锭片、胶囊、注射液…等等 – 何者为补充品的最佳形式?

best supplement

确定何为补充品的最佳递送方式是有难度的,因为可使用的选项种类非常多。制药行业普遍采用的一般药丸形式有锭片、硬胶囊、和软胶囊,其他维生素、矿物质、和抗氧化剂补充品则使用粉末、锭剂、液态、凝胶、和胶质维生素等形式。最近,甚至维生素注射液和皮肤贴剂也很常见。

决定何者是最好的补充品形式,取决于其活性成份和使用者。例如儿童,在设计补充品时需要特别的考虑。大多数年幼的孩子都比较高兴吃咀嚼片、凝胶、或胶质维生素,他们对吞咽锭片可能有困难。无论如何,这些适合儿童的形式都需要特别规划,但若与吞咽锭片或胶囊相比,多少具有一些缺点。

锭片和胶囊

制作良好的锭片或胶囊提供了非常有效的递送方式,是大多数药物制剂所选择的形式。这是因为多年来精心控制的临床研究证实,它们是可靠而有效的药物递送方式。

这些产品还可提供较大量的活性成份,远超过液态、凝胶、或胶质。这导致较少辅料。辅料是提供活性营养的成份,它们只是提供稳定性、消化性、易制造性、或其他类似用途。

通常锭片的稳定性和保存期限也优于液态或胶质维生素。

锭片和胶囊最适合用于不需要大剂量(大于2克)的维生素、矿物质、和抗氧化剂补充品。维生素C、B群维生素、铁、碘等都具有典型的每日剂量,因为剂量够小,所以很容易包含在其中。而这些营养素中有许多都具有不好的味道,用其他形式很难加以掩藏。

片和胶囊的优点:

  • 保存期限长
  • 可递送的活性成份浓度较高(辅料较少)
  • 可掩藏不好的味道

片和胶囊的缺点:

  • 有些人难以吞咽
  • 不适用于大剂量活性成份

咀嚼片

像其他锭片一样,咀嚼片最适合用于较小(小于2克)剂量的成份,它们也有保存期限长的好处。对那些吞咽锭片或胶囊有困难的人来说,咀嚼片可能是最好的补充品。

因为锭片将被咀嚼,因此必须用甜味剂和香料掩盖味道不好的成份。这种限制意味着咀嚼片通常会含有一些糖。有些多种维生素和多种矿物质的咀嚼片也缺少必要的矿物质,如硒、铬、镁、和锌,因为它们的味道难以掩藏。

咀嚼片的优点:

  • 容易服用
  • 保存期限长

咀嚼片的缺点:

  • 浓度不如吞咽型锭
  • 可能缺少一些重要成份
  • 添加甜味剂(虽然通常非常少量)

胶质维生素

对于儿童和吞咽锭片有困难的人来说,胶质维生素就像咀嚼片一样,要容易多了。不论口味如何,它们都不是糖果,也不应服用超过建议的剂量。

它们所能包含的成份类型,比咀嚼片更有限。胶质通常只含有非常少的矿物质,且一般都缺乏大部分的必要矿物质。至于它们真正所含的成份,通常剂量也小得多。

胶质维生素的最佳用途通常是选择与胶质维生素兼容,且只需服用非常小剂量(小于100毫克)的成份。

胶质的优点:

  • 容易服用
  • 味道很好

胶质的缺点:

  • 与许多成份不兼容
  • 添加甜味剂

粉末

粉末具有容易服用的优点,也能容纳一些比较大剂量(大于2克)营养素。粉末状补充品中所含的活性成份将直接跟口腔接触,因此它们必须具有令人愉悦的味道,或是易于被掩盖的味道;此外还必须含有可溶于液体或易于跟液体均匀混合的成份。

蛋白粉是最受欢迎的粉末状补充品之一,也是这种递送形式的一个理想选择。蛋白质递送需要的剂量对于锭片或胶囊来说太大,它又很容易做出好口味,并且容易与水混合。

通常会作成粉末状补充品的其他成份有支链胺基酸(BCAAs)、肌酸、和咖啡因。增强免疫力的制品通常作成条状包,也容易与水混合。

粉末的优点:

  • 运费便宜
  • 可容纳大剂量的活性成份

粉末的缺点:

  • 活性成份的浓度较低(更多辅料)
  • 添加甜味剂和辅料

液态

液态补充品通常具有与粉末状补充品相同的成份、优点、和缺点,不同之处是它们已经和液体混合了。

液态补充品最适用于粉末中常见的成份,如蛋白质、支链胺基酸(BCAAs)、肌酸、和咖啡因。在液态补充品中经常可发现的微量营养素包括维生素D、B、或C。

由于它们已经混合好了,因此液态补充品的保存期限通常比等量的粉末状补充品更短。液态补充品也可能需要更多的「其他」成份,包括乳化剂、溶剂、防腐剂、稳定剂、着色剂、调味剂等等。

液态的优点:

  • 比混合粉末更方便
  • 可容纳大剂量的活性成份

液态的缺点:

  • 运费更贵,运输困难
  • 难以添加不可溶的成份
  • 活性成份的浓度较低(更多辅料)
  • 添加甜味剂和辅料
  • 保存期限通常较短

维生素注射液

某些维生素可以作为静脉注射(IV)或肌内注射使用。注射液是大剂量输送指定营养素的最佳选择,而维生素B12就是在某些人身上已显示有治疗益处的一种营养素。

注射的一个问题是,许多营养素不适合注射。在那些适合注射的营养素当中,很少有能够为一般服用营养素的人提供更多可衡量的好处。因此,注射通常必须根据医生的建议进行。

注射也带来额外的危险因素。起码注射会让人不舒服。静脉注射则有引发感染、出血(血肿)、栓塞等风险。

维生素注射液的优点:

  • 可提供高剂量的特定营养素

维生素注射液的缺点:

  • 有限的营养素兼容性
  • 不舒服
  • 潜在的健康风险

那么,什么才是最好的补充品形式?

种类繁多的补充品形式都有其各自的优点和缺点。最终,最好的补充品形式将根据您和您个人的需求而决定。

它取决于您所需要的活性成份,以及您个人对吞咽锭片、味道、和方便性的喜好。而特殊的医疗需求也会决定医生可能推荐给您的形式。

在决定最佳补充品时的最佳建议,就是考虑上述的所有因素。优点是否胜过缺点?使用的形式是因为它的实际利益,或只不过是一种想要与人不同的营销手法?

找不到您要的吗?请再搜寻一次,或在这里提交您的 问题

Tablets, Capsules, Injections, and More – What is the Best Supplement Form?

best supplement

Determining the best supplement delivery system is difficult, because of the huge variety of options available. Common pill forms, popularized by the pharmaceutical industry, include tablets, hard capsules, and soft capsules. Other vitamin, mineral, and antioxidant supplements take the form of powders, lozenges, liquids, gels, and gummy vitamins. Recently, even vitamin injections have become common.

Deciding what is the best supplement form, comes down to the active ingredient and the audience. Children, for example, need special consideration when designing a supplement. Most young kids are much happier eating a chewable, gel, or gummy vitamin. And they might struggle swallowing tablets. However, these kid-friendly forms need special planning and have some drawbacks compared to swallowed tablets or capsules.

Tablets and Capsules

A well-made tablet or capsule provides a very effective delivery system, making it the chosen form of most pharmaceutical medications. This is because years of carefully controlled clinical studies have confirmed they’re reliable, and efficient delivery systems for medications.

These products can also provide an increased amount of active ingredient (much more than a liquid, gel, or gummy). This results in fewer excipients. An excipient, is an ingredient that does not serve an active nutritional purpose. They may be included for stability, digestibility, manufacturing, or other similar purposes.

In general, the stability and shelf-life of tablets is also superior to liquids or gummy vitamins.

Tablets and capsules are best used for vitamin, mineral, and antioxidant supplements that do not need large (> 2 grams) doses. Vitamin C, B vitamins, iron, iodine, etc. all have typical daily doses that are small enough to easily be included. Many of these nutrients also have a bad taste that can be difficult to hide in other forms.

Tablet and Capsule Pros:

  • Long shelf-life
  • Concentrated delivery of active ingredients (fewer excipients)
  • Hides bad tastes

Tablet and Capsule Cons:

  • Difficult for some to swallow
  • Not appropriate for large active ingredient doses

Chewable Tablets

Like other tablets, chewable tablets are best used for ingredients that are only taken in smaller (< 2 grams) doses. They also share the benefit of a long shelf-life. Chewables may be the best supplement, for those who have trouble swallowing whole tablets or capsules.

Because the tablets are chewed up, bad tasting ingredients must be masked with sweeteners and flavorings. This limitation means that chewable tablets typically have some sugar in them. Some chewable multi-vitamin, multi-mineral products are also missing essential minerals like selenium, chromium, magnesium, and zinc, because it is hard to mask their flavors.

Chewable Tablet Pros:

  • Easy to consume
  • Long shelf-life

Chewable Tablet Cons:

  • Not as concentrated as swallowed tablets
  • May be missing key ingredients
  • Added sweeteners (although typically very small amounts)

Gummy Vitamins

Gummy vitamins, like chewable tablets, are much better tasting for children and those who have trouble swallowing tablets. Despite their taste, they are not candy and should not be taken beyond the recommended dosage.

They are even more limited than chewable tablets in what types of ingredients they can contain. Gummies often have very few minerals, and are usually absent of most of the essential minerals. For the ingredients that they do contain, doses are often much smaller as well.

The best uses for gummy vitamins are typically select ingredients that are compatible with gummy vitamins, that only need to be taken in very small (< 100mg).

Gummy Pros:

  • Easy to consume
  • Great tasting

Gummy Cons:

  • Not compatible with many ingredients
  • Added sweeteners


Powders have the benefits of being easy to consume and can include larger (> 2 grams) of some nutrients. The active ingredients found in powdered supplements will be tasted, so they must either have a pleasant flavor, or be one that is easy to mask. They must also contain ingredients that are soluble in the liquid, or are easy to shake up.

Protein powder is one of the most popular powdered supplements, and is an ideal candidate for this delivery form. Protein delivery requires doses too large for a tablet or capsule, it is easy to make taste good, and mixes easily with water.

Other ingredients that are commonly found in powdered mixes are branched chain amino acids (BCAAs), creatine, and caffeine. Immune-boosting formulas are also commonly found in stick packs, which can be easily mixed with water.

Powder Pros:

  • Inexpensive to transport
  • Can include large doses of active ingredients

Powder Cons:

  • Less concentrated active ingredients (more excipients)
  • Added sweeteners and excipients


Liquid supplements generally have the same types of ingredients, benefits, and drawbacks as powdered supplements. The one difference is that they have already been mixed with a liquid.

Liquid supplements are best for ingredients often found in powders, like protein, branched chain amino acids (BCAAs), creatine, and caffeine. Micronutrients often found in liquid supplements include vitamins D, B, or C.

Since they are already mixed, liquid supplements typically have a shorter shelf-life than their powdered equivalent. Liquid supplements may also require many more “other” ingredients. This includes emulsifiers, solvents, preservatives, stabilizing agents, coloring, flavoring, and more.

Liquids Pros:

  • More convenient than mixing powders
  • Can include large doses of active ingredients

Liquids Cons:

  • More expensive and difficult to transport
  • Difficult to add non-soluble ingredients
  • Less concentrated active ingredients (more excipients)
  • Added sweeteners and excipients
  • Often a shorter shelf-life

Vitamin Injections

Certain vitamins can be injected intravenously (IV) or by intramuscular injections. Injections are a great option for delivering select nutrients in large doses. Vitamin B12 is one nutrient that has shown therapeutic benefits in some populations.

One concern with injections, is that many nutrients are not safe to inject. Of those that are safe to inject, very few of them offer extra measurable benefits to the average person over eating the nutrient. Because of this, injections should only typically be done at a doctor’s recommendations.

Injections also bring additional risk factors. At the very least they can be uncomfortable. IVs pose a risk of infection, bleeding (hematoma), embolism, and more.

Vitamin Injection Pros:

  • Can deliver high-doses of select nutrients

Vitamin Injection Cons:

  • Limited nutrient compatibility
  • Uncomfortable
  • Potential health risks

So What is the Best Supplement Form?

The large variety of supplement forms each have their own benefits and downsides. Ultimately, the best supplement form will depend on you and your individual needs.

It will depend on the active ingredients that you need, and individual preferences for swallowing tablets, taste, and convenience. Special medical needs may also determine the form a doctor may recommend to you.

The best advice when deciding the best supplement, is to consider all the factors listed above. Do the pros outweigh the cons? Is the form being used for its real benefits, or is it just a marketing tactic to be different?

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here