Boosters MySmartMD d’USANAMD – Fibergy Plus, Protein Plus

Refaites rapidement et facilement le plein d’énergie avec les boosters Fibergy Plus  et Protein Plus MySmart

Un corps en santé donne une impression de légèreté et de force. Les boosters MySmart d’USANA sont un moyen judicieux de favoriser votre style de vie sain, de sorte que vous vous sentirez en pleine forme et prêt à profiter de la vie tous les jours.

Fibergy Plus et Protein Plus sont formulés pour personnaliser les boissons fouettées protéinées MySmart ou être consommés seuls. Avec ces deux boosters de qualité supérieure, il est très simple d’intégrer à votre régime alimentaire des macronutriments importants qui vous aideront à réaliser vos objectifs personnels à l’égard de votre mieux-être.

Booster Fibergy Plus MySmart d’USANA : une agréable sensation de légèreté

La vie est parfois chaotique, et vous n’avez pas besoin de kilos en trop ou d’un système digestif languissant pour vous ralentir davantage. Excellente source de 12 grammes de fibres, Fibergy Plus MySmart peut vous aider à vous sentir léger et en santé, car il contribue à :

  • la maîtrise du poids en vous donnant une sensation de satiété
  • la santé du système digestif en aidant à un transit régulier et à l’équilibre du microbiome intestinal
  • la santé cardiaque en favorisant de nombreux aspects de la fonction cardiovasculaire

Offert en format pratique et naturellement à faible indice glycémique, Fibergy Plus est un bon moyen d’accroître la quantité de fibres dans votre régime alimentaire. Contrairement à de nombreux autres suppléments avec fibres, Fibergy Plus renferme des fibres alimentaires de diverses sources. Vous profiterez ainsi d’une gamme complète de bienfaits qu’apportent les fibres insolubles et solubles.

Les fibres de sources comme le psyllium et la canne à sucre biologique sont des agents gonflants contribuant à une digestion plus lente des aliments, ce qui apaise la faim et procure une sensation de satiété après un repas. Comme Fibergy Plus comble votre appétit, c’est une solution à faible teneur calorique qui vous aide à renoncer aux casse-croûte, vous permettant ainsi de conserver un poids santé lorsque vous le conjuguez  avec un régime alimentaire équilibré et l’exercice.

Avec sa combinaison encore plus rassasiante qui allie les fibres aux protéines et lipides, Fibergy Plus constitue aussi un excellent ajout à une base protéinée MySmart.

Une digestion ralentie à l’aide de fibres ajoutées comporte d’autres bienfaits. Après un repas, elle aide à éviter une hausse subite de la glycémie suivie d’un effondrement. En prolongeant le temps que met votre organisme à digérer les aliments, Fibergy Plus peut contribuer à maintenir un bon taux sanguin de glucose, à la condition que celui-ci soit normal au départ.

L’action gonflante des fibres est aussi un facteur de santé du système digestif. Les fibres nettoient le tube digestif et aident à normaliser la consistance des selles pour favoriser un transit régulier.

Un intestin en santé et un transit régulier sont essentiels à votre santé, car ils évacuent avec efficacité les déchets et toxines hors du côlon. Si un transit tarde à se produite, les aliments non digérés et déchets métaboliques s’accumulent et peuvent vous ralentir et entraîner des malaises occasionnels. Fibergy Plus aide votre organisme à éliminer régulièrement.

En agissant comme un prébiotique, l’inuline tirée de l’agave favorise aussi la santé du microbiome intestinal. Cette fibre non digestible soutient la croissance de bonnes  bifidobactéries ­– une souche bactérienne logée dans le tube digestif. La présence dans l’intestin de ces bactéries bénéfiques est désirable, car elles renforcent la capacité du tube digestif de décomposer les aliments et d’absorber les nutriments.

† De plus, l’intégration de fibres solubles de source alimentaire comme celles contenues dans Fibergy Plus à un régime alimentaire faible en gras saturés et en cholestérol, peut aider à réduire le risque de maladie cardiaque. Une portion de Fibergy Plus fournit l’apport quotidien de 2,9 grammes de fibres solubles provenant du psyllium nécessaire pour obtenir ce résultat.

On a associé les fibres à bon nombre d’aspects d’un bon fonctionnement cardiovasculaire. La recherche a montré que les fibres peuvent contribuer à inhiber l’absorption du cholestérol  provenant de l’intestin ou à restreindre et éliminer l’excès de bile. Par ce processus, elles aident à maintenir de bons taux de cholestérol LDL et de triglycérides, de même qu’une bonne tension artérielle, à la condition que ces taux et la tension soient normaux au départ.

Quel apport en fibres vous faut-il?

Neuf personnes sur 10 devraient consommer plus de fibres. L’apport quotidien en fibres alimentaires d’un adulte moyen est d’environ 16 grammes. On recommande un apport beaucoup plus important qui varie légèrement en fonction de l’âge et du sexe :

  • Adultes de 50 ans et moins : 38 grammes pour les hommes et 25 pour les femmes
  • Adultes de plus de 50 ans : 30 grammes pour les hommes et 21 pour les femmes, en raison de leur consommation réduite d’aliments.

Un régime alimentaire quotidien comportant des fruits, légumes, légumineuses et grains entiers peut aider à hausser la consommation de fibres. Les régimes alimentaires faibles en gras et riches en produits de grains à teneur élevée en fibres, fruits et légumes peuvent contribuer à réduire le risque de certaines formes de cancer, une maladie multifactorielle.

Avec Fibergy Plus MySmart, il est facile d’accroître votre apport quotidien. Une seule cuillerée à table fournit près de la moitié de l’apport quotidien recommandé. Sans arôme ajouté, la formule se mélange très bien dans une boisson fouettée protéinée MySmart, du jus ou de l’eau. Pour varier, vous pouvez l’utiliser avec des aliments. SI vous aimez cuisiner, vous pouvez substituer Fibergy Plus à une certaine quantité de farine dans vos recettes préférées.

SHOP HERE

Fibergy Plus MySmart en bref

  • 12 g fibres
  • 15 calories
  • Sans gluten, substances laitières, ni soja††
  • Sans lipides ni cholestérol
  • Faible teneur en sodium

Voir la liste complète des ingrédients

MISE EN GARDE : Consommer ce produit avec au moins un verre plein de liquide. Une quantité insuffisante de liquide peut entraîner un étouffement. En cas de difficulté à avaler, ne pas consommer ce produit. Consommer ce produit au moins deux heures avant ou après la prise de médicaments (d’ordonnance ou en vente libre).

†† AUCUN INGRÉDIENT RENFERMANT DES SUBSTANCES LAITIÈRES, DU SOJA OU GLUTEN N’ENTRE DANS LA FABRICATION DE CE PRODUIT. PAR CONTRE, CE PRODUIT EST FABRIQUÉ AVEC DE L’ÉQUIPEMENT SERVANT AUSSI À LA FABRICATION DE PRODUITS CONTENANT : LAIT,  ŒUFS, POISSON, CRUSTACÉS, NOIX, BLÉ, GLUTEN ET SOJA.

Booster Fibergy Plus MySmart : questions fréquemment posées

Pourquoi une mise en garde sur le risque d’étouffement avec Fibergy Plus?

Une des principales caractéristiques des fibres solubles est leur capacité d’agir comme une éponge dans l’intestin. En absorbant l’eau, elles forment une substance gélatineuse qui lubrifie le tube digestif et facilite une évacuation plus rapide des déchets.

On peut observer cette consistance gélatineuse en mélangeant à un liquide chaud un produit avec fibres (comme Fibergy Plus) ou en laissant reposer le produit dans un liquide à température ambiante pendant un certain temps.

C’est pourquoi il est important de mélanger Fibergy Plus dans un liquide froid et de boire aussitôt  le mélange bien remué. De cette façon, on réduit la vitesse de gélification, réduisant du même coup le risque d’étouffement.

Booster Protein Plus MySmart : pour aider à conserver votre force

Woman lifting weight

Pour accomplir les tâches de la vie quotidienne, il faut une certaine force, qu’il s’agisse de transporter les sacs d’épicerie, de monter l’escalier avec votre bambin dans les bras ou d’atteindre vos objectifs de bonne forme physique. Quelle que soit la tâche, un corps fort et en bonne forme vous aidera à la remplir.

L’exercice régulier et un apport suffisant de protéines s’imposent pour conserver votre force musculaire. Les protéines, qui sont des macronutriments essentiels, vous procurent les acides aminés indispensables au développement et au maintien d’une masse musculaire maigre.

Une boisson fouettée enrichie du booster Protein Plus MySmart vous permet d’intégrer 10 grammes de protéines complètes à un régime alimentaire sain. Le produit renferme un concentré de lactosérum pur à 100 % provenant de bestiaux élevés sans hormones synthétiques (sans rbST ou BGH ajoutées). De plus, la pasteurisation à basse température réduit la dénaturation des protéines qui peut rendre le produit inefficace.

Riche en protéines, Protein Plus contient aussi tous les acides aminés essentiels qu’il faut à votre organisme pour contribuer à maintenir une masse musculaire maigre (aussi appelée masse sans graisse).

Man and woman stretching, getting ready to exercise

Une masse musculaire maigre est importante toute la vie durant, à tous les stades et à tous âges. Un apport suffisant de protéines est essentiel pour plusieurs raisons, notamment pour :

  • Favoriser un poids santé
  • Développer et renforcer les muscles
  • Contribuer au maintien de la masse musculaire avec l’âge.

Comme les protéines vous procurent une sensation de satiété durable, elles peuvent vous aider à moins manger lorsque vous voulez réduire votre apport en calories. Les protéines sont aussi bénéfiques à bien d’autres égards pour la maîtrise du poids. Les muscles tendent à éliminer plus de calories que de graisse, même au repos. Par conséquent, en contribuant au maintien d’une masse corporelle maigre, un régime alimentaire comportant un apport accru de protéines peut favoriser un métabolisme énergétique efficace.

Pour être au sommet de leur sport, les athlètes ont besoin d’un apport plus élevé de protéines. Leur dépense d’énergie étant plus importante, il leur faut des protéines en abondance pour réparer et renforcer le tissu musculaire après l’exercice.

L’importance de conserver de bons muscles s’accroît avec l’âge. En vieillissant,  l’amenuisement progressif de la masse et de la fonction musculaires s’accentue. À l’âge de 60 ans, vous pourriez commencer à perdre la force et la fonction musculaires nécessaires pour conserver votre autonomie et votre énergie à un âge plus avancé (surtout si vous menez une vie sédentaire). Ce déclin peut même être plus prononcé chez les femmes en post-ménopause.

La bonne nouvelle, c’est qu’il est possible d’éviter une certaine perte osseuse. Les personnes d’âge mûr peuvent conserver une bonne qualité de vie en s’efforçant de préserver leur force par l’exercice régulier et en favorisant le maintien de leur musculature par un apport suffisant de protéines.

Quel apport en protéines me faut-il?

Selon la recommandation de l’Institute of Medicine, pour rester en santé, la plupart des gens ont besoin d’un apport quotidien de huit grammes de protéines pour environ 10 kilos de poids corporel (0,8 g/kg). Pour les personnes d’âge mûr, l’apport quotidien peut aller jusqu’à 1,2 g par kilo.

SI vous essayez de maîtriser votre poids, vous pourriez avoir besoin d’un apport protéinique plus élevé. La recherche a montré l’importance d’accroître votre apport habituel de protéines pour constater des améliorations. Vous devez accroître de 37% l’apport général recommandé, soit 11 grammes pour environ 10 kilos de poids corporel (1,2 g/kg).

À l’instar des athlètes, les personnes très actives ont elles aussi besoin d’un apport accru de protéines. Si c’est votre cas, et en fonction de l’intensité de vos entraînements, songez à un apport protéinique quotidien de 18 grammes pour environ 10 kilos de poids corporel.

Voyons quelques exemples.

  • Marie, 35 ans, pèse 68 kilos. Elle fait de l’exercice tous les jours, mais occupe un emploi sédentaire. Il lui faut un apport quotidien d’environ 60 grammes de protéines pour préserver sa santé. Et si elle cherche à maîtriser son poids, cet apport doit être d’environ 82 grammes.
  • Luc est un athlète professionnel qui père lui aussi 68 kilos. Ses entraînements quotidiens sont intensifs et de longue durée. Par conséquent, il peut avoir besoin d’un apport allant jusqu’à 135 grammes de protéines par jour.

Pour de meilleurs résultats, il faut aussi prendre en compte d’autres aspects.

Le moyen idéal de maximiser les bienfaits d’un apport de protéines est de le répartir à peu près également à chaque repas. Cette méthode est plus efficace pour développer vos muscles que de consommer vos protéines en un seul repas ou deux. Après avoir bien calculé votre apport en protéines, divisez également la quantité obtenue entre le nombre de repas et collations que vous prenez généralement tous les jours.

Avec Protein Plus MySmart, il est facile d’ajouter des protéines à votre régime alimentaire dès que vous en avez besoin. Songez à intégrer le produit à une boisson fouettée protéinée MySmart au déjeuner. C’est un choix judicieux car c’est le repas le moins protéiné pour la plupart des gens. Vous pouvez aussi prendre Protein Plus à l’heure de la collation en le mélangeant dans du lait de vache, de soja ou de noix de coco, ou encore dans une autre boisson. Une portion de Protein Plus MySmart accroît votre apport en protéines pour vous aider à rester en pleine forme.

Protein Plus MySmart en bref

  • 10 g protéines
  • 50 calories
  • 0,5 g lipides
  • 1 g glucides
  • Aucun additif
  • Aucun agent de remplissage

Voir la liste complète des ingrédients

Références

McGill C, Fulgoni V, Devareddy L. 2015. Ten-Year Trends in Fiber and Whole Grain Intakes and Food Sources for the United States Population: National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey 2001–2010. Nutrients 7(2): 1119-1130.

Bozzetto L, et al. 2018. Dietary Fibre as a Unifying Remedy for the Whole Spectrum of Obesity-Associated Cardiovascular Risk. Nutrients 10(7): 943.

Appendix 7. Nutritional Goals for Age-Sex Groups Based on Dietary Reference Intakes and Dietary Guidelines Health.gov [Internet] [accessed 26 Sept 2018] Available at https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/appendix-7/

Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. 2002. NASEM. [Internet] [accessed 26 Sept 2018] Available at http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/Reports/2002/Dietary-Reference-Intakes-for-Energy-Carbohydrate-Fiber-Fat-Fatty-Acids-Cholesterol-Protein-and-Amino-Acids.aspx

McRorie JW Jr. 2015. Evidence-Based Approach to Fiber Supplements and Clinically Meaningful Health Benefits, Part 1: What to Look for and How to Recommend an Effective Fiber Therapy. Nutr Today 50(2): 82-89.

Tipton K. 2008. Protein for adaptations to exercise training. Eur J Sp Sci 8(2): 107-118.

Ferguson-Stegall L, et al. 2011. Aerobic Exercise Training Adaptations Are Increased by Postexercise Carbohydrate-Protein Supplementation. J Nutr Metab (2011): 623182.

Wolfe RR. 2012. The role of dietary protein in optimizing muscle mass, function and health outcomes in older individuals. Br J Nutr 108(Suppl 2): S88-93.

Deutz N, et al. 2014. Protein intake and exercise for optimal muscle function with

aging: Recommendations from the ESPEN Expert Group. Clin Nutr 33: 929-936.

Westerterp-Plantenga MS, Lemmens SG, Westerterp KR. 2012. Dietary protein – its role in satiety, energetics, weight loss and health. Br J Nutr 108(Suppl 2): S105-12.

Lejeune MP, Kovacs EM, Westerterp-Plantenga MS. 2005. Additional protein intake limits weight regain after weight loss in humans. Br J Nutr 93(2): 281-9.

Protein & its role in healthy aging. Nestlé Health Science [Internet] [accessed 27 June 2018] Available at https://www.nestlehealthscience.com/health-management/aging/protein-and-its-role-in-healthy-aging

Mamerow M, et al. 2014. Dietary protein distribution positively influences 24-h muscle protein synthesis in healthy adults. J Nutr 144(6): 876-880.

Bosse J, Dixon B. 2012. Dietary protein in weight management: a review proposing protein spread and change theories. Nutr & Metab 9:81.

Soenen S, et al. 2013. Normal Protein Intake Is Required for Body Weight Loss and Weight Maintenance, and Elevated Protein Intake for Additional Preservation of Resting Energy Expenditure and Fat Free Mass. Jour Nutr 143(5): 591-596.

Leidy H, et al. 2015. The role of protein in weight loss and maintenance. Am Jour Clin Nutr 101(6): 1320S-1329S.

Caspero A. 2017. Protein and the athlete – how much do you need? Eat Right. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. [Internet] [accessed 26 June 2018] Available at https://www.eatright.org/fitness/sports-and-performance/fueling-your-workout/protein-and-the-athlete

https://askthescientists.com/qa/protein/

Zou J, et al. 2018. Fiber-Mediated Nourishment of Gut Microbiota Protects against Diet-Induced Obesity by Restoring IL-22-Mediated Colonic Health. Cell Host & Microbe 23(1): 41-53.

Holscher H. 2017. Dietary fiber and prebiotics and the gastrointestinal microbiota. Gut Microbes 8(2): 172-184.

Jones JM. 2014. CODEX-aligned dietary fiber definitions help to bridge the “fiber gap.” Nutr J 13: 34.

Dietary Fiber Fact Sheet. [Internet] [accessed 10 October 2018] Available at https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/InteractiveNutritionFactsLabel/factsheets/Dietary_Fiber.pdf

Lattimer J, Haub M. 2010. Effects of Dietary Fiber and Its Components on Metabolic Health. Nutrients. 2(12): 1266-1289.

Cleveland Clinic. Gastrointestinal Disorders. [Internet] [accessed 10 October 2018] Available at https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/7040-gastrointestinal-disorders.

D’autres lectures intéressantes

Comprendre les glucides, les sucres et les fibres

Les glucides sont des macronutriments importants pour l’énergie. Voyez quels aliments offrent l’énergie, les fibres et les nutriments nécessaires au fonctionnement de votre organisme.

Lire maintenant

Food high in protein on a wooden background. Healthy diet eating

Approfondissez vos connaissances des protéines et des acides aminés

Apprenez tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur les protéines, leurs fonctions et leur importance à titre de constituants essentiels. Découvrez les meilleures sources, la quantité optimale à consommer et les raisons pour lesquelles il peut vous en falloir davantage.

Lire maintenant

Cinq savoureux aliments bons pour le cœur

Découvrez cinq aliments bons pour le cœur et ce qui les rend si bénéfiques. Trouvez aussi des conseils pour adopter un régime alimentaire qui favorise la santé du cœur.

Lire maintenant

Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous recherchez? Veuillez lancer une nouvelle recherche ou poser une question ici

USANA® MySmart® Boosters – Fibergy® Plus, Protein Plus

Get a Quick and Easy Boost with MySmart Fibergy Plus and Protein Plus Boosters

A vibrantly healthy body is light and strong. The USANA MySmart Boosters are the intelligent way to support your healthy lifestyle, so you can feel fit and full of life every day.

Fibergy Plus and Protein Plus are formulated to further customize your MySmart shake or to be used alone. Both high-quality boosters make it easy to add important macronutrients to your diet that will help you meet your personal wellness goals.

Light Feels Right with USANA MySmart Fibergy Plus Booster

You probably already carry the weight of the world on your shoulders. You don’t need added pounds or a sluggish digestive system slowing you down. MySmart Fibergy Plus is an excellent source of 12 grams of fiber that can help keep you feeling light and healthy in a few key ways:

  • Supports weight management by keeping you feeling satisfied
  • Promotes good digestive health by aiding regularity and promoting a balanced gut microbiome
  • Helps keep your heart healthy by supporting many aspects of cardiovascular function

Fibergy Plus is a convenient, naturally low-glycemic way to add more fiber to your diet. And unlike many other fiber supplements, Fibergy Plus contains several sources of dietary fiber. So, you’ll get the full range of benefits provided by different types of insoluble and soluble fiber.

Sources of fiber like psyllium and organic cane fiber are bulking agents that help food digest more slowly. This will help satisfy your hunger and contribute to the feeling of fullness after a meal. By taming your appetite, Fibergy Plus is a low-calorie solution that will help you skip the snacks, so you can maintain a healthy weight, when used together with a balanced diet and exercise.

Combining fiber with protein and fat is even more satisfying, making Fibergy Plus a great addition to your MySmart shake, too.

Slowing digestion with added fiber has other benefits. It may help avoid blood sugar spikes and crashes after eating. So, by helping your body digest food over a longer period of time, Fibergy Plus may help maintain healthy blood glucose levels, as long as they’re already in the normal range.

The bulking action of fiber also contributes to a healthy digestive system. Fiber sweeps the gastrointestinal tract and helps normalize stool consistency to promote regularity.

Good intestinal health and normal bowel regularity are crucial for health, because they move wastes and toxins out of the colon efficiently. If undigested food and metabolic waste build up due to delayed elimination, they may weigh you down and cause occasional discomfort. Fibergy Plus helps keep your body regular.

The agave inulin also supports a healthy gut microbiome by acting as a prebiotic. The non-digestible fiber promotes the growth of healthy bifidobacteria—a bacterial strain in the digestive tract. Beneficial bacteria are desirable in the gut, as they assist the digestive tract’s ability to break down foods and absorb nutrients.

†Additionally, soluble fiber from foods such as Fibergy Plus, as part of a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol, may reduce the risk of heart disease. A serving of Fibergy Plus supplies the 2.9 grams of the soluble fiber from psyllium necessary per day to have this effect.

Fiber has been associated with many aspects of healthy cardiovascular function. Research has shown fiber can help inhibit the absorption of cholesterol from the intestines or trap and eliminate excess bile. This action may help maintain healthy LDL cholesterol and triglyceride levels, as well as healthy blood pressure, as long as they are already in the normal range.

How Much Fiber Do I Need?

Nine out of 10 people need to consume more fiber. The average adult only eats about 16 grams of dietary fiber a day. The recommended intakes for total fiber are much higher and only vary slightly by age and gender:

  • Adults 50 years and younger: 38 grams for men and 25 grams for women
  • Adults over 50: 30 grams for men and 21 grams for women, due to decreased food consumption

Designing your daily diet around fruits, vegetables, legumes, and whole grains can help increase fiber consumption. Low-fat diets rich in fiber-containing grain products, fruits, and vegetables may reduce the risk of some types of cancer, a disease associated with many factors.

MySmart Fibergy Plus is also an easy way to boost your intake every day. Only one tablespoon provides nearly half of your suggested daily amount. The formula is made without added flavors, making it convenient to mix with your MySmart shake, juice, or water. For even more variety: Try mixing it with foods, too. If you enjoy baking, you can replace some of the flour in your favorite recipes with Fibergy Plus.

MySmart Fibergy Plus at a Glance

  • 12 g fiber
  • 15 calories
  • Gluten, dairy, soy free††
  • Fat and cholesterol free
  • Low in sodium

See full list of ingredients

CAUTION: This food should be eaten with at least a full glass of liquid. Eating this product without enough liquid may cause choking. Do not eat this product if you have difficulty in swallowing. If you are taking any medications (prescription and/or over-the-counter), take this product at least 2 hours before or 2 hours after your medication.

††NO DAIRY, SOY, OR GLUTEN-CONTAINING INGREDIENTS ARE USED IN THIS PRODUCT. PRODUCED ON EQUIPMENT THAT ALSO PROCESSES: MILK, EGG, FISH, SHELLFISH, TREE NUTS, WHEAT, GLUTEN, AND SOY.

Frequently Asked Questions About MySmart Fibergy Plus Booster

Why does Fibergy Plus have a warning about choking?

One of the key attributes of soluble fiber is its ability to act like a sponge in the intestines. By absorbing water, soluble fiber forms a gel-like substance that lubricates the intestinal tract and makes it easier for waste to pass more quickly.

This same gelling capacity can be seen when mixing a fiber product (like Fibergy Plus) with hot liquids, or by letting the product sit in room-temperature liquids for an extended period of time.

Because of this, it is important to mix Fibergy Plus with cool liquids, and to consume the solution right after mixing it. This helps minimize premature gelling and minimizes the risk of choking.

Help Your Body Stay Strong with MySmart Protein Plus Booster

Woman lifting weight

Daily life takes strength. From lifting your latest haul of groceries to carrying your growing toddler up the stairs to conquering your choice of fitness goals. Whatever you need to accomplish, a strong, fit body will help you get it done.

Keeping your muscles strong requires regular exercise and consuming enough protein. This essential macronutrient provides the amino acids that are vital for building and maintaining healthy lean muscle mass.

A shake with MySmart Protein Plus Booster can help supply you with 10 grams of complete protein as part of a healthy diet. The whey concentrate in Protein Plus is 100 percent pure and comes from cattle that have not been treated with synthetic hormones (no added rbST or BGH). In addition, it’s processed using low temperature pasteurization to minimize denaturing of the protein, which could destroy its effectiveness.

Protein Plus is high in protein and contains all of the essential amino acids your body needs to help maintain lean body mass (also called fat-free mass).

Man and woman stretching, getting ready to exercise

Maintaining lean muscle mass is important throughout your lifetime—at every stage and every age. Consuming enough protein is vital for a number of reasons, including:

  • Supporting a healthy weight
  • Building and strengthening muscle
  • Helping to maintain muscle mass as you age

Because protein helps you feel fuller, longer, it may help you eat less if you’re trying to cut calories. And protein’s benefits for weight management don’t stop there. Muscles tend to burn more calories than fat, even when you’re at rest. So, by helping to maintain your lean body mass, a diet with increased protein can help support efficient energy metabolism.

Athletes have greater need for protein to play at the top of their game. They expend more energy and need plenty of protein to repair and strengthen muscle tissue after exercise.

It also becomes especially important to focus on maintaining muscle as you get older. Muscle mass and function are gradually lost over the years. By age 60, you may begin to lose the muscle strength and function needed to stay independent and energetic into your senior years (especially if you tend to have a more sedentary lifestyle). And this decline can be even more pronounced in post-menopausal women.

The good news is that some muscle loss can be avoided. Mature individuals can help maintain a good quality of life through working to stay strong by exercising regularly and by supporting muscle maintenance by consuming enough protein.

How Much Protein Do I Need?

To maintain health, the Institute of Medicine recommends most people consume eight grams of protein for every 20 lbs. of body weight per day (.8 g/kg).  Mature individuals should consume up to 1.2 g/kg of weight per day.

If you’re trying to manage your weight, higher intakes also may be needed. Research has shown that it’s important to consume more protein than your usual intake to see improvements. You may need about 37 percent more protein than the general recommendation, or 11 grams for every 20 lbs. of body weight (1.2 g/kg).

Athletes, too, need more protein. If you’re very active, aim to consume up to 18 grams of protein for every 20 lbs. of body weight per day, depending on the intensity of training.

Let’s look at a couple examples.

  • Mary is 35 years old and weighs 150 lbs. She exercises daily, but otherwise works at a sedentary desk job. That means she would need around 60 grams of protein per day to maintain her health. She should aim for about 82 grams of protein per day if she is focused on managing her weight.
  • Joe is a 150-pound professional athlete. So, he exercises strenuously and for extended lengths of time daily. That means he could need up to 135 grams of protein per day.

But that’s not all you need to consider to get the best results.

The key to maximizing the benefits of your protein consumption is spreading it into fairly equal amounts at every meal. This is a more effective approach for building muscle than skewing protein intake toward only one or two meals. So, once you’ve calculated how much protein you need, divide that equally across the number of meals/snacks you generally eat every day.

MySmart Protein Plus makes it easy to add protein to your diet when you need it. Consider adding it to your MySmart shake for breakfast, which is a good choice, since it’s the meal that typically has the least protein for most people. Or mix it with dairy, soy, coconut milk or another beverage for a snack. Every serving of MySmart Protein Plus will increase your protein intake to help keep you going strong.

MySmart Protein Plus at a Glance

  • 10 g protein
  • 50 calories
  • .5 g fat
  • 1 g carbs
  • No additives
  • No fillers

See full list of ingredients

References

McGill C, Fulgoni V, Devareddy L. 2015. Ten-Year Trends in Fiber and Whole Grain Intakes and Food Sources for the United States Population: National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey 2001–2010. Nutrients 7(2): 1119-1130.

Bozzetto L, et al. 2018. Dietary Fibre as a Unifying Remedy for the Whole Spectrum of Obesity-Associated Cardiovascular Risk. Nutrients 10(7): 943.

Appendix 7. Nutritional Goals for Age-Sex Groups Based on Dietary Reference Intakes and Dietary Guidelines Health.gov [Internet] [accessed 26 Sept 2018] Available at https://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/appendix-7/

Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids. 2002. NASEM. [Internet] [accessed 26 Sept 2018] Available at http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/Reports/2002/Dietary-Reference-Intakes-for-Energy-Carbohydrate-Fiber-Fat-Fatty-Acids-Cholesterol-Protein-and-Amino-Acids.aspx

McRorie JW Jr. 2015. Evidence-Based Approach to Fiber Supplements and Clinically Meaningful Health Benefits, Part 1: What to Look for and How to Recommend an Effective Fiber Therapy. Nutr Today 50(2): 82-89.

Tipton K. 2008. Protein for adaptations to exercise training. Eur J Sp Sci 8(2): 107-118.

Ferguson-Stegall L, et al. 2011. Aerobic Exercise Training Adaptations Are Increased by Postexercise Carbohydrate-Protein Supplementation. J Nutr Metab (2011): 623182.

Wolfe RR. 2012. The role of dietary protein in optimizing muscle mass, function and health outcomes in older individuals. Br J Nutr 108(Suppl 2): S88-93.

Deutz N, et al. 2014. Protein intake and exercise for optimal muscle function with

aging: Recommendations from the ESPEN Expert Group. Clin Nutr 33: 929-936.

Westerterp-Plantenga MS, Lemmens SG, Westerterp KR. 2012. Dietary protein – its role in satiety, energetics, weight loss and health. Br J Nutr 108(Suppl 2): S105-12.

Lejeune MP, Kovacs EM, Westerterp-Plantenga MS. 2005. Additional protein intake limits weight regain after weight loss in humans. Br J Nutr 93(2): 281-9.

Protein & its role in healthy aging. Nestlé Health Science [Internet] [accessed 27 June 2018] Available at https://www.nestlehealthscience.com/health-management/aging/protein-and-its-role-in-healthy-aging

Mamerow M, et al. 2014. Dietary protein distribution positively influences 24-h muscle protein synthesis in healthy adults. J Nutr 144(6): 876-880.

Bosse J, Dixon B. 2012. Dietary protein in weight management: a review proposing protein spread and change theories. Nutr & Metab 9:81.

Soenen S, et al. 2013. Normal Protein Intake Is Required for Body Weight Loss and Weight Maintenance, and Elevated Protein Intake for Additional Preservation of Resting Energy Expenditure and Fat Free Mass. Jour Nutr 143(5): 591-596.

Leidy H, et al. 2015. The role of protein in weight loss and maintenance. Am Jour Clin Nutr 101(6): 1320S-1329S.

Caspero A. 2017. Protein and the athlete – how much do you need? Eat Right. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. [Internet] [accessed 26 June 2018] Available at https://www.eatright.org/fitness/sports-and-performance/fueling-your-workout/protein-and-the-athlete

https://askthescientists.com/qa/protein/

Zou J, et al. 2018. Fiber-Mediated Nourishment of Gut Microbiota Protects against Diet-Induced Obesity by Restoring IL-22-Mediated Colonic Health. Cell Host & Microbe 23(1): 41-53.

Holscher H. 2017. Dietary fiber and prebiotics and the gastrointestinal microbiota. Gut Microbes 8(2): 172-184.

Jones JM. 2014. CODEX-aligned dietary fiber definitions help to bridge the “fiber gap.” Nutr J 13: 34.

Dietary Fiber Fact Sheet. [Internet] [accessed 10 October 2018] Available at https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/InteractiveNutritionFactsLabel/factsheets/Dietary_Fiber.pdf

Lattimer J, Haub M. 2010. Effects of Dietary Fiber and Its Components on Metabolic Health. Nutrients. 2(12): 1266-1289.

Cleveland Clinic. Gastrointestinal Disorders. [Internet] [accessed 10 October 2018] Available at https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/articles/7040-gastrointestinal-disorders.

You May Also Enjoy

Understanding Carbohydrates, Sugar, and Fiber

Carbohydrates are an important macronutrient for energy. Learn which foods offer the energy, fiber, and nutrients needed to fuel your body.

Read More

Food high in protein on a wooden background. Healthy diet eating

Build Your Knowledge About Protein and Amino Acids

Learn about protein, its functions, and why it’s an important building block. Discover the best sources, how much you should eat, and when you may need more.

Read More

5 Delicious Heart Healthy Foods You’ll Love

Learn about five heart healthy foods and why they’re so good for the heart. Get tips on crafting a heart-healthy diet.

Read More

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here