红血球高速公路:导航心血管系统

心血管系统

您应该很熟悉您的心脏卜通卜通跳的声音,也感觉过手腕上的脉搏,这一切都表明您的身体还在运作。但是血液在动脉中快速流动,同时在静脉里缓缓流动,都不是偶然的。您的血液、血管、心脏和肺脏一起合作,把您吸入的氧气带到身体其他部位,这种整个运作关系被称为心血管系统,它24小时全年无休地工作,让您的身体持续运转。

您的心血管系统非常了不起。为了充分了解它为您付出了多少努力,让我们一起来温习一些关于心血管的词汇。

  • 心血管系统:负责输送氧气和血液运动的器官和血管的复杂网络。心血管系统由心脏、肺脏、以及全部的血管所组成。
  • 心脏:位于肋骨(胸骨)下方的四腔室肌肉。心脏将富含氧气的血液泵送到身体,并将缺氧的血液送到肺脏。心肌收缩通常称为心跳。
  • 心率:也叫脉搏,这是完整的脏肌肉收缩的频率。我们通常以每分钟的心跳来计算心率。一个健康成年人的平均心率,在平静状态下大约每分钟60次到100次。
  • 肺脏:盘踞在胸腔内,占据左右两侧绝大多数空间的一对器官。肺是非常好的网囊,能使血液散开以增加其表面积,表面积增加则使更多气体渗入和排出血液(二氧化碳排出而氧气渗入)。
  • 肺脏的:与肺有关的。
  • 全身性的:与身体其他器官有关的,包括肝、肠、脑、肾等
  • 血管:血液流过的管子。有两种主要类型的血管—动脉和静脉。就人体的大部分部位而言,动脉输送含氧的血液,静脉输送缺氧的血液。但是在连接心脏与肺脏的血管系统中,却是相反的。
  • 血液:这种红色液态物质会被泵送通过整个心血管系统。血液主要成份是水,负责运送营养素给您的身体。它还含有许多类型的细胞:红血球、白血球、血浆、血清和血小板。

红血球(RBC)会携带氧气和二氧化碳进出身体,白血球主要与您的免疫反应有关。血浆是血液中含有脂肪成份的无色液体。血清是血液中含有大部分血液蛋白质的琥珀色成份。而血小板是半月形的,是一种类似细胞的结构,负责让血液凝结(通常在血管受损时)。

  • 血压:血液在血管里流动的压力,计数单位为mmHg(毫米汞柱)。临床上,血压的数值通常收缩压高于舒张压。动脉血压最高,静脉血压最低。
  • 心脏舒张:与膨胀,放松或扩张有关。
  • 收缩压:心脏泵送出血液后,血液积极通过血管时的压力。正常收缩压应低于120mgHg。
  • 舒张压:当血液不流动,血管和心脏静止,即两次心跳之间血管内的压力。正常舒张压应低于80mmHg。

微血管:微小的血管相互交织的小网络。微血管可以让氧气和其他营养素逸出血液,进入细胞、组织和器官,同时把缺乏氧气和营养素的血液送回心脏。这些网络是动脉的末端和静脉的入口。

心血管系统微观

心血管系统最简单的定义,就是推动血液通过血管的一系列器官。但这其实漏掉了一些有益的信息。心血管系统将氧气和其他营养素输送到组织,并透过循环作用移除废物和二氧化碳。

这当中有很多重要的工作,必须通过一系列相互连接的导管(动脉和静脉)引导血液流经全身来完成。心脏是泵,会将血液向前推动。肺循环和体循环是心血管系统中的两条回路,引导血液先经过心脏,再通过您的身体。

人类心脏的结构

心脏主要负责泵送血液进出人体的各个部位。人类心脏由于其本身的独特构造,才能完成这个艰巨的任务。

心脏是由平滑的心肌细胞组成,能以惊人的力量收缩。其中有一些心肌细胞与神经之间会有电流传导。当您运动或情绪变动时,电流脉冲会通过您的神经到达心脏。这些信号可以改变心脏肌肉收缩的速度—或者它跳动的速度。

或许您已经知道,心脏分成四个独立的腔室:左右心房和左右心室。心脏的腔室是由阀门隔开的肌肉袋。他们从循环中收集血液,并通过心脏将其挤压至肺脏或从肺脏送至全身。心脏的左右两侧在结构上互相对称,但是每侧的作用都不相同,并且执行着泵送血液所必需的特定功能。

心脏的右边收集循环全身后的血液,这种血液迫切需要加入氧气恢复活力。在进入肺脏吸收氧气之前,必须首先进入右心房(收集室)并下降至右心室(泵送室)。右心室负责将血液推送到肺脏以获得氧气。

心脏左侧接受通过肺脏之后的含氧血液。左心房是这个充氧血液的收集室,含氧的血液会从两室之间的单向阀下降到左心室。左心室是心脏最强的腔室,当左心室的心肌收缩时,血液就会从心脏被推出送往整个身体。

每一分钟,就会有五公升(约1.5加仑)的血液通过心脏泵送往您的全身。您的心脏每天可以输送7,200公升血液到您身体的每一个角落。理论上每次泵送都会将新鲜的氧气和营养素送到您身体的每个细胞,以维持健康的组织和器官功能。

血流:它到底去哪里?

要了解心血管系统的血液流动路径,就像在看一张地图。把红血球想象成是在繁忙公路上奔驰的车辆,您可以轻松地跟着他们通过心脏和身体的其他部位。

健康、快乐、富含氧气的血球离开心脏的左心室后,开始沿心血管系统的路径前进。左心室收缩后,在左心室里面的血液就会通过主动脉瓣进入主动脉。

主动脉是人体内最大的动脉,是运输血液的高速公路。由于高压和厚厚的动脉壁肌肉,血流在主动脉中会快速通过。较小的动脉从主动脉分支出来。这些是血液可以跳出这个繁忙的通道,前往身体不同位置的出口。

血液之旅的道路离心脏越远就越狭窄;就像从高速公路到城市街道和各个小区一样,道路变得越来越小。动脉再分支成小血管,最终连接到微血管。这些小血管围绕着重要的器官和组织,微血管则输送营养和氧气到器官和组织。

到达最终目的地后,红血球需要回到心脏和肺脏。但是,跟通过主动脉的快节奏旅程相比,回往心脏的旅程就慢了许多。

如果动脉是血液运送的高速公路,静脉就是观景道路。由于压力较低,它们的速限就比动脉来得低。动脉的紧密结构有助于推动血液通过人体;另一方面,静脉则较为宽松。血液慢慢地穿过静脉,与身体各处回流的血液汇合,流回心脏。

所有来自静脉的血液会通过下腔静脉或上腔静脉进入心脏。从下半身而来的血液会被引导到下腔静脉—身体中最大的静脉,上半身的血液则通过上腔静脉引导,最后全都进入心脏的右心房。

右心房会收集血液,并通过三尖瓣引导至右心室。血液从右心室迅速排出,通过称为肺动脉瓣的半月形瓣膜进入肺动脉。

进入肺动脉之后,血液就会流经肺脏,通过微血管网络来补充氧气,接着血液才通过肺静脉回流到心脏并进入左心房。二尖瓣是血液必须通过的最后一道闸门,然后才回到心血管系统的高速公路,在全身形成一个完整的回路。

过一个心脏健康的生活方式

您的血液必须流到很多角落。如果有一个健康的心脏能在您这辈子的每一天都正常工作,实在是很棒的事。但尽管您的心脏一生都要如此工作,您还是可以做很多事情来保护它,也保护所有心血管系统的健康。

到目前为止,日常运动是维持健康心脏和良好心血管健康的最佳方式。运动时会让心脏工作得辛苦一点,这样您就可以维持这个重要肌肉的正常,并为长期的心脏保健做好准备。

体力活动不仅能使您的手脚更强壮,也会增强您的心脏和心血管系统。运动员通常比不常运动的人有更健康的心脏。您不必成为一名职业运动员,但要定期锻炼并维护心脏和心血管的健康。

每天走走路可能是保持心脏健康最简单的运动。每天快速行走30到60分钟,可以使心率达到「最佳点」。保持高心率(在最大值的50-85%之间)应该是您对心脏健康有益的运动的指标。以下数据供您参考:散步会使您的心率达到最大值的50-70%;而打一场网球,或在跑步机上锻炼,会将您的心率提高到最大值的70%到85%之间。

饮食中若是反式脂肪和盐的含量低、而蔬菜和瘦蛋白质含量高,对您的心脏健康也很有用。

对于血压正常的人士,调节饮食中的盐分和不健康的脂肪含量,可以提高身体维持健康血压的能力。除了对您的心脏有益之外,少吃这些不健康的脂肪和盐,也能让您维持健康体重。

下列是您可以做的一些事:用具有自然风味的水果和蔬菜取代太咸的食物,同时也能摄取到许多重要的营养素,如茄红素和维生素C;而这些都已经被证实可以维持心血管系统健康。另外要确保您饮食中的脂肪是来自更自然的植物—可以考虑坚果、橄榄油和椰子油。

保持身体的引擎平稳运转,并借着运动和健康的饮食来让血液健康地泵送。

关于作者

Sydney Sprouse是住在奥勒冈州Forest Grove的自由科学作家。她拥有犹他州州立大学人类生物学的学士学位,并曾在该校担任本科生研究员和写作人员。Sydney是科学的终身学习者,她的目标是尽可能有效地翻译当前的科学研究。她的写作主题特别偏重于人类生物学、健康学和营养学。

参考文献

https://health.usnews.com/health-care/patient-advice/articles/2017-05-22/what-are-the-best-heart-healthy-exercises

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/HealthyLiving/HealthyEating/Nutrition/The-American-Heart-Associations-Diet-and-Lifestyle-Recommendations_UCM_305855_Article.jsp#.WmIaP5M-dQK

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HighBloodPressure/GettheFactsAboutHighBloodPressure/All-About-Heart-Rate-Pulse_UCM_438850_Article.jsp#.WmIaaJM-dQK

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HighBloodPressure/GettheFactsAboutHighBloodPressure/Blood-Pressure-vs-Heart-Rate-Pulse_UCM_301804_Article.jsp#.WmIab5M-dQJ

https://oli.cmu.edu/jcourse/workbook/activity/page?context=b880f13c80020ca6014d4c7646e82bcc

https://www.britannica.com/science/human-cardiovascular-system

http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/zxts2p3

https://www.livescience.com/32213-how-much-blood-is-in-the-human-body.html

https://www.livestrong.com/article/301209-vitamin-e-high-blood-pressure/

https://www.cdc.gov/bloodpressure/measure.htm

http://sydney.edu.au/science/biology/learning/blood_composition/

Red Blood Cell Super-Highway: Navigating the Cardiovascular System

Blood heart circulation

You know that lub-dub sound your heart makes. You’ve felt the pulse in your wrist. It all indicates that your body is still running. But the blood coursing through your arteries and gently flowing in your veins didn’t get there by accident. Your blood, blood vessels, heart, and lungs, all work together to bring the oxygen you breathe to the rest of your body. This relationship is known as the cardiovascular system, and it works 24/7 to keep you moving.

Your cardiovascular system is remarkable. To fully appreciate how hard it works for you, brush up on some cardiovascular vocabulary.

  • Cardiovascular system: The sophisticated network of organs and blood vessels responsible for oxygenating and moving blood throughout your body. The cardiovascular system consists of the heart, lungs, and includes all blood vessels.
  • Heart: A four-chambered muscle located underneath the breastbone (sternum) of your rib cage. The heart pumps oxygen-rich blood out to the body and oxygen-poor blood to the lungs. Contraction of the heart muscle is often called a beat.
  • Heart rate: Also called the pulse. This is the frequency of complete heart-muscle contractions. It is usually measured in beats per minute. The average heart rate for a healthy adult is between 60 at rest and 100 beats per minute going about your day.
  • Lungs: a pair of organs that sit within your rib cage and occupy most of the left and right sides. Think of the lungs as very fine network of sacs that spread your blood out to increase its surface area. Increasing the surface area allows gases to diffuse in and out of the blood (carbon dioxide out and oxygen in).
  • Pulmonary: Referring to the lungs.
  • Systemic: Referring to the other organs of the body, including liver, intestines, brain, kidneys, etc.
  • Blood vessel: The tubes through which blood flows. There are two main types of blood vessels—arteries and veins. For most of your body, this means arteries carry oxygenated blood and veins carry oxygen-depleted blood. But in the vascular system connecting the heart and lungs, this convention is reversed.
  • Blood: The red, liquid substance pumped throughout the cardiovascular system. Blood is mostly water, and is responsible for delivering nutrients to your body. It also contains many types of cells: red blood cells, white blood cells, plasma, serum and platelets.

Red blood cells (RBCs) carry oxygen and carbon dioxide in and out of the body. White blood cells are mostly involved in your immune response. Plasma is the colorless fluid that contains the fatty components of blood. Serum is the amber-colored component of blood that contains most of the proteins of the blood. And platelets are half-moon shaped, cell-like structures that are responsible for blood clotting (usually after an injury to a blood vessel).

  • Blood pressure: The force of blood moving through the blood vessels, measured in mmHg (millimeters of Mercury). Clinically, blood pressure is reported as systolic pressure over diastolic pressure. Blood pressure is highest in arteries and lowest in veins.
  • Diastole: Related to expansion, relaxation, or dilation.
  • Systolic blood pressure: The pressure in your blood vessels when blood is actively moving through them after being force by the pumping of the heart. Normal systolic blood pressure is considered to be less than 120 mmHg.
  • Diastolic blood pressure: The pressure in your blood vessels between heart beats when blood is not flowing and your blood vessels and heart are at rest. Normal diastolic blood pressure is considered to be less than 80 mmHg.
  • Capillaries: The small, intermeshed networks of tiny blood vessels. Capillaries allow oxygen and other nutrients to diffuse out of blood and into cells, tissues, and organs. They also send oxygen and nutrient-poor blood back to the heart. These networks are the end of arteries and the beginning of veins.

You know your cardiovascular system is important, but it may be bigger than you think. Together, your blood vessels stretch over 60,000 miles (or 100,000 km). That means your blood vessels, placed end-to-end, could circle the globe about two and a half times.

A Closer Look at the Cardiovascular System

The simplest definition of your cardiovascular system is the series of organs that propel blood through blood vessels. But that misses some beneficial information. The cardiovascular system delivers oxygen and other nutrients to tissues, and removes waste and carbon dioxide from circulation.

That’s a lot of important jobs. They’re accomplished through a series of interconnected tubes (arteries and veins) that guide blood throughout the body. The heart is the pump that moves the blood forward. Two circuits in the cardiovascular system, the pulmonary and systemic circuits, channel blood through the heart and through your body.

Nutrition Spotlight Live https://askthescientists.com/cardiovascular-system/

Posted by Ask the Scientists – Health and Science Education on Thursday, February 15, 2018

The Anatomy of the Human Heart

Your heart is primarily responsible for pumping blood into and out of all areas of the body. The human heart can accomplish this huge task because of its unique construction.

It’s composed of smooth cardiac muscle cells that contract with incredible force. Some of these cardiac cells make electrical connections with nerves. When you exercise or experience a change in emotion, electrical impulses travel through your nerves to your heart. These signals can alter the rate at which heart muscles contract—or how fast it beats.

You may know that the heart is divided into four separate chambers – left and right atria and ventricles. The chambers of the heart are pouches of muscle separated by valves. They collect blood from circulation and squeeze it through the heart to the lungs or out to the body. The left and right sides of the heart mirror one another in structure. But each side is unique and performs a specialized function necessary for pumping blood.

The right side of the heart collects blood that has circulated through the body. This blood is in desperate need of rejuvenation in the form of oxygen. Before it can go to the lungs for oxygen, it must first enter the right atrium (collection chamber) and descend to the right ventricle (pumping chamber). The right ventricle is responsible for pushing the blood to the lungs for oxygen.

The left side of the heart receives oxygenated blood after it has passed through the lungs. The left atrium is the collection chamber for this oxygenated blood. Oxygen-rich blood is then passed down to the left ventricle through a one-way valve between the two chambers. The left ventricle is the strongest chamber of the heart. When the cardiac muscles of the left ventricle contract, blood is propelled from the heart out to the entire body.

Every minute, five liters (or about a 1.5 gallons) of blood is pumped through the heart—about your entire blood volume. Your heart funnels 7,200 liters of blood per day to every square inch of your body. Every pump literally brings fresh oxygen and nutrients to every cell in your body to support healthy tissue and organ function.

Blood Flow: Where Does It Go?

Understanding the path of blood flow through the cardiovascular system is similar to reading a road map. Think of red blood cells as vehicles on a busy highway. You can easily follow their path through the heart and on to the rest of the body.

Healthy, happy, oxygen rich blood cells start their journey down the cardiovascular system roadway by exiting the left ventricle of the heart. After the left ventricle contracts, the blood in this chamber gets the green light to enter the aorta through the aortic valve.

The aorta is the largest artery in the body and is the super-highway of blood transport. Blood speeds through the aorta due to high pressure and thick, muscular artery walls. Smaller arteries branch from the aorta. These are the exits where blood can hop off this busy thoroughfare and travel to different locations of the body.

The roads of blood travel shrink the further they get from the heart. Just like roads get smaller as they go from freeways, to city streets, and through individual neighborhoods, arteries branch off into smaller vessels that eventually connect to capillaries. These small vessels surround vital organs and tissues. Capillaries nourish the organs and tissues with nutrients and oxygen.

After reaching their final destination, red blood cells need to make their way back to the heart and lungs. But the journey back to the heart is much slower than the fast-paced trip via the aorta.

If arteries are the blood transport freeway, veins are the scenic route. They have slower speed limits than arteries due to lower pressure. The tight structure of arteries helps propel blood through the body quickly. Veins, on the other hand, are wider and looser. Blood takes its time traveling through veins, merging with traffic from all over the body on their way back to the heart.

All blood from the veins enters the heart through the inferior or superior vena cava. Blood traveling from the lower body is directed to the inferior vena cava—the largest vein in the body. Blood from the upper body is channeled through the superior vena cava. Each one empties into the heart’s right atrium.

This chamber collects blood and directs it through the tricuspid valve to the right ventricle. Blood is quickly ejected from the right ventricle, into the pulmonary artery through a half-moon-shaped valve called the pulmonary valve.

Once in the pulmonary artery, blood travels through the lungs, using capillary mesh to replenish oxygen stores. Blood is then funneled back to the heart through the pulmonary vein and into the left atrium. The bicuspid valve is the final gate blood must pass through to hop back on to the cardiovascular system’s super highway and complete a full circuit through the body.

Living a Heart Healthy Lifestyle

Your blood has to travel to so many nooks and crannies. It’s amazing that a healthy heart pumps without problems all day, every day, for your entire life. Even though your heart is built to go the distance, there are several things you can do to support its health. And the rest of your cardiovascular system, too.

Daily exercise is by far the best way to maintain a healthy heart and support good cardiovascular health. Requiring your heart to work a little harder during periods of exercise you can keep this important muscle toned and poised for long-term success.

Physical activity does not only make your arms and legs stronger. It strengthens your heart and cardiovascular system, too. Athletes typically have healthier hearts than those who do not regularly exercise. You don’t have to be a professional athlete, but make it your goal to exercise regularly and support your heart and cardiovascular health.

Walking daily may be the easiest exercise to keep a healthy heart. A brisk walk for 30 to 60 minutes every day can get your heart rate up to that “sweet spot.” Maintaining an elevated heart rate (between 50-85 percent of your maximum) should be your indicator of good, heart healthy exercise. For reference, a walk will get your heart rate up to 50–70 percent of its maximum. A game of tennis or a run on the treadmill pushes your heart rate up between 70 and 85 percent of its maximum.

A diet low in trans-fats and salt while high in vegetables and lean protein is also great for your heart.

Regulating your diet’s salt and unhealthy fat content reinforces your body’s ability to maintain healthy blood pressure already in the normal range. In addition to being great for your heart, a diet low in unhealthy fats and salts could be your ticket to maintaining a healthy weight.

Here’s a few things you can do. Replace salty foods with whole fruits and vegetables with lots of natural flavor. You’ll also get a lot of important nutrients—like lycopene and vitamin C—that have been shown to support a healthy cardiovascular system. And make sure the fat in your diet comes from more natural, plant sources—think nuts, olive, and coconut oil.

Keep your body’s engine running smoothly and get your blood pumping with exercise and a healthy diet.

About the Author

Sydney Sprouse is a freelance science writer based out of Forest Grove, Oregon. She holds a bachelor of science in human biology from Utah State University, where she worked as an undergraduate researcher and writing fellow. Sydney is a lifelong student of science and makes it her goal to translate current scientific research as effectively as possible. She writes with particular interest in human biology, health, and nutrition.

References

https://health.usnews.com/health-care/patient-advice/articles/2017-05-22/what-are-the-best-heart-healthy-exercises

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/HealthyLiving/HealthyEating/Nutrition/The-American-Heart-Associations-Diet-and-Lifestyle-Recommendations_UCM_305855_Article.jsp#.WmIaP5M-dQK

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HighBloodPressure/GettheFactsAboutHighBloodPressure/All-About-Heart-Rate-Pulse_UCM_438850_Article.jsp#.WmIaaJM-dQK

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HighBloodPressure/GettheFactsAboutHighBloodPressure/Blood-Pressure-vs-Heart-Rate-Pulse_UCM_301804_Article.jsp#.WmIab5M-dQJ

https://oli.cmu.edu/jcourse/workbook/activity/page?context=b880f13c80020ca6014d4c7646e82bcc

https://www.britannica.com/science/human-cardiovascular-system

http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/zxts2p3

https://www.livescience.com/32213-how-much-blood-is-in-the-human-body.html

https://www.livestrong.com/article/301209-vitamin-e-high-blood-pressure/

https://www.cdc.gov/bloodpressure/measure.htm

http://sydney.edu.au/science/biology/learning/blood_composition/