腸道微生物對膳食纖維的反應

microbiome

如果您認為腸子這種詞彙聽起來很噁心,那再聽聽這個:您的胃腸道可是幾兆個小生物的歇腳處。

這些細菌、酵母、真菌等等,都是非常奇妙的,它們提供的許多酶提昇了人體代謝各種物質的能力,所以它們可說是在為您工作。

而您多少正控制著您的腸道微生物。藉著一些努力和在飲食上的勤奮,就可以使情況變好。飲食、生活方式、運動、壓力、和環境,都會影響腸道微生物的組成。

膳食纖維的複合結構,在使腸道微生物多樣化的工程中發揮作用。研究顯示,攝取多種富含纖維的食物,可促使人體內的微生物多樣化發展。人體如果擁有各式各樣的腸道微生物,就更有能力應付環境的挑戰。

但為何膳食纖維這麼重要?

microbiome in intestines

首先,它能保持健康的腸道屏障。您的腸道能幫助吸收有益的營養素進入體內,同時又防止有害物質被吸收。我們發現,膳食纖維有助維持人體腸道中的天然保護力和健康的吸收作用。

而缺乏纖維可能會對天然的腸道屏障系統產生不良影響;但當有足夠數量的可發酵膳食纖維時,就能增加保護力。我們發現,這種發酵過程有助於從兩方面來保持腸道健康:首先提昇細胞的增殖(增加細胞數),其次是提昇細胞的特化(細胞改變以執行特定的工作)。

膳食纖維也會影響腸道的免疫功能。這很重要,因為腸道含有高達人體百分之八十的免疫細胞。而以膳食纖維供應養分使益菌成長,也有助於腸道、肝臟、和腎臟之間健康的內分泌(荷爾蒙)反應,氮代謝、和訊號傳輸

您可以看到,保持您微生物夥伴的健康快樂,對維持您身體健康有多麼重要。而要讓您的身體擁有一個豐富而多樣化的腸道菌落,最好的方法是攝取多種富含纖維的食物。

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here

Your Gut Microbiome’s Reaction to Dietary Fiber


If you think the word gut is gross, prepare yourself for the next sentence. Your gastrointestinal tract is a hotel for trillions of little critters.

These bacteria, yeast, fungi, and more are pretty amazing. They increase your ability to metabolize a variety of substances you couldn’t without the enzymes they provide. So they work for you.

And you’re somewhat in control of your gut microbes. With some effort and dietary diligence, you can change things up. Diet, lifestyle, exercise, stress, and your environment can all impact the composition of your gut microbiome.

Dietary fiber’s complex structures play a role in diversifying your gut’s microbes. Research has shown eating a variety of fiber-rich foods diversifies your microbiome. And people with a diverse array of gut microbes are better at responding to environmental challenges.

But why does dietary fiber play such a big role?

microbiome in intestines

Maintaining a healthy gut barrier is a big one. Your gut helps facilitate the absorption of beneficial nutrients into the body. It also helps keep harmful substances from being absorbed. Dietary fiber has been shown to help support the natural protection and healthy absorption in your gut.

And a lack of fiber may negatively impact the natural intestinal barrier system. But increased protection can come when there are adequate amounts of fermentable dietary fiber. This fermentation process has been shown to help maintain intestinal health in two ways. The first is increased cell proliferation (increase of the number of cells). The second is increased cellular specialization (when cells change to perform a specific job).

Dietary fiber also impacts your gut’s immune function. That’s important. The gut contains up to 80 percent of your body’s immune cells. And feeding the growth of beneficial microbes with dietary fiber also supports healthy endocrine (hormone) response, nitrogen metabolism, and signaling between the gut, liver, and kidneys.

You can see that keeping your microbial buddies healthy and happy is important for maintaining good health. And a great way to support a lush, diverse community of gut microbes is to eat a variety of fiber-rich foods.

Can’t find what you are looking for? Please try your search again or submit a question here