懷孕期營養-為健康的懷孕和寶寶打造基礎

Selective focus happy couple hugging with positive pregnancy test in bedroom.

當您懷孕了,您的飲食習慣就會直接影響另一個人的健康,這是女人一生中營養要求最高的時期之一。懷孕時營養需求較高是為了讓嬰兒能快速生長和發育,並且也需要額外的營養來加強母體的營養儲備。

母親的飲食和生活習慣會對孩子的健康產生深遠的影響。健康、營養良好的女性健康懷孕的機率就會更高,這表示懷孕期產生的問題會減少,因而增加健康的喜悅。一個健康的胎兒更有可能成長為一個健康的孩子,未來也會成為一個健康的成人。同時也別忘了父親的營養和生活方式,他對於創造健康寶寶的作用也同等重要。

您的母親吃什麼,您就像什麼:儘早開始懷孕期飲食計劃

吃什麼像什麼,對您的孩子來說也是如此。在懷孕之前就要開始為健康懷孕做計劃。專家建議至少在嘗試懷孕前六個月要就要開始健康的飲食和生活方式。

這也是服用含有葉酸的產前多種維生素/礦物質補充品的最佳時機。將這種重要的B群維生素做為健康飲食的一部分,將會降低嬰兒患有腦部或脊髓缺陷的風險。在受孕前食用,有助於預防神經管缺陷。目前的飲食指南建議育齡婦女每日應從各種來源攝取至少600毫克葉酸。

懷孕期需要額外的能量、身體構造的原料和細胞輔助。因此,在懷孕期的三個階段中都選擇良好的產前營養至關重要。嬰兒的出生體重、出生後的生長速度和後續健康,都會受到懷孕期的營養、生活方式以及產婦的健康狀況等因素的影響。

懷孕期營養—體重變化和卡路里需求

孕婦並不是真的一人吃兩人補。當然,懷孕期間是有額外的熱量需求,但是這種說法並不完全正確。隨著胎兒的成長和發展,熱量應逐漸增加以滿足需求。

在前三個月,不需要額外的熱量,真正的每日熱量需求變化是發生在懷孕中期。那時候,每天需要大約340卡路里的額外熱量。另外在懷孕第三階段更建議每天多攝取450卡路里,以滿足日益成長的胎兒之需求。

在健康的懷孕過程中,您的身體也會儲存脂肪以滿足分娩時的需要。同時也是為了準備 哺乳—如果您選擇餵寶寶母乳。這些額外的卡路里並非來自甜甜圈、薯片、餅乾和冰淇淋。您是在養育胎兒,所以請明智地選擇食物。

您知道嗎?在胎兒第15週時,他的味蕾就已經發育完成,可以從您的飲食中感受到食物的味道。您懷孕期間吃的食物有助於促進您未來寶寶的健康、口感和食物偏好,並且也為他們未來的飲食習慣提供了一個雛型。

Pregnant African woman on scale

這些額外的卡路里和脂肪儲存通常意味著體重增加。這很正常。懷孕期間需要增加的體重根據媽媽懷孕前的體重而有所不同。一般的女性體重大致增加25-35磅,較輕的女性可能需要增加28-40磅;超重或肥胖的媽媽應該根據她們的體重大約增加11-25磅。

巨量和微量營養素?我的天啊!

Food pyramid isolated on white background

營養素有兩類:巨量營養素和微量營養素,兩者的不同點是您所需要的數量。巨量營養素(如脂肪、蛋白質和碳水化合物)在飲食中需要被大量攝取(克);微量營養素—顧名思義—只需要攝取少量(毫克或微克)即可。

懷孕會讓這些營養素的需求量有所改變。懷孕期的碳水化合物需求量從每天約130克增加到175克,蛋白質需求量每天增加約25克。大多數女性已經達到這些要求。在懷孕期間,您的身體需要多一點脂肪。大約每日熱量的25 %到35 %應該來自脂肪,以維持懷孕期健康。攝取正確類型的脂肪也很重要。大多數脂肪應來自單元不飽和脂肪酸(MUFAs)和多元不飽和脂肪酸(PUFAs)。

每天要多吃富含蛋白質、複合碳水化合物和必要脂肪等營養素的食物。包括各種精益蛋白質食物、全穀物、健康脂肪、乳製品、蔬菜和水果,以滿足懷孕期間不斷變化的營養需求。正在發育的胎兒的營養需求將優先於母體本身的需求,所以一定要吃得好。

雖然所有的營養素對維持健康懷孕都很重要,但某些維生素和礦物質(微量營養素)在胎兒發育過程中起著特別重要的作用。以下列出這些微量營養素、它們如何影響懷孕以及需要吃哪些食物:

  • 維生素A對嬰兒的整體生長發育非常重要,它在視覺、蛋白質合成和細胞分化中發揮作用。既成維生素A和維生素原A的來源包括牛肝、柳橙、紅、黃和綠葉蔬菜、乳製品和雞蛋。您還會發現水果中也有維生素A,如哈密瓜和強化早餐麥片。
  • 維生素D對維持骨骼、牙齒、皮膚和視力的健康發育非常重要,它在維生素中很特別,因為它會影響DNA濃度,所以更像是一種激素。維生素D大約可調節200到300個基因。許多細胞都有維生素D受體,它們必須有維生素D的加入才能正常運作,其中包括皮膚和大腦中的細胞。維生素D是由皮膚在陽光照射後自然產生的。膚色、年齡和季節都會影響皮膚曝曬後產生的維生素D的量。

很少有食物會自然提供維生素D,富含脂肪的魚和蛋黃是天然的食物來源。其他來源包括強化食品,如乳製品、即食早餐麥片或膳食補充品。

  • 對於骨骼和牙齒的發育(與維生素D結合)和胎兒的鈣量是必需的。攝取足夠的鈣質才能維持胎兒健康的骨骼和牙齒發育,並且保護媽媽的骨骼免於因懷孕而流失鈣質。如果一個母親沒有從飲食中得到足夠的鈣,她的身體就會從骨頭中抽取鈣來補償。

含鈣豐富的食物包括乳製品-牛奶、乳酪和優酪乳。其他良好來源包括強化食品和飲料,如早餐麥片和橙汁,以及大豆飲料。罐頭沙丁魚和油漬鮭魚、骨頭、大白菜、羽衣甘藍和蕪菁也是鈣的來源。

  • B群維生素主要用作能量代謝的輔助因子。它們是水溶性的,這表示您的身體不會儲存它們,未使用的量會隨尿液排出。儘管所有B群維生素在懷孕期間都很重要,但葉酸和B12在中樞神經系統的發育中提供了非常關鍵的作用,而這個基本系統在胎兒剛成形的前幾個星期內就會完全形成。

維生素B12對生產紅血球、遺傳物質、健康的神經功能和DNA合成至關重要。懷孕期補充不足可能會導致胎兒神經損傷,如果在懷孕初期和整個懷孕期間缺乏B12可能會增加先天性缺陷、神經系統損害和早產的風險。

最好的食物來源包括魚、肉、家禽、雞蛋、牛奶和奶製品等動物產品,以及早餐穀物等強化食品。植物性食物不是維生素B12的良好來源。

葉酸在合成細胞中的DNA和製造神經遞質方面起著至關重要的作用。由於葉酸對嬰兒神經管健康發育中的重要作用,所以在懷孕前期就非常重要。這個神經管會變成嬰兒的大腦和脊髓,神經管是在懷孕的第一個月期間,通常在任何明顯的懷孕徵兆出現之前就會形成。作為健康飲食的一部分,在懷孕前和懷孕初期攝取足夠的葉酸將會降低新生兒患有脊柱裂(脊柱)和無腦畸形(腦)的風險。

葉酸的最佳天然食物來源包括蔬菜(蘆筍、花椰菜、孢子甘藍)、豆類、堅果和種子。多種維生素補充品也含有葉酸。

所有育齡婦女都應該避免葉酸和維生素B12缺乏,要隨時補充這些重要的B群維生素,特別是在懷孕前。

  • 膽鹼在胎兒發育期間可以維持腦和脊髓的結構和功能。許多孕婦在飲食中不能獲得足夠量的膽鹼。

膽鹼的良好食物來源包括肉類、家禽、魚類、乳製品和蛋類,還有十字花科蔬菜、大豆、芸豆、全穀物、堅果和種子。大多數維生素補充品中的B複合維生素通常都含有膽鹼。

  • 菸酸是另一種B群維生素,確切地說叫做B3。就像其他B群維生素一樣,菸酸是水溶性的。所以它不會儲存在您的身體裡,而未使用的菸酸會通過您的尿液排出體外。菸酸對於將食物轉化為能量非常重要,但同時也維持消化系統、皮膚和神經功能。有一個研究發現懷孕期間菸酸(B3)的血液濃度高,則12個月大嬰兒的皮膚就更健康。
  • 懷孕期間對鐵的需求大量增加。這是因為待產中的母親,血容量會因發育中的嬰兒和胎盤的急劇需求而擴大。一個嬰兒的生长需要足夠的鐵來維持其正常健康的發育,鐵在細胞代謝中也起著關鍵作用。它是血紅蛋白的一個組成部分,可以讓全身的紅血球攜帶氧氣。這樣就能確保您的胎兒獲得健康發育所需的氧氣。

鐵不僅對胎兒期健康的神經發育至關重要,而且在兒童早期發育期間也是很重要的。懷孕期足夠的鐵攝取量可以幫助安全而健康的分娩,並在正常分娩後確保母親和孩子的健康。

最好的食物來源包括強化早餐麥片、肉類、海鮮、白豆、小扁豆和菠菜。

  • 鋅是懷孕期間另一種重要的礦物質,在胎兒器官形成的前三個月尤其如此,它也被認為有助於免疫系統的發展。出生後,鋅在協助嬰兒生長發育的第一個重要階段也發揮至關重要的作用。

最好的食物來源包括牡蠣和其他海鮮、紅肉和家禽。其他良好的食物來源包括強化早餐麥片、豆類、堅果、全穀物和奶製品。

  • 是體內超過300種酶的輔助因子。足夠的鎂攝取量與健康的胎兒生長和足月分娩有關。

良好的食物來源包括:綠葉蔬菜、豆類、酪梨、堅果、種子、全穀物和強化早餐麥片。

  • 碘是調節許多重要生化反應的甲狀腺激素的重要成分。甲狀腺激素影響蛋白質合成、酶促和代謝活動。碘在懷孕期間是必不可少的,它能維持胎兒的大腦、骨骼系統和新陳代謝的健康和成長。碘缺乏對生長發育有多重不利影響,包括胎兒的心理健康。而大部分的孕婦都缺碘。

良好的食物來源包括:海鮮、海藻、乳製品、雞蛋、穀物、家禽和帶皮的烤馬鈴薯。

  • 必要脂肪酸對胎兒的發育非常重要。許多女性單靠飲食無法攝取足夠的必需脂肪酸。在懷孕期間,脂肪提供能量並幫助建立胎兒器官和胎盤。ω-3脂肪酸,特別是DHA,能夠幫助腦部、眼部和神經的發育,這在最後三個月尤为重要。DHA和ω-6脂肪酸、花生四烯酸是胎兒和嬰兒大腦神經細胞中發現的主要脂肪。不幸的是,現代飲食的ω-3脂肪酸含量通常很低。

良好的食物來源包括:植物油、高脂肪含量的魚、橄欖、酪梨、堅果和種子。

巨量和微量營養素對於孕育一個健康的胎兒以及保持母親未來的健康非常重要。懷孕期間吃的食物很重要,所以要明智地選擇。不要忘記產前維生素/礦物質補充品的重要性,以避免任何膳食維生素或礦物質的缺乏。

送一份健康生活方式的禮物

A portrait of a pregnant asian woman doing yoga in the sea shore

採取健康的生活方式對於健康的懷孕和胎兒也很重要。

在健康的懷孕期間經常健身,有助於減少體重過重的妊娠併發症。健身對於維持整體健康和幸福來說非常重要。美國婦產科學院建議每周盡量每天進行30分鐘以上的適度運動,但患有醫療問題/情況或妊娠併發症的患者例外。請隨時諮詢您的醫療保健專業人員,了解有關健身模式的問題

懷孕期間的情緒壓力會影響胎兒的發育,特別是腦部。日常壓力被認為有點煩人,也已成為現代生活的常規。但長期的壓力會增加早產和分娩時嬰兒體重過低的風險。所以,在這個重要的時間裡,要把自我照顧放在首位。學習如何管理、減少或消除壓力,這將有助於健康的懷孕和健康的胎兒。

如果您吸菸,請在懷孕前就停止。懷孕期間吸菸會增加胎兒肺部問題的發生、學習障礙和出生後身體發育不良。強烈建議懷孕婦女在懷孕期間戒菸。您胎兒今後的一生可能因您吸菸而受到極大的影響。

在懷孕前是容許適量飲酒的。但是當您一旦懷孕,停止飲酒就非常重要。酒精可以自由進出胎盤。所以,當您喝酒時,您發育中的胎兒也會吸收酒精,而即便再少的酒精都可能會影響胎兒的大腦發育。

減少攝入咖啡因。雖然不是很好理解,但攝取大量的這種興奮劑與生長障礙和流產風險增加有關。美國婦產科學院建議將咖啡因攝取量限制在每天少於200毫克(約兩杯咖啡的量)。

與醫生討論您正在服用的藥物(處方藥和非處方藥),包括使用膳食補充品或草藥。如果您有健康問題,請確保得到良好控制。

食品安全也很重要,採取額外的預防措施以避免食物暴露於食源性病原體,來自食源性疾病的感染會對母體和正在成長的胎兒造成傷害。避免食用生的或未煮熟的肉類、海鮮或蛋類食品。未經高溫殺菌的牛奶,還有用這種牛奶做成的乳酪—例如布里乳酪和羊乳酪,以及未經高溫消毒的果汁也應避免食用。為了保護您和您的胎兒,在進食前請徹底清洗所有水果和蔬菜。避免任何無法正確洗滌的食物,或已知帶有食源性疾病高風險的食物。

產前營養幫助您孕育一個健康的寶寶

懷孕是人類發展的關鍵時期。營養是健康懷孕和孕育健康寶寶的重要因素,如果沒有適當的建構材料來維持身體的健康發育,嬰兒就不能成長為健康、活潑的成人。飲食和生活習慣影響人生的所有階段,它從您將要開始懷孕開始,就會確定您孩子的營養健康和出生的體重。而您的飲食和生活方式為寶寶未來的飲食習慣提供了一個雛形,從胎兒、童年到成年。

適當的產前保健有很多層面。它始於採用健康均衡的飲食計劃,其中包括懷孕前和懷孕期間的優質維生素/礦物質補充品,和健康的整體生活方式。認真做好這些步驟,是您可以給未來孩子最大的禮物之一。

參考資料

https://www.eatright.org/health/pregnancy/prenatal-wellness/healthy-weight-during-pregnancy

https://www.economist.com/news/international/21647641-childs-long-term-well-being-more-profoundly-shaped-influences-pregnancy

http://www.eufic.org/en/food-today/article/nutritional-programming-mothers-diet-and-babys-health

https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Nutrition-During-Pregnancy

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8955790

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28539412

https://www.ahealthyphilosophy.com/article/nutrition-fertility-pregnancy-and-health-of-offspring

https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminA-HealthProfessional/

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/101.79

http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/life-stages/pregnancy-lactation

https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Iodine-HealthProfessional/

http://americanpregnancy.org/pregnancy-health/nutrients-vitamins-pregnancy/

http://www.mednet.ca/en/report/impact-of-maternal-nutrition-on-fetal-developmen.html

http://www.who.int/nutrition/topics/fetal_dev_report_EN.pdf

https://www.acog.org/Clinical-Guidance-and-Publications/Committee-Opinions/Committee-on-Obstetric-Practice/Physical-Activity-and-Exercise-During-Pregnancy-and-the-Postpartum-Period

https://www.acog.org/Clinical-Guidance-and-Publications/Committee-Opinions/Committee-on-Obstetric-Practice/Moderate-Caffeine-Consumption-During-Pregnancy

https://www.webmd.com/infertility-and-reproduction/features/protect-your-pregnancy-before-you-conceive#1

http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/~/media/Files/Activity%20Files/Nutrition/DRI-Tables/8_Macronutrient%20Summary.pdf?la=en

Pregnancy Nutrition- Creating a Foundation for a Healthy Pregnancy and Baby

Selective focus happy couple hugging with positive pregnancy test in bedroom.
Pregnancy is the one time your eating habits can directly influence the health of another person. It’s one of the most nutritionally demanding times in a woman’s life. Pregnancy nutrition requirements are higher to support the rapid growth and development of a baby. And the extra nutrition is needed to strengthen the nutritional reserves of the mom-to-be.

A mother’s eating and lifestyle habits can have profound, life-long effects on the health of her child. A healthy, well-nourished woman is more likely to experience a healthy pregnancy. That includes fewer pregnancy-related complications, which increases the chances of delivering a healthy bundle of joy. A healthy baby has a better chance of growing into a healthy child and, someday, a healthy adult. And don’t forget the nutritional and lifestyle status of the father. His role in the healthy creation of a baby is equally important.

You Are What Your Mother Ate: Pregnancy Diet Planning Starts Early

You are what you eat. And so is your baby. Planning a healthy pregnancy should begin well before a pregnancy happens. Some experts recommend making healthier eating and lifestyle choices at least six months before trying to conceive.

It’s also the best time to start taking a prenatal multivitamin/mineral supplement that provides folic acid or folate. This important B vitamin, consumed as part of a healthful diet may reduce a woman’s risk of having a child with brain or spinal cord defect. When consumed before conception, helps prevent neural tube defects. Current guidelines recommend that women of childbearing age consume at least 600 micrograms of folic acid daily from all sources.

Pregnancy requires extra energy, building blocks, and cellular assistants. So, making good pregnancy nutrition choices throughout all three trimesters is essential. Infant birth weight, rate of growth after birth, and ongoing health can be influenced by pregnancy nutrition, lifestyle, and the health status of the mom-to-be.

Pregnancy Nutrition—Weight Changes and Calorie Requirements

A pregnant woman is not eating for two. Sure, there are extra calorie requirements during pregnancy.

But that saying isn’t quite accurate. Calories should gradually increase to meet demands as your baby grows and develops.

During the first trimester, no additional calories are required. Daily requirements change in the second trimester. At that time, about 340 additional calories a day are needed. The recommendation increases to 450 extra calories per day in the third trimester to continue meeting the growing demands of the baby-to-be.

Over the course of a healthy pregnancy your body also stores fat for energy needs during labor and delivery. This also supports breastfeeding—if you breastfeed your baby. These additional calories are not an invitation to splurge on doughnuts, chips, cookies and ice cream. You’re building a baby, so choose wisely.

Pregnant African woman on scale

Did you know that by the 15th week of fetalhood your baby has developed taste buds and can perceive food flavors from your diet? The foods you eat during your pregnancy help prime your future baby’s health, palate and food preferences. They also provide a model for their future eating habits.

These extra calories and fat storage often mean weight gain. That’s normal. Requirements for appropriate weight gain during pregnancy differ depending on the current weight of the mom-to-be. An average weight women should gain 25–35 pounds. Underweight women may need to gain 28–40 pounds. And an overweight or obese mom-to-be should aim to gain 11–25 pounds, depending on their weight.

Macros and Micros, Oh My!

Food pyramid isolated on white background

There are two types of nutrients: macronutrients and micronutrients. And the difference is the amounts you need. Macronutrients, like fats, protein, and carbohydrates, are required in large quantities in the diet (grams). Micronutrients—as the name suggests—are needed in smaller amounts (milligrams or micrograms).

Pregnancy changes these amounts somewhat. Carbohydrate requirements during pregnancy increase from about 130 to 175 grams/day and protein needs by about 25 additional grams per day. Most women already meet these requirements. During pregnancy your body needs a little more fat. About 25 percent to 35 percent of your daily calories should come from fat to support a healthy pregnancy. Consuming the right types of fats is also important. The majority of fats should come from monounsaturated (MUFAs) and polyunsaturated (PUFAs) fats.

Strive to eat nutrient-rich proteins, complex carbs, and essential fats every day. Include a variety of lean protein sources, whole grains, healthy fats, dairy, vegetables and fruit to help meet the changing nutritional demands of pregnancy. The nutritional needs of a developing baby will take priority over the needs of the mom-to-be, so it’s important to eat well.

While all nutrients are important to support a healthy pregnancy, certain vitamins and minerals (micronutrients) play a particularly important role during the development of an infant. Here’s a list of these micronutrients, how they impact pregnancy, and foods to eat:

  • Vitamin A is important for baby’s overall growth and development. It also plays a role in vision, protein synthesis, and cell differentiation. Sources of preformed and provitamin vitamin A include beef liver, orange, red, yellow and green leafy vegetables, dairy products, and eggs. You’ll also find vitamin A in fruits like cantaloupe and fortified breakfast cereals.
  • Vitamin D is important to support healthy development of bones, teeth, skin and eyesight. It is unique among vitamins because it works more like a hormone at the DNA level. Vitamin D has been estimated to regulate 200–300 genes. Many cells have vitamin D receptors and need it to function properly. That includes cells in the skin and brain. Vitamin D is naturally produced through skin exposure to sunlight. Skin color, age, and time of year can impact the amount of vitamin D produced through skin exposure.

Very few foods naturally provide vitamin D. Fatty fish and egg yolks are natural food sources. Other sources include fortified foods such as dairy products, ready-to -eat breakfast cereals, or dietary supplements.

  • Calcium is necessary for proper development of bones and teeth (in combination with vitamin D) and baby’s calcium status. Consuming adequate calcium supports healthy development of bones and teeth buds for baby. It also protects mom’s bones from pregnancy-related calcium loss. If a mom-to-be doesn’t get enough dietary calcium, her body will pull calcium out of her bones to compensate.

Rich sources of calcium include dairy products- milk, cheese and yogurt. Other good sources include fortified foods and drinks, such as breakfast cereals and orange juice, and soy beverages. Canned sardines and salmon packed in oil with bones, Chinese cabbage, kale, and turnip greens are also sources of calcium.

  • B vitamins are primarily used as cofactors in energy metabolism. They are water-soluble. That means your body doesn’t store them and unused amounts exit in the urine. While all B vitamins are important during pregnancy, folate (folic acid) and B12, provide additional crucial roles in the development of the central nervous system. And this essential system is completely formed during the first few weeks of life.

Vitamin B12 is vital for producing red blood cells, genetic materials, healthy neurological function and DNA synthesis. Deficiencies during pregnancy may cause neurological damage in the baby. A deficiency of B12 at the beginning of, and during pregnancy, could increase risk of certain birth defects, neurological impairment, and contribute to preterm birth.

The best food sources include animal products such as fish, meat, poultry, eggs, milk, and milk products, and fortified foods like breakfast cereals. Plant foods are not a good source of vitamin B12.

Folic acid or folate, plays an essential role in synthesizing DNA in cells and for manufacturing neurotransmitters. It is very important during early pregnancy because of its essential role in the healthy development of baby’s neural tube. The tube becomes a baby’s brain and spinal cord. The neural tube is formed early during the first month of pregnancy, often before any noticeable signs of pregnancy. Consuming adequate folic acid before and early in a pregnancy as part of a healthful diet may reduce a woman’s risk of having a child with spina bifida (spine) and anencephaly (brain).

The best natural food sources of folate include vegetables (asparagus, broccoli, Brussels sprouts), legumes, nuts, and seeds. Folic acid is also found in multivitamin supplements.

Deficiencies of folic acid and vitamin B 12 should be avoided by all women of childbearing age by supplementing with these important B vitamins, especially before becoming pregnant.

  • Choline supports the structure and function of the brain and spinal cord during fetal development. Many pregnant women do not obtain adequate amounts of choline through the diet.

Good food sources of choline include meat, poultry, fish, dairy products, and eggs. Also cruciferous vegetables, soy beans, kidney beans, whole grains, nuts, and seeds. Choline is typically included in combination with B-complex vitamins in most multivitamin supplements.

  • Niacin is another type of B vitamin—B3, to be exact. Just like the other B vitamins, niacin is water-soluble. So it’s not stored in your body, and unused amounts are excreted through your urine. Niacin is important for converting food to energy. But is also supports the digestive system, skin, and nerve function. A study has linked higher blood levels of niacin (B3) during pregnancy to healthier skin outcomes in babies at 12 months of age.
  • Iron is required in higher amounts during pregnancy. That’s because an expecting mother’s blood volume expands due to dramatic demands of the developing baby and placenta. Building a baby requires adequate iron for normal healthy development. Iron also plays a key role in cellular metabolism. It’s a component of hemoglobin, which allows red blood cells to carry oxygen throughout the bod. This ensure that your baby gets the oxygen needed for healthy development.

Not only is iron critical for the appropriate neurodevelopment during fetalhood, it is also important after birth during early childhood development. Adequate iron intake during pregnancy may help support a healthy birth as well as a safe and normal delivery and post-delivery health of both mother and child.

The best food sources include fortified breakfast cereals, meat, seafood, white beans, lentils, and spinach.

  • Zinc is another important mineral during pregnancy. This is especially true during the first trimester, when baby’s organs are forming. It is also thought to assist in the development of the immune system. Zinc is also important after baby’s birth to assist in the first important stages of infant growth and development.

Best food sources include oysters and other seafood, red meat, and poultry. Other good food sources include fortified breakfast cereals, beans, nuts, whole grains, and dairy.

  • Magnesium is a cofactor in over 300 enzymes in the body. Adequate magnesium intake is associated with healthy fetal growth and full-term delivery.

Good food sources include: green leafy vegetables, legumes, avocado, nuts, seeds, whole grains, and fortified breakfast cereals.

  • Iodine is an essential component of the thyroid hormones that regulate many important biochemical reactions. Thyroid hormones impact protein synthesis, enzymatic, and metabolic activity. Iodine is essential during pregnancy to support the healthy growth and the development of a baby’s brain health, skeletal system, and metabolism. Iodine deficiency has multiple adverse effects on growth and development, including the mental health of the baby. A substantial portion of pregnant women are iodine insufficient.

Good food sources include: seafood, seaweed, dairy products, eggs, grains, poultry, and baked potato with the skin.

  • Essential fatty acids are important for developing babies. And many women don’t get enough from diet alone. During pregnancy, fats provide energy and help build fetal organs and the placenta. Omega-3 fatty acids, particularly DHA, support brain, eye, and nerve development—especially during the last trimester. DHA and the omega-6 fatty acid arachidonic acid are the predominant fats found in the nerve cells of fetal and infant brains. Unfortunately the modern diet is often low in omega-3 fatty acids.

Good food sources include: vegetable oils, fatty fish, olives, avocado, nuts, and seeds.

Both macros and micros are very important to build a healthy baby and support the health of the mom-to-be. The foods eaten during pregnancy are important, so choose wisely. And don’t forget the importance of a prenatal vitamin/mineral supplement to cover any dietary vitamin or mineral shortfall.

Give the Gift of a Healthy Lifestyle

A portrait of a pregnant asian woman doing yoga in the sea shore

Adopting a healthy lifestyle is also important for supporting a healthy pregnancy and baby.

Regular exercise during a healthy pregnancy helps reduce excessive weight-related pregnancy complications. And exercise is important to support overall health and wellbeing. The American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology recommends 30 minutes or more of moderate exercise per day on most if not all days of the week. There are exceptions for those with a medical concern/condition or a pregnancy complication. Always check with your healthcare professional for questions about exercise patterns.

Emotional stress during pregnancy can affect the development of the fetus—especially the brain—during any stage of pregnancy. Everyday stress is considered somewhat annoying and a routine part of modern life. But chronic high stress can boost the risk of a preterm birth and the delivery of a low-birthweight baby. So, make self-care a priority during this important time in life. Learning to manage, reduce, or eliminate stress will support a healthier pregnancy and baby.

If you smoke, stop before becoming pregnant. Smoking during pregnancy increases the risk of developing lung problems, learning disabilities, and physical growth even after birth. It is strongly advised that pregnant women quit smoking for the duration of the pregnancy. Your baby’s life could depend on it.

It’s OK to consume alcohol in moderation before becoming pregnant. But it’s very important to discontinue drinking alcohol completely when you become pregnant. Alcohol can pass freely through the placenta. So, when you drink alcohol, your developing baby does, too. Even small amounts of alcohol may impact your baby’s brain development.

Cut back on caffeine. While not well-understood, consuming high amounts of this stimulant has been linked to impaired growth and increased miscarriage risk. The American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology suggests limiting caffeine consumption to less than 200 mg per day (the amount in about two cups of coffee).

Talk to your doctor about medications (prescription and over-the-counter) you are taking, including the use of dietary or herbal supplements. If you have a medical condition, make sure it is well-controlled.

Food safety is also important. Take extra precautions to avoid exposure to food-borne pathogens. Infection from food-borne illness can cause harm the mom and her developing baby. Avoid raw or undercooked meat, seafood, or egg items. Unpasteurized milk, cheeses made from unpasteurized milk—like brie and feta—and unpasteurized juice should also be avoided. To protect you and your developing baby wash all fruits and vegetables thoroughly before eating. Avoid anything that cannot be properly washed, or foods that are known to be a high-risk for food-borne illness.

Pregnancy Nutrition Helps You Build a Healthy Baby

Pregnancy is a critical time in human development. And nutrition is a vital component of a healthy pregnancy and outcome. A baby cannot develop into a healthy, thriving human without the proper building materials to support healthy development. Diet and lifestyle habits impact all stages, starting with your future fertility. They help determine your child’s nutritional health and birth weight. And your diet and lifestyle provide a model for children’s future eating habits from fetalhood, childhood and into adulthood.

Proper prenatal care has many facets. It starts with adopting a healthy well-balanced eating plan, which includes a quality vitamin/mineral supplement before and during pregnancy. And that’s combined with a healthy overall lifestyle. Taking these steps is one of the greatest gifts you can give to your future kids.

References

https://www.eatright.org/health/pregnancy/prenatal-wellness/healthy-weight-during-pregnancy

https://www.economist.com/news/international/21647641-childs-long-term-well-being-more-profoundly-shaped-influences-pregnancy

http://www.eufic.org/en/food-today/article/nutritional-programming-mothers-diet-and-babys-health

https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Nutrition-During-Pregnancy

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8955790

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28539412

https://www.ahealthyphilosophy.com/article/nutrition-fertility-pregnancy-and-health-of-offspring

https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminA-HealthProfessional/

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/101.79

http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/life-stages/pregnancy-lactation

https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Iodine-HealthProfessional/

http://americanpregnancy.org/pregnancy-health/nutrients-vitamins-pregnancy/

http://www.mednet.ca/en/report/impact-of-maternal-nutrition-on-fetal-developmen.html

http://www.who.int/nutrition/topics/fetal_dev_report_EN.pdf

https://www.acog.org/Clinical-Guidance-and-Publications/Committee-Opinions/Committee-on-Obstetric-Practice/Physical-Activity-and-Exercise-During-Pregnancy-and-the-Postpartum-Period

https://www.acog.org/Clinical-Guidance-and-Publications/Committee-Opinions/Committee-on-Obstetric-Practice/Moderate-Caffeine-Consumption-During-Pregnancy

https://www.webmd.com/infertility-and-reproduction/features/protect-your-pregnancy-before-you-conceive#1

http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/~/media/Files/Activity%20Files/Nutrition/DRI-Tables/8_Macronutrient%20Summary.pdf?la=en