聽起來太完美了嗎?了解一下甜味劑替代品的優缺點

我們不想面對、但必需面對的事實是:糖真的很美味——特別是如果您是喜愛甜食的人。但顯而易見的是,高糖分的飲食對您的健康和體重都有不良影響。甜味劑替代品或糖分替代品在近幾十年中出現,讓人們在享用同等甜度的美味食物時減少了蔗糖的攝取量。但是,實際情況卻非常複雜。

糖分對健康有害的原因之一是它可以快速累積。每克糖含有將近四卡路里。一罐12盎司的碳酸飲料平均含有39克的糖,相當於 156 卡路里!

換言之,您可能並沒有食用大量的高糖分食品,但您卻攝入了大量的卡路里。您攝入了越高的卡路里,您的身體就必須付出更多的努力才能消耗它。如果卡路里沒有被消耗,它們就會轉化為體重。

每克甜味劑替代品通常含有非常低的卡路里。這就是為什麼它們能夠吸引那些希望限制卡路里而卻不願犧牲甜品的人。

幸運的是,您有很多種選擇。

食用糖:葡萄糖和果糖

在我們把話題轉換至替代品之前,讓我們先來談一談一種重要的元素——單糖。它是是目前為止被最廣泛使用的甜味劑。去年它在全世界範圍內消耗了超過1.75億噸。

食用糖(或蔗糖)就是所謂的二糖。它是一種由單一糖分組成的稱為單糖(由單一糖分子組成,而二糖由兩種糖組成)的碳水化合物。 在這種情況下,單糖是葡萄糖(也稱為右旋糖)或果糖。

如上論述,蔗糖在大量食用時並不是最健康的物質。身體將其分解為葡萄糖和果糖。葡萄糖很快就可以被吸收到血液中。這通常會造成能量的快速提高,但對於那些希望保持健康、正常的血糖水平的人來說,這就是一個糟糕的選擇。

但葡萄糖和果糖的主要成分——蔗糖又是怎麼樣的呢?二者都是地球上最豐富的單糖。它們存在於很多水果、蔬菜,甚至是蜂蜜中。二者也都有精緻糖的形式。葡萄糖不具有與蔗糖相同的甜度,因為它不含果糖。果糖可以容易地粘附在口中的甜味受體上。果糖和葡萄糖都含有與糖分相似的卡路里數——每克約四卡路里。

由於葡萄糖能迅速提高血糖水平,這讓它成為了釋放胰島素的觸發原因。胰島素是一種人體製造的荷爾蒙,它能讓碳水化合物中的糖(葡萄糖)進入細胞用作能量。這是葡萄糖被當作血糖指數(GI)測試的參考食物的一個重要原因。GI是專門用來測量一種碳水化合物食物與葡萄糖相比提高血糖水平速度的測試。食用純葡萄糖並不適合大多數人。但是甜味劑比較適合運動員或在健身期間需要快速提供能量的人。

您會發現葡萄糖是一種常見的食品添加劑,因為它容易生產。這是因為它可以從像馬鈴薯和大米之類的澱粉類食物中提取。

同時,果糖比葡萄糖和蔗糖的甜度更高,幾乎是普通食用糖的1.7倍。它是甜度最高的天然糖分。果糖通常存在於水果、蔬菜、果汁中,並且是蜂蜜的組成部分。

正如其它單糖,含果糖較高的飲食可能會導致體重增加和潛在的健康問題。果糖在用作能量之前必需在肝臟中轉化為葡萄糖。所以它不會快速提高血糖水平。因為人體處理果糖的方式與其它糖類不同,所以過量的果糖可能會造成更高水平的甘油三酯和膽固醇,並可能導致肝臟儲存過多的脂肪。

現在,您已經很了解常見的食用糖了,那麼讓我們來了解一些最受歡迎的糖分替代品。

甜葉菊:一種高效的植物

最廣泛使用的甜味劑替代品之一就是從甜葉菊(Stevia rebaudiana)中提取而來的,它是一種原產於南美洲的灌木。甜葉菊的甜度比糖分高100至300倍,卻含有零卡路里。而且它不會提高血糖水平。這對那些希望支持已在正常範圍內的健康血糖水平的人們來說是一個不錯的選擇。

甜葉菊的葉子和提取物被美國食品藥品管理局(FDA)歸類為「膳食補充品」,但尚未被授予「通常視為安全」(GRAS)狀態。然而,萊鮑迪甙(甜葉菊中的一種化學物質)在2008年被授予GRAS狀態並被用作「食品添加劑」和甜味劑。

在甜葉菊的人體試驗中沒有觀察到已知的嚴重不良健康影響。但是有報告顯示出一些常見的副作用,包括腹脹、噁心和餘味苦澀。

木糖醇:最適合口腔保健

木糖醇被稱為糖醇——這是一種存在於很多不同種水果中的碳水化合物。但別讓這個名字蒙蔽您,它不含任何您所熟悉的酒精。

木糖醇的甜度與糖分非常相似,而卡路里比糖分少約40%。它對血糖水平也沒有明顯的影響。

一些研究表明木糖醇可支持牙齒健康,這就是為什麼您會在很多不同種口香糖和口腔護理產品中發現這一成分。木糖醇不會餵食口腔中的細菌,這會幫助您保持良好的口腔健康和衛生。

但是木糖醇存在一些顧慮。它不像糖分那樣在腸道中有效地分解。因此,如果您攝取足夠高劑量的木糖醇就可能會導致腹瀉或腹部疼痛。美國FDA已授予木糖醇GRAS狀態。但它對狗來說毒性很高,所以您家裡如果有寵物狗的話就一定要小心。

赤蘚糖醇:非常美味

另外一種糖醇——赤蘚糖醇,也存在於很多不同種水果中。赤蘚糖醇的甜度大約是糖分的70%,而卡路里卻微乎其微。它每克含0.24卡路里,這一含量是糖分卡路里含量的6%。

赤蘚糖醇作為甜味劑替代品的主要優勢之一是它的口感與糖分及其相近。它可以提供這樣的口感而無需對血糖產生很大的影響。所以,它也為那些希望支持已在正常範圍內的健康血糖水平的人們提供了又一良好的糖分替代品。

人體無法分解赤蘚糖醇,因此攝入的大部分赤蘚糖醇都會原封不動地排泄掉。

工業方法生產出粉末狀的赤蘚糖醇形式供商家使用。它在2001年被授予GRAS狀態。

正如大多數的糖醇,大量攝取赤蘚糖醇會導致腸胃不適。一些研究表明,人體對赤蘚糖醇的耐受度似乎比其它甜味劑替代品更高。

另外兩種糖醇:甘露醇和山梨糖醇

甘露醇是又一種糖醇,它有多種用途,特別是在醫藥領域。它最常見的用途是利尿劑(幫助人體排出鹽分和水分)。而甘露醇除了可用作甜味劑替代品,還有很多其它醫療應用。

甘露醇的卡路里含量大約是糖分的40%,但甜度只有一半左右。這對計算卡路里的人來說不是一個很好的選擇。然而,甘露醇不能快速地吸收到血液中,這對那些注重保持已在正常範圍內的健康血糖水平的人們來說是一個理想的選擇。

而且它不吸濕,這意味著它不會從大氣層中吸收任何水分,除非濕度超過98%。這讓甘露醇可以成為糖果、巧克力口味、乾果和口香糖有效的硬塗層。和其它糖醇一樣,大量攝入可產生腹瀉的影響。

山梨糖醇是一種具有豐富商業和烹飪用途的甜味劑。這一糖醇天然存在於很多種水果中,如梨、蘋果、桃子和李子。山梨糖醇技術上不是人造甜味劑,但作為添加劑,它通常經過高度加工。

山梨糖醇每克約含2.6卡路里,約為糖的65%。像甘露醇一樣,它大約是糖分甜度的一半。因此,對選擇低卡路里飲食的人來說,有其它更好的選擇。與其它糖醇相似的是,山梨糖醇是那些注重支持已在正常範圍內的健康血糖水平的人們的一個良好選擇。因為它不會迅速被身體吸收。

山梨糖醇廣泛使用在生產口香糖、薄荷糖和牙膏之類的無糖產品中。在甜味劑的好處之外,還有一點是它能控制水分含量並發揮防腐效用。山梨醇也不在口中代謝,因此它不會喂食細菌。這是口香糖通常選用它的另一個原因。和其它糖醇一樣,大量攝入可產生腹瀉的影響。

阿斯巴甜:廣受爭議而有效

您可能會看到過阿斯巴甜在市面銷售時被稱為Nutrasweet®或Equal®。不論哪種名稱,這一人造甜味劑多年來一直飽受爭議。網路上充斥著各種傳聞,指責該元素帶來的從脫髮到更嚴重的健康問題等諸多危害。

義大利早期進行的一些研究將阿斯巴甜與老鼠特定類型的健康問題相關聯。但隨後的數據評估對這項研究產生了質疑。目前還沒有任何研究將阿斯巴甜與任何不良健康影響相關聯,美國FDA已授予它GRAS狀態。

阿斯巴甜每克所含卡路里數與普通糖分大致相同,大約每克含四卡路里。但它的甜度比糖分高出200到300倍,這意味著使用很少量的阿斯巴甜即可達到與糖分相同的甜度。

像大多數的低卡路里甜味劑一樣,阿斯巴甜對血糖沒有影響。那些努力保持已在正常範圍內的健康血糖水平的人們已經使用它很多年了。它是地球上最常見的人造甜味劑之一。

值得注意的是,患有稱為苯丙酮尿症(PKU)的罕見遺傳缺陷者應完全避免攝入阿斯巴甜。阿斯巴甜含有氨基酸苯丙氨酸。患有PKU(一種遺傳疾病)的人無法有效地代謝氨基酸苯丙氨酸,所以必須避免攝入。如果血液中的含量過高可能會導致神經、行為和皮膚問題。

使用麥芽糊精獲得甜味?

麥芽糊精是一種由大米、馬鈴薯、小麥和玉米之類的各種澱粉製成的白色粉末。它是一種常見的食品添加劑,通常作為增稠劑以增加某款加工產品的體積或稠度。它很容易生產,您可以在從明膠到醬汁、沙拉醬、粉狀沖泡飲料,甚至是乳液或洗髮水中發現麥芽糊精。它也用作防腐劑。

麥芽糊精通常無味並含有相對少量的糖分。但它仍含有大量的卡路里(每克約含四卡路里)且經過高度加工。麥芽糊精可迅速被血液吸收,這對那些注重保持健康的血糖水平的人們來說是一個糟糕的選擇。

但麥芽糊精是一種可快速消化的碳水化合物。這讓它成為了運動飲料和能量棒中的絕佳成分。它不需要很多水就可以被消化,所以您無需擔心脫水的風險即可攝取有效的卡路里。

雪蓮糖漿:對腸道健康有益

雪蓮糖漿是一種甜味劑替代品,最近成為了廣受歡迎的減重選擇。它提取自雪蓮果植物,也稱為菊薯,原產於南美洲。該糖漿已取得GRAS狀態。

與很多其它甜味劑替代品不同的是,雪蓮糖漿中含有一些果糖、蔗糖和葡萄糖形式的糖分。這些糖分為雪蓮糖漿帶來甜味,其味道和糖蜜相似。它仍然是卡路里含量非常低的甜味劑,每克約含1.3卡路里,大約是糖分所含卡路里的三分之一。

雪蓮糖漿主要由低聚果糖(一種可溶性纖維)構成。這些纖維在食用時不會被消化。相反,它們向下移至大腸,在那裡餵養腸道中的有益菌。許多研究表明擁有健康的腸道菌群對整體健康有積極的作用——包括體重管理和免疫支持。

雪蓮糖漿是一種糖分替代品,無法應對烹飪或烘焙造成的高溫。因此,用它來為煮熟的或生的食物調味即可。

蜂蜜的健康益處是什麼?

人類食用並享受蜂蜜已有幾千年的歷史了。蜂蜜經常被宣傳為優於糖分。但事實是,蜂蜜中仍含有大量的糖分。它以葡萄糖和果糖的形式存在,這意味著過度食用蜂蜜就會帶來與普通食糖相同的問題。

蜂蜜中所含有的這些常見糖分大約占75%,其餘的20%至25%為水及微量的脂肪、纖維和蛋白質。蜂蜜每克含有3.34卡路里,略低於糖分。但它比糖分更稠。這意味著如果您用一湯匙的蜂蜜為咖啡或茶調味,那麼您會比用一湯匙的糖分調味攝入更多的卡路里。

蜂蜜與其它甜味劑的區別是,它含有抗氧化劑,如維生素E。黑蕎麥蜂蜜和其它花卉蜂蜜往往含有最多的抗氧化劑。攝取抗氧化劑很重要。它們可通過對抗體內自由基來幫助您支持整體健康。

您需要做的是不要依賴蜂蜜成為您唯一的抗氧化劑來源。這意味著您必需食用大量的蜂蜜才能滿足您對抗氧化劑的需求。這會導致您攝入超過每日建議的糖分劑量。大多數水果和蔬菜含有的抗氧化劑濃度要高得多,而且對健康的飲食更重要。

蜂蜜對大多數人來說都很安全。如果嬰兒食用蜂蜜會存在很低的肉毒桿菌中毒的風險。中毒情況會危及生命,所以請不要給12個月以下的嬰兒餵食蜂蜜。

蜂蜜也有粉末形式。因為液體蜂蜜會吸收空氣中的水分,所以糖分會發酵而使其變質。這就是為什麼普通蜂蜜最好保存在密封的容器中。

而粉狀蜂蜜就不存在這個問題。它非常穩定,可保存多年。粉狀蜂蜜在烘焙時可有效替代蜂蜜。它不像普通蜂蜜顏色變深得那麼快。

如果您要食用粉狀蜂蜜,請注意檢查成分標籤以確保它的純度。它經常包含一些添加劑,這些添加劑可不如粉狀蜂蜜那樣健康。

甜味劑替代品和您的皮膚

如果您對健康的皮膚有興趣,那麼糖分就會經常出現在需要避免的食物清單中。富含糖分的飲食經常與皮膚問題有關,但科學證據並不十分透徹。青春痘明顯和高升糖指數的飲食有關,但需要更多研究來證實。可是甜味劑替代品是如何影響您的皮膚的呢?

研究中並沒有具體證據顯示甜味劑替代品會影響皮膚。經過科學驗證的建議聽上去很耳熟——多吃蔬菜和水果的健康飲食是支持健康皮膚的好方法。

留意您對甜味劑替代品的使用

如果您在甜味劑替代品中作選擇,那麼您需要考慮很多因素。安全性、有效性和潛在的副作用都很重要。一個正面的副作用使蜂蜜和雪蓮糖漿似乎對您的健康成為了更好的選擇。那是因為它們對您的腸道菌群有幫助。

因為很多甜味劑替代品的效能明顯比糖分高,所以您對糖分的受體可能會受到過度的刺激。如果您越來越依賴甜度較高的食品,那麼您很可能會發現真正健康的食物(比如水果和蔬菜)對您來說已經沒有那麼大的吸引力了。

雖然完全避免糖分幾乎不可能,但好消息是,您沒有必要這樣做。天然糖分存在於許多食物中,而且它是均衡飲食的一個健康部分。例如,蘋果含有很高的糖分,但也含有纖維和各種微量營養素,這就抵消了糖分的很多負面影響。真正的危險來自於您食用的很多食物中的添加糖分,它們通常由製造商添加,以增強口味。

無論您是希望控制飲食、關心您的皮膚,還是有其它健康問題,天然糖分和健康的甜味劑替代品都各有千秋。但適度食用永遠都是最重要的考量。您使用了甜味劑替代品並不代表您可以在其它方面攝入過量的糖分。換句話說,不要因為您剛喝了無糖汽水就可以吃甜甜圈。

參考資料

https://www.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-682/stevia

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1023%2FA%3A1008134420339

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19961353

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10971305 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2900484/

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2FBF00282594

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3654758/

https://www.webmd.com/vitamins-and-supplements/xylitol-uses-and-risks#1

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17014359

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8039489

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16277764

https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer-causes/aspartame.html

https://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/truth-artificial-sweeteners#2

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12583961

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17183309, https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/j.1365-2982.2010.01664.x

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12502412

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12358452

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/00218839.1998.11100951

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/301506.php

https://kidshealth.org/en/parents/botulism.html

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-sugar-usda-supplies/world-2017-18-sugar-production-consumption-seen-at-record-usda-idUSKBN1DH2LV

https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2223

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/323818.php

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3695375/

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/322426.php

http://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0052132

https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/neuroscience/mannitol

https://www.sweetdefeat.com/blog/what-you-need-to-know-about-sorbitol

http://www.naturalsweetrecipes.com/all-about-powdered-honey/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6034916/

Too Good to Be True? The Skinny on Alternative Sweeteners

Let’s face it, sugar is delicious—especially if you have a sweet tooth. But it’s clear a diet high in sugar isn’t great for your health or weight. Alternative sweeteners or sugar substitutes have emerged in recent decades as an option to cut back on table sugar while still enjoying the same sweet sensation. The truth, though, is a lot more complicated.

One of the reasons sugar can be so detrimental to health is that it can add up quickly. Sugar contains nearly four calories per gram. The average 12-ounce (355 ml) can of soda contains 39 grams of sugar. So, that’s 156 calories!

In other words, you don’t have to consume many sugary foods to get a huge dose of calories. And the more calories you consume, the harder your body has to work to burn them off. If calories aren’t burned, that can translate to weight gain.

Alternative sweeteners typically contain far fewer calories per gram. That’s what makes them so appealing for those looking to limit calories without suffering sweets withdrawals.

Luckily, you have a lot of choices.

Table Sugar: Glucose and Fructose

Before the conversation shifts to alternatives, let’s talk about the real thing—simple table sugar. It is by far the most widely used sweetener, over 175 million metric tons were consumed worldwide last year.

Table sugar, or sucrose, is what is called a disaccharide. That’s a carbohydrate made up of simple sugars called monosaccharides (made of a single sugar molecule, which makes a disaccharide those sugars made of two saccharides). In this case, the monosaccharides are glucose (also known as dextrose) and fructose.

As already discussed, sucrose isn’t the healthiest substance to consume in large quantities. The body breaks it down into glucose and fructose. And the glucose is quickly absorbed into your bloodstream. This often results in a quick boost of energy, but makes it a poor choice for those looking to maintain their healthy, normal blood-sugar levels.

But what about the primary components of sucrose—glucose and fructose? Both are among the most abundant simple sugars on the planet. They’re present in many fruits, vegetables, and even honey. Both are also available in refined forms. Glucose doesn’t have the same sweetness level as sucrose, because it doesn’t contain fructose. Fructose has the ability to easily adhere to the sweetness receptors in your mouth. But both fructose and glucose contain a similar number of calories as sugar—about four per gram.

Glucose’s ability to quickly raise blood sugar levels also makes it a trigger for the release of insulin. Insulin is a hormone made in your body that allows sugar (glucose) from carbohydrates to enter cells for use as energy. This is a big reason why glucose is used as the reference food for Glycemic Index (GI) testing. GI is a test designed to measure how quickly a carbohydrate food raises blood glucose levels compared to glucose. Consuming pure glucose is not suitable for most people. Although the sweetener can be ideal for athletes or those needing quick energy during a workout.

You’ll find glucose as a common additive in foods because it is easy to produce. That comes from the fact that it can be derived from starches like potatoes and rice.

Fructose, meanwhile, has a higher sweetness level than both glucose and sucrose, nearly 1.7 times that of normal table sugar. It’s the sweetest of the naturally occurring sugars. Fructose is commonly found in fruits, vegetables, fruit juices, and makes up part of honey.

Like other simple sugars, a diet rich in fructose could lead to weight gain and potential health problems. Fructose must be converted to glucose in the liver before it can be used for energy. So, it doesn’t raise blood-sugar levels as quickly. Because the body processes fructose differently than other sugars, an excess of fructose could contribute to higher levels of triglycerides and cholesterol, and could cause the liver to store excess fat.

Now that you have a good idea about regular table sugar, let’s dig into some of the most popular sugar substitutes.

Stevia: A Potent Plant

One of the most widely used alternative sweeteners is derived from Stevia rebaudiana, a shrub native to South America. Stevia is anywhere from 100 to 300 times sweeter than sugar, but contains zero calories. It also doesn’t raise blood-sugar levels. That makes it a good choice for people who want to support healthy blood-sugar levels already in the normal range.

Stevia leaf and extracts are classified by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a “dietary supplement,” but have not been granted Generally Regarded as Safe (GRAS) status yet. However, Rebaudioside A—one of the chemicals in stevia—was granted GRAS status in 2008, and is used as a “food additive” and sweetener.

There are no known serious adverse health effects from stevia observed during human trials. There are, however, some commonly reported side effects. They include bloating, nausea, and a bitter aftertaste.

Xylitol: Best for Oral Care

Xylitol is what’s known as a sugar alcohol—a carbohydrate found in many different types of fruit. Don’t let the name fool you though, it doesn’t contain any of the alcohol most are familiar with.

Xylitol does have a sweetness very similar to sugar with about 40-percent fewer calories. It also doesn’t have a noticeable effect on blood-sugar levels.

Some studies have indicated that xylitol may support dental health, which is why you will find it in many different types of chewing gum and oral-care products. The bacteria in your mouth also can’t feed off of xylitol, which may help maintain good oral health and hygiene.

There are a few concerns with xylitol, though. It doesn’t break down in your gut as efficiently as sugar does. So, if you consume it in a high enough dose, it can cause diarrhea or gastrointestinal pain. The U.S. FDA has granted xylitol GRAS status. But it can be highly toxic to dogs, so be careful if you have pooches at home.

Erythritol: Great for Taste

Another sugar alcohol, erythritol, is also found naturally in many different fruits. Erythritol has about 70 percent of the sweetness of sugar, at a fraction of the calories. With 0.24 calories per gram, it contains six percent of the calories of sugar.

One of the major advantages of erythritol as an alternative sweetener is that it tastes remarkably similar to sugar. It manages to do this without having major effects on blood sugar, either. So, it’s another good sugar alternative for those looking to maintain healthy blood sugar already in the normal range.

The human body does not have the ability to break down erythritol, so most of what is consumed is excreted unchanged.

The powdered, commercially available form is produced by industrial methods. And it was granted GRAS status in 2001.

As with most sugar alcohols, consuming a large amount can cause gastrointestinal discomfort. Several studies have shown that erythritol does seem to be better tolerated by the body than other alternative sweeteners.

Two More Sugar Alcohols: Mannitol and Sorbitol

Mannitol is another sugar alcohol that has a variety of uses, particularly in the pharmaceutical field. It’s most commonly used as a diuretic (which helps your body expel salt and water). And mannitol has many other medical applications, to go along with its role as an alternative sweetener.

Mannitol has roughly 40 percent of the calories of sugar, but only about half of the sweetness. This makes it a poor choice for those counting calories. However, mannitol isn’t absorbed into the bloodstream quickly, which makes it an ideal choice for people concerned about maintain healthy blood-sugar levels already in the normal range.

It is also nonhygroscopic, which means it doesn’t absorb any moisture from the atmosphere until the humidity level is above 98 percent. This makes mannitol effective as a hard coating for candies, chocolate flavors, dried fruits, and chewing gums. Like other sugar alcohols, it can have a laxative effect in high doses.

Sorbitol is a sweetener with an abundance of commercial and culinary applications. This sugar alcohol does occur naturally in many fruits like pears, apples, peaches, and prunes. Technically, sorbitol is not an artificial sweetener, but, as an additive, it’s most often highly processed.

Sorbitol contains about 2.6 calories per gram, or about 65 percent that of sugar. Like mannitol, it has roughly half of the sweetness. So, there are better options for people on a low-calorie diet. Similar to other sugar alcohols, sorbitol is good choice for those concerned about supporting healthy blood-sugar levels already in the normal range. That’s because it isn’t absorbed by the body quickly.

Sorbitol is popular in the production of sugar-free products like chewing gum, mints, and toothpaste. One non-sweetener benefit is it can control moisture content and act as a preservative. Sorbitol also doesn’t metabolize in the mouth, so bacteria can’t feed on it. This is another reason why it’s commonly found in chewing gum. Like other sugar alcohols, it can have a laxative effect.

Aspartame: Controversial and Effective

You may have seen aspartame marketed as Nutrasweet® or Equal®. Under either name, this artificial sweetener has become somewhat controversial over the years. Anecdotal evidence abounds on the internet blaming the substance for everything from hair loss to more serious health issues.

There was some early research done in Italy that linked aspartame to certain types of health problems in rats. But later evaluation of the data cast doubt on the research. To date, there have been no studies linking aspartame to any adverse health effects, and the U.S. FDA has granted it GRAS status.

Aspartame has roughly the same number of calories per gram as normal sugar—around four. But it’s 200 to 300 times sweeter, which means the same sweetness level can be achieved by using a small amount of aspartame.

Like most low-calorie sweeteners, aspartame doesn’t have an effect on blood sugar. People working to maintain healthy blood-sugar levels already in the normal range have been using it for years. And it’s one of the most common artificial sweeteners on the planet.

It should be noted that individuals with the rare genetic defect known as phenylkenoturia (PKU), should avoid aspartame altogether. Aspartame contains the amino acid phenylalanine. People with PKU (a genetic disorder) can’t metabolize the amino acid phenylalanine efficiently and must avoid it. If blood levels get too high, neurological, behavioral, and dermatological problems can occur.

Maltodextrin for Sweetness?

Maltodextrin is a white powder produced from a variety of starches like rice, potatoes, wheat, and corn. It is a common food additive, typically used as a thickener to increase the volume or consistency of a processed product. It’s easy to produce, you can find maltodextrin in everything from gelatins to sauces, salad dressings, powdered drinks, and even lotions or shampoos. It’s also used as a preservative.

Maltodextrin is generally tasteless and contains a relatively low amount of sugar. But it’s still highly caloric—around four per gram—and is highly processed. Maltodextrin is also absorbed into the blood stream quickly, which makes it a poor choice for people concerned about maintaining healthy blood-sugar levels.

But maltodextrin is a quickly digested carbohydrate. That makes it an excellent ingredient in sports drinks and energy bars. Since it also doesn’t require a lot of water to digest, you can get efficient calories without risking dehydration.

Yacon Syrup: Great for Gut Health

Yacon syrup is an alternative sweetener that has recently become very popular as a weight-loss option. It is derived from the yacon plant, also called Smallanthus sonchifolius, which is native to South America. And the syrup has received GRAS status.

Unlike many other alternative sweeteners, yacon syrup does contain some sugar in the form of fructose, sucrose, and glucose. These sugars give yacon syrup its sweet taste—similar to molasses. It’s still a sweetener that is very low in calories, though, packing about 1.3 calories per gram. That’s about a third as much as sugar.

Yacon syrup is primarily composed of what are known as fructooligosaccharides, a type of soluble fiber. These fibers aren’t digested when consumed. Instead, they make their way down the large intestine, where they can feed the helpful bacteria in your gut. Many studies have indicated that having healthy gut flora has positives for overall health—including weight management and immune support.

Yacon syrup is a sugar alternative that isn’t capable of handling the high temperatures associated with cooking or baking. So, just use it to flavor already cooked or raw foods.

What About the Health Benefits of Honey?

Humans have been eating and enjoying honey for millennia. And it is often advertised as superior to sugar. The truth is that honey still contains a large amount of sugar. It comes in the form of glucose and fructose, which means honey carries some of the same problems as normal table sugar when overconsumed.

Honey contains roughly 75 percent of these common sugars, with the remaining 20 to 25 percent split between water and traces of fat, fiber, and protein. With 3.34 calories per gram, honey has slightly fewer calories then sugar. But it’s also denser than sugar. This means if you flavor your coffee or tea with a tablespoon of honey, instead of a tablespoon of sugar, you would actually consume more calories.

What sets honey apart from other sweeteners is that it contains antioxidants like vitamin E. Dark buckwheat honey and other floral honeys tend to have the most antioxidants. And consuming antioxidants is important. They can help support overall health by fighting free radicals in the body.

Just make sure you aren’t relying on honey as your sole source of antioxidants. That would mean you have to consume a lot of honey to meet your needs. This would put you well over the daily recommended amount of sugar. Most fruits and vegetables contain antioxidants in significantly higher concentrations and are more important to a healthy diet.

Honey is considered safe for most. There is a risk of botulism that is rare, but potentially life threatening, if honey is consumed by infants. So, don’t give honey to children younger than 12 months old.

Honey is also available in powdered form. Because liquid honey has the ability to absorb moisture in the air, the sugars can ferment and cause it to spoil. This is why regular honey is best kept in a sealed container.

This isn’t a problem with honey powder. It is very shelf stable and will last for years. Honey powder does really well as a replacement for honey when used for baking. It doesn’t brown as quickly as normal honey.

If you’re going to use honey powder, just be mindful to check the ingredient label. Make sure it’s the pure stuff. It can often include additives that aren’t as healthy as the powdered honey itself.

Alternative Sweeteners and Your Skin

Sugar frequently makes the lists of food to avoid if you’re interested in healthy skin. There are many popular links to skin issues with sugar-filled diets, but the scientific evidence isn’t crystal clear. There appears to be a link between acne and high glycemic diets, although more research is needed to confirm. But how do alternative sweeteners effect your skin?

There isn’t concrete evidence in studies that show alternative sweeteners impact skin. The advice that is scientifically validated will sound familiar. Eat a wholesome diet with plenty of veggies and fruits is a good way to support healthy-looking skin.

Be Mindful About Your Use of Alternative Sweeteners

If you’re choosing between alternative sweeteners, there are a lot of factors to consider. Safety, effectiveness, and potential side effects are important. One positive side effect seems to make honey and yacon syrup better bets for your health. That’s because they can be helpful to your gut flora.

Because many alternative sweeteners are significantly more potent than sugar, it’s possible that your sugar receptors may become overstimulated. If you become dependent on something so sweet, it’s likely you could find genuinely healthy foods, like fruits and vegetables, less appealing.

While it’s nearly impossible to completely avoid sugar, the good news is you don’t have to. Naturally occurring sugar can be found in many foods, and is a healthy part of a balanced diet. An apple, for example, has a high amount of sugar, but also contains fiber and various micronutrients that offset many of the negatives from the sugar. The danger comes from the added sugar found in many of your foods, usually included by manufacturers to enhance flavor.

Whether you are dieting, concerned about your skin, or have other health issues, there can be a role for naturally occurring sugar and healthy alternative sweeteners. But moderation is always the most important consideration. Just because you use alternative sweeteners, doesn’t mean you can consume excessive amounts of sugar in other places. In other words, don’t reach for the donut just because you drank a diet soda.

References

https://www.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-682/stevia

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1023%2FA%3A1008134420339

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19961353

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10971305 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2900484/

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2FBF00282594

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3654758/

https://www.webmd.com/vitamins-and-supplements/xylitol-uses-and-risks#1

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17014359

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8039489

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16277764

https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer-causes/aspartame.html

https://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/truth-artificial-sweeteners#2

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12583961

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17183309, https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/j.1365-2982.2010.01664.x

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12502412

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12358452

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/00218839.1998.11100951

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/301506.php

https://kidshealth.org/en/parents/botulism.html

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-sugar-usda-supplies/world-2017-18-sugar-production-consumption-seen-at-record-usda-idUSKBN1DH2LV

https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2223

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/323818.php

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3695375/

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/322426.php

http://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0052132

https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/neuroscience/mannitol

https://www.sweetdefeat.com/blog/what-you-need-to-know-about-sorbitol

http://www.naturalsweetrecipes.com/all-about-powdered-honey/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6034916/