不要被这5个护肤迷思所欺骗

如果您一直都在关注目前的美容与健康趋势,您就知道我们正处于一场护肤革命。现在有比以前更多的品牌、产品和工具可以帮助您保持皮肤健康。

不要将这种趋势视为纯粹的虚荣,好好保护皮肤不仅只是想要保持年轻貌美而已。皮肤是人体最大的器官,在调节体温、制造维生素D、以及作为抵御有害病菌的第一道防线方面,都发挥着相当重要的功用。所以尽力照顾好皮肤是有必要的。

但有时我们最好的意图却反而让本身受害;相信一些常见的护肤迷思可能会导致(或恶化)我们正试图改正或避免的皮肤问题。现在让我们来破解七个被普遍相信的错误护肤观念,看看这些以讹传讹的观念的真相,并提供对皮肤有益的提示。

迷思1:所有护肤法都一样。

当然啦,您可以在任何超市或药妆店买到的一般洁面乳都能清除皮肤污垢和油脂,任何保湿剂也都能提供一定的保湿作用。但想真正看到正面的效果并使皮肤感觉最舒畅,产品中就需要真正含有皮肤所需要的成份。

采用个性化护肤法的第一步是了解您的皮肤类型。毛孔小而粗糙,有皮屑吗?那您的皮肤可能是干性。如果皮肤每天下午都会出现黑头,并且需要吸油纸,那您的皮肤大概是油性。或者,如果您中午会看到T部位(额头、鼻子和下巴)发亮,但脸颊周围有皮屑,那您的皮肤可能是综合了两者。若您的皮肤往往容易过敏,那就是敏感性皮肤了。如果您还是不确定,可做做这个皮肤类型测验,来了解您皮肤的类型。

无论您的皮肤是什么类型,请选择支持重要的皮肤屏障健康的护肤方案,让皮肤拥有最好的外观和触感。有保护作用的皮肤外层含有脂质或水分屏障,可保护皮肤免受环境的影响并保持天然的湿度。当皮肤屏障发挥最佳效果时,皮肤的外观就会紧致丰满,也会有一种天然的水嫩感。保持湿度屏障健康对于想要获得的外观是非常重要的。

个性化护肤方案可以像清洁和保湿这么简单,也可以像韩国13步程序一样复杂。然而,不论您选择了多少步骤,都要确保您护肤方案的每项产品都是适合您皮肤类型的。一般而言,护肤方案常见的主要产品如下:

  1. 洁面乳:请用早晚皆能使用的温和洁面乳。若您有化妆,最好在洗脸前先另外采取一个卸妆的步骤—称为两步骤清洁。
  2. 爽肤水:这不仅对综合型或油性皮肤的人是一个重要的步骤,爽肤也可以帮助滋润干燥的皮肤。此类产品近年来发展蓬勃,因此您可以找到含有从玫瑰水到康普茶等各种成份的爽肤水。洗脸之后立即使用爽肤水有助于锁住皮肤的自然水分,准备进行皮肤滋润,但此步骤大多不是非做不可。
  3. 精华露:精华露亦称为精华液或精华素,含有多种针对皮肤类型的成份,包括植物萃取物、油脂和营养素。只需使用几滴即可,因为这些产品是高浓缩的。
  4. 眼霜:当您的皮肤正在吸收精华露时,温和地用您的无名指将所选择的眼霜或凝胶轻拍在眼窝周围的皮肤。勿用力拍打或涂抹本产品,因为可能导致细薄娇嫩的皮肤受到拉扯。
  5. 保湿:保湿霜和精华露一样,也要配合皮肤的需求。日间保湿霜可寻找广谱防晒系数至少为SPF 30的产品,或于使用保湿霜之后再涂防晒霜。

迷思2:只有脸部需要护肤。

记得我们上面讨论的皮肤屏障吗?它覆盖并保护您全身的肌肤,这表示它其余的部分也像您脸上的皮肤那样需要多加保养和关注。

为了照顾您娇嫩的肌肤,并呵护那些经常被忽视的身体部位,您应该:

  • 淋浴时水温不要太热,时间要短。长时间接触热水会损害皮肤的保湿屏障,导致其干燥、发红和刺激。
  • 用毛巾拍干,勿用力擦拭。过度摩擦会拉扯皮肤,进而立即引发刺激,时间久了皮肤就会失去弹性。
  • 每日进行保湿,至少可以锁住皮肤保湿屏障所需的水分。淋浴后可使用优质乳液,并于白天和夜间洗完脸之后使用脸部保湿霜。
  • 每周做全身温和去角质一到两次,特别集中在较粗糙的部位,像肘部、膝盖、脚踝和脚跟。用菜瓜布沾保湿沐浴乳或保湿磨砂膏进行去角质。
  • 保持水分。每日喝推荐的补水饮料64盎司,例如不加糖的茶、椰子水、杏仁奶,当然啦!还有水。皮肤干燥可能是缺水的早期迹象。
  • 避免使用刺激性或会使皮肤干燥的肥皂、洁面乳和沐浴乳。阅读产品标示,并避开那些含有会破坏水分的硫酸盐产品或刺激性的酒精产品。
  • 每天都涂防晒霜。不仅是海滩假期和夏天才需要防御有害的阳光,阳光全年都会破坏皮肤的保湿屏障。我们下面会讨论这个议题。
  • 涂抹脸部护肤品时要一路抹到颈部,颈部需要的关注与脸部相似,而脖子上的皮肤甚至更薄。
  • 请使用护手霜,特别是用有防晒系数的,以防止老人斑。虽然您可以假报您的年龄,但您的手可能会泄漏您的秘密。
  • 别忘了脚部保养!淋浴时可使用浮石来磨掉老茧。如要额外进行夜间保湿,可于双脚涂抹乳液并穿上棉袜再上床睡觉。

迷思3:SPF越高,保护力越好

这个逻辑看起来好像很简单:防晒品的SPF系数越高,防晒效果越好。然而,实际情况却有点复杂。

尽管UVA和UVB射线都会损伤皮肤,但SPF通常只测量该产品防止UVB射线的量,这种射线会导致最严重的晒伤。如果您使用某些高SPF的防晒霜,可能就不会看到皮肤发红或发生晒伤,但这并不表示您没有受到高剂量的有害UVA的照射。

甚至SPF系数本身也让人迷惑。大多数人认为SPF 30提供的防晒效果是SPF 15的两倍,但实际上SPF 15的防晒霜阻挡了93%的UVB射线,而SPF 30产品则阻挡97%。

更复杂的是,SPF是将2毫克的防晒霜涂在一平方公分的皮肤上来测量的。但大多数人涂抹的量则是一半或更少。所以如果您只涂少量防晒霜,其保护力可能比您想象的要少得多。

那什么是最佳点?SPF在30和50之间的产品,就可以防止UVA和UVB辐射。通常产品会在卷标上显示为「广谱」、「多光谱」、或「UVA / UVB光谱」。

想获得最佳的防晒效果,抹防晒霜时,其用量应比您认为自己需要的更多。当直接曝晒于阳光下超过两小时,或曾经下水及运动过后,一定要重新涂抹。同时也要采取其他防晒措施,如寻找阴凉处、穿宽松的浅色防晒衣裳、戴帽子和减少在阳光下曝晒的时间。

迷思4:美容觉其实只出现在童话故事中。

即使星期六睡到中午也不会消除您的鱼尾纹或法令纹。但越来越多的研究显示,晚上有好的睡眠,长期下来会让您的皮肤有意想不到的效果。反之,睡眠不足会对皮肤造成极大的伤害。

一份针对英国女性的研究显示了非常确凿的结果。与每晚睡八小时的人相比,连续五天每晚只睡六小时的人的皱纹、黑眼圈和整体肤色暗沉都明显增加了。

熬夜的直接影响会以黑眼圈的方式明显呈现在浮肿的眼部。但失眠则会进一步对皮肤的其他部分造成损害。

在睡眠当中,您的身体会进入修复模式。它忙着消除死亡的旧细胞,制造新细胞,并清理身体的毒素。如果短少一整夜的睡眠,您就会错过生产胶原蛋白的那几个小时,这会导致皮肤松弛,看起来也会老得更快。此外您也无法获得流向您脸部的正常血流量,而那是呈现健康的容颜所需要的。

睡眠不足还会使压力激素皮质醇的浓度增加,从而长出青春痘。pH值不平衡和水分流失是失眠的常见副产品,会严重破坏您的肤色。

因此请早点就寝,以便每晚都能获得建议的七至九小时睡眠。还有,别忘了护肤的基本原则:绝对不要在未卸妆的情况下睡觉。

迷思5:吃油腻的食物会让您长青春痘

您可能从十几岁就听过这个迷思了:如果您大吃特吃巧克力、炸薯条或其他垃圾食品,您将很快就会长出难看的青春痘。旧的逻辑是因为油性皮肤往往较容易出现瑕疵,因此吃油腻的食物会加重您皮肤出油的问题。实际上,饮食中的油脂并不等于会产生更多皮脂(皮肤的天然油脂)。

尽管现在还不用跟快餐划清界线,但吃什么仍然会影响您的皮肤。您吃什么就会成为什么,而某些食物确实会引发一些可能对皮肤外观造成不良影响的荷尔蒙反应,尤其是对食物过敏或敏感的人更是如此。研究显示有些食物可能会让有问题的皮肤更加严重。如果这是您的情况,请尽量避免下列食物和饮料一段时间,看看您的皮肤问题是否平息下来。

  • 精制糖和加工谷物。单一碳水化合物已知会阻扰胰岛素,造成负责皮肤细胞生长和皮脂分泌的荷尔蒙的混乱。更多的细胞逆转与更多的油脂可能就会给皮肤带来灾难。
  • 乳制品。青春痘通常与发炎有关,对有任何程度的过敏的人来说,乳制品可能真的会有问题。然而研究结果有些矛盾,因为牛奶、奶油和冰淇淋对皮肤的不良影响似乎较大,而酸奶和奶酪所引起的问题较少。
  • 酒精。您绝不会为此干杯的:酒精对皮肤来说简直是一场噩梦。它不仅会给肝脏(负责身体排毒的器官)带来灾难,还会使身体和皮肤脱水。大多数鸡尾酒都会添加大量的糖,这会导致可怕的胰岛素阻扰。也许您认为红葡萄酒具有健康功效,所以可以是喝一些,但对许多人来说,它还是有可能引发脸部潮红。如果您想喝,尽量不要过度,并且要喝大量的水。隔天早上您的皮肤将会感谢您,而且会长久感谢您。

事实证明,妈妈和祖母给您的一些关于护肤的建议并没有科学或事实的根据。但好消息是,这护肤品的黄金时代提供了比以往更多的选项,让您可以为您独特的皮肤做最佳的选择。

参考文献

https://www.niams.nih.gov/health-topics/kids/healthy-skin

http://www.americanskin.org/resource/

https://www.webmd.com/beauty/whats-your-skin-type#1

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/skincare-routines-of-top-dermatologists_us_5850335de4b0e05aded6214f?section=us_own

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2688147/

https://www.everydayhealth.com/beauty-pictures/delicious-good-for-your-skin-drinks.aspx#01

https://www.skincancer.org/skin-cancer-information/ask-the-experts/does-a-higher-spf-sunscreen-always-protect-your-skin-better

https://www.mdedge.com/edermatologynews/article/130640/aesthetic-dermatology/beauty-sleep-sleep-deprivation-and-skin

https://www.webmd.com/beauty/features/beauty-sleep#1

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/goodlife/11618809/How-a-bad-nights-sleep-wrecks-your-skin.html

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/beauty/anti-aging/a35556/why-is-sleeping-in-makeup-bad/

http://www.yalescientific.org/2011/11/does-greasy-food-cause-acne/

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/foods-that-cause-acne#section1

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/24/alcohol-skin_n_4146391.html

Don’t be Duped by These 5 Skincare Myths

If you’ve been paying attention to current beauty and health trends, you know we’re amid a skincare revolution. More brands, products, and tools are available to help you maintain your skin health than ever before.

Don’t chalk this trend up to mere vanity, though—taking good care of your skin is about more than just wanting to stay youthful-looking. As your body’s largest organ, the skin also plays a vital role in regulating body temperature, manufacturing vitamin D, and acting as your first line of defense against harmful germs. It only makes sense that you’d want to take the best possible care of it.

But sometimes you sabotage yourself with your best intentions. Believing some common skincare myths can cause (or worsen) the very skin problems you’re trying to correct or avoid. Learn fact from fiction as we bust five widely believed skincare fallacies and offer tips to making skin-friendly choices.

Myth 1: There is one right kind of skincare regimen.

Sure, most of the generic cleansers you can find at any supermarket or drugstore will remove dirt and oil from your skin. And any moisturizer will provide some boost in hydration. But to really see positive results and make your skin its happiest, you need to give it exactly what it needs.

The first step in adopting a bespoke (read: personalized) skincare regimen is to understand your skin type. Small pores with rough, flaky patches? You probably have dry skin. If you tend to get blackheads and need a blotting tissue every afternoon, you’re likely on the oily side of the spectrum. Or, you could be a combination of both if you see midday shine in your T-zone (forehead, nose, and chin) but are scaly around your cheeks. If you tend to be easily irritated, you could have sensitive skin. If you’re still unsure what category you fall into, take this skin type quiz to find out.

Whatever your skin type, choose a regimen that supports the health of your all-important skin barrier to help you look and feel your best. The protective outer layer of skin contains a lipid or moisture barrier that protects you from your environment and keeps natural moisture in. When your skin barrier is performing at its best, your skin looks firm and plump. It also has a natural dewy glow. Keeping your moisture barrier healthy is important to get the results you want to see in the mirror.

A bespoke skincare regimen can be as simple as cleansing and moisturizing or as robust as the Korean 13-step routine. However many steps you choose, make sure each product in your regimen is geared toward your skin type. In general, the following are common staple products of a skincare regimen:

  1. Cleanser: Look for a mild cleanser to use morning and night. If you wear makeup, it’s best to remove it in a separate step prior to washing—called the two-step cleaning process.
  2. Toner: It’s not just an important step only for those with combination or oily skin. Toning can also help moisturize dry skin. This category has boomed in recent years, and you can find toners that include a wide variety of ingredients, from rose water to kombucha. Toning right after cleansing helps lock in your natural hydration and prepares your skin for moisturizing, but this is the most optional step.
  3. Serum: Also known as an essence or ampoule, serums may contain a broad range of ingredients—including plant extracts, oils and nutrients—that focus on types of skin concern. You only need a few drops, as these products are highly concentrated.
  4. Eye cream: While your skin is absorbing the serum, use your ring finger to gently tap the eye cream or gel of your choice into the skin surrounding the eye socket. Don’t swipe or rub in the product, as that can cause pulling in an area with thin, delicate skin.
  5. Moisturize: Like serums, moisturizers are also often tailored to your skin needs. For your daytime moisturizer, look for one with a broad spectrum SPF of at least 30, or apply a sunscreen separately after your moisturizer.

Myth 2: You only need skincare for your face.

That skin barrier we discussed above? It covers and protects the skin all over your body. That means the rest of it needs just as much care and attention as the skin on your face.

To baby the delicate skin you’re in and pamper those often-neglected body parts:

  • Take cooler, shorter showers. Prolonged exposure to heat can cause damage to your moisture barrier, which can lead to dryness, redness, and irritation.
  • Pat, don’t rub, yourself dry with a towel. Excessive rubbing can tug at your skin, which can cause immediate irritation and a loss of elasticity in the skin over time.
  • Moisturize daily, at minimum, to lock in the hydration your moisture barrier needs. Use a quality body lotion after showering, and use a facial moisturizer after cleansing both day and night.
  • Gently exfoliate all over once to twice a week, especially concentrating on the rougher spots like elbows, knees, ankles, and heels. Use a loofah with a creamy, hydrating body wash or a moisturizing sugar scrub.
  • Stay hydrated. Drink the daily recommended 64 ounces of hydrating beverages such as unsweetened teas, coconut water, almond milk, and, of course, water. Dry skin can be an early sign that you’re dehydrated.
  • Avoid harsh, drying soaps, facial cleansers, and body washes. Read the product labels and steer clear from those with moisture-sapping sulfates or harsh alcohols.
  • Apply sunscreen every day. Protection from the sun’s harmful rays aren’t just for beach days and summer months. The sun can break down your skin’s moisture barrier year-round. See more on this topic below.
  • Bring the skincare products you use on your face all the way down to the neck. It needs a similar amount of attention as your face, but the skin on the neck is even thinner.
  • Use hand cream, especially with SPF, to keep the age spots at bay. Even if you lie about your age, your hands could betray you.
  • Don’t forget your feet! Get rid of calluses by using a pumice stone in the shower. For extra overnight hydration, slather your feet with lotion and wear cotton socks to bed.

Myth 3: The higher the SPF, the better the protection

It seems like the logic should be simple: the higher the SPF number in a sunscreen product, the better it protects against the sun’s harmful rays. The reality, however, is a bit more complicated.

Even though both UVA and UVB rays can damage the skin, SPF typically only measures the amount a product protects against UVB rays—the rays that cause the worst sunburns. If you used certain high-SPF sunscreens, you might not see skin redness or get a sunburn, but that doesn’t mean your skin hasn’t received a high dose of damaging UVA radiation.

Even the SPF numbers themselves can be deceiving. Most people believe that SPF 30 provides double the sun protection that SPF 15 does. In actuality, SPF 15 sunscreen blocks 93 percent of UVB rays, while an SPF 30 product blocks 97 percent.

Further complicating matters, SPF is tested by applying two milligrams of sunscreen to one square centimeter of skin. Most people apply half— or less —that amount. If you skimp on applying sunscreen, you could be much less protected than you assume.

So what’s the sweet spot? Look for an SPF between 30 and 50 that protects against both UVA and UVB radiation. This will often appear on product labels as “broad spectrum,” “multi spectrum,” or “UVA/UVB spectrum.”

For optimal sun protection, apply more sunscreen than you think you need. Be sure to reapply when exposed to direct sun for more than two hours or if you’ve been in the water or exercising. Also take other sun-avoiding measures like seeking shade, wearing loose, light-colored protective clothing, a hat, and limiting time spent in the sun.

Myth 4: Beauty sleep is real only in fairy tales.

Sleeping in until noon on Saturdays will not erase your crow’s feet or banish your smile lines. But a growing amount of research suggests consistently getting a good night’s sleep will do wonders for your skin long term. And, conversely, getting poor rest can have highly damaging effects on the skin.

A study of British women showed pretty conclusive results. All saw an increase of wrinkles, dark circles, and overall dull complexion after five consecutive days of getting only six hours of sleep per night—compared to after getting a night of eight hours of sleep.

The immediate effects of a rough night can be obvious in the form of dark circles under puffy eyes. But the damage sleep deprivation can cause the rest of your skin goes much further.

During sleep, your body goes into repair mode. It gets busy eliminating old, dead cells, making new ones, and cleaning your body of toxins. When you shortchange yourself of a full night’s sleep, you’re missing out on hours of collagen production, which can lead to your skin sagging and looking older sooner. You also won’t get the normal amount of blood flow to your face necessary to give you a healthy, rosy glow.

Lack of sleep also increases levels of the stress hormone cortisol, which can lead to breakouts. Imbalances in pH and loss of moisture are other common byproducts of sleep deprivation, and can wreak havoc on your complexion.

So go ahead and hit the sack a bit earlier to get the recommended seven to nine hours of sleep you need every night. And don’t forget the cardinal rule in skincare: never sleep without first removing your makeup.

Myth 5: Eating greasy foods will make you break out

You’ve probably heard this myth since you were a teenager: if you pig out on chocolate, French fries, or other junk foods, you’ll be promptly rewarded with an unsightly breakout. The old logic was that because oily skin tends to be more prone to imperfections, eating greasy foods will worsen your skin’s oil problems. In reality, oil in your diet doesn’t equate to higher production of sebum (your skin’s natural oil).

Don’t go throwing a parade through your nearest drive-thru just yet, though. What you eat still affects your skin. You are what you eat, and certain foods can trigger hormonal responses that may negatively affect how your skin looks. This is especially true for those that have food sensitivities or allergies. Research has shown that there are some foods that could aggravate problem-prone skin. If that describes you, try staying away from the foods and beverages listed below for a while to see if your skin troubles subside.

  • Refined sugars and processed grains. Simple carbohydrates are known to cause spikes in insulin, which messes with the hormones responsible for skin-cell growth and sebum production. More cell turnover combined with more oil can be a recipe for skin disaster.
  • Breakouts are typically connected to inflammation, and for people that have any level of sensitivity to it, dairy can really flare things up. While research is conflicted, milk, cream, and ice cream appear to have more negative impacts on the skin, while yogurt and hard cheeses tend to cause fewer issues.
  • You’re not going to want to toast to this: alcohol is a nightmare for the skin. Not only is it hard on the liver—the organ responsible for detoxifying your body—but it also dehydrates the body and the skin. Most cocktail mixers come with hefty added doses of sugar, which will cause the dreaded insulin spikes. And in case you thought red wine was exempt because of its noted health benefits, for a lot of people it can cause flushing of the face. If you’re going to imbibe, try not to go overboard, and drink plenty of water. Your skin will thank you the next morning—and in the long run.

It turns out that some of the advice your mother and grandmother gave you about skincare aren’t backed by science or reality. The good news is this golden age of skincare provides more options than ever to make the best choices possible for your unique skin.

References

https://www.niams.nih.gov/health-topics/kids/healthy-skin

http://www.americanskin.org/resource/

https://www.webmd.com/beauty/whats-your-skin-type#1

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/skincare-routines-of-top-dermatologists_us_5850335de4b0e05aded6214f?section=us_own

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2688147/

https://www.everydayhealth.com/beauty-pictures/delicious-good-for-your-skin-drinks.aspx#01

https://www.skincancer.org/skin-cancer-information/ask-the-experts/does-a-higher-spf-sunscreen-always-protect-your-skin-better

https://www.mdedge.com/edermatologynews/article/130640/aesthetic-dermatology/beauty-sleep-sleep-deprivation-and-skin

https://www.webmd.com/beauty/features/beauty-sleep#1

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/goodlife/11618809/How-a-bad-nights-sleep-wrecks-your-skin.html

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/beauty/anti-aging/a35556/why-is-sleeping-in-makeup-bad/

http://www.yalescientific.org/2011/11/does-greasy-food-cause-acne/

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/foods-that-cause-acne#section1

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/24/alcohol-skin_n_4146391.html