the 1950s”. Journal of Circadian Rhythms. 1 (1): 2.

Logan RW, Williams WP, McClung CA (June 2014). “Circadian rhythms and addiction: mechanistic insights and future directions”. Behavioral Neuroscience. 128 (3): 387–412.

Lovato N, Lack L (2010). “The effects of napping on cognitive functioning”. Progress in Brain Research. 185: 155–66.

Milner CE, Cote KA (June 2009). “Benefits of napping in healthy adults: impact of nap length, time of day, age, and experience with napping”. Journal of Sleep Research. 18 (2): 272–81.

Walmsley L, Hanna L, Mouland J, Martial F, West A, Smedley AR, Bechtold DA, Webb AR, Lucas RJ, Brown TM (April 2015). “Colour as a signal for entraining the mammalian circadian clock”. PLoS Biology. 13 (4): e1002127.

https://www.nigms.nih.gov/education/pages/Factsheet_CircadianRhythms.aspx

Czeisler CA, Duffy JF, Shanahan TL, et al. Stability, precision, and near-24-hour period of the human circadian pacemaker. Science. 1999;284(5423):2177-81.

 

*這些內容未經美國食品暨藥物管理局的審閱。本產品不用於診斷、治療、醫治、或預防任何疾病。

Circadian Rhythms Drive Your Health

Ever wonder why some animals are nocturnal? Or why you or a friend has to get at least nine hours of sleep every night? Or why a family member can function perfectly well with just five hours?

The answers lie in your physiology.

Did you know your body has its own internal Rolex? OK, not exactly. But your body does keep time. It’s called your internal biological clock—or scientifically speaking, your circadian rhythms.

A well-running clock is essential for your health. So much so, that the scientists who discovered how circadian rhythms work were awarded the Nobel Prize in medicine in 2017.

Learn how your biological clock affects all aspects of your health. That includes proper sleep, mental health, eating habits, healthy aging, the pesky effects of jet lag, and overall wellbeing.

The Discovery of Circadian Rhythms

It seems natural that daily routines would revolve around the 24-hour daily period of the sun. But, to be a true circadian rhythm, the cycles must persist regardless of external conditions. That means if you remove all external stimuli (like the sun or your alarm clock) your physiology still centers around a 24-hour cycle. In fact, studies conducted in complete darkness prompted the discovery of these rhythms.

Researchers in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th century discovered that these natural cycles occur independent of sunlight. They found plants kept in total darkness still have movements that occur in roughly 24-hour patterns. Also, humans and other animals kept in total darkness, retain cyclical sleep and other biological patterns.

As research in this area continued to progress, the word circadian was first used in 1959 and officially adopted 1977. “Circadian” is of Latin origin meaning around (circa) the day (diem). Circadian rhythms are defined as any one of your physiological processes that occur in cycles of about 24 hours.

Research continues today, usually on those who have irregular sleep-wake patterns. This includes people who get tired at irregular time periods, or who have trouble sleeping. It extends to those who have to fight their natural 24-hour clock. Individuals like shift workers and frequent flyers.

Circadian Rhythms Can Shift With Changing Stimuli

Much of your physiology cycles between on and (mostly) off, in that 24-hour period you just read about. But 24 hours isn’t the hard and fast rule. The length varies between individuals, but devoid of external stimuli, these cycles range from 24 to 25 hours.

Without sunlight or other cues, your physiology will drift about one hour per day. Jet lag is one of the best examples of this phenomenon. If you’ve ever traveled you’ve experienced this. It takes about one day to get back in sync for every time zone you cross.

There are lots of outside influences that can impact your circadian rhythms. The major regulator is the normal day/night cycle of the sun. But it can be almost any kind of light, natural or artificial. Also the lack of light can help reset your clock.

A number of other influences can also help sync or disrupt your natural daily rhythms. Things like sleep time, wake time, eating, exercising, aging and travel all affect your biological clock.

Circadian Rhythms Are Also Responsible for Your Annual Cycles

Have you ever wondered what drives bears to gain weight in preparation for hibernation? Or, on a more personal level, why you may gain a little weight leading up to colder seasons? Circadian rhythms are not limited to only daily routines. They also play a role seasonal patterns, like eating.

Other seasonal rhythms you may experience, are changes in mood and behavior. You may find yourself feeling generally more tired during cold, dark, and wet weather. And some people experience happier moods during warm and sunny seasons. Animal behaviors, like migration, hibernation, and reproduction, are also examples of seasonal circadian rhythms.

Your Health Depends on Your Circadian Rhythms

Many studies have shown that disrupting daily rhythms have negative health consequences. Staying in a consistent daily routine—centered around constant sleep, wake, and meal times—has positive influences.

Guarding your natural circadian rhythms is important for overall health and well-being. Circadian rhythms influence sleep-wake cycles, hormone release, digestion, maintaining normal blood pressure, hunger, and body temperature—to name a few.

Disruptions in circadian rhythms (those caused by shift work, extensive travel, some forms of blindness, and various disease states) have been linked to negative health outcomes. That includes sleep disorders, obesity, mental health issues, and other chronic conditions.

But your lifestyle can help keep your rhythms steady. There are lots of factors that go into a healthy lifestyle. Maintaining a consistent daily routine that focuses on healthy habits can help stabilize rhythms and help you achieve optimal health.

Healthy Circadian Rhythms are Essential for a Good Night’s Sleep

Let’s focus on probably the most important thing circadian rhythms control—sleep.

The benefits of a regular sleep cycle are physical and mental. Sufficient, regular sleep promotes improved concentration and coordination. Physically, your body performs much of its regular repair and maintenance during sleep. Insufficient sleep can result in an increased risk of weight gain, compromised immune function, and more adverse health outcomes.

Since your body has a running biological clock, it controls, at a basic level, when you decide to sleep and stay awake. The rhythms help you fall asleep at the same time each day, and to stay asleep. They also help wake you up in the morning and flip the switch on the energy that powers your daily tasks.

During the day, your body suppresses the production of melatonin—what is often referred to as your sleep hormone. In the evening, when light stops hitting your eyes, you start producing melatonin. This hormone reduces alertness, makes you feel drowsy, and helps you fall asleep. Circadian rhythms further help you stay asleep by altering digestion to reduce bathroom breaks throughout the night. They also slow your metabolism by decreasing your body temperature.

That’s why most sleep experts agree you should sleep in a cool, dark room.

But what about naps? How do they fit into circadian rhythms? While not promoted by melatonin, an afternoon nap can still fit into your circadian rhythms. Like sleep during the night, it can reinvigorate you with energy and increased concentration. Stick to shorter power-naps (less than 30 minutes). Longer naps can disrupt your normal sleep cycle.

Naps might not impact your circadian rhythms. But some aspects of modern culture and lifestyle have you fighting against your internal clock. Airplanes allow you to cross the globe and multiple time zones very rapidly. This can leave you out of sync with your natural cycle. This is commonly called jet lag. You’ll read about more common disruptors below.

4 Common Causes of Circadian Rhythm Disruption

1. Drugs and Alcohol Can Disrupt Your Biological Clock

Drugs, both legal and illegal, have a strong impact on the central nervous system. While this can affect all types of circadian rhythms, sleep is one that is most apparent. For example, caffeine is a stimulant that can disrupt and push back your normal sleep cycle. Alcohol can do the opposite. It promotes drowsiness. But, at the same time, it can prevent you from entering a deep and restful sleep.

Drug abuse is especially harmful to circadian rhythms. Even a single case of abuse disrupts sleep cycles in a way that can lead to further abuse and addiction. Drug abuse can also cause long-term disruptions to circadian rhythms that last after you break the addiction.

These disruptions can be caused by all types of drugs, including prescriptions. You should not stop taking your prescription medication, but you should work with your doctor and pharmacist. They will help you determine medication timing and other lifestyle changes to keep you in rhythm and at your healthiest.

2. Artificial Lighting Negatively Affects Your Daily Rhythms

Your eyes might not mind the difference between natural and artificial light. But your circadian rhythms do differentiate between types of light. Depending on the timing and color, artificial light can increase or decrease your natural, daily rhythm.

Shorter wavelength lights, like blue and ultraviolet, are especially harmful to your biological cycle. These wavelengths inhibit the production of melatonin. Remember, melatonin is your sleep-promotion hormone. Lights in your home, on your television, phone, or computer monitor all can negatively impact your melatonin production.

As you get ready for sleep each night, consider turning off your digital screens. Another option, many phones and computers now include a “Night” setting that makes the screen much warmer colored and reduces its blue-light output.

3. Working Nights is Bad for Circadian Rhythms (and Health)

doctor feel tired sleeping on desk of clinic. beautiful mixed race asian chinese woman model. medical and health concept

Unfortunately, this is one disruption that you might not have as much control over as you would like.

Working night shifts disrupts your circadian rhythms in a number of ways. You have to work when you should be asleep, sleep when your body wants to be awake, and you’re surrounded by either artificial light or sunlight 24 hours a day.

There are a few things that you can do to create a healthy routine around your nighttime work:

  • Stick to a schedule. Wake up and go to sleep at the same time each day.
  • Create a dark sleep environment. Use blinds, blackout curtains, or get creative to block out the sunlight from coming in your windows. Put a towel under the bottom edge of your door. Do whatever it takes to make it feel like night.
  • Consider a melatonin supplement. For shift work, supplementing melatonin can help support your body’s natural circadian rhythms.*

4. Fight to Stay on Local Time to Combat the Effects of Jet Lag

If you have ever flown across several time zones, you know the feeling of jet lag. It can leave you tired when you want have energy, or stuck awake all night long. Airline pilots, flight crews, and frequent fliers are all too familiar with these feelings. With extreme cases leading to constant tiredness that never actual leads to a good night of sleep.

One of the best ways to fight jet lag is to stick with the local schedule. You might have just gotten off a 10-hour flight ready for sleep, but locally it’s only noon. Do your best to stay awake. Feel free to take this first day easy, but don’t go to sleep until it’s actually night.

Alternately, due to the time zone changes, you might arrive feeling rested. But the locals are heading to bed. This is most likely to happen if you’re travelling east a few time zones. In this case, consider waking up early the day of your flight and avoid sleeping on the plane. This will help shift your waking hours closer to your destination.

In either of the cases above, a melatonin supplement about one hour before you plan to sleep can help shift your circadian rhythms towards the local time zone.* This will help you feel energized and ready for whatever your location has in store.

Stay in Rhythm

As you can see, your circadian rhythms are super important. But they are so overlooked when it comes to achieving optimal health. You’ve seen how they can impact your life, and how your life can impact your circadian rhythms. Do what you can to protect your natural cycles to help keep you as healthy as possible.

References

Duffy JF, Wright KP (August 2005). “Entrainment of the human circadian system by light”. Journal of Biological Rhythms. 20 (4): 326–38.

Halberg F, Cornélissen G, Katinas G, Syutkina EV, Sothern RB, Zaslavskaya R, Halberg F, Watanabe Y, Schwartzkopff O, Otsuka K, Tarquini R, Frederico P, Siggelova J, et al. (October 2003). “Transdisciplinary unifying implications of circadian findings in the 1950s”. Journal of Circadian Rhythms. 1 (1): 2.

Logan RW, Williams WP, McClung CA (June 2014). “Circadian rhythms and addiction: mechanistic insights and future directions”. Behavioral Neuroscience. 128 (3): 387–412.

Lovato N, Lack L (2010). “The effects of napping on cognitive functioning”. Progress in Brain Research. 185: 155–66.

Milner CE, Cote KA (June 2009). “Benefits of napping in healthy adults: impact of nap length, time of day, age, and experience with napping”. Journal of Sleep Research. 18 (2): 272–81.

Walmsley L, Hanna L, Mouland J, Martial F, West A, Smedley AR, Bechtold DA, Webb AR, Lucas RJ, Brown TM (April 2015). “Colour as a signal for entraining the mammalian circadian clock”. PLoS Biology. 13 (4): e1002127.

https://www.nigms.nih.gov/education/pages/Factsheet_CircadianRhythms.aspx

Czeisler CA, Duffy JF, Shanahan TL, et al. Stability, precision, and near-24-hour period of the human circadian pacemaker. Science. 1999;284(5423):2177-81.

 

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.